Silent Hill 2 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2001
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 445 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 445

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2015
    5
    Silent Hill 2 has the best story a game has ever offered. I can honestly say that I have never cared as much about a games story as I have for Silent Hill 2's story. And I'm not much of a survivor horror fan, but this game knows how to make use the gameplay to perfection. Though, at times, I feel that the gameplay is the reason for why you will die, and that is my biggest problem with theSilent Hill 2 has the best story a game has ever offered. I can honestly say that I have never cared as much about a games story as I have for Silent Hill 2's story. And I'm not much of a survivor horror fan, but this game knows how to make use the gameplay to perfection. Though, at times, I feel that the gameplay is the reason for why you will die, and that is my biggest problem with the game. Look, the game is worth playing though once for it's story. But I can't go back to it. It is the right way to do a survival horror game, but the gameplay will keep me from playing it ever again. 5/10 Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was very great for it's time. I couldn't believe it was mad in 2001. It felt like it was made in 2004. The cut sences, the movement, and battles really made it stand out. The overall plot does feel very weird though, and the graphics changing is very annoying. Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2014
    6
    Silent Hill 2 is overrated; I'm not saying is bad but I don't think is the best survival horror ever or the best Silent Hill game to that matter. The story of James Sunderland's quest for the truth about his wife has heart, but is not has touching has Harry's search for his daughter, not the mention the passing is unfocused and characters that, while interesting, play no importance to ourSilent Hill 2 is overrated; I'm not saying is bad but I don't think is the best survival horror ever or the best Silent Hill game to that matter. The story of James Sunderland's quest for the truth about his wife has heart, but is not has touching has Harry's search for his daughter, not the mention the passing is unfocused and characters that, while interesting, play no importance to our protagonist's journey, is very distracting. Art direction is phenomenal, music is excellent and gameplay is well incorporated for a survival horror. Silent Hill 2 is a good fallow up and I'm glad I played it but is not the best game in the series and the praise it gets makes me call it one of the most overrated titles of all time... Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    Mind-blowing story and almost excellent graphics. The only bad point is the longevity, which is a problem of many other games.
    Overall, this is an optimal game.
  5. May 28, 2012
    7
    One of the scariest psychological thrillers of all time. This game was a masterpiece except for the control.
  6. LamL
    Mar 8, 2009
    7
    The date is 2009. I have heard so many awesome things about this game. XPLAY and others have called it the #1 scary game of all time. I still try and go in with an open mind and self awareness. Months earlier I played SH: Homecoming and liked it enough callin it good but not really a next gen experience. Of course my 1st exposeure to SH was the 2006 film, which I think is brilliant. The The date is 2009. I have heard so many awesome things about this game. XPLAY and others have called it the #1 scary game of all time. I still try and go in with an open mind and self awareness. Months earlier I played SH: Homecoming and liked it enough callin it good but not really a next gen experience. Of course my 1st exposeure to SH was the 2006 film, which I think is brilliant. The fact is I was a little disappointed in this last gen game. It played exactly like SH: H except the controls were more clunky. I thought the fog was better, and the town seemed more believable than in SH:H. Really, this makes SH:H look worse in my eyes. But the experience never raised itself to something sublime. I'm aware if I played it in 2001 when it was released I probably would have given it at least a full point higher. But still, to a new gamer coming it to it for the first time today it kinda delivers underwhelmingly. Next Gen horror games I like are "F.E.A.R.," "The Darkness" (my favorite, and a review here on metacritic actually described it as a next gen 1st person SH- I agree), "Condemned 2," "Dead Space." I realized there is a lot of shooting in my favorites. Somebody, please make a horror game that's really really good but the emphasis is not on shooting. I'd be the 1st in line. Expand
  7. HerrT
    Mar 15, 2008
    6
    Most reviews of this game totally ignore the fact that the story is so obnoxiously poor that you lose interest in completing it. The first game took place in an actual town overrun by sinister forces; this game takes place in a guy's psyche, as he deals with his guilt for euthanizing his wife. You watch your sidekick in this adventure die a few times, each time she returns acting as Most reviews of this game totally ignore the fact that the story is so obnoxiously poor that you lose interest in completing it. The first game took place in an actual town overrun by sinister forces; this game takes place in a guy's psyche, as he deals with his guilt for euthanizing his wife. You watch your sidekick in this adventure die a few times, each time she returns acting as if nothing's wrong, and the game goes on, because it adds to the "dreamlike" setting. From this point on, the games don't really correlate to each other. I don't want to play some guy's dream. I don't want to make it to the end to find out it wasn't real, that it was all a dream, or that the protagonist is schizophrenic or whatever. It's stupid storytelling and Team Silent basically screwed up their chance of making the series remarkable starting with this entry. Expand
  8. AndrewJ.
    Aug 1, 2003
    7
    This game has great improvement with graphics, but sems to lack the atmosphere that the first "Silent Hill" had.
  9. JustinW.
    Jan 4, 2002
    7
    Very good, but I was expecting a lot more from this game. I have a feeling they rushed a map and series together to make this game. If this game had been SH part one and SH 1 had been part 2 this series would have been spectacular.
  10. MarcL.
    Sep 30, 2001
    7
    This is a good game. The graphics, sound and atmosphere are great. But I feel the first Silent Hill did a better job of conveying the feeling of fear. The characters and story were far more interesting in the first one. Still if you?re a fan of these types of games, then this is a must have.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. While Silent Hill 2 retains the same basic format of the original, the story is decidedly more coherent and the graphics have been upgraded immeasurably.
  2. 85
    Quite simply, mature PS2 owners craving a creepy game that's perfect for playing with the lights out and speakers cranked, pick up a copy of Silent Hill 2 and you will not be disappointed. Clean underwear not included.
  3. The game is one of the longer offerings Konami has offered on PS2 to date...[but] you'll still be left wanting more when the game is over.