Shadow of the Colossus PlayStation 2

Shadow of the Colossus Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 948 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Wanda and the Colossus" or "Wanda to Kyozou" in Japan) In Shadow of the Colossus, players take the role of a young man seeking the truth of an ancient tale of power hidden in a mystical land. Shadow of the Colossus is a majestic journey through ancient lands to seek out and(Also known as "Wanda and the Colossus" or "Wanda to Kyozou" in Japan) In Shadow of the Colossus, players take the role of a young man seeking the truth of an ancient tale of power hidden in a mystical land. Shadow of the Colossus is a majestic journey through ancient lands to seek out and destroy gigantic mythical beasts. With a trusty horse at your side, players explore the spacious lands and unearth each Colossi. The uneasy task of defeating a Colossus relies on intelligent puzzle solving and action oriented gameplay. Armed with strong wits, a mystical sword and a sturdy bow, players use cunning and strategy to topple each behemoth. [Sony] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. These battles are INSPIRED. Seriously. Take your favorite boss fight from each of your favorite games, and imagine them mashed together into one incredibly breathtaking environment that requires you to think, explore, and ultimately act.
  2. This game is a true masterpiece, comparable to only a handful of incredible games...The gamer who has the patience and courage to plunge into the game will, without a doubt, find a truly wonderful experience, of such impact that it will live in his or her memory forever.
  3. PSM Magazine
    95
    Bottom Line: if you care enough about games to read this magazine, you owe it to yourself to play Shadow of the Colossus. [Dec 2005, p.96]
  4. It's a game that'll remind you why you got into games in the first place. Essential. [PSW]
  5. 90
    Original, gripping, and outstandingly produced, Shadow of the Colossus is not to be missed.
  6. Everything that an epic adventure needs to be. Memorable enemies, a story that allows the player to use their imagination, tight controls, and one of the most impressive soundtracks of recent note.
  7. Shadow of the Colossus has more style than real substance and it is slightly baffling why Fumito Ueda, the game's creator, didn't develop this into something a little more Zelda-esque in order to make best use of the world he has created. He might have had a classic on his hands.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 248
  1. Steve
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece. The art direction, story, and characters are amazing. This game is the best to be released on any Shadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece. The art direction, story, and characters are amazing. This game is the best to be released on any previous generation console. Expand
  2. LeoF
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the best games I have ever played on any console (and I started with the Atari 2600...) You are NOT a fan of videogames if you Easily one of the best games I have ever played on any console (and I started with the Atari 2600...) You are NOT a fan of videogames if you don't play this art/game. Expand
  3. WesleyE.
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus will likely not sell well in the US. We Americans don't seem to appreciate art when we see it, living in a Shadow of the Colossus will likely not sell well in the US. We Americans don't seem to appreciate art when we see it, living in a slightly inhibited society where videogames, among all forms of entertainment, are somewhat dumbed down. Shadow nof the Colossus invites you to leave your world, and experience one of the most involving and emotional experiences ever created within the binds of electronic nentertainment. Shadow traverses above the tumultuous masses of lackluster games, and becomes a true work of art. It's likely the only game of this console generation (besides ICO) that manages to do so. A true masterpiece. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus might be the best game on the PS2. It's a masterpiece, it defines the PS2. The story is great, the characters are epicShadow of the Colossus might be the best game on the PS2. It's a masterpiece, it defines the PS2. The story is great, the characters are epic and the whole game will just blow your mind. Expand
  5. SandeepK.
    Sep 26, 2008
    9
    One of the best games I have played . Graphics were excellent. Background music is just amazing and caught hold of my mind. And, to me, the One of the best games I have played . Graphics were excellent. Background music is just amazing and caught hold of my mind. And, to me, the best thing about this game was its simplicity in playing and yet not so easy availability of the weak points of the monsters. Not much of getting stuck for a huge amount of time. One more thing that was good was the hero of the game being more of an adult and not the HERO that we usually expect heroes to be. In simple words no trash pure good quality gaming. Expand
  6. SteveG
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    16 great battles and the effort in finding them -- that is what this game is. It has beautiful music and a very zen vibe. A truly inspired 16 great battles and the effort in finding them -- that is what this game is. It has beautiful music and a very zen vibe. A truly inspired game. However, the ending is more than a little annoying. I won't give it away, but there is really no foreshadowing of the ending and its kind of a long non-sequitor. That doesn't mean it is not a great game. It is. It is a great game with a questionable ending. I played it on a PS3 and it looked and sounded marvelous. Expand
  7. JeffD.
    Oct 22, 2006
    0
    What an absurd waste of $20. I'm all for different -- I love all sorts of very unusual games, but different doesn't *always* mean What an absurd waste of $20. I'm all for different -- I love all sorts of very unusual games, but different doesn't *always* mean good. This game is a perfect example of that -- what it is, is essentially a climbing game. But the camera and movement controls are terrible, making climbing the colossi a real chore. And why did the designers think it would be such a great plan to have a game which had only bosses, anyway? Boss fights are exhausting, and hardly the fun of most action/adventure/rp games. The music is nice, but repetitive (how come the music clip for a colossus fight is only 30 seconds long, when the fight is guaranteed to last 15 minutes?), and the translations from the Japanese are straight out of an early 90's NES game. Yuck. A great example of why games should be returnable. Expand

See all 248 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005