Shadow the Hedgehog PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2005
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 127
  2. Negative: 39 out of 127
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Seriously,why does everyone hates this game? i mean,it's not the best sonic game i've ever played,but it's better than SONIC THE HEDGEHOG '06,you have to admit this game was good,okay,it had glitches,and no speed at all,BUT,you guys DO remember that in sonic heroes ,team dark was more focused in combat rather than speed,right?yeah,well thats how shadow rolls.....and why do you guysSeriously,why does everyone hates this game? i mean,it's not the best sonic game i've ever played,but it's better than SONIC THE HEDGEHOG '06,you have to admit this game was good,okay,it had glitches,and no speed at all,BUT,you guys DO remember that in sonic heroes ,team dark was more focused in combat rather than speed,right?yeah,well thats how shadow rolls.....and why do you guys complain so much about guns in the game,YOU PLAY SONIC GAMES,A BLUE SUPERSONIC HEDGEHOG WHO WEARS SHOES!!!!SHOES!!!!,and you guys complain about guns?pfft,anyways,i like this game,Live with it. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2014
    6
    I fully and shamelessly admit that this game is one of my guilty pleasures. Yes, the controls are awful, the level design is insipid, and the voice acting is just... satanic, I can't help but like it. Part of it is to blame that I loved it as a child, and another part is that it's trying to hilariously hard to be taken as a dark, gritty Sonic game, and it's adorable. It's not quite as badI fully and shamelessly admit that this game is one of my guilty pleasures. Yes, the controls are awful, the level design is insipid, and the voice acting is just... satanic, I can't help but like it. Part of it is to blame that I loved it as a child, and another part is that it's trying to hilariously hard to be taken as a dark, gritty Sonic game, and it's adorable. It's not quite as bad as everyone says, either; if you have some time to waste, give it a look, but I won't blame you for hating it. Expand
  3. Sep 8, 2013
    5
    It's a sonic game with a different main character. People complain of speed, 'cept we're not playing as Sonic here, are we? Nopers, not Sonic! The gun idea... Not so awesome, the battles, same. The levels for all sonic games were always quite straightforward, here you have a bit more space. The auto-targetting is terrible, camera is just like every other 3D sonic game released sinceIt's a sonic game with a different main character. People complain of speed, 'cept we're not playing as Sonic here, are we? Nopers, not Sonic! The gun idea... Not so awesome, the battles, same. The levels for all sonic games were always quite straightforward, here you have a bit more space. The auto-targetting is terrible, camera is just like every other 3D sonic game released since Dreamcast failure. I got this game for $1, I think I've gotten my money's worth out of it. Story line is a bit dull, but I don't care, the fast paced movements and puzzles in completing the different missions in each level give it variety and difference. Mediocre game, fun to play, can be frustrating, steep learning curve, there's no 'here's a training level to get you used to it' straight into the game. That's the only thing it's missing in my opinion. Collapse
  4. Sep 3, 2015
    5
    it is very easy to talk about how BAD this game is about spoiling anything major. One biggest issue is that he tournament tear like chapter menu, I want caught a menu because you can't select the chapter, but you go up or down a tear depending on if you're going to be a good guy bad guy or just do neither and just go straight down the centerline of the tournament tears. The Voice acting isit is very easy to talk about how BAD this game is about spoiling anything major. One biggest issue is that he tournament tear like chapter menu, I want caught a menu because you can't select the chapter, but you go up or down a tear depending on if you're going to be a good guy bad guy or just do neither and just go straight down the centerline of the tournament tears. The Voice acting is bad and I couldn't help but notice if you hear Maria's breathing in the opening cut saying she sounds like a child but when you're far enough on the "good guy" tear or path and you meet her in a certain level and she's your companion for that chapter she sounds like a full grown woman. Is it Maria supposed to be a child? if they designed this game better and had a better storyline Shadow would've gotten more of his own games.
    The gameplay felt like a cliché having shadow use guns like they are trying WAY too hard to reach an older audience. The could've had more to his attacks then just his homing attacks and spin dash attacks to try to make him different then sonic, I know chaos blast and Chaos control but filter attacks you only get when you fill a certain meter. AI for the enemies and the companion characters were crap. and all in all this game was way too easy for a teen audience I was trying way too hard to please with this game. Shadow the hedgehog deserve a better game than this crap. Only get this game if you want to Mulefat and all in all this game was way too easy for a teen audience I was trying way too hard to please with this game. Shadow the hedgehog deserve a better game than this crap.
    Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    5
    Sega said it wanted a hardcore hedgehog, so they painted in black and gave it a gun. Seriously , Sega you're a genius in what you do, in fact you are my "idol". This is a huge disappointment in the famous series, yeah, maybe i like the sonic series, but the classic one, forget about the Sonic series is lost.
  6. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    I liked Shadow the Hedgehog, as an avid Sonic fan it delivered a good experience, I thought the addition of guns was pretty cool, I didn't care much for the story, it wasn't too great, but who does? In a sonic game you just wanna run and keep running, the problem with that, is that some of missions didn't allow you to do so.
  7. Jun 27, 2014
    5
    Average game

    The animation isnt too good, neither is the voice acting.
    the story is kinda cool, and i like the non-linear level system
    The turning is better and more controlable

    Overall, i would call it a game.
  8. Oct 26, 2013
    5
    this game could be awesome
    but sega made a lot of mistakes
    they could do something better it they would take
    his time,they could fix the gameplay,the could made
    different endings with a better story and with better levels
    with more speed and less action and ridiculous things
    why a hedgehog needs a gun and a motorcycle?
    he is the ULTIMATE LIFEFORM!!!!
  9. MarkK.
    Oct 6, 2007
    5
    Simple rule: Guns + Sonic = Garbage. Some good ideas, but fails to deliver with medicore gameplay and the same flaws any other 3-d sonic game ever had. Some speed is still present but this still soulless stuff. A real shame.
  10. AshR
    Oct 24, 2008
    5
    Well I hate to say it, but this game really disappoints me. It is a far cry from the usual Sonic games--even the more recent 3D ones! The gameplay is repetetive and involves slippery controls and uncreative level design. I found myself often becoming frusterated for being constantly flung off of cliffs or over railings. Also, the use of guns in a Sonic game is just strange and almost Well I hate to say it, but this game really disappoints me. It is a far cry from the usual Sonic games--even the more recent 3D ones! The gameplay is repetetive and involves slippery controls and uncreative level design. I found myself often becoming frusterated for being constantly flung off of cliffs or over railings. Also, the use of guns in a Sonic game is just strange and almost uncomforable. What ever happened to the homing attack? Shadow himself is quite negative, and the story needs some repairs. It seems choppy and strange and the animation really needs work. I suppose the game is playable, but ask yourself.... Does this feel like the Sonic I grew up with? I really wonder what Sonic Team is thinking when they put up titles like these. Expand
  11. May 19, 2012
    7
    OK, so I am re-reviewing this because I just didn't like the first review of the game I did. It was rushed, and I was just wrong about it. But I won't say anyything about that anymore. Let's move on. It undeniable how popular Shadow the Hedgehog has become...as a character. He is emo, a nega version of Sonic, and he is just flat out cool. But what about his game? Those of you who hadOK, so I am re-reviewing this because I just didn't like the first review of the game I did. It was rushed, and I was just wrong about it. But I won't say anyything about that anymore. Let's move on. It undeniable how popular Shadow the Hedgehog has become...as a character. He is emo, a nega version of Sonic, and he is just flat out cool. But what about his game? Those of you who had played Sonic Adventure 2 and enjoyed it will probably appreciate this one too, at points anyway. The opening cutscene and music in it is phenominal. SEGA has always excelled in opening cutscenes, and Shadow the Hedgehog is no exception. It pumps you up for the action you're about to face. While its not as good as Sonic Unleashed's opening, the main theme of the song, "I Am", Phenominal. The best song in any Sonic game, I don't care what anyone says. Then you start out the game with another cutscene that begins the game with Shadow having no recollection of his past, only remebering Maria and his name...and how to breathe, and talk, and walk, and run, and thank god he hasn't forgotten how to be awesome. Then aleins attck Westopolis, and the leader of the aleins, Black Doom, tells Shadow that he knows him and to "find the seven chaos emeralds and bring them to me, as promised." What happends next is up to you. You enter the level with 3 objectives, each revolving around good, evil, or neutral. Depending on what missions you do determines what level and storry route you will take, encouraging players to play the game multiple times to unlock all of the endings in all of the levels. It's crazy fun to determine the fate of the planet and choose your route. There are ten possible endindgs and to see how Shadow treats the other characters is just plain fun. But what you have to do to get them is where everything goes downhill. The first level in the game, both evil and good missions are exactly the same: kill all of the enemies, except what mission you're doing, you have to defeat either the aleins (good) or GUN soldiers (evil). EVERY SINGLE ENEMY! The first time I played the first level, I wanted to kill all of the GUN soldiers, but then, I used chaos control. The chaos abilities in the game were, indeed, a dissapointment. First off, Chaos blast doesn't have a very good range, and it will be much more fun if you just home attack them. Second, chaos control has got to be the worst move EVER in the whole series. OK, mabey not if you're doing a neutral mission, which just requires you to get to the end every time, but if you are doing a good or evil mission, you have to take your time, and find and/or kill everything, but chaos control blasts you through the stage which means you missed some of your objectives which means you have to back track. I don't have a HUGE problem with this, but you don't really know WHERE you missed your objective and somtimes, you'll be forced to start over, and in doing so, you also get a lower chance of an A rank. It took me 15 minutes just to kill all of the enemies in the first level, and if you use chaos control near the end of the level, you will just go straight to the goal ring and there is now way to stop chaos control in mid air, you will accidentalyend up doing a neutral mission instead of the one you wanted to do. Also, the melle attack is completely useless. Shadow already has the homing attack. Why does he need to use his fists? And why does he need to use vehicles if he moves faster than them in the first place? UGHHH! However, if the next thing in the game weren't present, I wouldve hated it: The level design. Sure, the first level and some others are too simple and require you to go slow, but stage like Lethal Highway, Carnival Park, Final Haunt and some others were just made for running around; FAST. When Shadow goes fast, it is fun, although he is a bit slippery. The level: They're big; and theres lots of them. There are some framrate issues, but nothing to big, except for mabey in levels like The Doom and Lost Impact. The guns in the game are just...well...guns...nothing specilal. The bazookas are worthless as you can bar;ey aim with them, not a lot to be said here. The in-game cutscenes are attrocious. There's NO being nice on this one. It is as blocky as Minecraft (although Minecraft looks a whole lot better), and for some reason, it take several loading screens to load a cutscen. 10-15 seconds, a cutscene loads, and no matter how long it is, it will always take the same amount of time, and more time to load a level. This is true in the begining of the game and in the last story. Also, some of the endings of the game are unstatisfactory. There are like 3 or 4 i which Shadow just concludes that he is the most awesomest Hedgehog in the world and others, he literaly KILLS Eggman...okay then... Shadow the Hedgehog won't blow your mind, but it is worth buying it used from GameStop. The missions lack in variety, not enugh bosses, chaos powers suck, t Expand
  12. Nov 25, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lets see.

    Graphics 5/10

    The technical aspects, at least on the PS2 side of things, are lost. There are a lot of framerate drops and some glitches here and there. Not good, taking in count this was 2005, the year the 360 launched - although, taking in count this is the PS2 and thus the least powerful of the bunch, its okay at best. The cinematics look really, REALLY good, even if they are only cinematics.

    Story 8/10

    Perhaps the best part of the game, the game allows for plenty of paths to take and thus a lot of options to choose from, hence the extra points. The plot itself is pretty simple, Shadow wants to know his past and has to search for the Chaos Emeralds to know the truth. However, the reason this game dosent get a 9 or even 10 its because of its inconsitencies with SA2, which, there are a lot to just ignore.

    Gameplay 5/10

    Soooo... what is this? GUNS IN SONIC? WHO THOUGHT THAT WAS A GODSOFDOE. Alright, lets get serious. First of all this isn't the first game to feature guns; first being SA2(on Tails gameplay), which was even worse, so you all shut up. But yeah.... that dosen't make it all good either. Its somewhat imprecise at times, but when you get used to it, its really easy to control. Like i said though, this is supposed to be a Sonic game, and although i aprecciate this is more of a spin-off in its own direction, at times the controls can be imprecise and sent yourself to your doom. The objectives are also really repetitive, most of which are ''Find this'', ''Destroy this'', ''Destroy this many things'' and so on. It becomes repetitive and boring.

    Overall: It isn't a bad game, but by no means you should buy it. Unless you are a die hard Sonic fan.

    Ranking: 6/10
    Expand
  13. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    the game is good it has that "shadow the hedgehog touch" the powers the amenesia ,it includes the sonic series characters.,
    on the other hand the game dosent sound like a sega game it seems like a" resistance game" for litele kids,the game has glitchs,bad grapchics,and the worst storyline EVER in a sega game you have three choices in each level you can achive the good ending by doing the
    the game is good it has that "shadow the hedgehog touch" the powers the amenesia ,it includes the sonic series characters.,
    on the other hand the game dosent sound like a sega game it seems like a" resistance game" for litele kids,the game has glitchs,bad grapchics,and the worst storyline EVER in a sega game you have three choices in each level you can achive the good ending by doing the good side missions or you can do the bad missions to achive the bad ending or u can just go to the end of the level, sounds fun dosent it well it ISN´T ,IN SOME LEVELS there are easy side missions and others no, like how the hell can you only pass a level by finding 7 keys call me impacient but i have no time to find those keys and the grapchics,the enemies,the soundtrack DONT HELP but puting the anoying sides missions apart i say it wont bother you much.
    and now to the part of the game i like the multyplayer the game has great levels and soundtracks for the multyplayer ,the characters... are just shadow with diferent looks but the character dont mather altough a great multyplayer can comes with his flaws like the glitchs but if your looking for a game to play with your friends i would pick this game.
    Expand
  14. Oct 21, 2014
    6
    Muuaaaaa A Sonic The Hedgehog spin off i can t be dark, Muaaaaaaaa A Sonic Spin off if can t have guns and Vehicles , SHUT THE **** UP, ITS A ****ING SPIN OFF,
    Yes, The Levels are too longs
    Yes, Sometimes the camera it Doesn t helps But is a very entertaining game The Use of weapons an this game its not perfect but it isnt bad the Story is a its a little confuse but memorable for
    Muuaaaaa A Sonic The Hedgehog spin off i can t be dark, Muaaaaaaaa A Sonic Spin off if can t have guns and Vehicles , SHUT THE **** UP, ITS A ****ING SPIN OFF,
    Yes, The Levels are too longs
    Yes, Sometimes the camera it Doesn t helps
    But is a very entertaining game
    The Use of weapons an this game its not perfect but it isnt bad
    the Story is a its a little confuse but memorable for the Sonic Standars
    Besides, ITS ****ING SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG
    Its Not precisely a good game but , is acceptable spin off
    Expand
  15. Aug 20, 2014
    7
    I found this game very fun despite a few control errors and hard levels. If you're a sonic fan, get this. If you're a new sonic fan, you might want to play Sonic The Hedgehog (2006) for a while to get used to 3D Sonic controls and level design. Once you've played that., play Shadow.
  16. Aug 26, 2015
    7
    I'll be the first to admit that Shadow the Hedgehog is not the best game in the Sonic franchise. There are some rather prominent problems with the game. Chiefly, the camera angles can be horrendous at times, with the game only giving you limited control over the camera at certain points (with the camera sometimes being locked in place in particular parts of certain levels) this can lead toI'll be the first to admit that Shadow the Hedgehog is not the best game in the Sonic franchise. There are some rather prominent problems with the game. Chiefly, the camera angles can be horrendous at times, with the game only giving you limited control over the camera at certain points (with the camera sometimes being locked in place in particular parts of certain levels) this can lead to some deaths that feel unfair to the player, as sometimes you fail to make a precise jump whilst dealing with a less than helpful camera angle. The level design is somewhat varied, however enemy and obstacle placement prevent you from hurtling along the level at high speed, slowing the game down somewhat. The gunplay, whilst an interesting feature in a Sonic game, can be awkward to handle at times, a lock-on feature would have done wonders for this game.

    The good points however are that, to begin with we get some further backstory about Shadow as a character, something that is more than appreciated by long time fans, as Shadow was still quite the mysterious character after his Debut in the Sonic Adventure series. The levels, as mentioned earlier, are quite varied, with levels based on cityscapes, haunted castles, theme parks. space stations, industrial facilities and secret bases to name a few. Going back to the story, one review mentioned that the story is somewhat short, whilst this is true, this is also due to the fact that the game has multiple endings, which unlock multiple special items to be used in the game, giving the game an element of replay value.
    Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I always wanted to play this game but never did i watched playthroughs and i only have little things to say The opening theme is badass but i think thats were the budget went like sonic o6
    Gun combat in a game about speeding throught the level is just going to slow you down
    Chaos control 2wise DONE youv beat the level welll done u happy you didnt even playit? nope;/
    Choseing good or bad is great :D so this game in one word???????????
    MEH
    Expand
  18. Sep 8, 2013
    0
    It's a sonic game with a different main character. People complain of speed, 'cept we're not playing as Sonic here, are we? Nopers, not Sonic! The gun idea... Not so awesome, the battles, same. The levels for all sonic games were always quite straightforward, here you have a bit more space. The auto-targetting is terrible, camera is just like every other 3D sonic game released sinceIt's a sonic game with a different main character. People complain of speed, 'cept we're not playing as Sonic here, are we? Nopers, not Sonic! The gun idea... Not so awesome, the battles, same. The levels for all sonic games were always quite straightforward, here you have a bit more space. The auto-targetting is terrible, camera is just like every other 3D sonic game released since Dreamcast failure. I got this game for $1, I think I've gotten my money's worth out of it. Story line is a bit dull, but I don't care, the fast paced movements and puzzles in completing the different missions in each level give it variety and difference. Mediocre game, fun to play, can be frustrating, steep learning curve, there's no 'here's a training level to get you used to it' straight into the game. That's the only thing it's missing in my opinion. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#7 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 18 out of 28
  1. 40
    The lack of speed is a real problem here.
  2. 47
    A long list of shortcomings, from stupid level design, unrefined controls and useless gunplay to disappointingly outdated graphics.
  3. Unlike last years popular and more importantly, playable, "Sonic Heroes," Shadow The Hedgehog is a misstep in almost every direction.