Shadow of the Colossus Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1039 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Wanda and the Colossus" or "Wanda to Kyozou" in Japan) In Shadow of the Colossus, players take the role of a young man seeking the truth of an ancient tale of power hidden in a mystical land. Shadow of the Colossus is a majestic journey through ancient lands to seek out and(Also known as "Wanda and the Colossus" or "Wanda to Kyozou" in Japan) In Shadow of the Colossus, players take the role of a young man seeking the truth of an ancient tale of power hidden in a mystical land. Shadow of the Colossus is a majestic journey through ancient lands to seek out and destroy gigantic mythical beasts. With a trusty horse at your side, players explore the spacious lands and unearth each Colossi. The uneasy task of defeating a Colossus relies on intelligent puzzle solving and action oriented gameplay. Armed with strong wits, a mystical sword and a sturdy bow, players use cunning and strategy to topple each behemoth. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Shadow of the Colossus Remastered Reveal Trailer - E3 2017
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. These battles are INSPIRED. Seriously. Take your favorite boss fight from each of your favorite games, and imagine them mashed together into one incredibly breathtaking environment that requires you to think, explore, and ultimately act.
  2. This game is a true masterpiece, comparable to only a handful of incredible games...The gamer who has the patience and courage to plunge into the game will, without a doubt, find a truly wonderful experience, of such impact that it will live in his or her memory forever.
  3. PSM Magazine
    95
    Bottom Line: if you care enough about games to read this magazine, you owe it to yourself to play Shadow of the Colossus. [Dec 2005, p.96]
  4. It's a game that'll remind you why you got into games in the first place. Essential. [PSW]
  5. 90
    Original, gripping, and outstandingly produced, Shadow of the Colossus is not to be missed.
  6. Everything that an epic adventure needs to be. Memorable enemies, a story that allows the player to use their imagination, tight controls, and one of the most impressive soundtracks of recent note.
  7. Shadow of the Colossus has more style than real substance and it is slightly baffling why Fumito Ueda, the game's creator, didn't develop this into something a little more Zelda-esque in order to make best use of the world he has created. He might have had a classic on his hands.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 261
  1. Steve
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece. The art direction, story, and characters are amazing. This game is the best to be released on any Shadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece. The art direction, story, and characters are amazing. This game is the best to be released on any previous generation console. Expand
  2. MikEYP.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    If you own a playstation 2 and you don't buy this game, you're a fool.
  3. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    One of the most moving experiences out there. Unconventional though their games may be, these developers are fast becoming a group whose One of the most moving experiences out there. Unconventional though their games may be, these developers are fast becoming a group whose products should never be missed. Enjoy. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus might be the best game on the PS2. It's a masterpiece, it defines the PS2. The story is great, the characters are epicShadow of the Colossus might be the best game on the PS2. It's a masterpiece, it defines the PS2. The story is great, the characters are epic and the whole game will just blow your mind. Expand
  5. ChrisH.
    Mar 18, 2008
    9
    It stands as the most beautiful game I've ever played, and also one of the most creative when it comes to storytelling. Utterly It stands as the most beautiful game I've ever played, and also one of the most creative when it comes to storytelling. Utterly captivating and moving. Definitely woth playing, even if it isn't the longest game in the world. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    I had heard that Shadow of the colossus was one of the best games in history, and now that i have finally have it and beaten it. I agree withI had heard that Shadow of the colossus was one of the best games in history, and now that i have finally have it and beaten it. I agree with them. Besides fighting Cronos in God Of War 3, and Mecha Bowser in Super Mario Galaxy, i have never battle giant bosses like Shadow Of The Colossus's bosses. There isn't any enemies in this game, it only contains 16 boss fights, and locating each of them. And trust me, those 16 boss fights are the probably some of the best bosses i have ever faced, it actually made me feel like i was batting these giants myself. And locating them ISN'T easy, sure you can use the ancient sword to locate them, but that doesn't mean you will just able to locate them without breaking a sweat, for example, i had a hard time trying to locate Hydrus and Palega. As for the boss fights against each colossi, they were outstanding, as i said earlier. When i first played this game, i died once on Valus because i was getting used to the controls, but once i did, the fun i had with this game began. My favorite boss in the game is the final boss, Malus, it was emotional, fair, challenging, and fun. I when i say it was emotional, I MEAN IT! I mean, before the battle begins, Argo, your only friend and companion, falls to her apparent death, and you are forced to face Malus alone, and most of all, the music, Demise Of The Ritual, is one of the best final boss themes i have ever hear, it really sets the mood for the fight, and as autarch and obisdious fan once said, "This is for my horse!" And finally, the story for the game is pretty decent, Wander, the game's main protagonist, is forced to kill 16 colossi in order to revive his friend or love interest, i can't really tell because the game NEVER tells us, Mono. I won't spoil the ending for you, but the ending WILL make you feel sorry for Wander, and make you HATE Dormin, i mean it, Dormin should burn in HE............. Sorry, got carried away. Anyways, now here's the game's flaws. Some times the game could be very frustrating, for example, it took me about a HOUR, to beat Argus, ONE, FREAKING, HOUR! Plus it took me forever to find how to beat Galus, Phaedra, and most of all, Basarn! THE MOST DIFFICULT BOSS IN THE ENTIRE GAME! AND THE MOST UNFAIR BOSS IN THE ENTIRE GAME! Of normal mode. After beating the game there is a mode called Hard mode that is unlocked, along with time attack. Hard mode is fun, but it was very frustrating, that includes you Argus. WHO WAS THE HARDEST AND UNFAIR BOSS IN HARD MODE! The most frustrating part of the game is that you get a bar that indicates how much you can hold on to a colossus, NOW THAT SEEMS FAIR! Though you rest on the colossus when your not trying to attack it's weakspot so it really doesn't matter. Despite these few problems, Shadow Of The Colossus is a fun and awesome game, if makes you feel sorry for the hero and hate the villain, it has excellent boss fights, and it's story is a emotional classic, and if you haven't played it yet, i recommend getting it now, and trust me, you won't regret, and thus i give this game a 9 out of 10. Expand
  7. JeffD.
    Oct 22, 2006
    0
    What an absurd waste of $20. I'm all for different -- I love all sorts of very unusual games, but different doesn't *always* mean What an absurd waste of $20. I'm all for different -- I love all sorts of very unusual games, but different doesn't *always* mean good. This game is a perfect example of that -- what it is, is essentially a climbing game. But the camera and movement controls are terrible, making climbing the colossi a real chore. And why did the designers think it would be such a great plan to have a game which had only bosses, anyway? Boss fights are exhausting, and hardly the fun of most action/adventure/rp games. The music is nice, but repetitive (how come the music clip for a colossus fight is only 30 seconds long, when the fight is guaranteed to last 15 minutes?), and the translations from the Japanese are straight out of an early 90's NES game. Yuck. A great example of why games should be returnable. Expand

See all 261 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

4
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
3
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005