Silent Hill 2 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2001
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 563 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 563
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielM
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    In my opinion, this is game of the year, all years. This game, is more then a game. It is so deep that almost every last little detail, from a wall's wallpaper, to a whisper that's just barely audible, and a radio's seemingly random burst of static, all has a profound and revealing reason to be there. I feel so bad that I read the ending before playing this game. If you In my opinion, this is game of the year, all years. This game, is more then a game. It is so deep that almost every last little detail, from a wall's wallpaper, to a whisper that's just barely audible, and a radio's seemingly random burst of static, all has a profound and revealing reason to be there. I feel so bad that I read the ending before playing this game. If you plan on buying this game, and this is your first non-spoiler review, please. Do not continue reading reviews, just buy it. Many reviews here have spoilers. I hope they make another Silent Hill as good as this one, and that next time, I can play through it with my knowladge of the plot inexistant. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    8
    Gameplay has never been SH's strongpoint.
    The combat is dodgy.
    And movement is whoozy. Yet ... The portagonist's are everyday people, do you expect them to be able to weild Mancini Shotgun's and go crazy? Sh's strongpoint is entirely thorugh story. James' is a complex tradgic soul. The first game realized the only worthwhile character from the first game was SH itself. The town gives of
    Gameplay has never been SH's strongpoint.
    The combat is dodgy.
    And movement is whoozy.

    Yet ... The portagonist's are everyday people, do you expect them to be able to weild Mancini Shotgun's and go crazy?

    Sh's strongpoint is entirely thorugh story.
    James' is a complex tradgic soul.
    The first game realized the only worthwhile character from the first game was SH itself.
    The town gives of the dread of being completley : ALONE.
    Even the monsters seem more like mechanics or clockworks than actual "Beings".

    If you wanted a game, you get to eat ****
    If you expected some of the best graphics on the system, you get to eat a feast.
    If you expected a brilliant atmosphere, brilliant characters, and a true horror experience, you get to eat a Big lovely footlong.
    Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    Silent hill has always had aging mechanics and obscure and downright plodding controls and action. What keeps me fixated is the story and atmosphere. Silent hill 2 is the pinnicle of the series. Although it's also a little too frustrating in it's world design, with too many corridors leading to corridors and large areas that loop into themselves. What makes this game mostly come past theseSilent hill has always had aging mechanics and obscure and downright plodding controls and action. What keeps me fixated is the story and atmosphere. Silent hill 2 is the pinnicle of the series. Although it's also a little too frustrating in it's world design, with too many corridors leading to corridors and large areas that loop into themselves. What makes this game mostly come past these aging obscure design traits is it's incredible mystery. When it was first released - this was a 10/10. Playing it today leads to a incredible sense of frustration however. Still - it IS the best silent hill game. Even if it has more gameplay warts than it's later cousins. Expand
  4. ErikC.
    Oct 26, 2001
    10
    Silent Hill 2. Wow, what can I say? Much better then the first. I'm addicted to this game more then the first. Sometimes I have to put the controller down. It's like going down a spiral, it gets worse and worse as you go on getting more brutal and twisted as you go. I love it. It plays games with your mind. Hope there is a third one. I don't know if I can go on with out it.
  5. ArtV
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    My favorite game of all time. The graphics in the CG cutscenes were revolutionary at the time (it is now 2008 and I have just beaten SH: Homecoming). The best soundtrack of all time. The best story of all time (and I do not think that any other game will create the same emotions that this game stirs up EVER. Play this game with the lights off and pay attention to all cutscenes, notes and My favorite game of all time. The graphics in the CG cutscenes were revolutionary at the time (it is now 2008 and I have just beaten SH: Homecoming). The best soundtrack of all time. The best story of all time (and I do not think that any other game will create the same emotions that this game stirs up EVER. Play this game with the lights off and pay attention to all cutscenes, notes and surroundings for the best experience. I am a 22 year old male and I seriously almost cried at the end. The story IS THAT GOOD!!!!!! Expand
  6. DebbieD.
    Jan 2, 2002
    10
    SCARY!
  7. JamesS.
    Feb 2, 2002
    9
    Silent Hill 2 is the most scariest, gruesome, mind-bending game I've ever played. There's just a few little problems which keeps it from being perfect.
  8. EDB
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    This is the game I bought a playstation 2 for. Resident evil stopped being scary long time ago. No comparison should be made between the two. SH2 is dark, scary, has tons of fear atmosphere. creatures are scary and different ( not just zombies zombies zombies...please stop with the zompies,) Also for you few dimwits who do not "get it" please do not compare this with army and stealth This is the game I bought a playstation 2 for. Resident evil stopped being scary long time ago. No comparison should be made between the two. SH2 is dark, scary, has tons of fear atmosphere. creatures are scary and different ( not just zombies zombies zombies...please stop with the zompies,) Also for you few dimwits who do not "get it" please do not compare this with army and stealth games. There is no comparison, When I want to watch a scary movie -do I got to the war section or the horror section at the video store? Let me break this down for you: If you want to play a scary horror game... Scary game = Silent Hill 2 ---Its a horror game When you want to play a stealth/war game... Stealth/War game= MGS its a stealth war game Please stop you dimwits who compare with MGS ..stop.... I love MGS but these are two different games. You miss the point of this game and if you cant broaden your gaming pleasures beyone stealth and army games then sit around playing those ..there are hundreds of those boring mindless things to choose from. This is an awesome game people -stop reading the graphics, control, etc bozos and buy the game for the atmosphere! Expand
  9. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Without giving too much away, it will be hard for anyone to ever forget the sad tale of James Sunderland after they've played this game. Perhaps the most twisted and tragic story in gaming to date wraps up in a way that makes you think not just about right and wrong, love and hate, but also the way we as people face our demons or are destroyed by them. Not to be missed.
  10. ShawnP.
    Nov 18, 2001
    10
    This is truly a revolutionary game, it is unlike anything I've ever seen or played before. More addictive than heroin this it the greatest survival horror game of all time and not soon to be matched.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Nov 8, 2002
    10
    Mike, you don't even know what you're saying. are you sure you're a gamer who knows what kind of game you're looking at? silent hill 2 rates an 11 if you ask me and you rate a 1 in my book of gamers!
  12. Ryan
    Feb 13, 2002
    10
    Mike you suck for giveing the game a one unknown.
  13. BloodEmperor
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    My favourite silent hill game so far (4 is already out) the storyline, the atmosphere, the action, the horror.. the horror.. the horror... Ahem sorry. Silent hill 2 is a major step up from silent hill 1 which lets you run round an even larger area of silent hill than in any of the other games. The graphics arent as plush as SH3 but they are gritty and realistic (especially with the My favourite silent hill game so far (4 is already out) the storyline, the atmosphere, the action, the horror.. the horror.. the horror... Ahem sorry. Silent hill 2 is a major step up from silent hill 1 which lets you run round an even larger area of silent hill than in any of the other games. The graphics arent as plush as SH3 but they are gritty and realistic (especially with the 'noise effect' on) and the gameplay of this game is short of godly.. seriously Buy this game (silent hill 2 the directors cut is also out there if you look and it has a cool 'extra game' in it) Expand
  14. JacobS.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    While the gameplay is a little meh (what do you expect from an old survival horror game) the story and atmosphere more than make up for it. It is by far the best of the Silent HIll series, with a truly unique and disturbing story. Team Silent is still trying to match it's glory, but have fallen short everytime.
  15. TinC.
    Nov 12, 2001
    10
    This is a really good game. It has amazing graphics and a great storyline. No matter how hard or how lost you get, this game is still fun! It must be the best horror game ever ade. There is NOTHING bad about this game. Hard to believe, but true!!
  16. RuuddeBruut
    Nov 15, 2001
    10
    I didn't play it jet but it is now already a classic.
  17. JamesB.
    Dec 18, 2001
    10
    This game really takes advantage of the PS2's ability to create beautiful lighting and great looking characters. One of the best games for PS2. (also I'd like to say PS2 kicks ass!)
  18. ReidL.
    Dec 23, 2001
    10
    Silent Hill 2, one of the best games I have ever played, I beat it 12-22-01.
  19. RandyM
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    One of the best survival horror games ever. I STILL play this game, and it STILL scares me. The sound design is nothing short of pure genius.
  20. JohnL.
    Feb 11, 2002
    9
    If you like reading H.P. Lovecraft and get a kick from pondering the way human conscience works then this is the game for you. The story of James wandering around in Silent Hill in search of his wife will compel you onwards. The graphics and camera angles are eerie. The feelings that come to you as you bludgeon the nth monster that gets in your way are best unsaid. The only problem I If you like reading H.P. Lovecraft and get a kick from pondering the way human conscience works then this is the game for you. The story of James wandering around in Silent Hill in search of his wife will compel you onwards. The graphics and camera angles are eerie. The feelings that come to you as you bludgeon the nth monster that gets in your way are best unsaid. The only problem I found with this game was the combat. Depending on how much pressure you place on the attack key, James will do different attacks. This can let you down at the worst of times. Overall though a fantastic and disturbing game. Expand
  21. Dan
    Jul 19, 2002
    10
    Not only does silent hill 2 have top of the line graphics, groundbreaking sound effects, and is a hell of a good time to play... it does something not many other games do. and that's tell a good story. a mindbending surrealistic exploration into the depths of a tortured mind, and probably one of the greatest dark love stories ever told. silent hill 2 is a disturbing, yet strangelyNot only does silent hill 2 have top of the line graphics, groundbreaking sound effects, and is a hell of a good time to play... it does something not many other games do. and that's tell a good story. a mindbending surrealistic exploration into the depths of a tortured mind, and probably one of the greatest dark love stories ever told. silent hill 2 is a disturbing, yet strangely moving experience. not many games can boast that. Expand
  22. SamC.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Quite simply the best game I have ever played on any system. I've played every Resident Evil and every Silent Hill along with many other survival horror games and this has an edge on all of them. On top of the freaky enemies and outstanding settings that will disturb you to the point of sickness, this game has an outstanding plot that will mess with your mind and keep you wondering Quite simply the best game I have ever played on any system. I've played every Resident Evil and every Silent Hill along with many other survival horror games and this has an edge on all of them. On top of the freaky enemies and outstanding settings that will disturb you to the point of sickness, this game has an outstanding plot that will mess with your mind and keep you wondering until the end only to blow you away. If you play this late at night with the lights out and alone your guaranteed for a good eerie feeling. Expand
  23. Dante399L
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This game is not just a game, it is something beyond that. It is a creative and a beautiful story which is told in the most brilliant way. Fans of horror stories will love this game; because it is a mixture of Stephen King's, Dean Koontz' and James Herbert's stories!
  24. Piranha
    Nov 12, 2003
    10
    Creepy.
  25. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Silent Hill 2 is more then just a game. it is one of the last (and best) survival horror games. With a great storyline, legitimate scare, and of course Pyramid Head. How could you not get scared?
  26. Feb 1, 2016
    9
    Silent Hill 2 is just as good, if not better than the original. The gameplay is exactly the same as Silent Hill 1, but the graphics are massively improved, almost in the same way that MGS2 improved its graphics from MGS1. There are no pixelated character models, fully relying on detailed facial structures and weapons, same as in MGS2. The story changes protagonists from Harry Mason toSilent Hill 2 is just as good, if not better than the original. The gameplay is exactly the same as Silent Hill 1, but the graphics are massively improved, almost in the same way that MGS2 improved its graphics from MGS1. There are no pixelated character models, fully relying on detailed facial structures and weapons, same as in MGS2. The story changes protagonists from Harry Mason to James Sunderland, who receives a cryptic message from his dead wife, which leads him to Silent Hill. The majority of the game, you will be collecting weapons and ammo, and killing strange monsters, while searching for James' wife. Just like in Silent Hill 1, there are lots of scares and moments of insanity. Buy this game if you have not already. Expand
  27. Mar 9, 2016
    9
    I never resource to subjectivity when I give an opinion, but this is the right time to do so. You are free to think I'm an idiot and moron because I am saying something considering what I felt, not critic facts that would indeed build an opinion. Silent Hill 2 made me feel very depressed and guilty, I want to play it again, but I'm afraid my experience can be even worse (in the better wayI never resource to subjectivity when I give an opinion, but this is the right time to do so. You are free to think I'm an idiot and moron because I am saying something considering what I felt, not critic facts that would indeed build an opinion. Silent Hill 2 made me feel very depressed and guilty, I want to play it again, but I'm afraid my experience can be even worse (in the better way possible). If you are dating a girl and you are getting bored of her, play Silent Hill 2 and it will completely revitalize your relationship. Expand
  28. Aug 13, 2016
    10
    This was the first game I had ever played that made me genuinely uncomfortable whilst playing it. Everything about it rubs you the wrong way. I highly recommend for anyone looking for a true "scary" game.
  29. Oct 31, 2010
    8
    Horribly good! But mature? Really??
    According to me, this game is just a little bit overrated. Especially its script. Just like in the first Silent Hill, the dialogues are still too poor to fit with the excellent quality of the production and the macabre fineness of the facial animations.
    Despite this point, Maria's face still haunts me after all these years...
  30. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    The first time i made a review in this game a gave it a 8 but that was totally unfair and not right. This is one of my favorite survival horror games ever on the ps2, ps3 and even pc. So emotional and creepy in every aspect. Pyramid Head is the monster i most fear.
    Nothing more needs to be said, if you're an hardcore survival horror player that loves good plots your love this masterpiece
    The first time i made a review in this game a gave it a 8 but that was totally unfair and not right. This is one of my favorite survival horror games ever on the ps2, ps3 and even pc. So emotional and creepy in every aspect. Pyramid Head is the monster i most fear.
    Nothing more needs to be said, if you're an hardcore survival horror player that loves good plots your love this masterpiece of horror!
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#7 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. While Silent Hill 2 retains the same basic format of the original, the story is decidedly more coherent and the graphics have been upgraded immeasurably.
  2. 85
    Quite simply, mature PS2 owners craving a creepy game that's perfect for playing with the lights out and speakers cranked, pick up a copy of Silent Hill 2 and you will not be disappointed. Clean underwear not included.
  3. The game is one of the longer offerings Konami has offered on PS2 to date...[but] you'll still be left wanting more when the game is over.