User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 177

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    Amazing story, excellent game. A few complaints include a weak mid-game and repetitive dungeons. However, Atlus was definitely on the right track when they created this and I recommend any gamer who wants a great experience to try this out.
  2. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    This game is truly a masterpiece, with It's brilliantly crafted story to It's perfect combat system this is one of best games made in the last ten years. If you haven't played it yet I would not only recommend doing so. I will guarantee you will have a great time.
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    While the dungeon crawling and social sim combination may not be for everyone, any person who calls themselves an RPG fan would be doing themselves a disservice by not at least trying this title. P3FES builds upon the original P3, fixing many of the gripes people had with original while adding a new social link, multiple mechanics regarding combat and stat building, and an all new epilogueWhile the dungeon crawling and social sim combination may not be for everyone, any person who calls themselves an RPG fan would be doing themselves a disservice by not at least trying this title. P3FES builds upon the original P3, fixing many of the gripes people had with original while adding a new social link, multiple mechanics regarding combat and stat building, and an all new epilogue which explains the closing hours. With a large cast of likeable characters, a solid (albeit at times annoying) combat system reminiscent of Pokemon, and intriguing story and supporting elements, P3FES has all the great makings of a perfect RPG, but falls just short of the mark due to a few complaints.

    Combat can be a drag as the amount of control you have over your teammates is very small, Tartarus is the only dungeon in the game and it's literally the same floor repeated over and over again, the inventory system is clunky and confusing at most times, the art style and music is an "either you love it or you hate it" deal, the story slows down considerably near the end, and at times the game feels more like a social/waifu simulator with the rare dungeon dive.

    The Persona series gets a lot of scrutiny due to the lack of depth outside of the Social Links , but this much is certain: P3 FES is a greatly improved version of the original, and definitely warrants a try.
    Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Hands down my favourite JRPG. I know people love the 4th and stuff however this game i dont know it holds a place in my heart because its just so good. With this game you will be doing one of two things Grinding in tartarus or spending your days in school with some pretty amazing characters from a french exchange student to a drunk monk who hangs out at the night club.Some are alittle lessHands down my favourite JRPG. I know people love the 4th and stuff however this game i dont know it holds a place in my heart because its just so good. With this game you will be doing one of two things Grinding in tartarus or spending your days in school with some pretty amazing characters from a french exchange student to a drunk monk who hangs out at the night club.Some are alittle less interesting while others are badass.The only problem i had was grinding...it does get on your nerves sometimes but I'm not gonna fault this game for that...this amazing game you can get on psn,psp and ps2 and it is well worth your money. Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Excellent music and great characters make this game truly satisfying from beginning to end. The game can be extremely unforgiving if someone wants to get 100% completion on their first play through but, do not let that deter you. The boss battles are very challenging and the combat is fluid and makes leveling up less of a grind.10/10.
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Persona 3 FES is a fantastic RPG. My entry point in the series but also my favorite (Persona 4 is also really good). A unique, engaging story, memorable characters and dungeon-crawling mixed with attending school and social bonding await.
  7. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    One of the best RPGs of the past decade (in my opinion of course). This game is great. It's length is good ($30 for 120+ hours? Pretty good in my opinion), the actors do a very good job (aside from Fuuka who can go from pretty good to abysmal). The story is good and the characters really help push it along. The combat is the same as any other JRPG. One thing that most people complain aboutOne of the best RPGs of the past decade (in my opinion of course). This game is great. It's length is good ($30 for 120+ hours? Pretty good in my opinion), the actors do a very good job (aside from Fuuka who can go from pretty good to abysmal). The story is good and the characters really help push it along. The combat is the same as any other JRPG. One thing that most people complain about is the lack of being able to control your party members, believe me when I say, it's not as bad as it sounds. The worst of the AI is probably Misturu, but everyone else has pretty good AI, so don't worry about that. The Persona fusion system is a lot of fun to mess with, you could easily spend 20+ minutes fusing Personae together. Awesome game. Expand
  8. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    All I need to say is that if you like console RPGs then you will like Persona 3 FES. The few flaws the game has are nothing compared with it's varied gameplay, superb pacing of events, excellent story and superb dialog, catchy original soundtrack, replay value and enjoyable length. While the expansion isn't nearly as good as the original game if you haven't played either Persona 3 FES isAll I need to say is that if you like console RPGs then you will like Persona 3 FES. The few flaws the game has are nothing compared with it's varied gameplay, superb pacing of events, excellent story and superb dialog, catchy original soundtrack, replay value and enjoyable length. While the expansion isn't nearly as good as the original game if you haven't played either Persona 3 FES is still the version to get. If you have played or own the original the bonus content added to the original game coupled with the continuation of the story in The Answer should give you ample reason to pick FES up and play it one more time. Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This definitely comes in as one of my favorite RPGs of all time. Any fan of JRPGs or anime in general needs to pick up this game as well as Persona 4. The Social Link system is an amazing way to mix up the action, and the end result is a perfect blend of dungeon crawling, monster collecting, and visual novel. The grind might be repetitive, but the boss battles are great and theThis definitely comes in as one of my favorite RPGs of all time. Any fan of JRPGs or anime in general needs to pick up this game as well as Persona 4. The Social Link system is an amazing way to mix up the action, and the end result is a perfect blend of dungeon crawling, monster collecting, and visual novel. The grind might be repetitive, but the boss battles are great and the story/characters are amazing. Definitely not an RPG to be missed! Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I played Persona 3 FES, so I will submit this review for both the original and FES. Persona 3 is right up there on my list of "greatest games of all-time" alongside Shenmue. The story in this game is simply the best ever, it's emotionally engaging, great voice actors and really puts you in some tough positions when you have choices to make. This is RPG at it's finest. I fell inlove withI played Persona 3 FES, so I will submit this review for both the original and FES. Persona 3 is right up there on my list of "greatest games of all-time" alongside Shenmue. The story in this game is simply the best ever, it's emotionally engaging, great voice actors and really puts you in some tough positions when you have choices to make. This is RPG at it's finest. I fell inlove with all the characters here and I never stopped. The gameplay is top-notch, dungeon crawling has never been more fun, the combat is the best I've seen for a JRPG, the use of Personas gives it a nice, unique twist to it. When you're not in combat, you're either in the dorm, at the mall, in school or exploring the other areas of the city. There is so much to do, and the game is extremely long, took me ~110 hours to complete this. Oh and lets not forget the soundtrack, simply one of the best, if not the best, of all time. If you love JRPGS, great stories, and great combat, make sure you purchase this game, you WILL NOT regret it. Collapse
  11. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    Having not played any of the previous Persona games, I went into this one with an open-mind, they way they summon their "inner-guardians" or Personas by shooting themselves in the head really struck me as "WTF" when I first heard about it. So naturally I had to give it a try. The game is absolutely fantastic, everything about it just bleeds awesome. The story, the characters, the gameplay.Having not played any of the previous Persona games, I went into this one with an open-mind, they way they summon their "inner-guardians" or Personas by shooting themselves in the head really struck me as "WTF" when I first heard about it. So naturally I had to give it a try. The game is absolutely fantastic, everything about it just bleeds awesome. The story, the characters, the gameplay. After playing Persona 4 as well, I have to say Persona 3 is a lot quicker to get into and if Persona 4 was named the best JRPG of all time, then Persona 3 would be close second. As I said in my Persona 4 review, if you're reading these reviews and wondering if you should buy the game or not; Buy it. Buy it 100 times and donate it to your family and friends; You all won't be disappointed. Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    Oh man I barely know where to start. While this was my childhood go to game and still holds the number 1 spot on my all time favourite games I guess I need to explain why...
    First off if your new to the game don't worry about getting social links and just enjoy the story and the personas, Once you've beaten the game go back and play it again with the goal of getting all the social links
    Oh man I barely know where to start. While this was my childhood go to game and still holds the number 1 spot on my all time favourite games I guess I need to explain why...
    First off if your new to the game don't worry about getting social links and just enjoy the story and the personas, Once you've beaten the game go back and play it again with the goal of getting all the social links you can then play the answer. Honestly if someone where to ask me for a RPG this is ALWAYS my go to. Character development is slightly lacking sometimes though and once you've played it 2 or 3 times you see there's less personas but still that AFTER you've played it. Persona 3 is worth getting a PS2 or worth the buy on the PS3 store this game gets a full 10 for me.
    Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I played Persona 3 FES, so I will submit this review for both the original and FES. Persona 3 is right up there on my list of "greatest games of all-time" alongside Shenmue. The story in this game is simply the best ever, it's emotionally engaging, great voice actors and really puts you in some tough positions when you have choices to make. This is RPG at it's finest. I fell inlove withI played Persona 3 FES, so I will submit this review for both the original and FES. Persona 3 is right up there on my list of "greatest games of all-time" alongside Shenmue. The story in this game is simply the best ever, it's emotionally engaging, great voice actors and really puts you in some tough positions when you have choices to make. This is RPG at it's finest. I fell inlove with all the characters here and I never stopped. The gameplay is top-notch, dungeon crawling has never been more fun, the combat is the best I've seen for a JRPG, the use of Personas gives it a nice, unique twist to it. When you're not in combat, you're either in the dorm, at the mall, in school or exploring the other areas of the city. There is so much to do, and the game is extremely long, took me ~110 hours to complete this. Oh and lets not forget the soundtrack, simply one of the best, if not the best, of all time. If you love JRPGS, great stories, and great combat, make sure you purchase this game, you WILL NOT regret it. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Persona 3: FES will increase your appreciation of its storyline. The characters are great, the dialogue is believable (how’s THAT for an RPG!?), and if you enjoyed the gameplay last year, there are several new reasons to play through the original quest all over again.
  2. 80
    The three interwoven role-play threads in Persona 3 FES are so deftly sewn that it's easy to tune out the rest of the noise.
  3. With a mere $30 price tag, it's the perfect way for fans and newcomers to experience this exceptional RPG. [May 2008, p.94]