Shining Tears PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Shining Tears Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shining Tears tells the tale of a young man who has lost his memory and finds himself caught in a war he does not understand. The city he lives in is under siege, and the reason, he is told, revolves around two magical rings of power. In a journey of discovery, the boy and his friends soonShining Tears tells the tale of a young man who has lost his memory and finds himself caught in a war he does not understand. The city he lives in is under siege, and the reason, he is told, revolves around two magical rings of power. In a journey of discovery, the boy and his friends soon realize the terrifying truth about the world they live in. Along the way, they fortify themselves with ever more powerful weaponry, spells, and a rotating cast of allies. The game is a spiritual successor to "Shining in the Darkness" (Genesis) and the "Shining Force" trilogy (Genesis, Saturn). Whereas those classics offered first-person role-playing and strategy role-playing experiences (respectively), Shining Tears is an action role-playing game, featuring real-time battles and cooperative multiplayer game options. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Game Informer
    78
    The hand-drawn environments are gorgeous, as are the visuals as a whole, but that doesn't mean I want to see the same areas again and again. [March 2005, p.130]
  2. Shining Tears is clichéd, has a few flaws in the combat system and is sometimes a little too easy for even one character (let alone a pair of them) to run through. And yet, Despite all its shortcomings, I've really enjoyed playing the game.
  3. With its repetitive gameplay, terrible A.I., painful slowdown, frequent load times, and clichéd storyline, I honestly have no explanation for why the game can still be fun to play, but it can.
  4. The repetitive gameplay is the real downer for the game. Having to repeat the same steps over and over again gets old quickly.
  5. Pros: Beautiful art, unique team mechanic. Cons: Repetitious battles, poor A.I., slowdown. [March 2005, p.101]
  6. 60
    Even though I had some fun with the Shining Tears, most of it stemmed from nostalgia and imagining what this game could have been.
  7. 20
    Shining Tears is an applicable title for this game, because anyone who spends their time and money on it will break down in tears... Avoid it like a proposition from a girl walking out of the VD clinic.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Phoenix
    May 7, 2005
    10
    The best action RPG since Secreat of Mana.
  2. JJKing
    Jan 5, 2005
    8
    This is the game we've all been waiting for. Yet another installment in the shining saga. It is a real-time RPG and one of the best This is the game we've all been waiting for. Yet another installment in the shining saga. It is a real-time RPG and one of the best I've seen to date. Collapse
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    Storyline was good enough to keep the interest, the controls were sometimes slow and handled dully and the battle system was entertainingStoryline was good enough to keep the interest, the controls were sometimes slow and handled dully and the battle system was entertaining enough. Direction-wise this game was messy and had me guessing on how to proceed with the story, luckily online Walkthroughs exist. Character development was fair but seemed limited, the customization was okay, but the upgrading and leveling was decent. Sometimes it seemed that the developers just got lazy and overwhelmingly littered the battle field with enemies at times (especially near the end). This is definitely not for every RPG gamer, but "Shining Tears" has it's charms, worth a play if you run in to it, but I'm NOT labeling this a masterpiece. Expand
  4. KyleD.
    Mar 24, 2005
    7
    I am not familiar with the Shining Saga series, other than what I've read from other gamers. I have to applaud this game for its 2-D I am not familiar with the Shining Saga series, other than what I've read from other gamers. I have to applaud this game for its 2-D environments and "Secret of Mana" like playability. The aspect I enjoy most is the ability to play this game co-operatively with a friend. Multiplayer action is missing from so many RPG's. Now don't expect the story to blow you away and there are some issues with the game's menu system (most notably the strange looking menu icons) but if you are interested in 2-D slasher RPG's at all I would reccommend this one. Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    An essentially good game with many flaws. These include poor translation, poor AI, poor use of hardware (causing system slows), and poorAn essentially good game with many flaws. These include poor translation, poor AI, poor use of hardware (causing system slows), and poor pacing. Buy this only if you are capable of being patient through its foibles. If you do, you will find an uncut gem of a game. Expand
  6. JithenV.
    May 5, 2005
    5
    This game is great. It has great graphics and gameplay. Plus the guys look so cute.
  7. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Aug 3, 2005
    0
    I hate this game. Thanks Sega you ruined my Shining series (hopefully Shining Force Neo will be good) like the other series under your belt I hate this game. Thanks Sega you ruined my Shining series (hopefully Shining Force Neo will be good) like the other series under your belt (i.e. Virtua Quest, Sonic Heroes) the graphics is the best part of the game. Beautiful 2D graphics and cool animation sequences but that doesn't save this game...nothing can.... the sound no voiceovers which well is probably a good thing (we've all seen the acting in Sonic) the music is bad bleck. The gameplay starting with enemy AI dumb is the only word I need they stand in packs waiting for you to ram into them mashing the attack button its annoying and no fun your partner AI retarded is the right word with him running in circles doing nothing to help is all s/he does. You could control him with the right analog stick.....heheheh like that works *sarcasm* ...or you could play Co-Op..but if you think that helps...anyone willing to play this game with you as less brain matter than the game's AI. Killing the monsters is no fun mashing the attack button killing countless idiots with your eyes closed isn't my idea of fun and team attacks....well they're impossible with your stupid AI partner and no one wants to play this trash with you. Stay away far far away. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#83 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005