Shadow the Hedgehog PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Shadow the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow The Hedgehog allows players to collect an arsenal of weapons, vehicles, and objects to rocket through more than 50 unique missions. In his feature debut, Shadow is tormented by a dark past, struggling to discover his true identity. He is caught in a complex battle between aliens, theShadow The Hedgehog allows players to collect an arsenal of weapons, vehicles, and objects to rocket through more than 50 unique missions. In his feature debut, Shadow is tormented by a dark past, struggling to discover his true identity. He is caught in a complex battle between aliens, the G.U.N. army, and Dr. Eggman, and discovers that he may be the very element that will tip the scales between good and evil forever. Is he an android created by Dr. Eggman? Is he the original Shadow simply suffering from amnesia? Or is there an even more sinister explanation? Now, gamers will decide in a race against time by choosing between any number of routes by which to unveil the secrets of his past. Multiple endings reflect critical decisions at every stage of the game. Gamers have ultimate control over Shadow's past, with the potential to rewrite his history time and time again. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 18 out of 28
  1. Play Magazine
    75
    I narrowly recommend it for series die-hard, unless it keeps you from buying "Rush", in which case you should opt for your DS all the way. [Dec 2005, p.58]
  2. The magic of the 2D versions have all but been lost in a search for technical accomplishment and it suffers terribly for it.
  3. Unlike last years popular and more importantly, playable, "Sonic Heroes," Shadow The Hedgehog is a misstep in almost every direction.
  4. Shadow the Hedgehog is awful. Stay away from it.
  5. Game Informer
    40
    The new gun combat is horrid. [Jan 2006, p.138]
  6. GamePro
    40
    For all the consternation about a gun-toting enigma invading a kid-friendly video-game series, the only thing to fear in Sega's Shadow the Hedgehog is the game's slap-dash excution. [Mar 2006, p.80]
  7. Combine the relatively poor visuals with monotonous level designs, and you'll find yourself in the middle of a level with no real visual cues of where you are within the level.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 52
  2. Negative: 18 out of 52
  1. May 14, 2012
    10
    OH NO, a positive Shadow the Hedgehog review? I am prepared for the hate. Regardless, Shadow the Hedgehog was released in 2005 and is theOH NO, a positive Shadow the Hedgehog review? I am prepared for the hate. Regardless, Shadow the Hedgehog was released in 2005 and is the first Sonic related game in which the protagonist is not Sonic the Hedgehog and is a character introduced in Sonic Adventure 2. The purpose of the game is for players to find out more about Shadow than they originally knew of in SA2. This information includes Shadow's past such as how he was created and more details about Maria. When it comes to the actual story, it gives you a different feel in each of the different sides you choose. I believe players disliked the story because they didn't want a different style in which you can play through different outcomes and have increased replayablility. Now let's get into the gameplay. Many people found the gun concept to be "Pointless", the speed of Shadow to be too slow, and the performance of the game graphics wise, but I found none of those to be an issue. the guns bring variety to the series, Shadow runs just as fast as Sonic and runs as smoothly as in SA2, and the graphics were not bad. Heck, even the split screen I found fun playing with my friends. The only minor issue I found within the game was, well, nothing. Overall, don't listen to the other reviewers unless you prefer everything to be the same rather than variety. That is why this game deserves a perfet 100. Expand
  2. JayM.
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    i love this gam its cool i still play to find out whats happend to him but i think its a good all around shooter games if u want a shooter i love this gam its cool i still play to find out whats happend to him but i think its a good all around shooter games if u want a shooter game this is the 1. Expand
  3. TonyR.
    Sep 8, 2006
    8
    It's okay. Still not the greatest game ever. Poor level design but cool guns.
  4. AshR
    Oct 24, 2008
    5
    Well I hate to say it, but this game really disappoints me. It is a far cry from the usual Sonic games--even the more recent 3D ones! The Well I hate to say it, but this game really disappoints me. It is a far cry from the usual Sonic games--even the more recent 3D ones! The gameplay is repetetive and involves slippery controls and uncreative level design. I found myself often becoming frusterated for being constantly flung off of cliffs or over railings. Also, the use of guns in a Sonic game is just strange and almost uncomforable. What ever happened to the homing attack? Shadow himself is quite negative, and the story needs some repairs. It seems choppy and strange and the animation really needs work. I suppose the game is playable, but ask yourself.... Does this feel like the Sonic I grew up with? I really wonder what Sonic Team is thinking when they put up titles like these. Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2013
    5
    It's a sonic game with a different main character. People complain of speed, 'cept we're not playing as Sonic here, are we? Nopers, notIt's a sonic game with a different main character. People complain of speed, 'cept we're not playing as Sonic here, are we? Nopers, not Sonic! The gun idea... Not so awesome, the battles, same. The levels for all sonic games were always quite straightforward, here you have a bit more space. The auto-targetting is terrible, camera is just like every other 3D sonic game released since Dreamcast failure. I got this game for $1, I think I've gotten my money's worth out of it. Story line is a bit dull, but I don't care, the fast paced movements and puzzles in completing the different missions in each level give it variety and difference. Mediocre game, fun to play, can be frustrating, steep learning curve, there's no 'here's a training level to get you used to it' straight into the game. That's the only thing it's missing in my opinion. Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2010
    3
    A thoroughly uninteresting mess that takes itself far too seriously, Shadow the Hedgehog destroys everything that made Sonic popular in theA thoroughly uninteresting mess that takes itself far too seriously, Shadow the Hedgehog destroys everything that made Sonic popular in the most violent ways it can. Story is bad, controls are slippery and the gun play is awful- there is absolutely no reason to concern yourself with this title aside from the pretty rockin' soundtrack. Expand
  7. BenV.
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    A complete rip-off of other much better games. You would think that combining platforming gun combat from the Ratchet and Clank series as A complete rip-off of other much better games. You would think that combining platforming gun combat from the Ratchet and Clank series as well as "good and bad" choices from games like Fable would make a great game, but not with this. Easily the worst game this year. Sega has failed its fans once again. Here's the Bad. The gameplay is atrocious with barely any variety; your choices amount to nothing; the camera never works properly; the auto targeting reminds me of Drakes of the 99 Dragons; and the main character and story are as dull and unoriginal as ever. The Good? None really, except that it shows that Sega has no reason to exist in the gaming market. If you're simple, read this: Do not buy, rent, or get near Shadow of the Hedgehog. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#7 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005