• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Silent Hill 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 435 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players assume the role of James, who receives a cryptic letter from his wife (who has been dead for 3 years) beckoning him to meet her in Silent Hill, a place that holds great meaning for the couple. The mystery of the letter compels him to return to the surreal horror and all-too-realPlayers assume the role of James, who receives a cryptic letter from his wife (who has been dead for 3 years) beckoning him to meet her in Silent Hill, a place that holds great meaning for the couple. The mystery of the letter compels him to return to the surreal horror and all-too-real danger in Silent Hill. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. While Silent Hill 2 retains the same basic format of the original, the story is decidedly more coherent and the graphics have been upgraded immeasurably.
  2. It uses a combination of sight, sound, imagery and imagination to create the scariest game on any home console. Turn off the lights, grab your controller and enjoy the horror of Silent Hill 2.
  3. 96
    If "Resident Evil" was likened to "Night of the Living Dead," then think of Silent Hill 2 as "Twin Peaks," minus the damn fine coffee, but plus the atmospheric gloom and cast of insane deviants, with the entire mixture then taken out back into the woods, shot, hacked into small chunks, and buried.
  4. With a unique and interesting story, mind-blowing graphics, incredible soundtrack, great gameplay and FIVE endings, it’s hard to find fault with Silent Hill 2.
  5. 85
    Quite simply, mature PS2 owners craving a creepy game that's perfect for playing with the lights out and speakers cranked, pick up a copy of Silent Hill 2 and you will not be disappointed. Clean underwear not included.
  6. The action, though, is simply repetitive, as even the most common creatures must be bludgeoned repeatedly to “kill” them (and there are a lot of creatures). [Nov 2001, p.100]
  7. Suffers a bit from being too close to its predecessor in terms of gameplay, but it does manage to scare up enough dread to be a worthy game for fans of the genre.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 103
  2. Negative: 5 out of 103
  1. DanielM
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    In my opinion, this is game of the year, all years. This game, is more then a game. It is so deep that almost every last little detail, from In my opinion, this is game of the year, all years. This game, is more then a game. It is so deep that almost every last little detail, from a wall's wallpaper, to a whisper that's just barely audible, and a radio's seemingly random burst of static, all has a profound and revealing reason to be there. I feel so bad that I read the ending before playing this game. If you plan on buying this game, and this is your first non-spoiler review, please. Do not continue reading reviews, just buy it. Many reviews here have spoilers. I hope they make another Silent Hill as good as this one, and that next time, I can play through it with my knowladge of the plot inexistant. Expand
  2. Dante399L
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This game is not just a game, it is something beyond that. It is a creative and a beautiful story which is told in the most brilliant way. This game is not just a game, it is something beyond that. It is a creative and a beautiful story which is told in the most brilliant way. Fans of horror stories will love this game; because it is a mixture of Stephen King's, Dean Koontz' and James Herbert's stories! Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    An absolute gem. One of the best survival horror games ever made. The atmosphere and story telling is (for the most part) still better thanAn absolute gem. One of the best survival horror games ever made. The atmosphere and story telling is (for the most part) still better than many games released today, I could not recommend it enough, even if the controls and graphically fidelity are a little archaic by today's standards, that shouldn't stop you from playing this near-perfect masterpiece. Expand
  4. May 22, 2013
    10
    Despite having some of the worse combat in the history of gaming and a camera that freaks out from time to time it is never the less the bestDespite having some of the worse combat in the history of gaming and a camera that freaks out from time to time it is never the less the best horror game to date and my favorite game. Expand
  5. NinjaMafia
    Nov 28, 2003
    9
    Wow. Thats what I said when I finished Silent Hill 2. Not only is it a good sequel to an already superior game, but it manages to deliver one Wow. Thats what I said when I finished Silent Hill 2. Not only is it a good sequel to an already superior game, but it manages to deliver one of the best stories I have ever heard. Okay, you are James Sunderland, your wife died years ago. Suddenly, you get a letter from Mary, youre wife, telling you to meet her at the town of Silent Hill. You are a bit confused but go anyway. When you get there, it is desserted. You eventually find a few living people, one of them looks exactly like youre wife. I haven't even scratched teh surface yet. This game has a disturbing mature story that video games don't often have. The story deals with murder, sexual abuse, the fragile emotions of a human being and other stuff. Yeah, it might take you a while to get the story, even after you have beaten the game, but it is a very good one. No thats and understatement, a Ultra extreme good one. Now on to the gameplay. The gameplay is actually very good. You will get scared plenty of times. But don't expect the Resident Evil scare. Think of I'm going to make you creeped out by the atmosphere scary. The graphics were also superb. The grainy look gave it a spooky touch. The only reason I'm not giving this game a ten is because I didn't feel like replaying it over and over again. Every game should do that, even suvival horros. Yeah and now I'm off to explain to Mike some things about silent hill. What created the monsters? It was actually James taht created the monsters. Listen to the story once in a while, you might pick up on something. Oh and no comparision to MGS2 eh? Only your entire review was comparing the two games. I don't remember much but I'm POSITIVELY sure that MGS2 and SH2 are COMPLETELY different games. Silent Hill is a Horro, MGs is a stealth. and also, how much of the game did you play? You didn't just see yellow lines throughout the whole game. There were walls and buildings. Oh and excuse me for not being able to not make the pipe strike the wall. Did it really matter that much? Same with moving the chair, really. MGS2 was incredibly unrealistic, this game even tries to be more onrealistsic but you bash it for that. I couldn't shoot through the little holes in the lockers in MGS2 could I? No but that didn't make me hate that game anymore. All in all, if you are looking for a disturbing storyline, pick Silent Hill 2 up NOW! Expand
  6. May 6, 2015
    9
    A staple in the genre. What makes it so frightening has nothing to do with tricks or scare tactics (though they are definitely in there), butA staple in the genre. What makes it so frightening has nothing to do with tricks or scare tactics (though they are definitely in there), but rather the disturbing and brutal portrayal of the darker aspects of the human condition. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2014
    0
    Falls extremely short of my expectations. Not bad, still scary, but nowhere near as scary as everybody makes it out to be. I'm extremelyFalls extremely short of my expectations. Not bad, still scary, but nowhere near as scary as everybody makes it out to be. I'm extremely disappointed with it but it still has managed to get me to jump a few times. Wouldn't recommend it to any seasoned horror game/movie fan. Expand

See all 103 User Reviews