Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 9 out of 24
  1. But it's the wrestling side that has really been beefed up. A new control system finally makes the action flow back and forth like only wrestling can. Plus the controls are easy to learn and get you into the thick of the action fast, pulling off fancy moves.
  2. 80
    Although there is still work to be done, Showdown: Legends of Wrestling’s new look and play style is a big step in the right direction. Fans looking for a walk down memory lane aren’t going to be disappointed.
  3. I like having the option of pairing up thirty years of blood and sweatsocks, and there’s nothing really at fault with anything, it’s just unfortunate that their very accurate rendition of Seventies wrestling compares unfavourably with what Kurt Angle and colleagues are doing now on t.v and in the THQ games.
  4. But it's a general rule that when you knock down your opponent, you should be able to stomp on them, pin them, or something like that. Well, not here. Unless you actually knock your opponent down and stun them, you can't grab them or anything until they get back up on their own.
  5. A must-have for any old-school wrestling fan. However, if you’re a more recent fan of the WWE, or you’re just a casual fan, there isn’t enough depth to the game, nor is the gameplay solid enough to warrant a purchase.
  6. The real selling point of the latest LOW release is that it is obvious it was developed by wrestling fans for wrestling fans, Acclaim has even gone so far as to get Kevin Kelly to write commentaries for the official website.
  7. The game is ultimately let down by similar bugs that plagued the previous two games.
  8. Everything positive that has been added to the game doesn't do anything to counteract the mechanical artificial intelligence and visual problems that plague much of it.
  9. The pacing just drags. [Sept 2004, p.24]
  10. After two failed games it might be too much to ask for an excellent follow up, but a playable one would have been nice.
  11. A mediocre wrestling title that has a great list of wrestlers, and game modes, but doesn't have the goods to back it all up.
  12. It's a nice homage to wrestling's past, but just can't compete with the wrestling games of the present. [Aug 2004, p.96]
  13. 60
    I honestly don't remember playing a wrestling game with an engine this bad in years, and I've played quite literally every wrestling game out there.
  14. 59
    A game meant for fans of wrestling and NOT for fans of wrestling videogames. Despite what some may think, there is a difference. As fans of wrestling will no doubt enjoy the nostalgia and history of the wrestlers involved with Legends, while fans of wrestling videogames will likely find it too clunky, damaged, and dumb for any long term value.
  15. Ultimately, every other wrestling game on the market surpasses this game.
  16. This game could have been so much better than it is, but I didn't think it would ever turn out as distinctly average as it has.
  17. The two places where this game really fails to deliver are in the pacing and the controls.
  18. 40
    Everything from the pointless showdown mode to the almost complete absence of anything to unlock makes the game feel raw in a negative, unfinished way. Not the hardcore, wrestling kind of fans know and love.
  19. 35
    It's a bad game, but it's a bad game with aspirations, and every so often it manages to entertain in spite of its gaping, hideous flaws.
  20. The poor presentation and frustrating, buggy gameplay will turn off most of us who were looking for a way to recreate the landmark moments and atmosphere from a different era of sports entertainment.
  21. A plodding pace serves to slow down the showdown - something as simple as escaping from a steel cage is an extended, boring affair. [Sept 2004, p.81]
  22. Matches are slower than molasses on a flat surface and play out like blooper reels, with fighters facing the wrong way, refusing to pick up tables or pull off signature strikes. [Sept 2004, p.99]
  23. It’s undeniably cool to pick your favorite wrestlers from yesteryear, but as soon as the actual gameplay kicks in, the lack of attention given to this title quickly chills all those warm fuzzies.
  24. Showdown is just as bad as its two predecessors in almost every way. [Aug 2004, p.93]
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. jimmywoodnut
    Aug 20, 2004
    3
    This game is o.k at first but then after about 30-60 of playing u finally get how 2 and the game is pretty cool but then after about anotherThis game is o.k at first but then after about 30-60 of playing u finally get how 2 and the game is pretty cool but then after about another hour it truly sux a$$ the only reason i gave it any more than 1 is coz u can be hulk hogan and i am a big fan and anyways hogan isn't even very good in the game which was very unexpected seeing as he is on the front cover and all anyways i would reccomend it 2 any1 who loves some of the most boring games in the world Full Review »
  2. RichT.
    Jul 30, 2004
    5
    What can I say other than I was very disappointed. The game isn't worth $49.99 not even $19.99 due to all of the technical problems and What can I say other than I was very disappointed. The game isn't worth $49.99 not even $19.99 due to all of the technical problems and boring decade storyline. No hidden characters, no hidden arenas, cheats, nothing. Showdown is just an all out stinkfest of boredom waiting to sink you into the deepest bowels of depression and disappointment. I was really looking forward to a game that would do the Legends of Wrestling justice, but as usual acclaim has fallen short and should take some serious notes from the master of wrestling games THQ.... (The Smackdown Franchise).. I am surprised Acclaim hasn't recalled LOW Showdown due to all of the technical problems. For example, during the showdown challenge the controls stick during moves, the screen freezes during gameplay, the announcers' voices become deep and hard to understand and seem to repeat themselves and get stuck on phrases like an old 33 record that has been scratched. In addition, when your wrestler performs some moves, he goes to grab his opponet and applies the hold to an invisible character/air while the opponet is off in another direction. In my opinion, Acclaim should have a massive recall of the game, fix the glitches and technical problems, create more exciting story lines, have hidden characters such as Big Van Vader, Buff Bagwell, Nature Boy Ric Flair, Magnum T.A., Lex Luger, The Four Horsemen, Midnight Express, and some of the TNA Superstars on the roster, easier controls, and lots of hidden items such as costumes, music entrances, arenas, cheats, and etc.. I am not an video game expert or developer but come on!!!, Acclaim ,Just talk to a few wrestling fans and You will have a number one best selling wrestling game that can stand toe to toe with The Smackdown Franchise and THQ. Do yourself a favor and rent this game before you buy it....Two last things... Don't believe the hype about this game. If anything it should be called Letdown..Legends of wrestling... by acclaim.... Full Review »
  3. DaveH.
    Jul 10, 2004
    6
    Much better than LOW1 and 2. Lots of potential but the gameplay isn't solid enough to keep you hooked. The framerate suffers a bit on Much better than LOW1 and 2. Lots of potential but the gameplay isn't solid enough to keep you hooked. The framerate suffers a bit on the PS2 when there are more than 4 characters on screen. I feel that if they would have spent some more time improving the controls, fixing all the glitches and the framerate, this could have easily have gotten an 8. I really wanted to like this game but the gameplay just doesn't do it for me. Full Review »