• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Silent Hill 3 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Silent Hill 3 continues the series' trademark brand of psychological horror and terrifying gameplay. As a teenage girl named Heather, players must explore and unravel the mysterious connection between the god-forsaken town and her inner fears. With enhanced graphical detail, a more complexSilent Hill 3 continues the series' trademark brand of psychological horror and terrifying gameplay. As a teenage girl named Heather, players must explore and unravel the mysterious connection between the god-forsaken town and her inner fears. With enhanced graphical detail, a more complex storyline, and even more grotesque monsters than the previous games, Silent Hill 3 promises to be the best horror adventure ever. Features new monsters, items and weapons, including a submachine gun. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Grainy video filters, swirling cameras and intense action put it severed head and shoulders above the rest of the horror-game competition - the best installment yet of a great series. [Aug 2003, p.32]
  2. The single, most atmospheric survival horror game around. It goes so far beyond the greatness achieved in the 2nd installment that one must wonder, where will it all go from here?
  3. This game also has quite a bit of replay ability to, with 3 different endings to see, and additional scenes to be seen on replay. My only qualm with this game is that it’s too short, at only 5 hours on your first play through and maybe half that each additional time.
  4. 85
    Don't expect to find radical gameplay changes or innovative open-ended mechanics here. Instead, come armed with a belly full of courage and a clean change of underwear, because I can't even remember when a video game has shoved this much grotesque evil down my throat in one serving.
  5. Silent Hill 3 embodies the true essence of horror and never once gives the player a moment to relax or breathe. [Aug 2003, p.88]
  6. The game's biggest weakness is the lack of any levity or humor to counterpoint the story's overwhelmingly serious tone. [Sept 2003, p.68]
  7. Combat is more tedious than fun, though players can now wield more powerful weapons such as the katana blade. Most often players can get by simply running past many of the enemies -- not necessarily out of fear, but in a noble attempt to relieve boredom.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 1 out of 65
  1. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This was definitely the best of the Silent Hill games made. It had such a great storyline and just an all around great horror game. It neverThis was definitely the best of the Silent Hill games made. It had such a great storyline and just an all around great horror game. It never gets old and it has some of the most creepiest levels and monsters than some of these new horror games have. It can be a bit challenging at times, even on easy, and you need to conserve every item you find but that's what a real horror game is made of! Expand
  2. AmirA.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    Really effective.
  3. PIRANHAG.
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    Simply perfect! We don´t see a game like this every day: 5 star sound ; 5 star grafic ; 5 star entertaining... everything is perfect in Simply perfect! We don´t see a game like this every day: 5 star sound ; 5 star grafic ; 5 star entertaining... everything is perfect in here!!!! bought it right now Expand
  4. lolwut?.
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    Damnit, im stuck again... I must be a horrible pathfinder for it took me at least 20 hrs to beat the game... But its also the first game I Damnit, im stuck again... I must be a horrible pathfinder for it took me at least 20 hrs to beat the game... But its also the first game I ever played with REAL puzzles and in the end it was well worth it. This game plays on a kind of fear no other game invokes. Constantly hightening more and more tension by twisting the places in which you are exploring more and more until you no longer recognize them. Camera angles and pitch black/ red lighting add a constant foreboding, ominous feel to the enviornments and the only way you may know if you are about to be attacked is the strange and often industial sonds the monsters make as they near you. 4 different endings is interesting too. Expand
  5. AndrewJ.
    Jan 31, 2004
    9
    This game had a great eerie feel, which the second game lacked.
  6. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Silent Hill 3 is one of the scariest games I have ever played. While the game may not look great any more that does not mean you should missSilent Hill 3 is one of the scariest games I have ever played. While the game may not look great any more that does not mean you should miss out on the awesome game which is easily the best in the series. Expand
  7. May 28, 2012
    6
    Very creepy atmosphere and monsters but design was derivative and story was lackluster. M.

See all 65 User Reviews