User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 404 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 404
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Shin Megami's Persona series exemplified with it's latest iteration. Each character possesses real problems and are for the most part relate able and enjoyable. There have been many recent spinoff's including manga and anime iterations. It seems that although this game has a more niche appeal than the more mainstream games such as FF have it is still an amazing peice
  2. ERB
    Jul 25, 2013
    9
    I love this game.Best PS2 game I have ever played.
  3. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    Persona is nothing less then an astoundingly fantastic RPG. It takes Persona 3's social sim and dungeon crawler blend and adds to every aspect in meaningful ways. The story is more focused and the characters even better developed then P3 which is something I wouldn't have though possible. The score is fantastic and the visuals are on par with other PS2 JRPGs. Minor gripes include the factPersona is nothing less then an astoundingly fantastic RPG. It takes Persona 3's social sim and dungeon crawler blend and adds to every aspect in meaningful ways. The story is more focused and the characters even better developed then P3 which is something I wouldn't have though possible. The score is fantastic and the visuals are on par with other PS2 JRPGs. Minor gripes include the fact that if the main character gets KOd it's still instant game over, it's shorter then Persona 3, and that the "proper" ending requires you jump through some specific hoops near the end of the game. If you own a Playstation 2 and enjoy RPGs you should track this down as it is an amazing experience that stays with you long after you've finished the game. Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Oh boy, this is one of the greatest games ever made. The Persona series is probably the greatest series of all-time. This takes everything from Persona 3, and adds to it, making it a tad more difficult and adding some new gameplay changes. This game has fantastic combat, allowing you to switch between your crew and control what attacks they use, making it much more tactical. Outside ofOh boy, this is one of the greatest games ever made. The Persona series is probably the greatest series of all-time. This takes everything from Persona 3, and adds to it, making it a tad more difficult and adding some new gameplay changes. This game has fantastic combat, allowing you to switch between your crew and control what attacks they use, making it much more tactical. Outside of that, the world they built was fantastic, I've grown to love every single one of these characters. The story is great & very dark, just what Atlus is known for. The soundtrack, just like Persona 3, is absolutely top-notch, even better than Persona 3 in my opinion, it really gets you immersed in the world they created. I simply cannot wait for Persona 5. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    The perfect JRPG, if only FF has the story depth and relatable characters of P4, only thing to worry about for the mainstream audience is the rather repetitive combat, but overall this game is'nt made with the combat in mind
  6. JesseWatson
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    Why isn't this on the front page with the other new games? Come on, metacritic. This game is getting ridiculously high reviews, and I'm so happy to see it. While I haven't finished the game yet (I'm taking my merry time), I can safely say that this is proof that Japan doesn't need to westernize their game development to make great stuff, nor do they need toWhy isn't this on the front page with the other new games? Come on, metacritic. This game is getting ridiculously high reviews, and I'm so happy to see it. While I haven't finished the game yet (I'm taking my merry time), I can safely say that this is proof that Japan doesn't need to westernize their game development to make great stuff, nor do they need to westernize to appeal to the west. What we need is more stuff along these lines. Quirky, bizarre, weird, excellent, and we need it on every platform, PS3 especially. Happily rating this a perfect score. Normally I am more conservative, but I did not think P3 (a solid 9 or higher) could be improved upon. Expand
  7. JonD
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    a few years back I bought Persona 3 and thought "what could top this?" Persona 4 thats what!! I grew up playing NES RPGs since the 80s like Dragon Warrior (now called Dragon Quest) This is the real deal and so is Shin Megamis Devil Summoner 1 &2, Digital Devil Saga 1&2, and Nocturne...
  8. TuesdayS
    Apr 6, 2009
    9
    Firstly, the only part I think could have been changed was the grinding necesary and mobs available to grind on. But overall, the story, characters, combat animations, personas, fusion system, city, and whatever else you can throw out there have provided me with hours and hours of entertainment. This is my first MegaTen game, and it definitely hooked me. In fact, I bought P3 FES and Firstly, the only part I think could have been changed was the grinding necesary and mobs available to grind on. But overall, the story, characters, combat animations, personas, fusion system, city, and whatever else you can throw out there have provided me with hours and hours of entertainment. This is my first MegaTen game, and it definitely hooked me. In fact, I bought P3 FES and Digital Devil Saga today. Expand
  9. DanS
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    Hmm, Don't know where to start on this one. Obviously the guy who said the story line was childish and the translation was poor either hasn't played the game or is just not that smart. First of the story is rather deep, has many levels of interpretation, and, for a video game, isn't even that cliché. The translation is hardly sloppy, its acutally rather well done, it Hmm, Don't know where to start on this one. Obviously the guy who said the story line was childish and the translation was poor either hasn't played the game or is just not that smart. First of the story is rather deep, has many levels of interpretation, and, for a video game, isn't even that cliché. The translation is hardly sloppy, its acutally rather well done, it keeps much of the Japanese feel to the dialouge, while not sounding too litteral. I do agree however adding the -chans, and -samas, and -kuns to the end of the words is cheesy and is only for the hordes of 17 year old social outcasts who buy every JRPG created think that if you add -desu to the end of a sentence you are suddenly speaking japanese. ANYWAY back to the game. Battle system is improved from P3, the day-to-day goes much faster and is less mundane. The S.Links upgrade muuuch faster, and still contain interesting sub-stories. I feel like the S.links in P4 feel closer to the character and less random then they did in P3. The battles are still fast paced and fun. The new Dungeon layouts are less repitive and feel more "real". The only real gripes that I have, are that sometimes in the dungeons the camera gets clunky, and the battles can get a bit repetitive (as in P3). But for the most part, you will be smashing your way though, enjoying a good story, and loving one of the BEST rpgs for PS2 (and any other current consoles). Expand
  10. GP
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Believe the hype - I was skeptical about whether or not this could really be that much better than 3 (Which was my favorite game in 2008), but believe me it is. In fact, as I play 4, I constantly think back and see faults with 3 - they've renovated what wasn't a problem to new extremes of awesomeness and annhialated what was. Oh, and the menus are much, MUCH faster. If you liked Believe the hype - I was skeptical about whether or not this could really be that much better than 3 (Which was my favorite game in 2008), but believe me it is. In fact, as I play 4, I constantly think back and see faults with 3 - they've renovated what wasn't a problem to new extremes of awesomeness and annhialated what was. Oh, and the menus are much, MUCH faster. If you liked Persona 3, get this. In fact, get this. Expand
  11. LokiG
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    This game is like california roll sushi. Once you've eaten one, you can't get enough of it. I thought Persona 3 was just the best out there, but after Persona 4 everything changes. This game was fabulous in every single way, and it definitely made me hook to the Shin Megami Tensei franchise.
  12. E
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Here's a short summary: Great art design, the most immersive story and gameplay ever, round and realistic characters, a soundtrack that never gets old, a long story (took me 250 hours to get one hundred percent complete) all problems with persona 3 ironed out (like social link options are less one-sided, the hidden boss is actually managable, full team controle, you can choose to be Here's a short summary: Great art design, the most immersive story and gameplay ever, round and realistic characters, a soundtrack that never gets old, a long story (took me 250 hours to get one hundred percent complete) all problems with persona 3 ironed out (like social link options are less one-sided, the hidden boss is actually managable, full team controle, you can choose to be "just friends" with a girl instead of having like five girlfriends at the same time, and you dont have to get 100 percent complete in one playthrough to unlock the final persona), and all remaining flaws with the SMT series ironed out (bad level design fixed with randomized dungeons and the high encounter rate fixed with sprites that represent battles which you can avoid). The reason why I tried keeping this so short is because I can go on for hours talking about it. Seriously. It's the best game of all time. I have hundreds, and this one just shines like no other, and I'm getting warm just thinking about playing this. If you are on the edge, or even remotely like jrpgs, than you really, REALLY need to check this out. I know I'm coming off as a creepy fanboy but words can not discribe this masterpiece. It's just that perfect. Expand
  13. BenH.
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    It may seem crazy for me to give this game a ten but it is my game of the year. It was an amazing work of art while at the same time being laughable and never takes its semi dark story too seriously. Along with the wonderfully challenging gameplay I love it.
  14. JohnF.
    Dec 20, 2008
    9
    Atlus has done it again. As was the case with Persona 3, Atlus stood tall against all the hyped current-gen releases and delivered the best RPG of the year (yes, P4 is better than Fallout 3, although they are two completely different styles of RPG and are both worth playing). Like P3, Persona 4 isn't for everyone -- there's some grinding (although it lacks the repetitiveness pf Atlus has done it again. As was the case with Persona 3, Atlus stood tall against all the hyped current-gen releases and delivered the best RPG of the year (yes, P4 is better than Fallout 3, although they are two completely different styles of RPG and are both worth playing). Like P3, Persona 4 isn't for everyone -- there's some grinding (although it lacks the repetitiveness pf P3) and some Japanese flavor and oddities that fans of WRPGs might not like. But the story is solid, the cast of characters is very strong and just as memorable as Persona 3's, and the game makes improvements on Persona 3's gameplay flaws. Plus the game is very funny, which is always a plus. The game takes a little while to really hit its stride, but once it does, you are in for a treat. If you are a fan of JRPGs or RPGs in general, you need to dust off the PS2 now and play Persona 4 as it is not only one of the year's top games but one of the best games in the PS2 library. Expand
  15. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Persona 4 is easily one of the most addictive games for the PS2. Everything about the game is at least very good. The circular plot is perhaps the only thing about this game that is lacking, particularly in comparison to Persona 3. However, there are enough twists and turns in this game too keep things interesting. Finally, the character development is fantastic, the music is highlyPersona 4 is easily one of the most addictive games for the PS2. Everything about the game is at least very good. The circular plot is perhaps the only thing about this game that is lacking, particularly in comparison to Persona 3. However, there are enough twists and turns in this game too keep things interesting. Finally, the character development is fantastic, the music is highly entertaining and the writing in the game is superb. Expand
  16. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    I really loved persona 3: it's probably one of my most favorite game of all time and when I saw the sequel coming out I was so impatient and excited to get my hands on it. The day came, I got the game, and what I found was...a good game, with some improvements from the previous game, and MANY downdgrades as well. First of, I do like the new settings and new characters: they look good andI really loved persona 3: it's probably one of my most favorite game of all time and when I saw the sequel coming out I was so impatient and excited to get my hands on it. The day came, I got the game, and what I found was...a good game, with some improvements from the previous game, and MANY downdgrades as well. First of, I do like the new settings and new characters: they look good and are actually "normal" people who have their lives and just do teenage stuff and you can easily relate to them, (unlike the previous where the characters were a lot more weird and strange, almost different than a normal person). On top of that, now these characters have a more normal relationship with you and you can also finally do a social link (basically the only way to create better Personas) with ALL of them, instead of some, and this not only it's a good thing, but also "vital" since it can make their persona evolve into a better one. But here comes one big issue that I had during the game: once you meet them and make your group, you basically never see them again, except in obvious parts where you need them all, and the only way to actually see them properly is to do the events and increase their social links...but the problem is that you haven't got enough time to upgrade all of them and that means you're stuck on upgrading the characters you need and want the most. And infact, here comes another BIG issue, and that is the Dungeons. While in the previous you had (basically) 30 days for exploring a dungeon, in here the days aren't clear! According to the game, whenever there is 3-4 days in a row of rain, you're FORCED to go and do the dungeon part, or else it's game over and you need to restart from a week before (or sort of). The days aren't counted but you definitely have less than 2 weeks for upgrading and training your characters, AND also study, AND increase social links, and so this makes a huge mess in organizing your daily routine and studies. Not only that, you can do dungeon only during the afternoon, and this is a HUGE issue also. While in the previous you went into the dungeon at night (I'm sorry if i compare, not my usual way, but it's just for showing a particular flaw), that meant that you could easily upgrade your social links AND also go to the dungeon. There were social links also at night, but far less than in daylight, and you could easily do a lot in a single day. In here, if we go to the dungeon, our day is ruined, and once we exit, we can only go to sleep: we can't study (and so upgrade possible social links), nor upgrade social links at all (and some are during the night, as well). In other words, there's a feel that you have to rush out and maximize AND plan each single day in a crazy way, so much that I basically did the dungeon in few days, train the most I could, and upgrade social links until the time was up. This is such a pity because even if I did enjoy the game, the story not only is far more simple, but it's also uninvolving. The story itself isn't bad, at all, but the way it's told it reminds me of those mistery show for kids and doesn't feel sometimes as serious as it should be...we're still talking about demons you know! (I know it can sound like a joke, but it feels like I'm playing a Scooby-Doo game...with a bear instead). I liked this game but I did not enjoy as the previous game, but if you liked the previous game and, of course, other games of the Shin Megami Tensei series, it's actually a game to check it out: has flaws, but also good things, but to me it's not gonna be as good as the previous game. Expand
  17. Jul 26, 2013
    7
    It's rather fun game but dungeons get kinda repetitive and it eventually got boring for me, concept itself had great potential though, if writing would be better than dungeon system would be slightly more interesting this could be somewhat ideal game to me :P.
  18. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    A interesting plot ,a very challenging gameplay and lovable characters makes Persona 4 a cult classic.The game basically sucks you into the game and let you live te game.
  19. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    I have played this game like 10 times or more. I liked Persona 3, too. But it was a little dull to repeat the same thing everyday. But P4 changed it like you can fish better in rainy days, cook for your lunch, etc. I really love it.
  20. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    This game is just legend, i doubt that they ever made games like this. It's old school JRPG style, they don't make games like this now, well just have to wait and see what well be Persona 5.
  21. BobF
    Jul 10, 2009
    7
    Aside from the dungeons it was very in depth and addicting. The dungeons are just.... ach.. one after another of bland repetitive frustration, along with the enemies. But hey, i played through it two times so obviously i didn't mind that part that terribly much
  22. May 25, 2013
    3
    I feel like I am the only person who just didn't get this game. I enjoy a great engaging story line but I just did not find it with this. Forget that it took me 5 hours of real game time to actually have my first battle because the introduction took so long but I really didn't find this game enjoyable. I didn't like having to take on part time jobs or join clubs, it felt like I was beingI feel like I am the only person who just didn't get this game. I enjoy a great engaging story line but I just did not find it with this. Forget that it took me 5 hours of real game time to actually have my first battle because the introduction took so long but I really didn't find this game enjoyable. I didn't like having to take on part time jobs or join clubs, it felt like I was being forced into these things when I really wanted to go out and kill something. Then the game gives you a guilt trip if you don't actually engage in these extra activities. I didn't like being forced to follow a calendar, or have to figure out when I am supposed to do XYZ, and if I miss the time then you supposedly miss a major event. Ain't nobody got time for that. I tried my hand at this game several times, I really tried, and I just couldn't continue with it. I suppose I am just the other side of the bell curve in this game because everyone else seems to love it. I didn't enjoy it. I felt I should post my review only because it has so many positive scores I wanted it said that not everybody enjoyed or connected with this game. I certainly didn't. The bottomline for me is the story was quite interesting, thats where the 3 points come in, but delivery and execution of this game left much to be desired. The wait to actually do something like combat other than walk around and talk to people was just too long for me. If I want to socialize I'll do it with real people. As a side note I am a major RPG fan, played through many a JRPG and RPG alike, this was the first one I did not enjoy. For those that loved this game, more power to you. Expand
  23. HuffmanJ.
    Dec 15, 2008
    5
    This game is just trying to coerce more money out of the fan's pockets. Barely any work was done for the localization. The translation is iffy. The voice acting is poor. Atlas insists that Japanese honorifics are included into the game on top of saying "Mr," Mrs," et cetera. It is a sloppy patchwork job. The music is good as it is with Persona 3. The story feels like something out of This game is just trying to coerce more money out of the fan's pockets. Barely any work was done for the localization. The translation is iffy. The voice acting is poor. Atlas insists that Japanese honorifics are included into the game on top of saying "Mr," Mrs," et cetera. It is a sloppy patchwork job. The music is good as it is with Persona 3. The story feels like something out of Scooby Doo. Horribly cliched and much of the plot is cringe-worthy and often you will spend 30 minutes pressing x to get through cheesy dialogue before you can move onto fighting again The battle system is quite good. The grinding is horrible. The game's style is good. I'd have to say that young kids will enjoy this game, but with the adult themes that are included... I'm really puzzled with whom Persona 4 is meant for. Just a poor game all around. I would expect only kids would have the attention span or desire to play through it. Expand
  24. Oct 20, 2011
    3
    This game has entire days worth of content.
    This content being teenage sexuality issues and level grinding.
    Now this would be fine if I cared about the characters, but I don't because the horrendous voice acting and awkward dialogue makes the already fairly bland character completely unlikable, which in a game that's basically a character study with a tacked on dungeon crawler is an
    This game has entire days worth of content.
    This content being teenage sexuality issues and level grinding.
    Now this would be fine if I cared about the characters, but I don't because the horrendous voice acting and awkward dialogue makes the already fairly bland character completely unlikable, which in a game that's basically a character study with a tacked on dungeon crawler is an unforgivable sin.
    Expand
  25. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Persona 4 is not only the best game in the series. But it's also one of the best PlayStation 2 games ever! It's a huge improvement over Persona 3 in every aspect.
  26. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    I thought Persona 3 FES was great but this game beats it in almost every way. The characters are very likable, there is a great story throughout the entire game, the social links are fixed, and plot twists are legendary.
  27. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    I rarely hate a video game, hell i even enjoyed hello kitteh island adveentur3. THIS GAME IS SHawt!! I watched my friend play this game and ive got to say, if making **** spaghety was a proffesion you guys would be on IRON CHEF and i dont even watch that show. first of all there is way 2 much dialoge, second these skowrt are tow short, fifthly why the **** does every japanese game haveI rarely hate a video game, hell i even enjoyed hello kitteh island adveentur3. THIS GAME IS SHawt!! I watched my friend play this game and ive got to say, if making **** spaghety was a proffesion you guys would be on IRON CHEF and i dont even watch that show. first of all there is way 2 much dialoge, second these skowrt are tow short, fifthly why the **** does every japanese game have some gateway to a different world? AND sixteenthly what the **** is with the title, translate it, i speak American in America Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Here I thought it was impossible to follow up Persona 3, and they somehow managed to pull it off. Now comparing it to the previous game, the characters are FAR more likable, the gameplay is much more improved, the story is slightly better, and the graphics weren't much of a difference. The music was a hell of a lot better and has its own unique style to it. This game was fantastic.
  29. Aug 17, 2013
    3
    Nearly the same game as Persona 3 with better graphics, but not as interesting overall. Same combat, same daily grind..really should have done something more with it, but if you've never played a Persona game, try this and Persona 1
  30. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Persona 4 is a brilliant mix of dungeon crawling and solid character development, it transcends JRPGs as a whole and overcomes it few flaws with a fun and interesting story, good character development and surprisingly in depth game play. It is a must have game.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2008
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2008
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. 94
    Among the cookie-cutter sequels and half-hearted remakes, Persona 4 is a near flawless example of the perfect balance between "falling back on what works" and "pushing the genre forward." That said, I wholeheartedly recommend it as one of the best RPG experiences of the year.
  2. An outstanding achievement in gaming. There’s no question that this is going to be one of my top games of the year, and any fan of JRPGs should be playing it when it’s released next week.
  3. 100
    What really sets Persona 4 apart, though, is its endearing, relatable cast.