• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Shadow the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow The Hedgehog allows players to collect an arsenal of weapons, vehicles, and objects to rocket through more than 50 unique missions. In his feature debut, Shadow is tormented by a dark past, struggling to discover his true identity. He is caught in a complex battle between aliens, theShadow The Hedgehog allows players to collect an arsenal of weapons, vehicles, and objects to rocket through more than 50 unique missions. In his feature debut, Shadow is tormented by a dark past, struggling to discover his true identity. He is caught in a complex battle between aliens, the G.U.N. army, and Dr. Eggman, and discovers that he may be the very element that will tip the scales between good and evil forever. Is he an android created by Dr. Eggman? Is he the original Shadow simply suffering from amnesia? Or is there an even more sinister explanation? Now, gamers will decide in a race against time by choosing between any number of routes by which to unveil the secrets of his past. Multiple endings reflect critical decisions at every stage of the game. Gamers have ultimate control over Shadow's past, with the potential to rewrite his history time and time again. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 18 out of 28
  1. Play Magazine
    75
    I narrowly recommend it for series die-hard, unless it keeps you from buying "Rush", in which case you should opt for your DS all the way. [Dec 2005, p.58]
  2. The magic of the 2D versions have all but been lost in a search for technical accomplishment and it suffers terribly for it.
  3. Unlike last years popular and more importantly, playable, "Sonic Heroes," Shadow The Hedgehog is a misstep in almost every direction.
  4. Shadow the Hedgehog is awful. Stay away from it.
  5. Game Informer
    40
    The new gun combat is horrid. [Jan 2006, p.138]
  6. GamePro
    40
    For all the consternation about a gun-toting enigma invading a kid-friendly video-game series, the only thing to fear in Sega's Shadow the Hedgehog is the game's slap-dash excution. [Mar 2006, p.80]
  7. Combine the relatively poor visuals with monotonous level designs, and you'll find yourself in the middle of a level with no real visual cues of where you are within the level.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 58
  2. Negative: 20 out of 58
  1. May 14, 2012
    10
    OH NO, a positive Shadow the Hedgehog review? I am prepared for the hate. Regardless, Shadow the Hedgehog was released in 2005 and is theOH NO, a positive Shadow the Hedgehog review? I am prepared for the hate. Regardless, Shadow the Hedgehog was released in 2005 and is the first Sonic related game in which the protagonist is not Sonic the Hedgehog and is a character introduced in Sonic Adventure 2. The purpose of the game is for players to find out more about Shadow than they originally knew of in SA2. This information includes Shadow's past such as how he was created and more details about Maria. When it comes to the actual story, it gives you a different feel in each of the different sides you choose. I believe players disliked the story because they didn't want a different style in which you can play through different outcomes and have increased replayablility. Now let's get into the gameplay. Many people found the gun concept to be "Pointless", the speed of Shadow to be too slow, and the performance of the game graphics wise, but I found none of those to be an issue. the guns bring variety to the series, Shadow runs just as fast as Sonic and runs as smoothly as in SA2, and the graphics were not bad. Heck, even the split screen I found fun playing with my friends. The only minor issue I found within the game was, well, nothing. Overall, don't listen to the other reviewers unless you prefer everything to be the same rather than variety. That is why this game deserves a perfet 100. Collapse
  2. JayM.
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    i love this gam its cool i still play to find out whats happend to him but i think its a good all around shooter games if u want a shooter i love this gam its cool i still play to find out whats happend to him but i think its a good all around shooter games if u want a shooter game this is the 1. Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2016
    8
    This might just be the most unfairly picked on Sonic game of all time, despite being a 'Shadow' game. Everyone just detests this game as a oneThis might just be the most unfairly picked on Sonic game of all time, despite being a 'Shadow' game. Everyone just detests this game as a one that was apparently so bad that it forced Sega to reboot the franchise, to which I say: it was his 15th anniversary. Shadow the Hedgehog has plenty of levels along with a vast assortment of weaponry. The controls can take a level play session to get use to, but what are first levels for? Shadow runs very fast and can slow down easily; not only is the running spot on, the platforming is helped by the fact that Shadow slows down when jumping, also the rail grinding is fixed. In my honest opinion, the games repetition is quite possibly the only reason I don't think Shadow the Hedgehog is as good as Sonic Adventure 2: Battle, yes I really did just type that. Shadow the Hedgehog, along with Sonic (2006), understands what a Sonic game is, and gets the three fundamental things correct such as: music, graphics, and level design. Expand
  4. AshR
    Oct 24, 2008
    5
    Well I hate to say it, but this game really disappoints me. It is a far cry from the usual Sonic games--even the more recent 3D ones! The Well I hate to say it, but this game really disappoints me. It is a far cry from the usual Sonic games--even the more recent 3D ones! The gameplay is repetetive and involves slippery controls and uncreative level design. I found myself often becoming frusterated for being constantly flung off of cliffs or over railings. Also, the use of guns in a Sonic game is just strange and almost uncomforable. What ever happened to the homing attack? Shadow himself is quite negative, and the story needs some repairs. It seems choppy and strange and the animation really needs work. I suppose the game is playable, but ask yourself.... Does this feel like the Sonic I grew up with? I really wonder what Sonic Team is thinking when they put up titles like these. Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2017
    5
    Shadow the Hedgehog is slightly below average. People hate this game and often count it as one of the worst games ever made, but theShadow the Hedgehog is slightly below average. People hate this game and often count it as one of the worst games ever made, but the retroactive hate for this title is somewhat a product of revisionist history. When this was released the general consensus was that it was more or less fine, the light swearing, dark tone and use of guns was an odd departure for a Sonic-branded title and lent the game some novelty value, it wasn't broken or fundamentally unplayable like some other games in the series, but it was still unpolished and uninspired, at the end of the day it all culminated in a game that was a memorable sort of mediocre.

    It's a fairly brief game to play through to one ending, I was able to start a single playthrough and beat it in about an hour and a half without the use of any exploits, but the branching paths and multiple endings make this game around 12 hours to truly complete when all is said and done. Unlocking those branching paths can be a pain though, considering the player is required to complete specific objectives to unlock new paths but often the game will speed you past those objectives with no way of backtracking, forcing you to either repeat a level or just deal with the new path you've been set on.

    The level design ranges from fine to counter-intuitive, which isn't unlike most other 3D Sonic titles, often you're encouraged to go fast but then punished afterwards for doing so, the worst levels are guilty of requiring the player to take a slow and deliberate approach to gameplay for more precise platforming and combat, but the game becomes more mundane when played this way and is not really fine tuned for this sort of play. Often the game bombards the player with different objectives, directives and instructions at the same time and makes it massively easy to accidentally do the wrong thing or hit the wrong enemy because of the generally imprecise controls, especially when it comes to attacking.

    With all this you'd think I hate this game and believe it or not I actually don't. It's story is ludicrous, it's a product of all the cringe-inducing angsty tropes of its era, it has a weird anti-charm about it that makes it sort of endearing and novel to mess around with in the modern era. As bad as it is, if you happen to come across a copy of this title for a couple bucks I'd actually recommend it just on its novelty and humor value alone, plus it actually has some relatively fun local multiplayer I still bust out on occasion.
    Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2015
    3
    OK, this is going to be tough...
    So this is a game about Shadow, the black and crimson Hedgehog first seen looking like a badass in Sonic
    OK, this is going to be tough...
    So this is a game about Shadow, the black and crimson Hedgehog first seen looking like a badass in Sonic Adventure 2. This game seeks to follow his past, and provides a plot where Sonic Heroes didnt.
    But lets talk about the gameplay!
    So the main addition to this game are...guns. A kids character using guns. Already we're in the yellows. What is the sense in giving a kids character a gun!? And dont hit me back with the "it's a more mature game/character" excuse, SA2 was for the lower maturity, as was Heroes. They both feature Shadow as well, children will see the familiar character and want to buy it. So the shooting system...well, its all Auto-Aim. So you have to be near the enemy to shoot them. If you can see them, that is, due to the wonky camera!
    As for the homing attack...well it does decent damage but onoy seems to be capable of hitting three targets before just flying off wherever. And by "wherever", 9/10 times it means into a bottomless pit.
    This being the PS2 version, there is Co-Op! But it is never really explained. You can play as any support character, minus Charmy the Bee, with the second controller. Kinda like Sonic 2 and Adventure.
    For spoiler reasons, i wont go over the plot, but youll find it confusing and strange. Also, you need to play the game TEN TIMES OVER to unlock the last story! Even Heroes only did that 4 times!
    Controls and movement are slippery as ever, like in Heroes. Even the graphics are pretty much the same, but due to the darker colours and other crazy stuff, it looks...uglier. Even Super Shadow looks disgusting. And you should know by now that mentioning Super Shadow isn't a spoiler.
    Not much else to say really, just that the 2P mode is pretty weak, in level missions can be a total pain and doesnt the quote " Those Black Aliens are out of control!"......sound JUST a little bit racist?
    This game is Evil!
    Expand
  7. BenV.
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    A complete rip-off of other much better games. You would think that combining platforming gun combat from the Ratchet and Clank series as A complete rip-off of other much better games. You would think that combining platforming gun combat from the Ratchet and Clank series as well as "good and bad" choices from games like Fable would make a great game, but not with this. Easily the worst game this year. Sega has failed its fans once again. Here's the Bad. The gameplay is atrocious with barely any variety; your choices amount to nothing; the camera never works properly; the auto targeting reminds me of Drakes of the 99 Dragons; and the main character and story are as dull and unoriginal as ever. The Good? None really, except that it shows that Sega has no reason to exist in the gaming market. If you're simple, read this: Do not buy, rent, or get near Shadow of the Hedgehog. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

11
#11 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
9
#9 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005