Shadow of the Colossus PlayStation 2

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 973 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 973
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2017
    9
    The first true game to be considered art and prove to be a stunning game for what its groundwork was back in the day. SoTC is a game that takes a simple premise, throws you in a large empty open world and battle giants that would please even Kratos himself. A game that tackles philosophy and themes that rear themselves up as you go deeper in it's atmosphere and world. The music isThe first true game to be considered art and prove to be a stunning game for what its groundwork was back in the day. SoTC is a game that takes a simple premise, throws you in a large empty open world and battle giants that would please even Kratos himself. A game that tackles philosophy and themes that rear themselves up as you go deeper in it's atmosphere and world. The music is legendary and has a wonderful array of colossus to fight. The only downside is once you beat the game, there is little to replay that hasnt already been done. Play on hard mode and try the time attack trials, but afterwards you'll probably get tired of it. Admittedly, some of the colossus are not creatively equal, but the diversity and impact of the few make up so much as a balance. Truly one of the best art games of all time. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2017
    10
    Batalhas épicas, ambiente, personagens, trilha sonora impecável e uma ótima história. Com certeza um dos melhores games que pude jogar, merece nota máxima!
  3. Feb 5, 2017
    7
    Egy tényleg epikus küzdelmekkel teli játék, egy különleges történettel és a kor igényeihez képest lenyűgöző grafikával. Remélem több játékot fogunk kapni az alkotótól.
  4. Jan 29, 2017
    9
    Que se puede decir que no se haya dicho ya de la aventura de Wander? de la destrucción de los colosos, del basto y tranquilo lugar, del caballo, de las mecánicas de ensayo y error. de la historia? un juego maravilloso y casi perfecto
  5. Jan 29, 2017
    0
    Nas palavras da desciclopédia : ” um jogo mal feito que deu certo”.
    Joguei cheguei até o final, 16 colossos. Os colossos são muito maneiros, o clima do jogo é bom, uma boa música instrumental de clima.
    Mas vamos ser realistas, o que existe entre aquele templo onde fica aquela menina deitada e os colossos que voce tem que matar ? Resposta : Nada. O jogo é só matar 16 colossos. Um vasto
    Nas palavras da desciclopédia : ” um jogo mal feito que deu certo”.
    Joguei cheguei até o final, 16 colossos. Os colossos são muito maneiros, o clima do jogo é bom, uma boa música instrumental de clima.
    Mas vamos ser realistas, o que existe entre aquele templo onde fica aquela menina deitada e os colossos que voce tem que matar ? Resposta : Nada. O jogo é só matar 16 colossos. Um vasto campo de cenário onde não tem nada, só uns lagartinhos e umas tartarugas de vez em quando rastejando. E outros grandes defeitos, a camera e os movimentos do personagem, são horríveis, 80% da dificuldade do jogo é por causa da camera e dos controles do personagens, onde uma tarefa simples de escalada ou montar no seu cavalo pode te matar de raiva. 9 horas de jogo no máximo.Nota 7,5, até Castlevania Lords of Shadow é muito melhor, nem quero comparar com Zelda Twilight Princess porque é covardia.
    Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2017
    9
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln verstanden?
    Dann sind hier meine Punkte.

    Mein persönlicher Score = 85/100
    Mein User Score = 9/10
    Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2016
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. A well crafted masterpiece. The story is engrossing, deep, and emotional. The gameplay is not the the greatest, but it works pretty well. And the graphics are solid. Play this game with the HD version if you have a PS3, If you're on PS4 though, you'll just have to hope for a remake or remaster to the current-gen.
  8. Dec 5, 2016
    5
    the game is perfect as an idea, its unique and bizarre.
    but when its time play it u need nerves of steel.. controls and camera its your main enemy.. definitely not gonna play it again

    story 9/10
    atmosphere 9/10
    music 8/10 (i was going for 10/10 but after 30sec its repetitive)
    controls 0/10
    camera 0/10
  9. Nov 14, 2016
    9
    Unendlich alt und ebenso schön ziehen die Kolosse ihre Kreise durch das Land am Ende der Welt. In ihrem Blick ruht das Vertrauen auf Unsterblichkeit, wer sollte schon kommen, um diese Giganten zu töten? Du. Du sollst kommen und sie erklettern, bezwingen und zu vernichten. Sollst ihnen dein Schwert in die Ferse, den Kopf, die Handrücken stoßen, immer wieder, bis sie tot zusammensacken.Unendlich alt und ebenso schön ziehen die Kolosse ihre Kreise durch das Land am Ende der Welt. In ihrem Blick ruht das Vertrauen auf Unsterblichkeit, wer sollte schon kommen, um diese Giganten zu töten? Du. Du sollst kommen und sie erklettern, bezwingen und zu vernichten. Sollst ihnen dein Schwert in die Ferse, den Kopf, die Handrücken stoßen, immer wieder, bis sie tot zusammensacken. Deine Belohnung sind schwarze Schatten, die in dich eindringen, deine Seele peitschen, bis du bewusstlos zusammensackst. Du willst die Kolosse nicht töten! Aber du musst, du musst leiden, um die Liebe des Helden zu retten, um diese wunderbare Geschichte erleben zu dürfen.
    Es gibt Gamer, die dem Spiel die Endlos erscheinenden Reitstunden auf der Suche nach eurem Ziel und die gefühlten 1000 Anläufe die man braucht um es dann zur Strecke zu bringen, vorhalten aber es ist wie ein Buch, dessen Seiten dich jedes Mal in den Finger schneiden, wenn du weiterblätterst doch du kannst trotzdem nicht aufhören es weiter zu lesen. Aber du liest nicht, was passiert, schaust nicht zu, du handelst. Wirst zum Täter, zum Verbrecher, belädst dich mit Schuld. Kein Film, kein Buch kann so was. Das können nur Videospiele - und tun es viel zu selten. "Shadow Of The Colossus" hat es am besten gemacht.
    Expand
  10. Nov 5, 2016
    4
    Just like Ico, this is a very boring, uninteresting and lacking game. Also like Ico, the only positive I can think of is the music. It's just 16 bosses and nothing else. It's very empty and is very far from being a "masterpiece".
  11. Nov 1, 2016
    9
    Shadow of the Colossus is a masterful classic. There's nothing else like it, and it's widely regarded as one of the greatest games of all time, and this claim is not without merit.

    The game's concept of world exploration spliced with 16 bosses may not seem all that special until you realize that this is the only thing you do in the game, and the world is gigantic and the bosses are
    Shadow of the Colossus is a masterful classic. There's nothing else like it, and it's widely regarded as one of the greatest games of all time, and this claim is not without merit.

    The game's concept of world exploration spliced with 16 bosses may not seem all that special until you realize that this is the only thing you do in the game, and the world is gigantic and the bosses are incredible. Basically the world's greatest boss rush.

    The game is divided into two sections. In one, you explore a vast and open world, uninhibited by pesky loading screens, and uninhabited by any human life. The land is barren and sacred, and is giant enough to legitimately get lost in. In this section, it is silent and calm, the only sounds being the ambient wind or your own horse's hooves on the ground as you travel.

    In the second section, visited during all of the 16 fights with the titular Colossi, everything is fast and loud, with long and arduous fights against impossibly powerful and gigantic foes, which is a boss fight and puzzle platformer hybrid, each completely unique in appearance and method in which you defeat them. In this section, you are required to think and observe, looking for ways to get onto the Colossus and take it down, while at the same time avoiding the Colossus's own attacks. Grabbing onto a Colossus will result in it trying to shake you off, and the constantly dwindling grip gauge forces you to choose your moments and find a balance between offense and letting yourself recover stamina with every opportunity you can get in between the Colossus's wild flails.

    As stated, each Colossus is unique in appearance and method of combat, and they are truly stunning spectacles. The Colossi actually feel gigantic, moving slowly and ponderously around, towering above your character, imposing a challenge that seems impossible to overcome. When you're on top of a particularly tall Colossus, the height is exemplified, the terrain around you becoming small, and allowing you to see miles into the distance. The camera is programmed to point this out, revolving around the character and the Colossus, panning out to show off the scenery and the sheer monumental scale of your opponent, and it makes for amazingly cinematic moments. Felling these giants results in it falling into the ground, a thunderous boom resounding as it crashes heavily into the ground. Although there are two Colossi that are actually around the size of a bull, these ones make up for it in sheer aggression, though the first of these two can get annoying as it will knock you down constantly, and you'll find yourself unable to get back up fast enough to avoid it plowing into you again over and over.

    The world is vast and open, every single place, save for the final area, being accessible right from the beginning (though there is a specific order in which you have to fight the Colossi). The world consists of multiple areas, from dense forests to rolling hills to arid deserts to roaring waterfalls, and it all looks and feels stunning. It's more than possible to get lost on your way to a Colossus and have to find your way all the way back to where you took that wrong turn, which can get a bit annoying if it happens more than once or twice, but the world is so beautiful you almost won't even care.

    A criticism I have concerns the gameplay itself, which can sometimes be cumbersome and finicky. Hanging onto a Colossus and trying to attack it can sometimes be a chore, as even the tiniest movement will interrupt any attempted strike and have you readjust, and this can become problematic when the Colossus won't stop moving for two seconds enough for you to actually get a hit in. This is only really problematic on a few select Colossi, but it can become a real hassle.

    All in all, Shadow of the Colossus deserves all the praise it gets for all the aforementioned points, and if you're a patron of the more artsy games, this is a must own.
    Expand
  12. Oct 18, 2016
    0
    I can't believe it. I can't believe it. I CANNOT BELIEVE THEY DID THIS. This game is a TOTAL ripoff of Shadow the Hedgehog! The name alone should tell you everything. Another fact: BOTH GAMES ARE EDGY! Except this one doesn't have guns, so it isn't cool edgy, it's lame edgy! You also move really slow, and DID I MENTION THIS GAME DOESN'T HAVE GUNS!? DON'T SUPPORT STEALING!!! BOYCOTT THISI can't believe it. I can't believe it. I CANNOT BELIEVE THEY DID THIS. This game is a TOTAL ripoff of Shadow the Hedgehog! The name alone should tell you everything. Another fact: BOTH GAMES ARE EDGY! Except this one doesn't have guns, so it isn't cool edgy, it's lame edgy! You also move really slow, and DID I MENTION THIS GAME DOESN'T HAVE GUNS!? DON'T SUPPORT STEALING!!! BOYCOTT THIS GAME AND BUY SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG INSTEAD!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  13. Sep 28, 2016
    10
    Praticamente o melhor jogo de toda historia, sua atmosfera é oque dá mais valor ao jogo, por isso tem fãs que fazem varias teorias
    Os graficos sao bons para o ps2, colossus e colossus e uma historia bonita e simples
  14. Sep 5, 2016
    10
    aajhgxaygr yargufgraueagb vyaoiuyvbayibrvbvir irbvfabvurbalifvgb bfBFVLbgvlsbFYgbvsuy yGFGFGEFLYGsj Gflsigvsj isgfige 45 **** uasgfuslgoau augl hjkf uyfufulfu yufuofu.
  15. Aug 28, 2016
    10
    a total master piece, an atemporal jewel, my personal favorite game of all time, 2005 was my favorite year of all time, its the only game who win to dark souls
  16. Aug 19, 2016
    10
    Um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos, sem duvida, uma obra de arte
    seus graficos sao lindos
    a historia é emocionante mesmo sem muitos dialogos. acompanhamos wander em derrotar 16 colossus para ressuscitar a mono. na historia voce nao sabe se esta fazendo o certo, o jogo tem um jeito de misterio , ruinas e e tudo mais, esse jogo so pecou para mim e nao ter tantos bugs assim, pois é
    Um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos, sem duvida, uma obra de arte
    seus graficos sao lindos
    a historia é emocionante mesmo sem muitos dialogos.
    acompanhamos wander em derrotar 16 colossus para ressuscitar a mono.
    na historia voce nao sabe se esta fazendo o certo, o jogo tem um jeito de misterio , ruinas e e tudo mais, esse jogo so pecou para mim e nao ter tantos bugs assim, pois é
    acho ue um jogo com a atmosfera de misterio deveria ter mais coisas assim, um colosso deletado no jogo, e etc, etc, isso faria o jogo ser o melhor para mim.
    Expand
  17. Aug 16, 2016
    9
    Shadow of the Colossus is an action-adventure game developed by Team Ico published by Sony Computer Entertainment.

    + Emotional
    + Great Bosses Fights
    + Music
  18. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    Um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos, sem duvida, uma obra de arte
    seus graficos sao lindos
    a historia é emocionante mesmo sem muitos dialogos. acompanhamos wander em derrotar 16 colossus para ressuscitar a mono. na historia voce nao sabe se esta fazendo o certo, o jogo tem um jeito de misterio , ruinas e e tudo mais, esse jogo so pecou para mim e nao ter tantos bugs assim, pois é
    Um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos, sem duvida, uma obra de arte
    seus graficos sao lindos
    a historia é emocionante mesmo sem muitos dialogos.
    acompanhamos wander em derrotar 16 colossus para ressuscitar a mono.
    na historia voce nao sabe se esta fazendo o certo, o jogo tem um jeito de misterio , ruinas e e tudo mais, esse jogo so pecou para mim e nao ter tantos bugs assim, pois é
    acho ue um jogo com a atmosfera de misterio deveria ter mais coisas assim, um colosso deletado no jogo, e etc, etc, isso faria o jogo ser o melhor para mim.
    Expand
  19. Aug 13, 2016
    10
    This is no game, this is a journey. No B.S., no filler enemies, no upgrade systems, just follow the light and slay giant beasts with nothing but a sword, a bow and arrow, and your wits.
  20. Aug 6, 2016
    10
    Its hard to rate this game as normally you think of a similar game and then say better-worse.
    That kind of thinking does not work with SotC as there is not a similar game, so your forced to think in short checks or just overall impression.
    If you do want the SotC experience this is the ONLY game that has it, i that have had it found it amazing and regret nobody has managed to make a
    Its hard to rate this game as normally you think of a similar game and then say better-worse.
    That kind of thinking does not work with SotC as there is not a similar game, so your forced to think in short checks or just overall impression.

    If you do want the SotC experience this is the ONLY game that has it, i that have had it found it amazing and regret nobody has managed to make a similar game 10 years later.
    Expand
  21. Aug 1, 2016
    9
    Let me first of all mention that some gameplay might have been compromised because of Playstation now streaming issues.

    I loved the concept of the game and I loved the envioroment but it was a little monotone, The camera and movement controls were awfull which really was the downfall of this game, really unplayable because of it... Worth a shot but if you can't stand the camera and
    Let me first of all mention that some gameplay might have been compromised because of Playstation now streaming issues.

    I loved the concept of the game and I loved the envioroment but it was a little monotone, The camera and movement controls were awfull which really was the downfall of this game, really unplayable because of it...
    Worth a shot but if you can't stand the camera and movement controls like me then I doubt you'll like it.
    Expand
  22. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    Shadow of the colossus is not just a game, is an experience of a lifetime let's not talk about graphics but story which is one of the most beautiful that the gaming industry has to offer, a great BSO and incredible characters and awesome boss battles
  23. Jul 2, 2016
    10
    Simple and the best game.You don't need to level up for hours to fight colossus or look for something for the fight.Only arrow and a sword that's all you need.No need for complexity. Music is perfect and reflects the epic atmosphere.
  24. Apr 15, 2016
    9
    Shadow of the Colossus is an action-adventure game published by Sony Computer Entertainment

    Progression through Shadow of the Colossus occurs in cycles. Beginning at a central point in an expansive landscape, the player seeks out and defeats a colossus, and is then returned to the central point to repeat the process. To find each colossus, Wander may raise his sword while in a sunlit
    Shadow of the Colossus is an action-adventure game published by Sony Computer Entertainment

    Progression through Shadow of the Colossus occurs in cycles. Beginning at a central point in an expansive landscape, the player seeks out and defeats a colossus, and is then returned to the central point to repeat the process. To find each colossus, Wander may raise his sword while in a sunlit area to reflect beams of light, which will converge when the sword is pointed in the right direction of the next encounter. The journey to a colossus is seldom a straightforward matter: stretches of varied terrain often require that a detour be taken along the way. Most colossi are located in remote areas, such as atop cliffs or within ancient structures
    Expand
  25. Apr 10, 2016
    9
    Um game único, trilha sonora épica, batalhas épicas, estória simples mas envolvente. Um sentimento indescritível ao enfrentar o primeiro Colosso, e a curiosidade junto de aflição em imaginar como será o próximo. Este game é a prova perfeita que jogos podem ser considerados um obra de arte. Só não alcança nota máxima por não aproveitar os itens que ganha no modo time atack, se eles fossemUm game único, trilha sonora épica, batalhas épicas, estória simples mas envolvente. Um sentimento indescritível ao enfrentar o primeiro Colosso, e a curiosidade junto de aflição em imaginar como será o próximo. Este game é a prova perfeita que jogos podem ser considerados um obra de arte. Só não alcança nota máxima por não aproveitar os itens que ganha no modo time atack, se eles fossem obtidos durante a campanha seria mais interessante, pois é meio inútil obtê-los após terminar o game. Sem dúvidas um dos melhores games que tive o prazer de jogar em minha vida. Expand
  26. Mar 14, 2016
    7
    I didnt like this at first because i didnt no what i was doing, after that i was amazed but the bosses are hard, its not a simple game, especially where you need to locate
  27. Feb 15, 2016
    10
    Is incredible game,puzzles,fight with the colossus's and the story is a amazing,the best game of the PS2,The art direction,the story,and the colossus are art,this game is art,is a masterpiece,one of the best video-games of the all story.
  28. Feb 10, 2016
    0
    i think the developers had some crystal meth. heroin and vodka while making the parkour system. i tried climbing a wall in the tutorial. 95% of the time i dont climb the wall. cant even play the first level cause the game thinks bad parkour is a positive
  29. Feb 2, 2016
    0
    Most overrated video-game in human history.Most overrated video-game in human history.Most overrated video-game in human history.Most overrated video-game in human history.
  30. Dec 7, 2015
    10
    No video game is perfect, but no other video game has gotten quite as close as Shadow of the Colossus.

    The battles against the colossi are epic and breathtaking; the long, quiet journeys on the road towards are great ways to break up the actions, giving you time to think, etc. The sense of scale this game has is amazing. No game environment made me feel quite this small compared to
    No video game is perfect, but no other video game has gotten quite as close as Shadow of the Colossus.

    The battles against the colossi are epic and breathtaking; the long, quiet journeys on the road towards are great ways to break up the actions, giving you time to think, etc.

    The sense of scale this game has is amazing. No game environment made me feel quite this small compared to my surroundings.

    Even though this game is quite a rarity nowadays, if you're lucky enough to find it, you NEED to pick it up. Prepare to be amazed at what the PS2 was capable of pumping out.
    Expand
  31. Nov 27, 2015
    10
    Shadow of The Colossus
    Magic
    Shadow of the Colossus is an open world action adventure game that starts out with you carrying a lifeless body into a temple. You’re there in hopes of bringing this woman back to life, and are told it is possible, but you must collect the souls of these 16 beasts that roam the land this is one giant world with nothing but boss battles. The open world in
    Shadow of The Colossus
    Magic
    Shadow of the Colossus is an open world action adventure game that starts out with you carrying a lifeless body into a temple.
    You’re there in hopes of bringing this woman back to life, and are told it is possible, but you must collect the souls of these 16 beasts that roam the land
    this is one giant world with nothing but boss battles.
    The open world in Shadow of the Colossus is extremely bare compared to what were used to now from games like the witcher 3,
    The landscape is fun to explore and traverse through on your trusty steed but I found it all to be very harsh on my eyes, there are some gorgeous sections of this world, but my eyes for some reason couldn’t adapt, making it all seem like a blur to me.
    In this world there is nothing but save points, lizards that you can kill to increase your grip, and fruit you can eat to increase your health.
    I appreciate the open world, but the stars of the show are the Colossi
    You’re tasked with defeating 1 at a time, you’re given a hint to their location and can hold your sword up to the sun to point in its direction, you aren’t given a mini map, but you can pause to look at your current in game location.
    Once you get to the right location a cut scene introduces your foe.
    Every colossus is different, you’ll fight sloths, turtles, eels, giants, birds, and the list goes on and on.
    They all have a trick to defeating them, no 2 the same. Once you’ve tricked the colossus into a vulnerable position you can then climb it and attack its weak spot with your sword, it sounds easy, but it’s not,
    There is a lot of vertical platforming, but there’s an attempt at realism with your grip. You have to time your attacks and resting perfectly or you risk falling off of the colossus and have to start the climb again.
    Every time you defeat a colossus your grip grows stronger.
    And grabbing has its own command, making the action feel even more immersive, if you let go, your character lets go.
    You’re also given 2 weapons
    Sometimes the colossus needs to be irritated with a bow before it attacks you or you can attack it.
    The game will give you subtle clues if you get stuck, but ultimately the game leaves the problem solving up to you.
    And this isn’t a dig at God of War because I love that game, but I really wish developers should stop copying God of War style bosses and start copying the bosses in Shadow of The Colossus.
    These are the greatest boss battles I’ve experienced in a game period.
    Some of the creatures are massive, and there’s a dash of problem solving and trickery.
    Admittedly some bosses felt like the standard, defeat the games algorithm, but for the most part I felt like I was outsmarting my enemy rather than simply going off of an in game cycle
    Shadow of the Colossus is one of the most immersive games ever and a must play for all.
    For what it is

    Action Adventure:
    9.5/10

    Overall:9.5/10
    Expand
  32. Nov 26, 2015
    10
    + Unique
    + All the Bosses are breathtaking and challenging
    + Great approach to story telling- that NEVER gets in the way of the gameplay, but is still moving
    + The world feels so barren and mysterious yet beautiful

    - Frame rate issues
  33. Nov 25, 2015
    9
    This game is good. I really like it. You kill monsters and das cool but what i realy is that is got art. and i like art. van gg=ogh is a good artist. so am i.
  34. Nov 19, 2015
    7
    Завораживающие ролики, нормальные, хоть и слегка однообразные боссы, классная музыка. Никакой дурацкой прокачки, тупых мобов и сбора лута.
    Если б не графика, была б мега-игра.
  35. Sep 2, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest games of ALL TIME. i am one who does not say that lightly but i assure you Shadow Of the Colossus is that good.

    The visuals for Shadow Of the Colossus are beautiful sure it looks dated the game is over 10 years old but the textures and detail on the massive world and especially the colossi really make it come to life. the gameplay is superb there were a few times
    One of the greatest games of ALL TIME. i am one who does not say that lightly but i assure you Shadow Of the Colossus is that good.

    The visuals for Shadow Of the Colossus are beautiful sure it looks dated the game is over 10 years old but the textures and detail on the massive world and especially the colossi really make it come to life.

    the gameplay is superb there were a few times that agro frustrated me but besides that everything goes very smoothly it is an amazing epic feeling to fight the largest creatures video games have to offer.

    the story is fascinating and amazing use your sword to kill the colossi and bring back your loved one. and yet no matter how hard the colossi was and how mad i got whenever i failed to kill it i always felt a sadness when it crashed to the ground in its death. it's not something many games or movies have been able to do often.

    my favorite part of this entire game is the soundtrack. i love music and i love good music in video games and movies but this game has arguably one of the best soundtracks in a video game EVER it is absolutely beautiful i have never played a game that switches the soundtrack mid bossfight which it does when the game knows that you know how to kill the colossi. it goes from slow and mysterious to high paced and EPIC. it is just astounding and i loved every moment of it.

    Shadow Of The Colossus is a shoo in for it's perfect ten out of ten rating.
    Expand
  36. Aug 8, 2015
    10
    Beautiful ambient, sometimes, i like to hang and travel around rather than go for the colossus. The only awful thing it was the Horse control. Recommended for anyone who has got a PS2 or a PS3
  37. Aug 6, 2015
    9
    I played the HD remaster and after getting used to the controls (that seem to be a little clumsy for these days), I've found myself in a beautiful game with incredible bossfights that reminded me once more, why I love the games from From Software. Shadow of the Colossus rarely grabs you by the hand and assumes that you are a thinking being. It's desolate yet beautiful landscape is worthI played the HD remaster and after getting used to the controls (that seem to be a little clumsy for these days), I've found myself in a beautiful game with incredible bossfights that reminded me once more, why I love the games from From Software. Shadow of the Colossus rarely grabs you by the hand and assumes that you are a thinking being. It's desolate yet beautiful landscape is worth exploring and the beautiful arranged soundtrack does the rest to deliver a great experience that still holds up in 2015. 9/10 would play again! Expand
  38. Jul 15, 2015
    10
    Excelente. Hasta el día de hoy no hay ninguno que se parezca en su estilo (quizás haya, no lo sé(?)). El mundo está muy bien logrado y se nota la calidad en cada uno de sus aspectos.
  39. May 12, 2015
    10
    Is a Super fantastic FXXking Awesome game!!!!!
    no equipment, no skill , no potion ,no minions .
    But an Outstanding action game,
    It has the most epic boss fight beside GOW
    the colossus is challenging and Well design
    they look badass and gorgeous,every colossus needs skills and some unique ways to defeat,
    A well made Masterpiece 10/10 no doubt
  40. Mar 27, 2015
    7
    I'm gonna be honest, this game didn't vow me as it intended to. I played this game in 2014, so that may be the reason for that, nevertheless, i couldn't help but compare this game to Twilight Princess, as in my opinion those games share a lot of similarities - very similar art style, large bosses, environment puzzles, the possibility to catch animals, riding on a horse, using a sword and aI'm gonna be honest, this game didn't vow me as it intended to. I played this game in 2014, so that may be the reason for that, nevertheless, i couldn't help but compare this game to Twilight Princess, as in my opinion those games share a lot of similarities - very similar art style, large bosses, environment puzzles, the possibility to catch animals, riding on a horse, using a sword and a bow ...
    However, compared to Twilight Princess, a game of epic length with a deep story and massive dungeons, Shadow of the Colossus felt like a ride through an empty world. The story in this game is minimal and while I can appreciate the art direction, I found myself bored a lot with this game. Riding a horse through an empty and boring world while using an awkward navigation system is really not entertaining.

    The fights against the colossi are pretty epic, though. At least at first. After that, you realize that not only do you have to repeat the same pattern for each colossus (use a sword, find a weak point, climb him and stab him - yeah, there are some alternations, but you'll be doing this every time), but considering that there are only 16 colossi (which is not that high of a number) they are not that varied either - there are like 3 really tall guys, 3 snake-type guys, 2 small pig-guys - and all of these fights are quite similar which is a shame. I could take it if each battle was completely unique ... but what I get are minor alterations of foes I have defeated before.

    Unfortunately, that's not it, I couldn't help but notice that this game had FPS issues as well as locking-on and camera control in general was not very well implemented, making some fights more frustrating that they would have otherwise been.

    In my opinion, two words sum this game perfectly: Wasted potential. It really is sad, because this game could have been epic. But it's just ... good.
    Expand
  41. Feb 17, 2015
    3
    The colossi are literally the only good part of this game. They do what most bosses can't do-feel huge. They are epic, well designed, and the music is cool too. Too bad the music is 30 seconds constantly looping, and just plain stops after about 3 minutes. Oh, and let's not forget the camera, which has a mind of its own, and the platforming, which is the worst I've ever seen. Good luckThe colossi are literally the only good part of this game. They do what most bosses can't do-feel huge. They are epic, well designed, and the music is cool too. Too bad the music is 30 seconds constantly looping, and just plain stops after about 3 minutes. Oh, and let's not forget the camera, which has a mind of its own, and the platforming, which is the worst I've ever seen. Good luck trying to climb anywhere without falling 5-7 times first. Oh, and the horse! Have fun trying to bond with it when it's too busy slowing down for no reason and being near-impossible to control! Team ICO obviously spent way too much time designing their open world, because all living creatures besides the colossi look like crap. Prepare for useless features like: A bow that does almost no damage to the colossi! The ability to wield nothing, making you defenseless! And crouching, because maybe if you get low enough, the colossi won't see you!
    I tried to like this game, I really did, but its controls make it absolutely unplayable, and like I said, the best part is how cool the colossi look.
    Expand
  42. Feb 15, 2015
    9
    Wow, what an incredible game. Puzzles, exploration, story: this game has it all! Would recommend it to anyone looking for a fresh game that breaks the barriers of what is the norm now.
  43. Jan 27, 2015
    10
    Just no words for this game... It's a Master Piece, one of the most phenomenal, amazing games that I ever played. And the mystery behind the story and the game itself... just wants you do know more and more about the game.
  44. Jan 17, 2015
    10
    ¡ Qué obra de arte ni qué leches ! Este juego es, ante todo, una obra maestra de la programación en tiempo real. La mitad de las cosas que se pueden hacer en este juego, con un control total de las acciones del prota, un juego como God of War las resolvería con estúpidos "Quick Time Events". Esa es la diferencia entre una incontestable e imperecedera obra maestra y una mediocridad vendida¡ Qué obra de arte ni qué leches ! Este juego es, ante todo, una obra maestra de la programación en tiempo real. La mitad de las cosas que se pueden hacer en este juego, con un control total de las acciones del prota, un juego como God of War las resolvería con estúpidos "Quick Time Events". Esa es la diferencia entre una incontestable e imperecedera obra maestra y una mediocridad vendida por el marqueting de Sony como si fuera imprescindible. ¿Despedir a Fumito Ueda? ¡ Menuda cagada! A este tío le tenían que poner una estatua. ¡¡ UN JUEGO ENTRE UN MILLÓN!! Expand
  45. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    No matter how much time passes, this game is still a work of art. A story that is told almost in silence, with the magic of a book, and a brilliant and innovative gameplay.
  46. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    Masterpiece.MasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpieceMasterpiece
  47. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    Shadow of the colossus is a gaming masterpiece and one of my favorite PS2 games, it was highly innovative for the time and has a wonderful atmosphere where you feel immersed in an empty world with only a few colossal beings roaming around. It really does deliver considering the limitations of the PS2.
  48. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    Shadow of the colossus is an unique image for games that can still use words but have the complexity and style. the idea of a game such as this being linked to 2001's ICO through universe subtly references what they have in common though i can't necessarily recommend shadow of the colossus to any one who liked ICO their game-play is nothing alike. You already know what Shadow of theShadow of the colossus is an unique image for games that can still use words but have the complexity and style. the idea of a game such as this being linked to 2001's ICO through universe subtly references what they have in common though i can't necessarily recommend shadow of the colossus to any one who liked ICO their game-play is nothing alike. You already know what Shadow of the colossus is all about climbing mythical colossi and stabbing their weak spots every colossus is a different puzzle you have to figure out how to climb them before you can kill them. the overall difficulty for each boss is petty easy for the most part but it's always refreshing figuring out how to kill a colossus for yourself. the games got a beautiful atmosphere and world. This game's a breath of fresh colossus blood. Expand
  49. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus has demonstrated that games are more than violence. It is evidence to silence the enemies of gaming, like CNN. It captures feelings of love, wonderment, and cruelty. Sadly this game is underrated, and it has the power to change your look on violence and your appreciation for a story.
    PROS:
    +The game is gorgeous. A PS2 game looks so colorful and beautiful, and that
    Shadow of the Colossus has demonstrated that games are more than violence. It is evidence to silence the enemies of gaming, like CNN. It captures feelings of love, wonderment, and cruelty. Sadly this game is underrated, and it has the power to change your look on violence and your appreciation for a story.
    PROS:
    +The game is gorgeous. A PS2 game looks so colorful and beautiful, and that is when I feel graphics really count in a review - when they go above and beyond expectations, and add to the enjoyment.
    +The story is breath-taking; few, if any words are said, and it still makes you feel for the characters.
    +Level design - absolutely amazing - the best I've ever seen before.
    +The bosses (colossus) are incredibly well designed. They all have different patterns, moods, and not only are they intimidating in their stature, they manage to be beautiful at the same time.
    CONS:
    -It is hard to find one of the colossus, but it is hardly worth mentioning.
    Get it. DO IT!
    Expand
  50. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    This is not just a game, it is art. Also, it is unique. You wont find a game like this. People say this game is bad because of the camera or that it is the same all the way... Like the 2 colossus they defeated.... and people who have a hard time with the camera, don´t have a right to say its a bad game just because of that.
    I played the game in my ps2, now I have it in my ps3 and I love
    This is not just a game, it is art. Also, it is unique. You wont find a game like this. People say this game is bad because of the camera or that it is the same all the way... Like the 2 colossus they defeated.... and people who have a hard time with the camera, don´t have a right to say its a bad game just because of that.
    I played the game in my ps2, now I have it in my ps3 and I love playing it from time to time.
    Expand
  51. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    A mysterious wanderer walks into a forbidden land with what seems to be a deceased body. Mysterious shadows arise from the ground. The mysterious wanderer then shows his ancient sword to the mysterious shadows that claim to be the Dormin. The dormin are rumored to have the power to bring a soul back to the body. They then send you out to kill sixteen colossi. That is the plot line to thisA mysterious wanderer walks into a forbidden land with what seems to be a deceased body. Mysterious shadows arise from the ground. The mysterious wanderer then shows his ancient sword to the mysterious shadows that claim to be the Dormin. The dormin are rumored to have the power to bring a soul back to the body. They then send you out to kill sixteen colossi. That is the plot line to this innovative, glorious and magnificent third-person action adventure.

    The gameplay is definitely something to get used to. It's definitely weird. Triangle is jump, and in order to climb up ledges you need to hold R1 while jumping. But once you get a hang of things the gameplay is fun and enjoyable. Especially since you have to climb up giant colossi that tower over you by one hundred feet! Needless to say the bosses are fun, well. Most of them.

    Colossi number eleven, is just a pain in the ass. SERIOUSLY. It is the size of a bull. That's significantly smaller than all the other colossi. And when you're on the ground the colossi will just keep running you over until you die or traps you in a corner. It's a pain in the ass.

    But other than that the game is just fantastic. It has the best graphics for a 2005 game, its score is beautiful, its gameplay is great (once you get grasp on it) and its just a glorious game.

    It's innovative because every boss is different and distinct in every way. Some colossi you have to lure them over to specific area and they'll have hit something so then you can climb up on them and stab them inn the head, or you'll have to shoot the flying colossi so it'll come and attack you them jump on it while it tries to strike.

    In conclusion, Shadow Of The Colossus is one of the best games I've ever played. other than a few bad colossi and camera angles, it's almost a masterpiece.
    Expand
  52. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    this game is outstanding! shadow of the colossus is one of the greatest games on the playstation 2, close competitors would be the metal gear solid games and god of war (in my opinion). if not the best game, definitely the most beautiful and unique. the concept of having only boss fights and no other enemies in the game is pretty risky, but it totally works in this game. the story isthis game is outstanding! shadow of the colossus is one of the greatest games on the playstation 2, close competitors would be the metal gear solid games and god of war (in my opinion). if not the best game, definitely the most beautiful and unique. the concept of having only boss fights and no other enemies in the game is pretty risky, but it totally works in this game. the story is unique as well, it is told very simply and has very little dialogue but has a deep meaning, and its very appealing. the only gripe I have is that it is pretty hard to die in this game. the game isn't easy, but any time I died it was not during a battle, I accidently rolled off a cliff or something. after you get over the height and size of the colossus, you soon realize that its not really that big of a threat since they hardly attack and do very little damage when they do hurt you and your health recharges. Figuring out how to kill the thing is the hard part and the most enjoyable part of the game. the other gripe I have is that the camera can be a bit irritating and can take you out of the game a little bit otherwise this game is awsome Expand
  53. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    I had heard that Shadow of the colossus was one of the best games in history, and now that i have finally have it and beaten it. I agree with them. Besides fighting Cronos in God Of War 3, and Mecha Bowser in Super Mario Galaxy, i have never battle giant bosses like Shadow Of The Colossus's bosses. There isn't any enemies in this game, it only contains 16 boss fights, and locating each ofI had heard that Shadow of the colossus was one of the best games in history, and now that i have finally have it and beaten it. I agree with them. Besides fighting Cronos in God Of War 3, and Mecha Bowser in Super Mario Galaxy, i have never battle giant bosses like Shadow Of The Colossus's bosses. There isn't any enemies in this game, it only contains 16 boss fights, and locating each of them. And trust me, those 16 boss fights are the probably some of the best bosses i have ever faced, it actually made me feel like i was batting these giants myself. And locating them ISN'T easy, sure you can use the ancient sword to locate them, but that doesn't mean you will just able to locate them without breaking a sweat, for example, i had a hard time trying to locate Hydrus and Palega. As for the boss fights against each colossi, they were outstanding, as i said earlier. When i first played this game, i died once on Valus because i was getting used to the controls, but once i did, the fun i had with this game began. My favorite boss in the game is the final boss, Malus, it was emotional, fair, challenging, and fun. I when i say it was emotional, I MEAN IT! I mean, before the battle begins, Argo, your only friend and companion, falls to her apparent death, and you are forced to face Malus alone, and most of all, the music, Demise Of The Ritual, is one of the best final boss themes i have ever hear, it really sets the mood for the fight, and as autarch and obisdious fan once said, "This is for my horse!" And finally, the story for the game is pretty decent, Wander, the game's main protagonist, is forced to kill 16 colossi in order to revive his friend or love interest, i can't really tell because the game NEVER tells us, Mono. I won't spoil the ending for you, but the ending WILL make you feel sorry for Wander, and make you HATE Dormin, i mean it, Dormin should burn in HE............. Sorry, got carried away. Anyways, now here's the game's flaws. Some times the game could be very frustrating, for example, it took me about a HOUR, to beat Argus, ONE, FREAKING, HOUR! Plus it took me forever to find how to beat Galus, Phaedra, and most of all, Basarn! THE MOST DIFFICULT BOSS IN THE ENTIRE GAME! AND THE MOST UNFAIR BOSS IN THE ENTIRE GAME! Of normal mode. After beating the game there is a mode called Hard mode that is unlocked, along with time attack. Hard mode is fun, but it was very frustrating, that includes you Argus. WHO WAS THE HARDEST AND UNFAIR BOSS IN HARD MODE! The most frustrating part of the game is that you get a bar that indicates how much you can hold on to a colossus, NOW THAT SEEMS FAIR! Though you rest on the colossus when your not trying to attack it's weakspot so it really doesn't matter. Despite these few problems, Shadow Of The Colossus is a fun and awesome game, if makes you feel sorry for the hero and hate the villain, it has excellent boss fights, and it's story is a emotional classic, and if you haven't played it yet, i recommend getting it now, and trust me, you won't regret, and thus i give this game a 9 out of 10. Expand
  54. May 24, 2014
    10
    I don´t care how cliche it sounds, to me this game is a work of Art. The beauty of its designs and art direction; the effectivity of its simple, yet incredibly polished gameplay mechanics; the melancholy and sense of wonderment that its story conveys; and its absolutely GLORIOUS soundtrack; it all just blends up to make one the more incredible gaming experiences that I have ever had. AI don´t care how cliche it sounds, to me this game is a work of Art. The beauty of its designs and art direction; the effectivity of its simple, yet incredibly polished gameplay mechanics; the melancholy and sense of wonderment that its story conveys; and its absolutely GLORIOUS soundtrack; it all just blends up to make one the more incredible gaming experiences that I have ever had. A true classic for the ages. Expand
  55. May 18, 2014
    0
    Let's get the good stuff out of the way first: The graphics are impressive-ish for the PlayStation 2 and the controls are somewhat manageable when your cameraman isn't having a seizure. Oh, and you have a horse.

    Now that that's over, let's get to this absolutely atrocious mess of a game. This game mainly consists of Boss Battles. Twelve of them. Then the game ends. That's it. Of course,
    Let's get the good stuff out of the way first: The graphics are impressive-ish for the PlayStation 2 and the controls are somewhat manageable when your cameraman isn't having a seizure. Oh, and you have a horse.

    Now that that's over, let's get to this absolutely atrocious mess of a game. This game mainly consists of Boss Battles. Twelve of them. Then the game ends. That's it. Of course, that's going to take you anywhere from 10-100 hours depending on whether or not you actually know what you're doing, because each boss is controller smashing-ly, tv-bashing-ly difficult for no apparent reason, with absolutely no indication given whatsoever of what to do and the boss having an insanely high health bar. You can only destroy each boss by doing an extremely specific set of actions that require perfect timing and quick fingers, if you can figure out what those actions are in the first place. And, instead of each boss, or "colossus" having multiple ways to defeat, the game is constantly cramming its linearity down your throat, only being able to go to any given place when it wants you to, and only being able, like I said before, to defeat bosses in a certain way. And even then, you need perfect timing, as every boss has undodgable attacks (which are mostly undodgable because your character moves so darn slow) that happen every time you go within a certain range of the boss, and these attacks take away anywhere from a quarter to all of your health away.

    Now for the story: One cutscene! Yay! One cutscene that has nothing to do with anything you do in the story whatsoever! Because that always makes sense in an adventure game (if you can call this linear garbage an adventure game). This would honestly be forgivable if any other part of the game were any good.
    Expand
  56. Apr 6, 2014
    0
    I know I will be in a definite minority, but I'm writing this review to help provide a more accurate picture of this game for those gamer who need usable controls to play a game. Shadow of the Colossus is a unique game with a VERY beautiful aesthetic. BUT the camera is so atrociously bad as to make the game unplayable. It makes any attempt to play the game an exercise in frustration.I know I will be in a definite minority, but I'm writing this review to help provide a more accurate picture of this game for those gamer who need usable controls to play a game. Shadow of the Colossus is a unique game with a VERY beautiful aesthetic. BUT the camera is so atrociously bad as to make the game unplayable. It makes any attempt to play the game an exercise in frustration. It's always attempt to move itself back to where "it" want to be, not where you need it to be. Just trying to walk up a winding path along a mountain side takes extreme patience. Otherwise you'll step off the ledge and drop down. Sometimes killing yourself accidentally. And when you get into a situation where it REALLY matters, like attempting to climb to where a colossus is located, or even worse, in the middle of a battle, a single erratic jump of the unpredictable camera can mean an hour of battle time is lost, and you have to start from scratch (including the frustrating climb to reach the colossus in the first place).

    Bottom line: Unique and distinctive game. Just be ready to deal with the hideous camera.
    Expand
  57. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is truly an amazing game. I've read a lot of the negative reviews here and i keep seeing people who were looking for a full fledged RPG or people who need constant interaction and flashing lights when they play games, which is fine I quite enjoy flashy lights myself. This game is an exercise in using emotion as a key element. You are supposed to feel like the worldShadow of the Colossus is truly an amazing game. I've read a lot of the negative reviews here and i keep seeing people who were looking for a full fledged RPG or people who need constant interaction and flashing lights when they play games, which is fine I quite enjoy flashy lights myself. This game is an exercise in using emotion as a key element. You are supposed to feel like the world is empty and that you are alone but... you aren't alone. There are these large beast hidden somewhere in this rather beautifully painted world of ancient ruins, mountains, forests, lakes, and ravines. It sorta makes you think what else could be out there. It sucks you in and suddenly you do feel like Wander in a foreign land, in w way that not many other games have accomplished. Inside this world you'll find 16 massive colossus that are each their own giant walking platforming puzzle.. that also tries to kill you. When this game came out my jaw dropped at the first sight of the colossus. Something that awesome had never been done so perfectly. The developers did such a good job of giving heavy things weight. When that giant stone sword hits the ground you'll swear you felt your house shake. Nothing is cooler than standing on the head of a colossus and seeing the ground several hundred feet below, actually getting vertigo from a video game. A lot of the negative reviews say that the camera and controls were horrible only i've never had a problem with the camera. Its a simple camera you control with a joy stick. I honestly think that some people aren't using the camera stick and just letting the camera auto which would be terrible. I've never played a game that's dropped my jaw, starred my eyes, or fueled my wonder like SOTC has. The developers put so much detail and effort into their creation that it just oozes out of every hill, rock, and colossus. Everyone likes their own type of games and maybe SOTC isn't you're cup of tea, but this is one of the most amazing games on the PS2 a land mark in art direction, mechanics, and innovation. Expand
  58. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Sublime. Phenomenal. Artistic masterpiece. The scale is unbelievable for a PS2 game. SOTC transcends beyond any conventional labels and inspires much like a spiritual journey.
  59. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    This is more than a game... it's an artistic masterpiece. The games epicness and beauty is astonishing. It's a perfect balance of adventure, action and puzzle game all in one.

    If you consider yourself a gamer but never played Shadow of the Colussus... do yourself a favor and get ahold of this ASAP!
  60. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    The boss battles truly make this game amazing. Truth is it suffers in a several areas though. Such as extremely slow movement traversing terrain and a horse that sometimes likes to randomly stop or run into walls.
  61. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Definitely one of the greatest games I've ever played, without a doubt. The style of the entire game is just breath-taking, I wish I could just stare at the 3rd colossus for a few moments before it attacked.
  62. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    The power of the physics in this game is just too much a ia ia iai iai iaia i ai aia iai ai i ai ai ai aia i iaiai i ai aiia i ai aai ia screw you flanders
  63. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus might be the best game on the PS2. It's a masterpiece, it defines the PS2. The story is great, the characters are epic and the whole game will just blow your mind.
  64. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece, a game that's often brought into the argument that is "Can games can be a piece of art?". Yes they can be, and this is a perfect example. The game is very impressive visually, and that certainly helps the sublime art style. The animation quality is incredible, all the Colossi have a real presence and move realistically, and Agro and Wander are veryShadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece, a game that's often brought into the argument that is "Can games can be a piece of art?". Yes they can be, and this is a perfect example. The game is very impressive visually, and that certainly helps the sublime art style. The animation quality is incredible, all the Colossi have a real presence and move realistically, and Agro and Wander are very realistic as well, (especially when Wander is on the Colossi) but the real star of the show in that aspect is the Colossi for sure. The games music is just incredible, completely suits the tone of the game and really gives a depressing atmosphere. Gameplay wise, SotC is pretty simple, you find the Colossi in the wasteland and you find out how to kill them by jumping, holding on and stabbing them, it's basically a puzzle game in disguise, the puzzles being how to find the Colossi and how to kill them. I think this really works for the game, it's really satisfying to finally beat a Colossi after an hour of trying, I think this is because the game has a really good sense of scale, these things are huge and you just feel like god when you take one of them down. The game finds a great balance between easy and hard, ìt's challenging but not unforgiving, I really like that in a game. This is not a perfect game at all, nothing is perfect, the game has minor camera problems and Agros controls are a bit janky at times, but I don't think giving a game 10 out of 10 means it's perfect, there are just a select few that feel like they deserve a 10, and I think Shadow of the Colossus is one of them.

    Roll on The Last Guardian!
    Expand
  65. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Shadow of the Colossus is one of the best games in the 6th generation. Offering a new unique style to both gameplay and gives a new direction where art is the new form of storytelling to this amazing epic. With both music and the amazing beauty of the art mixed together well the player will understand clearly how in depth they can be with the protagonist of the game, of his journey andShadow of the Colossus is one of the best games in the 6th generation. Offering a new unique style to both gameplay and gives a new direction where art is the new form of storytelling to this amazing epic. With both music and the amazing beauty of the art mixed together well the player will understand clearly how in depth they can be with the protagonist of the game, of his journey and his goal to save his maiden. The game also ends with a twist and offers replay value you wouldnt normally see in a game like this in the form of a new game+ and adds a new time challenge which will reward you for completing the tough challenges. This game is an amazing legendary classic in which all fans of adventure games will surely enjoy! Expand
  66. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    A Genuine experience.

    While some aspects don't appeal to all (Camera and Controls) the game forgets these flaws and delivers an absolutely brilliant plot packaged with arguably the best boss fights ever seen in videogames, neatly topped with a minimalist art design which immediately impacts the players emotions and continues to throughout. Too repeat myself, the boss fights in this
    A Genuine experience.

    While some aspects don't appeal to all (Camera and Controls) the game forgets these flaws and delivers an absolutely brilliant plot packaged with arguably the best boss fights ever seen in videogames, neatly topped with a minimalist art design which immediately impacts the players emotions and continues to throughout.

    Too repeat myself, the boss fights in this game are phenomenal, with an easy 'weak spot exploit' formulae mixed with difficult puzzle based climbing of the massive colossi, the game delivers an experience no gamer is to go without, an experience that truly challenges how you take on these colossi.

    Shadow of the Colossus was Re-released on PS3 and to be frank, some adventures are worth taking twice.
    Expand
  67. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    What can I say? EPIC, SENSATIONAL, GRANDE, ESPETACULOSO, REALISTIC (in the epoch), VOLTAGE TOTAL BESIDE THE MONSTER MURKY, MAP GREAT BIG, MYSTERIES, FEARS, AND TOTAL EMOTION! WHAT HAS CRITICIZE!! Love it forever
  68. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    In a word, Shadow of the Colossus is masterful. The graphics are beautiful, as is the story, however minimalist it is. The battles against the Colossus are each detailed, difficult, and challenging. Each battle requires you to figure out a weakness and then climb to it, adding a puzzle-like element to the game.

    The world in which you traverse in just amazing. There is a lack of music
    In a word, Shadow of the Colossus is masterful. The graphics are beautiful, as is the story, however minimalist it is. The battles against the Colossus are each detailed, difficult, and challenging. Each battle requires you to figure out a weakness and then climb to it, adding a puzzle-like element to the game.

    The world in which you traverse in just amazing. There is a lack of music while you travel to your destination, adding to the chilling and wondrous environment. When in battle, outstanding battle themes play as you fight, making each fight grand and epic.

    Really, this game is just brilliant. I just wish I could delete my memory so that I could replay it again for the first time.
    Expand
  69. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    A spiritual sequel to the unique Ico debate still rages as to which is the better game. All I will say is that both are unlike any other video game ever created.

    Trying to explain what makes Shadow of the Colossus such a fantastic experience is difficult as it really is a game that needs to be played to be fully appreciated. Much like its predecessor a minimalist approach has been
    A spiritual sequel to the unique Ico debate still rages as to which is the better game. All I will say is that both are unlike any other video game ever created.

    Trying to explain what makes Shadow of the Colossus such a fantastic experience is difficult as it really is a game that needs to be played to be fully appreciated. Much like its predecessor a minimalist approach has been taken to proceedings creating an almost overwhelming atmosphere of calm isolation.

    The gameplay itself basically boils down to sixteen boss battles against the Colossi themselves with only a short introduction hinting at the reason for this undertaking. With no enemies in between these battles the game was always going to live or die by the quality of these encounters. Thankfully every one is truly awe inspiring and each provides a unique challenge that requires a bit of thought to complete. Aside from a sword and bow your only companion of this quest is your horse Agro and he often plays a vital role throughout the game. Realistically animated and intelligent enough to traverse the landscape by himself you really come to care for him as the game reaches its conclusion.

    Shadow of the Colossus is a true masterpiece and as close as gaming can come to an art form. You can't call yourself a true video game fan until you've played it.
    Expand
  70. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is probably my favorite game of all time. Let's start with the graphics. The graphics are absolutely astounding, especially for the PS2. The colossi look really great, but during the fights, the framerate tends to drop a little bit. The environments are amazingly detailed, and the landscapes are absolutely beautiful. The Forbidden Land in which the game takes placeShadow of the Colossus is probably my favorite game of all time. Let's start with the graphics. The graphics are absolutely astounding, especially for the PS2. The colossi look really great, but during the fights, the framerate tends to drop a little bit. The environments are amazingly detailed, and the landscapes are absolutely beautiful. The Forbidden Land in which the game takes place is essentially dead, but that doesn't stop the game from using amazing landscapes, that despite the depressing lack of life (except in the rare forests and extremely rare waterfalls) the world is beautiful.

    Now for story. I won't spoil the story for you, but it's an amazing one. It's told with little words and only a few cutscenes. Play the game yourself if you want to experience it. You'll find yourself establishing an emotional connection with the main character, Wander, and his horse, Agro. The ending is incredibly powerful.

    The soundtrack in this game is amazing, possibly the best soundtrack ever (movies, CDs, or games). There is a wide variety of amazing tracks, but there are 4 or 5 that really stick out and made me actually stop and listen to the music during a boss fight.

    And of course, the gameplay. The gameplay is possibly the most fun I've ever had in gaming. It starts with riding your horse to the next colossus. Some find the horse's controls to be annoying, but I found them to work perfectly fine. It can take awhile to reach some of the colossi, but for me, that was remedied by the amazing landscapes all around me that I could stare at and be wowed by on my way to the colossus. Once you reach the colossus, the fun begins. The colossi are huge, hairy beasts with 1-5 different weakspots. You have to climb them and attack the weakspots until they die. Easy, right? Ye NO. The colossi are basically puzzles. It starts with figuring how to GET ONTO the colossus, and that can be tough to figure out. This is where you use your brain. Once you're on it, navigating to the weakspot can be tricky, since you have limited stamina, and if it runs out, you fall. Then you attack each weakspot, and the colossi love to shake all around. Stamina becomes a problem here.

    Shadow of the Colossus is a game not to be missed. It has an outstanding world, extremely fun gameplay, an amazing soundtrack, and possibly the most compelling story ever in a video game.
    Expand
  71. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    Now to start this review, I realize that this is not a type of game that would appeal to all audiences of gamers. If I were to include this factor (As I have rated it based off of my own opinion of the game, which I believe it is very intriguing and everything awesome) I would rate it at about 9.
    The game is very fluent from start to finish and keeps the player enveloped in the deep
    Now to start this review, I realize that this is not a type of game that would appeal to all audiences of gamers. If I were to include this factor (As I have rated it based off of my own opinion of the game, which I believe it is very intriguing and everything awesome) I would rate it at about 9.
    The game is very fluent from start to finish and keeps the player enveloped in the deep storyline and overall feel of it. Even when you first begin you are being launched as this mysterious person who has but the bare essentials of combat and his friendly horse. This game keeps you interested in what is going to happen to this character and what his past was in only the first five minutes of play! I was instantly filled with questions when I first started playing. Who was this person? Why was he carrying a body? What is his goal? It gives you the basics of what you need to know in the beginning so that you can figure it out later through your own experience. Clearly the developers know what they are doing.

    So already we have a storyline that is taking liftoff. What about the surroundings of the player? As soon as you gain control you are in a cathedral that looks and feels ancient. Large stone totems line the walls providing a small glimpse at what is ahead. Once you step outside you are struck by a beautiful landscape that is difficult to find in most games. Along with the setting, the graphics are intense and adds to the whole beauty of it all. Two more things that are nailed in this game; setting and graphics.

    Once I was finished admiring the area in which I was in, it was time to take charge and attempt to defeat the first colossus. It gave me the basics of control and then sent me off to war against this massive beast that truly felt as though it could truly exist. The colossus looked, felt, and acted exactly as a real colossus would in real life. Not only that but when you are fighting you are invigorated by music (In my opinion the best soundtrack for a video game that I have ever heard) that is fit for the situation you are in. You must explore the arena, discover the weakness of the colossus, and plot your way up to the weak point to slay it. Two more gaming elements that are perfected; level design and soundtrack.

    Overall this game is very unique and by far one of the best games I have ever played. It kept me playing even after beating it the first time, and I still enjoy playing it to this day. However I can still understand that this sort of theme is not for every gamer. Continuing through to discover how the colossus looked and was like was one of the few truly great gaming experiences I have had and is difficult to come by. Well done, Team Ico!
    Expand
  72. May 25, 2013
    10
    What justifies a big game to you? A long completion time, lots of extra side missions, extensive multiplayer? Well Shadow of the Colossus is the biggest game I have ever played by making me, the player, feel small and weak compared to the behemoths you are expected to slay.
    You are Wander, a warrior who has taken a deceased woman by the name of Mono to a temple in the forbidden lands in
    What justifies a big game to you? A long completion time, lots of extra side missions, extensive multiplayer? Well Shadow of the Colossus is the biggest game I have ever played by making me, the player, feel small and weak compared to the behemoths you are expected to slay.
    You are Wander, a warrior who has taken a deceased woman by the name of Mono to a temple in the forbidden lands in order to perform a spell to bring her back to life. When an ominous voice named Dormin offers to perform it for you you quickly accept, however he tasks you with defeating 16 colossi that live in the forbidden lands before he brings Mono back from the dead. As you begin to kill the colossi you begin to realise that perhaps Dormin has had something up his sleeve all along.
    Shadow of the Colossus falls into three genres, an action-adventure, a platformer and a puzzle game. You must ride your horse through the expansive forbidden lands in search of the 16 colossi which live up to their name. You must figure out how to get onto them, then platform your way to the top and lastly find the weak spots to take the thing down. Each of the 16 combat scenarios vary vastly and will test your skills, patience and understanding of basic mechanics such as sound, light and gravity in order to take these beasts down, and there is nothing more fulfilling that feel that sword take the final plunge into a colossus and watch it crumble to the ground below.
    Though the game is light and is just 16 boss battles one after each other the game is utterly magical in terms of presentation and storytelling. The Colossus A.I is a little wonky at times but it just gives them even more character that before.
    Shadow of the Colossus is another game that really defines gaming as an art form and it is mind blowing how the PS2 can simply play this game because of its size.
    Expand
  73. May 9, 2013
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is an epic and powerful game that makes use of great gameplay, outstanding battles, superb sound and a deep and touching story to make your jaw drop. The game surely have its flaws, like the annoying camera, but it stills one of the best adventure games ever made, and if you don't mind the "lack of action", you should totally check it.
  74. May 6, 2013
    9
    Shadow of the Colossus is a beautiful art game that understands how to strike a balance between its interesting narrative concerns and engaging gameplay. More impressively, it knows how to use the mechanisms of its medium to reinforce these thematic concerns.

    You become excited by the chase and anxious by the scale of your encounters with the vast, beautiful creatures whose destruction
    Shadow of the Colossus is a beautiful art game that understands how to strike a balance between its interesting narrative concerns and engaging gameplay. More impressively, it knows how to use the mechanisms of its medium to reinforce these thematic concerns.

    You become excited by the chase and anxious by the scale of your encounters with the vast, beautiful creatures whose destruction forms the central mechanism of the experience, but more atmospheric elements--the diminishing certainty of purpose, the proximity to the forbidden, and the sense of isolation --become tactile experiences, as well. When Wander's grip fails, and he tumbles down the flanks of a living mountain you've spent the past half-hour learning to kill, you share his exhaustion. When the final blow dims the iridescent eyes of the colossus, your relief at the end of the struggle is a physical one. On the other hand, you also share the futility of Wander's attempts to outrun the consequences of his victory...

    Even the repetition of the central game mechanic and the sparse diversion between boss fights, which first struck me as weaknesses in execution, seem, on further reflection, a central component of the experience. This is a bleak place that you've come to, and your purpose becomes a grim one. While rewarding is a somewhat unqualified term to use for this game's unique intentions, Shadow of the Colossus will certainly return your investment.
    Expand
  75. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    This is by far one of the best single player experiences I have ever set foot upon. The reason this is a 9 out of 10 instead of 10 out of 10 is because the horse is aggravating, which is ironic considering the horse's name is "Agro." The music is MASTERFUL, the game play is fluid, the bosses (it is a game specifically of bosses) are memorable, and the ending could be one of the best of ALLThis is by far one of the best single player experiences I have ever set foot upon. The reason this is a 9 out of 10 instead of 10 out of 10 is because the horse is aggravating, which is ironic considering the horse's name is "Agro." The music is MASTERFUL, the game play is fluid, the bosses (it is a game specifically of bosses) are memorable, and the ending could be one of the best of ALL TIME. All in all, buy it. Right now. Expand
  76. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    Shadow of the Colossus shows that a man's spirit is much larger and more powerful than any other creature, spite its superior size. The game had epic music, beautiful detail, very few cut scenes, and real heart-string tugging (and straining) moments that just made you want to cry (or yell in frustration as you fall off the colossi). The only things I want to point out is that this game hasShadow of the Colossus shows that a man's spirit is much larger and more powerful than any other creature, spite its superior size. The game had epic music, beautiful detail, very few cut scenes, and real heart-string tugging (and straining) moments that just made you want to cry (or yell in frustration as you fall off the colossi). The only things I want to point out is that this game has a very lonely area, it's just you and your horse until the other guys show up, further more the camera angles are rather quirky; further more another thing is the distinct lack of weaponry and variation in the fights with the colossi. There was variation, i cannot lie, however only being able to wield a sword and bow to attack makes for a rather repetitive gameplay. Further more, the colossi each have their seperate aspects; avion requires careful maneuvering, basaran requires you to use the natural terrain, celosia and cenobia require a bit of parkour and a few tricks (such as avoiding being corner camped but other than that once you've taken care of those parts, it's simply climbing along the creature and stabbing their weak points; it would have been nicer to have a bit more variation in weaponry and requirements for slaying the colossi. I cannot hate this game, I am in love with it; however there are smoe small perks that can be tweaked to improve it. Expand
  77. Apr 10, 2013
    1
    Wow. This game is bad. I have no idea what all the fuss was about. I tried to play it twice once on the PS2 and once again on the PS3 when the collection came out. There is nothing interesting going on here you ride a horse and climb on top of a couple of big monsters. I think i would have more fun watching someone play a bass masters fishing simulator.
  78. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game I urge you not to miss the chance to play the game! This game has a great story, great atmosphere,great game-play great visuals,great soundtrack and a surprising twist at the end.I urge you to try this game out you will not be disappointed.
  79. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    Shadow of the Colossus has some of the most gorgeous landscapes and ruins in gaming, but unfortunately its gameplay doesn't match up. Like Ico before it, SOTC suffers from floaty controls. Also, the galloping on the horse from collosi to collosi gets really tiring and the boss fights themselves get repetitive and since you don't get much overall satisfaction until the beast is finallyShadow of the Colossus has some of the most gorgeous landscapes and ruins in gaming, but unfortunately its gameplay doesn't match up. Like Ico before it, SOTC suffers from floaty controls. Also, the galloping on the horse from collosi to collosi gets really tiring and the boss fights themselves get repetitive and since you don't get much overall satisfaction until the beast is finally felled, it can make the overall experience very aggravating. Like its predecessor, it can feel like more of a chore to play than an enjoyable game. Expand
  80. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    I though it was rather bland and average in terms of it's gameplay. The visuals were utterly stunning, and just seeing and figuring out each Colossus was a remarkable experience. BUT, it was all the in between bits that kind of ruined it for me. Traveling from one Colossus to another is tedious and time consuming and did give you enough time to think, what was the point of that? why notI though it was rather bland and average in terms of it's gameplay. The visuals were utterly stunning, and just seeing and figuring out each Colossus was a remarkable experience. BUT, it was all the in between bits that kind of ruined it for me. Traveling from one Colossus to another is tedious and time consuming and did give you enough time to think, what was the point of that? why not just fast travel because then it would be a really short game with little to it.

    Overall: My little gripes aside, the visuals alone are enough to warrant playing this game as they are beautiful, even by today's standards.
    Expand
  81. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    This game is near flawless. The soundtrack, the world, the way you kill these giants. SotC is an amazing game that has something different to offer from other RPGs (Is this an RPG?), and that is the fact that you are all alone. The only other living things here are your horse and the 16 colossi. The biggest thing that holds this game back from being a perfect 10 is the game has a fewThis game is near flawless. The soundtrack, the world, the way you kill these giants. SotC is an amazing game that has something different to offer from other RPGs (Is this an RPG?), and that is the fact that you are all alone. The only other living things here are your horse and the 16 colossi. The biggest thing that holds this game back from being a perfect 10 is the game has a few camera issues. The game does allow you to lock on ti the colossi, so you are looking at it. When you do this while climbing a colossus, the camera tends to zoom in, making it a little harder to climb. Also, 15-20 frames per second? Yeah... but it's all right. Overall, an amazing game with just a couple flaws. Expand
  82. iRo
    Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Great game, challenging bosses especially the one with the colossus that behaves like a rhino that got me over a few times. challenging at first but once you repeat it kinda stinks since you know how to beat them already. but anyways super great game.
  83. 4DI
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This game is colossal in every way imaginable. From the amazing art style, to the calm and epic soundtrack. Shadow of the Colossus shines, not only as a game, but as a work of art!
  84. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The soundtrack was great. No other game has ever got horse riding as spot on as this game. It was one of the first games to show really show that games can be an art form.
  85. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is arguably one of the greatest action-adventure games ever created. Developed by the esteemed and greatly hailed game developers, Team Ico, Shadow of the Colossus is the prequel to the developers famed first release, Ico. Set at an ambiguous time, likely several centuries before Ico, the game begins with a young boy on horseback with his questionably-alive ladyShadow of the Colossus is arguably one of the greatest action-adventure games ever created. Developed by the esteemed and greatly hailed game developers, Team Ico, Shadow of the Colossus is the prequel to the developers famed first release, Ico. Set at an ambiguous time, likely several centuries before Ico, the game begins with a young boy on horseback with his questionably-alive lady friend. This girl was sacrificed in a village's ancient sacrificial ritual, but for reasons unknown, the unnamed protagonist (given the name The Wander by fans) is on a journey to take her to a forbidden land. When he arrives at a large castle in this forbidden land, he is greeted by Dormir, the resident god of the land. The protagonist asks the god to bring the girl back to life; Dormir agrees, but only if Wander first slays the sixteen giants that reside in the land. In actuality, the title is nothing more than a platforming-puzzle game. So what makes this such a pivotal game? The presentation. Team Ico has a special talent of storytelling and use of gameplay that in unparalleled. While the story of Shadow of the Colossus is deep and intricate, not a whole lot of the plot is in fact revealed. Much of the plot takes place before the events that you experience, and the ending is left very open-ended. You feel like you're experiencing something much greater than what appears before you, which offers a beautiful perspective on the story. The gameplay is all about destroying these giant 20+ story tall colossi, but you're free to roam the sandbox-styled landscape freely, and can enter these massive boss battles whenever you feel ready and prepared. The landscape is simply awe inspiring, and there is no danger to disturb your taking in the scenery. And when you do enter these battles, they are intense, and really give you the feeling that these colossi are indeed colossal. Shadow of the Colossus offers a completely unique experience, and is one of those few games that simply can't be missed. Expand
  86. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    Emotional, exciting, fun, breathtaking. I'm probably missing a few other words that can describe this heavenly game. Basically, it's one of the best games of the last generation, and possibly of all time. I'm not afraid to say this game is one of the best, simply because there is no other game like it. It set a bar for every Adventure/action game that followed it, much like Half Life 2 didEmotional, exciting, fun, breathtaking. I'm probably missing a few other words that can describe this heavenly game. Basically, it's one of the best games of the last generation, and possibly of all time. I'm not afraid to say this game is one of the best, simply because there is no other game like it. It set a bar for every Adventure/action game that followed it, much like Half Life 2 did for FPS's. But it does more then just reinovate gaming mechanics. It is one of the few games that can call themselves, with a straight face, a work of art. Some would disagree, granted, but even the sceptics can appreciate the game's excellent design, and if you are not so narrow minded as some gamers, you will no doubt love this game. It's more then a game, and with every gaming year filled to brimming with grey and unoriginal videogames, it just gets clearer. Expand
  87. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    Shadow of Colossus is such a beautiful piece of videogameart! you have never seen or experienced something like this! First i thought this game was not finished by the programmers, cause even when the landscape is beautiful, its somewhat empty and lacks some life, but the longer i played, i realized that those "quiet" parts between this colossal boss-fights are essential for the feeling,Shadow of Colossus is such a beautiful piece of videogameart! you have never seen or experienced something like this! First i thought this game was not finished by the programmers, cause even when the landscape is beautiful, its somewhat empty and lacks some life, but the longer i played, i realized that those "quiet" parts between this colossal boss-fights are essential for the feeling, for whats going on inside the player. the nature is so beautiful, this "quiet" parts ARE atmospheric and essential also for the story, which is also unique, and this game really dont need more than those bossfights and this moments were the player is alone with this beautiful presented nature. though its unconventionel and strange that they have invested so much time in buildung up a country full of nature, but with no gameplay. it was brave to this, but the result concede the programmers that they were right. amazing game! Expand
  88. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    Great game. EPIC Boss battles but nothing else. Music and Graphics are amazing but gameplay have its flaws but once you have played you get to used to it.
  89. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    I have the utmost respect for this game's epic feel and tragic tone that is told through subtlety. I think its one of the greatest stories told through this medium, and I also think its one of the greatest examples of boss design and creativity. The game doesn't find the correct balance between enjoyable and frustrating though. Wander handles pretty poorly as well, and he constantlyI have the utmost respect for this game's epic feel and tragic tone that is told through subtlety. I think its one of the greatest stories told through this medium, and I also think its one of the greatest examples of boss design and creativity. The game doesn't find the correct balance between enjoyable and frustrating though. Wander handles pretty poorly as well, and he constantly struggles to hold onto the titans. Besides that, there's really nothing wrong with this game except maybe if you do not like the formula this game follows. Expand
  90. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    I just have to say. Missredone you must be a fat girl. Or ugly. I DARE you to post a picture of yourself somewhere. Go Barbies dream ride. Figures, coming from a post from 2012. This game was released in 2005. This game was epic for its time and still is. If you dont like it fine. But at least give a legit reason. You wont be able to find one, NO OTHER GAME is like it. That's what makes it epic.
  91. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    This Game is Art! I really wish that the storyline was longer. But everything other than that is really GREAT! I gave 10 because the score speaks for itself. The game earned the title "Best Game for the PS2".
  92. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    This game is good. However, it is REALLY overrated. The gameplay is fun but awkward and clunky. The soundtrack is glorious and the game looks great. I enjoyed this game and felt both a strong sense of attachment and a strong feeling of frustration. Those Colossi are tough.
  93. Jun 10, 2012
    1
    After 20 minutes of playing this game, I had to quickly turn it off, run to my computer to search for spoiler reviews perhaps explaining that Ico was playing a trick on us all explaining this was only a horse riding simulation game or perhaps the weeks winning lottery numbers are displayed... But what do I read instead? The absurd truth that this game really does consist of four keyAfter 20 minutes of playing this game, I had to quickly turn it off, run to my computer to search for spoiler reviews perhaps explaining that Ico was playing a trick on us all explaining this was only a horse riding simulation game or perhaps the weeks winning lottery numbers are displayed... But what do I read instead? The absurd truth that this game really does consist of four key ingredients- rock, horse, awkward running character, and 'collosi.' Even funnier are all the flamboyant, exuberant exclamations clearly from guys unaccustomed to actual art as their vision has been blurred from the terrible games they are playing. As a female, allow me to illuminate, the Shadow of the Collosus is not art, or a game. How could anyone possibly stake that claim when Bethesda created vast expanses of playble art long before ICO's failed experiment. Expand
  94. May 31, 2012
    10
    I didn't get to play this one until around 3 years after it's release. How it slipped under the radar for so long I have no idea because it's probably one of the best games in the entire ps2 library. It was definitely ahead of it's time as more games are trying to use that sense of scale to awe players. SOTC's gameplay structure has you explore a massive land full of valleys, caves andI didn't get to play this one until around 3 years after it's release. How it slipped under the radar for so long I have no idea because it's probably one of the best games in the entire ps2 library. It was definitely ahead of it's time as more games are trying to use that sense of scale to awe players. SOTC's gameplay structure has you explore a massive land full of valleys, caves and abandoned crumbling temples in search of 16 creatures... that are usually 50 times your size. Have fun! Expand
  95. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game sets out to do something and does it perfectly. It is risky to cut out what most would consider the game and use only boss fights, but this tactic packs all of the adrenaline, and artistry, into one tight bundle. This is nothing short of perfect, yet it may not have everything some may want in a game.
  96. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Shadow Of The Colossus is by far the most amazing game anybody can experience. It combines the video game genre with art splendidly to create a vast and desolate landscape where only you,your horse and the colossi roam. First off is the hero of the story or should I say anti-hero. Your goal is to revive a dead girl called Mono by slaying sixteen colossi. Your hero does that without question obviously for love. He has only two weapons. His bow and arrow and the ancient sword that is the only thing capable of killing the colossal creatures. From the start of the game you can see that the hero called Wander is skilled with a bow in every way. He can shoot it anywhere including on his horse which can take years to normally master and he can even stand up on his horse and fire it. Then there is the sword. He is no swordsman due to his clumsiness at swinging it around and the fact that he stumbles most of the time when using it. The only reason he even has that sword is because he needs it to kill the creatures otherwise he wouldn't have it there but it doesn't matter as every hero has a flaw with skills and the sword is Wander's flaw. He seems very determined even when faced with the biggest of colossi.
    His horse,Agro,is amazingly detailed and puts Epona from TLOZ series in the bin. Agro does everything a normal horse does. She grazes and nuzzles Wander. She seemed to hate the colossi slaying idea from the start and it is apparent but she goes on all for you and she even sacrifices herself for you. Talk about loyalty.
    The Colossi themselves are amazingly brilliant. They look like art but they can pack a punch and wallop you down if your not careful. All of them are based on different animals and objects and they all have different personality's. Some of them hunt you down viciously and do actually want you dead and then there are some who just want to be left alone or don't mind you until you start stabbing them in their weak-point. Some of them fly while others swim and some burrow through the ground and it is all done in such a spectacular fashion. The real problem for you is the fact that in video games you just kill what's in front of you but you don't think about the consequences. Dormin,the God that sends you on this quest,says that the price you pay will be heavy but you don't care yet every time you kill a colossus you are destroying your humanity and committing a crime. You see it as one step closer to saving Mono but the colossi and anyone else sees it as murder. The problem is you actually have to kill these beasts as there is no game otherwise which means you are forced to kill them even if they don't attack you. Then as you deliver the blows you get sprayed with black blood that stains your clothes and then you have to watch the colossi die. The 13th colossus didn't attack you in any way yet you kill it and because it's the most peaceful it means you get to watch it die for 24 seconds and all the others as well. They even moan like an actual dying person giving you a sense of guilt.
    The landscape on this game is so detailed. It's worth buying the game just to ride around on your horse to find the next colossus. There are deserts,forests,caves,cities,temples,rivers,lakes,barren and dry lands and waterfalls all for you to explore from the very beginning. There are fruits and lizards that you can kill to fill up your health bar and grip meter and even an eagle that you can grab onto and ride. There is just so much beauty in everything put into this game that you could put it in a museum and as you ride past on your horse it is such a breathtaking moment that you forget everything to see the view. But because the land is so vast and the colossi take time to get to it means you can just think and discover more about yourself and think about what your doing. It raises questions. Is it worth it? Do these innocent creatures deserve to die? Am I doing the right thing? You can get quite lost in your thoughts. The plot of the game is small yet if you look in the detail on Wander after each colossus you will notice something that links to the plot. Wander is going from a young and healthy man to looking like a corpse.
    Meanwhile Mono is looking healthier by each death. When you reach the last colossus you have dark black hair and stains all over your clothes and face and you lost your horse. Could Agro's sacrifice be for nothing? Then when its all over you go back to the temple and the most emotional and the most gutting ending starts. Was it all for nothing or did Mono live? You have to play it to find out.
    Last but not least is the music. There is a wide variety of music to listen to from the slow silence to the action packed colossus battle music. It puts Lord of the rings Music to shame and that is saying something. If you have not got this game I recommend that you buy it and play it as it is one of the best PS2 games ever and even one of the best games in general ever.
    Expand
  97. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the most artistic games of all time. People giving it a low score seem to miss the point of the game; it wasn't supposed to be an ARPG with tons of enemies to fight everywhere and some kind of leveling system. The game never even claimed to be that so I don't know why people are rating it as such. But it's quite ironic because for what the gameplay DOES do it is a very solid gameplay system. Climbing up on the giant enemies and finding their weak points works very well and it's a lot of fun. It is also a very unique concept; something we truly haven't seen before this. But again, even though this is a new concept and done very well, it's not what the game is about. The reason there are no enemies when traveling from colossus to colossus is the game is giving you time to think. It gives you time to question what Wander, the silent protagonist is doing, and whether or not he is justified. To be more specific, he is trying to resurrect his love, and is told by a mysterious, and possibly malevolent force that if he rids the land of 16 giant creatures, she will be brought back to life. The game wasn't about keeping us superficially entertained by providing creatures to kill on the way from point A to point B, it was about trying to get us to THINK. So few modern games do that so I don't see why people criticize this game. Do we really just want a bunch of tired old FPS rehash? Expand
  98. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    I didn't really appreciate Shadow of the Colossus until it was over. Both the story and art directions were brilliant in my opinion. I also applaud the innovation of the boss battles, and the concept of the game design. I think because of this the flaws in the game play are too often overlooked. I liked how simple the gameplay was, however I found it to be unbearably buggy at times.I didn't really appreciate Shadow of the Colossus until it was over. Both the story and art directions were brilliant in my opinion. I also applaud the innovation of the boss battles, and the concept of the game design. I think because of this the flaws in the game play are too often overlooked. I liked how simple the gameplay was, however I found it to be unbearably buggy at times. Specifically the camera angles, were atrocious at many times, the bow was hard to use, and the horse which derailed off course, was both counter intuitive and way too frequent. These made playing the game a chore, which is unfortunate because it such a brilliant game. Expand
  99. Oct 16, 2011
    3
    Not sure what was harder, the bosses or the camera. You have to dance with your fingers to get the angles perfectly or you go falling 50 feet. All you do is fight about a dozen huge monsters, then the game ends. Woopdy doo. Feels more like the world's slowest boss rush mode. V
  100. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This game is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. Between the majestic scenery and the practically limitless free expanse, there is an almost ethereal presence to its art. It's pure magic.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    90
    If you can appreciate artistry in games, if you hanker for an experience that transcends genre, if you want to see what happens when a creative design team is allowed to ignore sales numbers and flavor-of-the-month trends, by all means bring yourself into Shadow's world. [Oct 2005, p.98]
  2. Game Informer
    88
    A truly unique experience that inspires emotions in a way few games can. It has its share of problems, but I love it just the same. [Oct 2005, p.130]
  3. It's unlike anything else you've ever played, and so you may love it or you may hate it. Count me firmly in the "love" boat. [Nov 2005, p.142]