• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2001
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 383 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 383

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2014
    6
    Silent Hill 2 is overrated; I'm not saying is bad but I don't think is the best survival horror ever or the best Silent Hill game to that matter. The story of James Sunderland's quest for the truth about his wife has heart, but is not has touching has Harry's search for his daughter, not the mention the passing is unfocused and characters that, while interesting, play no importance to ourSilent Hill 2 is overrated; I'm not saying is bad but I don't think is the best survival horror ever or the best Silent Hill game to that matter. The story of James Sunderland's quest for the truth about his wife has heart, but is not has touching has Harry's search for his daughter, not the mention the passing is unfocused and characters that, while interesting, play no importance to our protagonist's journey, is very distracting. Art direction is phenomenal, music is excellent and gameplay is well incorporated for a survival horror. Silent Hill 2 is a good fallow up and I'm glad I played it but is not the best game in the series and the praise it gets makes me call it one of the most overrated titles of all time... Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2010
    8
    Horribly good! But mature? Really??
    According to me, this game is just a little bit overrated. Especially its script. Just like in the first Silent Hill, the dialogues are still too poor to fit with the excellent quality of the production and the macabre fineness of the facial animations.
    Despite this point, Maria's face still haunts me after all these years...
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    8
    Gameplay has never been SH's strongpoint.
    The combat is dodgy.
    And movement is whoozy. Yet ... The portagonist's are everyday people, do you expect them to be able to weild Mancini Shotgun's and go crazy? Sh's strongpoint is entirely thorugh story. James' is a complex tradgic soul. The first game realized the only worthwhile character from the first game was SH itself. The town gives of
    Gameplay has never been SH's strongpoint.
    The combat is dodgy.
    And movement is whoozy.

    Yet ... The portagonist's are everyday people, do you expect them to be able to weild Mancini Shotgun's and go crazy?

    Sh's strongpoint is entirely thorugh story.
    James' is a complex tradgic soul.
    The first game realized the only worthwhile character from the first game was SH itself.
    The town gives of the dread of being completley : ALONE.
    Even the monsters seem more like mechanics or clockworks than actual "Beings".

    If you wanted a game, you get to eat ****
    If you expected some of the best graphics on the system, you get to eat a feast.
    If you expected a brilliant atmosphere, brilliant characters, and a true horror experience, you get to eat a Big lovely footlong.
    Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    Silent hill has always had aging mechanics and obscure and downright plodding controls and action. What keeps me fixated is the story and atmosphere. Silent hill 2 is the pinnicle of the series. Although it's also a little too frustrating in it's world design, with too many corridors leading to corridors and large areas that loop into themselves. What makes this game mostly come past theseSilent hill has always had aging mechanics and obscure and downright plodding controls and action. What keeps me fixated is the story and atmosphere. Silent hill 2 is the pinnicle of the series. Although it's also a little too frustrating in it's world design, with too many corridors leading to corridors and large areas that loop into themselves. What makes this game mostly come past these aging obscure design traits is it's incredible mystery. When it was first released - this was a 10/10. Playing it today leads to a incredible sense of frustration however. Still - it IS the best silent hill game. Even if it has more gameplay warts than it's later cousins. Collapse
  5. May 28, 2012
    7
    One of the scariest psychological thrillers of all time. This game was a masterpiece except for the control.
  6. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    Mind-blowing story and almost excellent graphics. The only bad point is the longevity, which is a problem of many other games.
    Overall, this is an optimal game.
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    The first time i made a review in this game a gave it a 8 but that was totally unfair and not right. This is one of my favorite survival horror games ever on the ps2, ps3 and even pc. So emotional and creepy in every aspect. Pyramid Head is the monster i most fear.
    Nothing more needs to be said, if you're an hardcore survival horror player that loves good plots your love this masterpiece
    The first time i made a review in this game a gave it a 8 but that was totally unfair and not right. This is one of my favorite survival horror games ever on the ps2, ps3 and even pc. So emotional and creepy in every aspect. Pyramid Head is the monster i most fear.
    Nothing more needs to be said, if you're an hardcore survival horror player that loves good plots your love this masterpiece of horror!
    Expand
  8. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    Okay the gameplay is average but this game is the best example that gameplay doesn't make a survival horror game good.The story is one of the best for a horror game.Graphics are very good for its time.Has very creepy environments and also good soundtracks.This is already enough for me to give this game a 10.
  9. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    It's not as freaky as the first Silent Hill, but it basically defines the franchise as a whole and what Silent Hill really is. It's a psychological hell that is different for everyone. The atmosphere in this Silent Hill is equally effective as it was in the first and the introduction of Pyramid Head is by far one of the most unexpected and horrifying monster appearances ever, and yet it'sIt's not as freaky as the first Silent Hill, but it basically defines the franchise as a whole and what Silent Hill really is. It's a psychological hell that is different for everyone. The atmosphere in this Silent Hill is equally effective as it was in the first and the introduction of Pyramid Head is by far one of the most unexpected and horrifying monster appearances ever, and yet it's also one of the most simple and subtle (this is before we see that he goes about raping monsters - which is also disturbing as hell). Then again, though it's all startling at points, this game is really subtle and is slow at points. It really eases you into the horror which helps make it a psychologically, disturbing success. Though this isn't a direct sequel to Silent Hill, it is a very important installment and shows that Team Silent know their horror - and Akira Yamaoka is the master of atmospheric sound editing and unsettling music, which is bizarre but beautiful at the same time. Expand
  10. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    The best game of all the history.
    rated M from MASTERPIECE.
    Silent Hill 2 is PERFECTION.
    Silent Hill 2 is the TRUE SURVIVAL HORROR.
    Silent Hill 2 is THE BEST GAME EVER.
  11. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This game, even though it is old by today's standards is one of the best games ever made. People complain that the game has sucky controls or its not action-y enough but that's not the point of survival horror games such as Silent Hill. They just don't make games like this anymore, this is a rare one with so much thought and detail put into every little thing. The story let alone isThis game, even though it is old by today's standards is one of the best games ever made. People complain that the game has sucky controls or its not action-y enough but that's not the point of survival horror games such as Silent Hill. They just don't make games like this anymore, this is a rare one with so much thought and detail put into every little thing. The story let alone is just enough to make you want to play it cause it goes so deep and into the mind of the player. Sure the controls are a little annoying and combats not so great throughout but it wouldn't get the same effect from players if it was changed. Let alone the different endings you receive based on how you treat you character and some other instances but you do get into the game. The 1st time i played it i was en-raveled by the story and just felt compelled to keep playing it until i found everything out and its just amazing at how much of a masterpiece this game really is. Hopefully someday a game like this will appear again and i shall wait until than, but for now this game is still one of the best, get it if you like this kind of game. Expand
  12. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Hypnotic and haunting, "Silent Hill 2" represents the series at its very best. Players are cast in the role of James Sunderland, a widower who receives a cryptic letter from his late spouse, Mary. The letter instructs for him to go to their "special place" in Silent Hill. After he arrives, James meets a scared woman named Maria who physically resembles Mary. Together, they try to find theHypnotic and haunting, "Silent Hill 2" represents the series at its very best. Players are cast in the role of James Sunderland, a widower who receives a cryptic letter from his late spouse, Mary. The letter instructs for him to go to their "special place" in Silent Hill. After he arrives, James meets a scared woman named Maria who physically resembles Mary. Together, they try to find the person who sent the letter. Meanwhile, the town of Silent Hill sinks into a literal darkness, while its inhabitants increasingly act in all sorts of bizarre manners.

    "Silent Hill 2" is not a direct sequel to the original game. It contains a new cast of characters and a completely different story. And thanks to the graphical capabilities of the PS2, it is a visual powerhouse. The stark lighting effects and photo-realistic textures will often startle you. Gameplay-wise, "Silent Hill 2" resembles the first game but it also includes a few obscure puzzles that will rattle your brain. As a whole, SH 2 is a mind-bender. This is a psychological horror game that is every bit as trippy as the 1990 genre film "Jacob's Ladder".

    While it might be too slow for some, "Silent Hill 2" rewards dedicated players with killer moments of mystery and suspense. And once again, Akira Yamaoka's stirring score compliments the unique asthetic of the game. "Silent Hill 2" is an artistic, one-of-a-kind horror game that is a must play for fans of the genre.
    Expand
  13. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This game is totaly the best horror survival game of all time.All problems from the first game are now all fixed.The Control are perfect.The graphics are very good (for its time) and the storyline is so deep that you will cry even if you don't usually cry you don't have a chance it this game.This game is truly a masterpiece
  14. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Silent Hill 2 is one of the greatest phsychological horror games ever released.
  15. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    This game is like no other when you compare it to other survival/horror games out there (maybe except Fatal Frame, Siren, etc...). The story becomes climatic, symbolisms are scattered throughout the game, the characterizations and atmosphere create an overwhelming sense of isolation. I could go on, but in short, a classic psycological experience meant to be played by all
  16. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    Best game ever. Best Silent Hill period. Best soundtrack. Best story. This game is the definition of perfect. The sub-par controls actually increase the tension factor of the game. I hear some people saying "you might as well run by all the monsters rather than fight", isn't that a good option to have?! If Silent Hill were real, I assure you, I would run through that town as well. TheBest game ever. Best Silent Hill period. Best soundtrack. Best story. This game is the definition of perfect. The sub-par controls actually increase the tension factor of the game. I hear some people saying "you might as well run by all the monsters rather than fight", isn't that a good option to have?! If Silent Hill were real, I assure you, I would run through that town as well. The story is ridiculously creepy and emotional. The characters are insane, and make you uneasy. Environments are stellar and fit right in with the whole package. I am a fan of all Silent Hill games, but this will never be trumped. My favorite game of all time. (and I have played plenty) Expand
  17. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    An absolute masterpiece about a man coming to terms with his past, and a great self-contained story that doesn't dwell on the at times opaque mythology or history of how Henry got there or why all this is happening in Silent Hill. It also contains beautiful/grotesque graphics (depending on your viewpoint) that really being across the worst of the human mind, as well as one of theAn absolute masterpiece about a man coming to terms with his past, and a great self-contained story that doesn't dwell on the at times opaque mythology or history of how Henry got there or why all this is happening in Silent Hill. It also contains beautiful/grotesque graphics (depending on your viewpoint) that really being across the worst of the human mind, as well as one of the greatest/most appropriate/unnerving soundtracks of all time, being one of the few experiences where the occasional use of silence brings across even more tension than any horror soundtrack. Expand
  18. May 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Survival game ever. Consistent plot, fully emotional music by Akira Yamaoka, violent imagery, intense claustrophobic atmosphere. And Pyramid Head will never leave your dreams. Disturbingly awesome! Expand
  19. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    The absolute pinnacle of video game storytelling and storytelling in general. Never before has any work of art gripped me with it's story as much as this one. The gameplay is average but that compliments the gameplay wonderfully as your character is not a space marine, or an SAS commando, or 'the chosen one' he's an average man who has to come to terms with the horrible things he isThe absolute pinnacle of video game storytelling and storytelling in general. Never before has any work of art gripped me with it's story as much as this one. The gameplay is average but that compliments the gameplay wonderfully as your character is not a space marine, or an SAS commando, or 'the chosen one' he's an average man who has to come to terms with the horrible things he is responsible for.
    If storytelling in games is your thing then this is the only game you'll need.
    Expand
  20. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    A truly epic survival horror game.10/10.... side note, the review from "Mike" who gave it a "1" is one of the most stupidest reviews Ive read of a game.
  21. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This is the most touching and greated game ive ever played. I love the game so much. The voice work is perfect, the graphics are perfect, the scare is perfect. Btw, @Mike... SHUT UP! Your rating this game bad cause its not as good as metal gear? WTF? Completely different game series, and metal gear is not even a horror title! OMG! You sir, are imbred.
  22. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    I can see some people soiling this brilliant gem of a game with comments like "I didn't understand the story" or that the graphics weren't up to par, and it is understandable that SH fans might get angry over this, but to me, this is simply separating the chaff from the wheat, or creating an elite class of video game players, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. By getting these responses,I can see some people soiling this brilliant gem of a game with comments like "I didn't understand the story" or that the graphics weren't up to par, and it is understandable that SH fans might get angry over this, but to me, this is simply separating the chaff from the wheat, or creating an elite class of video game players, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. By getting these responses, the game is achieving what it should, by erasing the players who are not clever enough to unpick the story. a game shouldn't bow down to a moron for a sale, it should stand proud as something desirable to someone more *ahem* intellectual, in the same way that Killer 7 was ostracized for being a little bit original, although what it achieved was a masterpiece, it didn't sell because it wasn't HALO 2 and didn't apply to the wider audience. So if you didn't understand the story or something, and you thought it was boring, put the game on eBay and let someone who will enjoy it for the dark and intense story and atmosphere have a go, because this game is getting rare now, and you simply don't deserve to own it. Expand
  23. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    In my restless dreams.... I mean in my opinion, this is THE BEST horror game of all time. SH2 is frighting, scary, pressing, sad and overall amazing horror game. This is psychological horror at it's best. The story becomes climatic, symbolisms are scattered throughout the game, the characterizations and atmosphere create an overwhelming sense of isolation. I could go on, but in short, aIn my restless dreams.... I mean in my opinion, this is THE BEST horror game of all time. SH2 is frighting, scary, pressing, sad and overall amazing horror game. This is psychological horror at it's best. The story becomes climatic, symbolisms are scattered throughout the game, the characterizations and atmosphere create an overwhelming sense of isolation. I could go on, but in short, a classic psychological experience meant to be played by all. Expand
  24. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing, but your not going to fully understand until you play through it. The reasons for it being good don't really translate well into text, and if you don't know about this game, then most of the things I could say would be far fetched. All you need to know is this game has something most horror games made today fail at achieving: great characters and atmosphere. The gameThis game is amazing, but your not going to fully understand until you play through it. The reasons for it being good don't really translate well into text, and if you don't know about this game, then most of the things I could say would be far fetched. All you need to know is this game has something most horror games made today fail at achieving: great characters and atmosphere. The game does a fantastic job of making people who are interesting and unique, and it makes the town so damn creepy that, no joke, I could only play it alone in the dark for about 2 hours at a time, because any longer than that would make my heart jump out of my chest and leave the room without me. If you haven't already played this game yet, I highly reccommend the HD remastered version, as they also got new voice actors to do the dialog again, and once you compare the 2, you will definitely notice a jump in quality from the original voices to the new ones. Plus, if you don't like the new voices, you have the option to have the old ones play, so no worries for hardcore fans. This game wants to scare you while making you think, and it succeeds. No flaws that aren't intentional, so no reduced score. A great cure for modern horror games, with the exception of Amnesia and Slender Expand
  25. May 12, 2013
    10
    A top survival-horror has its profession to make itself very real, and yet this game is spectacularly unforgettable. If you think all survival-horror is crap as then play Silent Hill, ALL TIME best horror game NO QUESTION!
  26. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This story put Resident Evil's story-lines to shame. At certain points, you pretty much feel just like the character does. I've never sobbed so much due to a game, and for that, this get a perfect score, despite the fact that controls are awful.
  27. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Silent Hill 2 is more then just a game. it is one of the last (and best) survival horror games. With a great storyline, legitimate scare, and of course Pyramid Head. How could you not get scared?
  28. May 22, 2013
    10
    Despite having some of the worse combat in the history of gaming and a camera that freaks out from time to time it is never the less the best horror game to date and my favorite game.
  29. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    This game is just a masterpiece in all aspect, sound, acting, story, characters, script, graphics, design, you should play it if you haven't already.
  30. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Silent Hill 2, with it's fogged atmosphere, terrifying creaks and sounds, the inner-workings of James' mind manifesting teach him a graphic and unforgettable lesson that literally shivers your spine as each minute passes by playing this horror-king of a game.
  31. May 7, 2013
    10
    Silent Hill 2 is the best horror game ever created. The whole game, the journey, the monsters are psychological introspection of the protagonist who has one of the best psychology dealt with in a game. With increasingly disturbing atmospheres, a sound scary puzzles and well made, Silent Hill 2 will make you live a nightmare but it will also move.
  32. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    Una auténtica obra maestra del terror. Cuando Silent Hill parecía insuperable, llega esta segunda parte que sin ser mejor, sólo distinta, puso en una nueva órbita a la saga, creando toda una legión de acérrimos fanáticos enamorados del planteamiento. Su madurísima trama, los momentos impactantes e inolvidables, sus misteriosos personajes y el resultado final le han ganado un lugarUna auténtica obra maestra del terror. Cuando Silent Hill parecía insuperable, llega esta segunda parte que sin ser mejor, sólo distinta, puso en una nueva órbita a la saga, creando toda una legión de acérrimos fanáticos enamorados del planteamiento. Su madurísima trama, los momentos impactantes e inolvidables, sus misteriosos personajes y el resultado final le han ganado un lugar privilegiado en la historia del género junto a su hermano SH1. Expand
  33. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    It's a deepest game i played so far. OST is perfect, amazing characters design, beautiful CGI and saddest story. And after 10 years this game still in my heart.
  34. May 30, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time, and has been for over a decade. In my book it's the holy grail of the horror genre, and is more than just a horror game. The story is also one of the most deep and emotional stories ever created in a game, and no matter how many times you play it, you'll still pick up on details you hadn't noticed before. I would steer clear of the HD collectionThis is my favorite game of all time, and has been for over a decade. In my book it's the holy grail of the horror genre, and is more than just a horror game. The story is also one of the most deep and emotional stories ever created in a game, and no matter how many times you play it, you'll still pick up on details you hadn't noticed before. I would steer clear of the HD collection though, it's not a very good rendition of the game. If you can track down a copy of the ps2 or xbox version, I would do that. Expand
  35. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Wouldn't it be crazy if, like, a very good game had a sequel that actually lived up to it, in some ways even surpassed it, did a completely different thing from the first one plot-wise but still maintained its basis perfectly, which had an astounding art direction even for today's standards and with a great intricate yet not entirely open but deducible plot that despite having the mostWouldn't it be crazy if, like, a very good game had a sequel that actually lived up to it, in some ways even surpassed it, did a completely different thing from the first one plot-wise but still maintained its basis perfectly, which had an astounding art direction even for today's standards and with a great intricate yet not entirely open but deducible plot that despite having the most cliché premise of all time still managed to pull that off amazingly, which had puzzles that manage to not undermine the player's intelligence, had replay value, and had music as amazing as the first one but with added acoustic guitar goodness, and on top of it all the authors had moral standards about things such as natural acting for their voice actors and actually did quite some thinking and research in order to deliver the innovative psychological experience they wanted to deliver?

    Man, that would rock.
    Expand
  36. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Silent Hill 2 is literary genius embodied in a video-game. Symbolism plagues the town in this which game takes place, leaving story intensely convoluted and abstract. This in no way impairs the game though, but instead adds to the tension of the situation, And If are able to untangle the complex ideals that this intelligent game offers, you will be rewarded with story that parallels (andSilent Hill 2 is literary genius embodied in a video-game. Symbolism plagues the town in this which game takes place, leaving story intensely convoluted and abstract. This in no way impairs the game though, but instead adds to the tension of the situation, And If are able to untangle the complex ideals that this intelligent game offers, you will be rewarded with story that parallels (and in some cases surpasses) a novel. In general, Silent Hill 2 is BADASS!!! Expand
  37. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    This game is nothing short of amazing. First off, it's mind-numbingly scary, due to its thick atmosphere and eerie soundtrack. Slowly making your way through tight corridors and fog-ridden streets, becomes both a pain and a pleasure. Secondly, the story is superb, both to people who only plow through the game once and don't give it much afterthought, and to those who look to decipher itThis game is nothing short of amazing. First off, it's mind-numbingly scary, due to its thick atmosphere and eerie soundtrack. Slowly making your way through tight corridors and fog-ridden streets, becomes both a pain and a pleasure. Secondly, the story is superb, both to people who only plow through the game once and don't give it much afterthought, and to those who look to decipher it even further. The only noteworthy drawbacks are the slightly tedious and repetitive boss fights, and the fact that there is too much ammunition available to you. Though, in the long haul, Silent Hill 2 is definitely worthy of a playthrough or two. Expand
  38. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    Those who reviewed this game negatively didn't understand what it is about. Saying the story Silent Hill 2 was bad because it was confusing and hard to understand or because it's psychological rather than "real" monsters or because it lacks action is like saying Pac-Man is stupid because you wanted to play Tetris. Sure, the controls are not the best and fighting is a pain in the assThose who reviewed this game negatively didn't understand what it is about. Saying the story Silent Hill 2 was bad because it was confusing and hard to understand or because it's psychological rather than "real" monsters or because it lacks action is like saying Pac-Man is stupid because you wanted to play Tetris. Sure, the controls are not the best and fighting is a pain in the ass (that's why I give it a 9 rather than 10). But Silent Hill is not about fighting, it's about inflicting fear, and if you know fighting will be hard, you don't want to meet monsters. It has one of the deepest stories ever in games and so much effort was put in the details. Each monster, every place represents an aspect of the protagonist's psyche. Even now, when the game is pretty old, I still get scared when playing it. And that's what it's about. Expand
  39. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    An absolute gem. One of the best survival horror games ever made. The atmosphere and story telling is (for the most part) still better than many games released today, I could not recommend it enough, even if the controls and graphically fidelity are a little archaic by today's standards, that shouldn't stop you from playing this near-perfect masterpiece.
  40. May 4, 2014
    10
    Simply the greatest,and scariest survival horror game ever. Not for the faint hearted mind, this game can make you feel suffocated and depressed, i first played this game in 2001 when i was just 14 and even now it still scary. Classic
  41. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fantastic. This has to be my favorite survival horror game so far.

    Graphics are great. Voice acting is improved on the original. Writing is just mind blowing. Silent Hill 2 takes everything it did in the first game and made it better in every regard, aside from combat (it still sucks, but is slightly better.) Overall: I really wish I could give this game more praise, but
    Absolutely fantastic. This has to be my favorite survival horror game so far.

    Graphics are great. Voice acting is improved on the original. Writing is just mind blowing. Silent Hill 2 takes everything it did in the first game and made it better in every regard, aside from combat (it still sucks, but is slightly better.)

    Overall:
    I really wish I could give this game more praise, but I can't. I enjoyed every minute of this game and found myself replaying it over and over just to see and discover everything. This is a fantastic game that belongs in everyones collection.

    Side note:
    BTW The original is better than the HD remake (hence, why I won't review it.)
    Expand
  42. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    You know that feeling when you always look at the cover of one game that you want to try but for some reason never buy? Well that's what happened to me for years and after craving for an psychological horror/mystery experience i decided to give this old game a chance in this age.

    Lets start with the graphics. Il be honest that the the first cutscene was mind blowing and very nice. You
    You know that feeling when you always look at the cover of one game that you want to try but for some reason never buy? Well that's what happened to me for years and after craving for an psychological horror/mystery experience i decided to give this old game a chance in this age.

    Lets start with the graphics.
    Il be honest that the the first cutscene was mind blowing and very nice. You see and feel that dark vibe immediately. It isn't that bad, really. Of course it shows his age but it will definitely not stop you from seeing what is going on in the game.

    Gameplay:
    Silent Hill has that reputation of bad camera angles and awkward controls. Let me tell you that i got used to it after 5 minutes. Its just like playing a new game with great graphics. You just get used to the eye candy after an hour or so. So don't let the story's scare you off.

    Atmosphere and Story:
    The atmosphere is the reason why fans of the genre wanna play this game. I immediately get sucked in the game and couldn't stop playing it. The mist and area's gave me some claustrophobic feel and in the first hotel i had the feeling i didn't want to go to the next hallway or floor. The music really had a great effect in this and i got easily addicted to it. The composer did a great job. The story was pretty predictable but setting it up the way Team Silent did was out of this world.
    I don't give much info here because i hate to spoil the fun. Last verdict: Its really a solid 9 for me and i am not someone who just gives 10's at randoms. I guess the 1's and 4's people give on this game don't really appreciate psychological games like this. They speak about monsters that are to weak but they don't see the point that the monsters in this game are here to make a more psychological effect on the gamer and not just creatures to defeat.

    If you want to play a heavy atmospheric game that works on your nerves don't look further and get this gem.
    Expand
  43. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    AMAZING. What an incredible experience. I love this game. Amazing storyline, fantastic characters, creepy, chilling atmosphere, timeless gameplay and world, never before has a game world drawn me in so much. What can I say that hasn't been said before. Definitely check this out if you're a fan.
  44. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Probablemente el mejor Silent Hill de la serie, por su increible atmosfera e historia apasionante, hasta donde estarias dispuesto para encontrarte nuevamente con tu gran amor de tu vida si sabes que ella no esta en este mundo.
  45. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This game tested my sanity. I had nightmares sometimes. It's that scary. This game uses lot of creepy environment, things that weren't there before, and terrifying looking enemies to scare you. While doing all this, it manages to keep the storyline well flowing. Highly recommended
  46. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    An original Silent Hill fan here. Not having played this game until recently is my largest gaming mistake I ever made (never owned a PS2). I'd want to wipe my memory of it and go back in time when PS2 originally came out just to play it there and then. For now I'll have to settle in with what I've got (a PC port of it in 2013). Akira Yamaoka is surely one of the best game music composersAn original Silent Hill fan here. Not having played this game until recently is my largest gaming mistake I ever made (never owned a PS2). I'd want to wipe my memory of it and go back in time when PS2 originally came out just to play it there and then. For now I'll have to settle in with what I've got (a PC port of it in 2013). Akira Yamaoka is surely one of the best game music composers I've come across through gameplay. This game is a great example of what happens when a team (Team Silent) succeeds with 1st game and gets enough funding for a sequel while not losing their tempo. Something similar happened when Remedy released Max Payne 2, you could see what dedication with enough funding results in. Expand
  47. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    First game i ever played where i liked all the characters! And actually cared about what happens to them! The story is deep and most people may not get why James personal silent hill has bars and chains link fence everywhere (no spoilers look it up) You know a games good when even the atmosphere of the game ties into the characters inner suppressed feelings.10/10 most own stay far awayFirst game i ever played where i liked all the characters! And actually cared about what happens to them! The story is deep and most people may not get why James personal silent hill has bars and chains link fence everywhere (no spoilers look it up) You know a games good when even the atmosphere of the game ties into the characters inner suppressed feelings.10/10 most own stay far away from the 'clear' or 'cleaner' HD remake silent hill 2 is ment to be murky and foggy. Not to mention even the main terrifying enemy Pyramid head has a meaning (this one will surprise you for sure). Only negative is the game takes 12 hours to beat. I recommend playing it at night and reading all the dairy entries. Expand
  48. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    If you are going to play this game, get ready to be ruined forever on a majority of horror video games. This game does not go for the over-the-top thrills and the constant presence of visceral horror, but rather goes for an atmosphere of inescapable paranoia and disturbing visuals that are almost more horrifying after completing the game than during. In fact, it is the subdued nature ofIf you are going to play this game, get ready to be ruined forever on a majority of horror video games. This game does not go for the over-the-top thrills and the constant presence of visceral horror, but rather goes for an atmosphere of inescapable paranoia and disturbing visuals that are almost more horrifying after completing the game than during. In fact, it is the subdued nature of the game that makes it so horrifying, as very little of the game leaves a realistic (or at least as realistic as possible) setting. However, while you are being driven out of your mind by the static of the radio that tells you something is there when you cannot see it, the game tells a masterful story of stories, as the people (including the protagonist) all deal with the unspeakable things that have happened in their life, and their own terrible deeds that are even more haunting. The gameplay is also top-notch for a survival horror game, and in truth has better gameplay than many of the games that follow it (remember: the occasional awkwardness in the controls is intentional, since its purpose is to increase the feeling of helplessness in the disturbing setting). All this combines into a game that transcends game-generations, and makes it a timeless classic of this fading genre. Expand
  49. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    Simply a masterpiece. Sound/Soundtrack flawless by Akira Yamaoka. Story flawless. Graphics great for 2001. Gripping, chilling, terrifying. But at the same time feels like home.

    10/10
  50. Nov 25, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was very great for it's time. I couldn't believe it was mad in 2001. It felt like it was made in 2004. The cut sences, the movement, and battles really made it stand out. The overall plot does feel very weird though, and the graphics changing is very annoying. Expand
  51. Aug 12, 2014
    0
    Falls extremely short of my expectations. Not bad, still scary, but nowhere near as scary as everybody makes it out to be. I'm extremely disappointed with it but it still has managed to get me to jump a few times. Wouldn't recommend it to any seasoned horror game/movie fan.
  52. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My favorite game of the Silent Hill franchise. It has good gameplay, decent graphics for a PS2 era title and the story is in depth. The further you get into the game you can tell there's clearly something wrong with the protagonist and it makes you want to press on to find out exactly what happened to him "three years ago". Depending upon your actions in the game there are 5 possible endings to achieve, 2 are only available in a New Game+ and require certain items to be collected during a playthrough, which adds to the replayability. There are also unlockable weapons some of which are only awarded upon getting a certain score on the End Results Screen. And replaying the game may offer more insight into James' psyche as well as the manifestations in Silent Hill. Expand
  53. Oct 2, 2014
    0
    This game is too scary to be good. Anybody who say's this game is good is out of their minds. Other than that it's a perfect game, but because of how scary it is, I can't give it any higher than a 0 or 1 out of 10.
  54. Feb 16, 2012
    0
    Silent hill has always had aging mechanics and obscure and downright plodding controls and action. What keeps me fixated is the story and atmosphere. Silent hill 2 is the pinnicle of the series. Although it's also a little too frustrating in it's world design, with too many corridors leading to corridors and large areas that loop into themselves. What makes this game mostly come past theseSilent hill has always had aging mechanics and obscure and downright plodding controls and action. What keeps me fixated is the story and atmosphere. Silent hill 2 is the pinnicle of the series. Although it's also a little too frustrating in it's world design, with too many corridors leading to corridors and large areas that loop into themselves. What makes this game mostly come past these aging obscure design traits is it's incredible mystery. When it was first released - this was a 10/10. Playing it today leads to a incredible sense of frustration however. Still - it IS the best silent hill game. Even if it has more gameplay warts than it's later cousins. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. While Silent Hill 2 retains the same basic format of the original, the story is decidedly more coherent and the graphics have been upgraded immeasurably.
  2. 85
    Quite simply, mature PS2 owners craving a creepy game that's perfect for playing with the lights out and speakers cranked, pick up a copy of Silent Hill 2 and you will not be disappointed. Clean underwear not included.
  3. The game is one of the longer offerings Konami has offered on PS2 to date...[but] you'll still be left wanting more when the game is over.