Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 401 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 PS2 Game of the Year] Shortly after an urban youth begins a year-long stay in the countryside town of Inaba, the rural town's peace is shattered by a horrific murder that leaves no clues or suspects. As the lone incident develops into a series of bizarre crimes, he[Metacritic's 2008 PS2 Game of the Year] Shortly after an urban youth begins a year-long stay in the countryside town of Inaba, the rural town's peace is shattered by a horrific murder that leaves no clues or suspects. As the lone incident develops into a series of bizarre crimes, he discovers that only he and his friends have the power to solve the baffling case, bring those responsible to justice, and restore harmony to his new home. Balance your double life – Beyond intense battles, Persona fusion, and new weapon creation exists a normal high school life of friends, classes, and part-time jobs. The way you manage and integrate your activities within each day will determine how you progress through the game. Unprecedented team control – With a greater emphasis on developing bonds in the fight to solve the mysterious murders, strong friendships are key to your success. Directly control teammates in battle, earn greater party support for combat, and master individual Social Links to unlock your party's true potential. Find the true ending – 60+ hours of gameplay thrusts you into a deep mystery where midnight television leads to serial killings. You must investigate murders, rescue those who can be rescued, and unmask the culprit behind it all—or risk being forever shrouded in the fog of doubt. [Atlus USA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. An outstanding achievement in gaming. There’s no question that this is going to be one of my top games of the year, and any fan of JRPGs should be playing it when it’s released next week.
  2. 100
    Persona 4 is the Playstation 2’s new king of JRPGs and is awesome sending off for the system. Every single man, woman and child who has any interest in the story or has even the tiniest interest in the RPG genre has to check it out.
  3. 100
    The truly stunning thing about Persona 4 is that it just doesn't have any glaring flaws. Even though it doesn't stand up to the graphics of the Xbox 360 or PlayStation 3, the clever art style makes up for that. Those who despise reading large blocks of text in games will be pleasantly surprised by the solid voice-over work applied to almost every conversation.
  4. PSM3 Magazine UK
    90
    A triumph. [May 2009, p.77]
  5. Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4 is a true gamer's game. Atlus has outdone themselves again and proved that they are at the leading edge of role-playing.
  6. Atlus' latest game for PlayStation 2 is with no doubt a masterpiece for this console. It takes the genre far away from what we're used to seeing nowadays. It's not the best JRPG so far, though, but it has all it takes to become an instant classic. If you're willing to enjoy a never-ending game with a immersive story and a lot of characters to deal with, do not hesitate, this is your best choice.
  7. 68
    As a swan song to the PS2 Persona 4 isn’t the highest note and all the bizarre characters, storylines and Personas you unlock can’t change that. But if you don’t mind grinding too much then there is some enjoyment to be had.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 72
  2. Negative: 3 out of 72
  1. SilverE.
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    Atlus' policy when it came to making Persona 4: If it ain't broke, make it MIND-BLOWINGLY AWESOME. If it is broke, make it Atlus' policy when it came to making Persona 4: If it ain't broke, make it MIND-BLOWINGLY AWESOME. If it is broke, make it MIND-BLOWINGLY AWESOME. Not only is it one of the most polished games to date, but it takes everything that Persona 3 did, good and bad, and made it MIND-BLOWINGLY AWESOME. Social Links? Even more interesting and really involved in the game's battles this time around. The turn-based battles themselves? Even more fast-paced than before, this time with the A.I. being optional. Music? Freaking catchy, even catchier than Persona 3's "glued-to-the-inside-of-your-head-for-all-eternity" tunes. The story's pacing? Excellent. The characters? Even more realistic and relatable, somehow (because Persona 3's characters were pretty damn good). Even the voice acting is better...even with some of the same freaking voice actors (Yuri Lowenthal makes a return, and he's even better than he was last game) as last game. The game itself is overflowing with things to do: social stats to raise, friends to make and help out, equipment to produce, Personas to fuse like crazy, quests (and without time limits!) to finish, freaky demons to pwn, and people to talk to in order to solve the game's murder mystery. Quite frankly, you are getting a LOT for your buck, and it's high-quality stuff to boot. Even better is the fact that it's on the PS2, which is a console that everyone and their mother has. If you haven't gotten this or Persona 3 FES (get P3FES first!), you are seriously missing out on what is the best that the JRPG genre has to offer. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Shin Megami's Persona series exemplified with it's latest iteration. Each character possesses real problems and are for the most part relateShin Megami's Persona series exemplified with it's latest iteration. Each character possesses real problems and are for the most part relate able and enjoyable. There have been many recent spinoff's including manga and anime iterations. It seems that although this game has a more niche appeal than the more mainstream games such as FF have it is still an amazing peice Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    Rarely if ever do I consider a game perfect. However Persona 4 is the closet thing to perfection I have ever played. Everything from Persona 3Rarely if ever do I consider a game perfect. However Persona 4 is the closet thing to perfection I have ever played. Everything from Persona 3 is back and done far better. The dungeons are all different instead of the giant tower of doom you get sick of going through. The social links and the people within them are done much better. Not to mention you can control your party members whenever you want so you can make all the stupid choices in battle. Yet this game does have flaws as all game must and I think they should be pointed out. The main thing in this game that bothers me is the fact if you go out with anybody throughout the story how nobody in an entire town filled of noisy rumor loving people every figure out your going out with somebody. And most of the girls in the game are popular and well known so the fact this small thing was not worked on is a bit a jarring, but and the end of the day it is a small fault and doesn't bother me all that much. After all this is the game I've spend around 400 hours of my life playing. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    There is something to be said about Atlus. This company is capable of many great things. This game, is definitely one of their crowningThere is something to be said about Atlus. This company is capable of many great things. This game, is definitely one of their crowning jewels. For me to express my absolute respect for the company would require more space than the 5,000 character limit of this site would allow. So instead, I'll go into further detail about not only what made Persona 4 a fantastic game, but also the pinnacle of JRPGS (in my opinion) to this date.

    First of all, let's talk about why I immediately consider this game to be superior to its predecessor. The cult classic Persona 3/Persona 3 FES, is argued to be a better game and the most common (frustratingly so) arguments are because it has a better atmosphere and storyline. Allow me to say, that atmosphere does not mean a better game. My biggest issue with the atmosphere of the first game, while I did enjoy it, was that it made anything outside of the suppressive feeling in the game, feel extremely out of place in the game. While that is usually the point of such moments, the drastic difference just makes you feel like there is a transition that you missed getting there. Persona 4 does not have that problem. It has a naturally lighter atmosphere and the way the characters act in said atmosphere, makes for a much less jarring change between and a much more natural transition for the characters. Then there is the issue with the storyline argument. While I will agree that the overall story of Persona 3 is fantastic and it has some great character mini-arches throughout, the biggest issue is that almost none of the main characters are likable for the vast majority of the game. With no character development for any of them for far too long, the only character I ended up liking for the longest time was one who was there for less time than most of the Social Links in game. Persona 4 did not make this same mistake. It gave access to Main Character Social Links almost immediately after gaining the person in your party. Not to mention that the way the dungeon system works, has you getting to know people even before you get them as party members. Another thing this game did better was dungeons. It separated them all by person and level range in the Persona 4 which I thought was really smart.

    So what does Persona 4 have wrong with it? Well, nothing that I would consider a universal problem. If you don't like long games, give this one a pass. I would have to say the average first play through of the game is a minimum of 80 hours if you are not entirely invested in doing things and over 100+ hours if you really get into it. Like I said, not a big issue but I can see some people having an issue with it. The other thing is... how do I put this... do you know what "moe" (pronounced "mow-ay") is? "Moe" is like a really bright, bubbly type character with a high voice and some "overly cute" mannerisms. Well there is one in this game by the name of Teddie. Like I said, not a universal problem, but I do know that there have been people who quit the game because of this character.

    All-in-all, I award this game a 10/10 and a recommendation to buy it, either in this form or its portable form on the PSVita Persona 4 Golden.
    Expand
  5. GP
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Believe the hype - I was skeptical about whether or not this could really be that much better than 3 (Which was my favorite game in 2008), Believe the hype - I was skeptical about whether or not this could really be that much better than 3 (Which was my favorite game in 2008), but believe me it is. In fact, as I play 4, I constantly think back and see faults with 3 - they've renovated what wasn't a problem to new extremes of awesomeness and annhialated what was. Oh, and the menus are much, MUCH faster. If you liked Persona 3, get this. In fact, get this. Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    Here's a quick review... I've been playing this game for more than 100 hours, more than a year to finally get to the end since I was lazy.Here's a quick review... I've been playing this game for more than 100 hours, more than a year to finally get to the end since I was lazy.

    Persona 4 is a game about a group of students trying to solve a murder mystery in the quiet town of Inaba. One day at school, the protagonist hears a story about being able to see your soulmate inside your TV at midnight on rainy days. He sees someone and when he goes to touch them, he slips through his TV.

    Persona 4 is a great game if you've got the time to play it. By having players create relationships with other characters, you have specialised and personal character development plus the development that occurs through the story. You also have the option of starting a romantic relationship with the girls in the game.

    Something that really shines within the game to me is the music. The soundtrack of Persona 4 is great. It's upbeat, it's catchy. Really fits the mood. Like other Persona games, the music ties back to the story and what the characters must face. Tracks like "Facing my True Self" emphasise the story arcs about Personas.

    Now gameplay. Persona plays like many other dungeon crawler (J)RPGs. You run through a map and explore. Get treasure. Fight monsters. The camera in the game is a little slow, but you can turn it faster using L/R2. A few things that bothered me about the game is that if you were running from a monster, your AI companions would get in the way after trying to catch up and couldn't be moved by running into them.

    The removal of the feature created in Persona 3 Portable allowing you to separate your team to explore faster is a bit of a downside to me. It takes 2x as long to explore the floors and without the option to separate, you gain watered down XP.

    I also believe that each Persona game I have has a coding error. After a while of exploring, battling, whatever, XP is multiplied by a lot. A persona with 30k remaining XP can level up every 2 or 3 battles. However, it might just be the discs I have.

    In closing, Persona 4 is a great game for players with the time to spend on a deep story and engaging characters. With so many options, replay value is very high.
    Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2013
    3
    Nearly the same game as Persona 3 with better graphics, but not as interesting overall. Same combat, same daily grind..really should have doneNearly the same game as Persona 3 with better graphics, but not as interesting overall. Same combat, same daily grind..really should have done something more with it, but if you've never played a Persona game, try this and Persona 1 Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2008
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2008