Shining Tears PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    Storyline was good enough to keep the interest, the controls were sometimes slow and handled dully and the battle system was entertaining enough. Direction-wise this game was messy and had me guessing on how to proceed with the story, luckily online Walkthroughs exist. Character development was fair but seemed limited, the customization was okay, but the upgrading and leveling was decent.Storyline was good enough to keep the interest, the controls were sometimes slow and handled dully and the battle system was entertaining enough. Direction-wise this game was messy and had me guessing on how to proceed with the story, luckily online Walkthroughs exist. Character development was fair but seemed limited, the customization was okay, but the upgrading and leveling was decent. Sometimes it seemed that the developers just got lazy and overwhelmingly littered the battle field with enemies at times (especially near the end). This is definitely not for every RPG gamer, but "Shining Tears" has it's charms, worth a play if you run in to it, but I'm NOT labeling this a masterpiece. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    An essentially good game with many flaws. These include poor translation, poor AI, poor use of hardware (causing system slows), and poor pacing. Buy this only if you are capable of being patient through its foibles. If you do, you will find an uncut gem of a game.
  3. JithenV.
    May 5, 2005
    5
    This game is great. It has great graphics and gameplay. Plus the guys look so cute.
  4. KyleD.
    Mar 24, 2005
    7
    I am not familiar with the Shining Saga series, other than what I've read from other gamers. I have to applaud this game for its 2-D environments and "Secret of Mana" like playability. The aspect I enjoy most is the ability to play this game co-operatively with a friend. Multiplayer action is missing from so many RPG's. Now don't expect the story to blow you away and there I am not familiar with the Shining Saga series, other than what I've read from other gamers. I have to applaud this game for its 2-D environments and "Secret of Mana" like playability. The aspect I enjoy most is the ability to play this game co-operatively with a friend. Multiplayer action is missing from so many RPG's. Now don't expect the story to blow you away and there are some issues with the game's menu system (most notably the strange looking menu icons) but if you are interested in 2-D slasher RPG's at all I would reccommend this one. Expand

Awards & Rankings

74
#74 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. You can save anywhere or enter and exit battles as needed - nice touches that make this one user-friendly. [March 2005, p.124]
  2. PSM Magazine
    60
    Those willing to beat back the multiple waves of irritating technical snafus will find a highly flawed, yet ambitious and engaging Action RPG. [March 2005, p.73]
  3. Pros: Beautiful art, unique team mechanic. Cons: Repetitious battles, poor A.I., slowdown. [March 2005, p.101]