Silent Hill 4: The Room PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Sep 7, 2004
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 181
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikaM.
    Aug 17, 2004
    10
    People say that this is a let-down to all the SH-fans, but I beg to differ. This game is amazing in just about every aspect. The only thing that's not great are the sound effects, which will become quite repetitive after a while. I would've given it a 8, but the extra 2 points are given because team Silent had the guts to do such a different game.
  2. EduardoR.
    Sep 14, 2004
    9
    Great game. I think this is the creepiest SH I have played. There are a lot of changes to the Previous SH games but it still feels like SH. Really cool story, a little improvement in the combat system and great graphics. I would give this game a 10 if it wasn't for the missing flashlight. It would have made this game way better.
  3. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    People bashing The Room love to mention it wasn't even meant to be a SH and make it sound like the name was just slapped onto it last minute in order to raise sales. This is not true and I don't even see their point as with or without the name, this shares a lot of what is great in the series, so in spirit, it's a Silent Hill game no matter what it's called. Another popular complaint isPeople bashing The Room love to mention it wasn't even meant to be a SH and make it sound like the name was just slapped onto it last minute in order to raise sales. This is not true and I don't even see their point as with or without the name, this shares a lot of what is great in the series, so in spirit, it's a Silent Hill game no matter what it's called. Another popular complaint is about ghosts chasing you around everywhere. This is also not true. They aren't ghosts to begin with and they also can only appear in certain areas. You don't have to like the idea of undefeatable enemies preventing you from lingering in a location for too long, but they are NOT everywhere, not even close. People also frown upon having to visit the dreamworlds (levels, if you like) a second time, but I don't see the problem there, either. Survival horror games always made you run to and fro a location, what's the big difference now just because you go somewhere else in the meantime? The second time, the levels will have changed a little as well. Enough addressing popular attacks towards the game, what do I personally think about it? Overall, I really love it. Graphics on PS2 are pretty good, though slightly worse than SH3 with the characters. On PC, sadly, the graphics look kind of pale and blurry in a lot of places. Sound is top notch as usual for this series. Combat is very interesting. Enemies behave differently and must be approached differently and some weapons are suited better for certain situations than others. The limited inventory gained a lot of hatred, but given the context of the game, namely making you return to the apartment regularly, it makes sense. I had no problem with it being limited, but I think it shouldn't have been â Expand
  4. SkottM.
    Sep 16, 2004
    10
    Best silent hill game yet.
  5. BrettD.
    Feb 26, 2005
    10
    This is the best game i have played in my whole life. It has the best graphics next to resident evil outbreak. I hope they come out with a silent hill 5.
  6. MarkL.
    Jul 30, 2004
    10
    This game is really cool! I have played it about 4 times!
  7. DorianKnight
    Aug 26, 2004
    9
    It is what I was waiting for, it really scares me, so if you want to feel the fear in your flesh stop playing resident evil and come to play this one. the most creepy survival horror.
  8. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    Es el Silent Hill mas largo y dificil de todos, con una historia fascinante que esta relacionada con un asesino en serie que le da un toque diferente y original a la saga, es mas adicitivo que el Silent Hill 3, probablemente su punto en contra seria la falta de puzzles y la reaccion del personaje que es algo lenta.
  9. JohnB
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    Silent Hill 4 is easily superior compared to previous installment for several reasons. First, the concept is more original. SH 3 did almost exactly the same thing than it's predecessors, and was a bit of a letdown for that. Second, the story is better and more interesting and serious by miles. I think that the humour in SH 3 was really out of place. It is not as mature and Silent Hill 4 is easily superior compared to previous installment for several reasons. First, the concept is more original. SH 3 did almost exactly the same thing than it's predecessors, and was a bit of a letdown for that. Second, the story is better and more interesting and serious by miles. I think that the humour in SH 3 was really out of place. It is not as mature and intelligent as SH 2's story, though. And finally, it's scary as hell and diffilculty has been raised too. The immortal ghost enemies were the most horrible enemies in the series, and felt fresh too. I know that many of you so called "fans" would like to play a game with the same enviroment, same enemies and same atmosphere (as SH 1) time after time, but i prefer variety. SH 4 is absolutely essential for all horror fans. Expand
  10. MisterN.
    Feb 1, 2006
    8
    Good overall, with some elements that are fantastic and would get the game and 10 were they not balanced by some overuse of backtracking (which fits with story but would have been better minimised or if the levels had been further altered). To give some context I'd give SH2 a 9 and SH 3 an 8 also. SH 1 was an 8.5 at the time. Of course, if you've never liked previous SH games, Good overall, with some elements that are fantastic and would get the game and 10 were they not balanced by some overuse of backtracking (which fits with story but would have been better minimised or if the levels had been further altered). To give some context I'd give SH2 a 9 and SH 3 an 8 also. SH 1 was an 8.5 at the time. Of course, if you've never liked previous SH games, prefer outright action and can't tolerate the at times iffy control scheme then you might want to avoid. Expand
  11. BloodEmperor
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    As MAJOR fan of the survival horror genre i was very impressed with silent hill 4.. The dark enviroments plagued with monsters, screams, ambient noises, and general evilness was very fun :D. For fans of Silent Hill this game is a MUST HAVE!! It also has many links to the previous games that the true fan will notice which certainly pleases the S.H. buffs like myself. The game itself is As MAJOR fan of the survival horror genre i was very impressed with silent hill 4.. The dark enviroments plagued with monsters, screams, ambient noises, and general evilness was very fun :D. For fans of Silent Hill this game is a MUST HAVE!! It also has many links to the previous games that the true fan will notice which certainly pleases the S.H. buffs like myself. The game itself is divided into 2 major modes of play. The 1st person mode when in 'the room' is very atmospheric (especially later in the game but i'm saying nothing hehe) and the 3rd person mode when everywhere else which is more akin to SH3.. Fantastic Buy it at once!! Blood Emperor Expand
  12. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Silent HIll 4: The Room is the homonym game saga that has many aspects that are not really original in the other Silent Hill games. Meanwhile, we start from the fact that we can go back to the apartment to save, put in the trunk objects and see the sequence of the plot (and at some point will become really disturbing as it will be overrun by ghosts). Another peculiarity is its ghosts,Silent HIll 4: The Room is the homonym game saga that has many aspects that are not really original in the other Silent Hill games. Meanwhile, we start from the fact that we can go back to the apartment to save, put in the trunk objects and see the sequence of the plot (and at some point will become really disturbing as it will be overrun by ghosts). Another peculiarity is its ghosts, beings who can not be killed and that will scare very much. The most beautiful thing in the game, besides the atmosphere, the sights, the music and the monsters, is the mystery that we have to try to find out about Walter Sullivan. A game really well done and, in my opinion, one of the best in the series. Expand
  13. May 3, 2013
    8
    IMHO Silent Hill 4 is "the most silent-hill-able of silent hills". Though i don't think many people feel the same Anyway, it is so so so surreal that that charm just makes u love it. And also i love monster design and some levels here (water prison is genious imho). And, of course, the music. It's smth unbelievable in feelings..though i love most Yamaoka works. So Silent Hill 4 isIMHO Silent Hill 4 is "the most silent-hill-able of silent hills". Though i don't think many people feel the same Anyway, it is so so so surreal that that charm just makes u love it. And also i love monster design and some levels here (water prison is genious imho). And, of course, the music. It's smth unbelievable in feelings..though i love most Yamaoka works. So Silent Hill 4 is _psychedelic_ one. Plot also is pretty interesting one, though the most cool thing is this game is just conception of everything in it. So why do i just give it 8/10? Well, it's a bit boring in gameplay, and i can't play it in long sessions, that's why. Expand
  14. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favorite Silent Hill games and it was the first one I ever played which introduced me to the series. I know this game gets a lot of "hate" but I really don't see why. Overall, it is a very interesting game. Yes it is alittle different than the others and yes mostly deals with ghosts. However, I give it credit for trying something alittle different. The story line,This is one of my favorite Silent Hill games and it was the first one I ever played which introduced me to the series. I know this game gets a lot of "hate" but I really don't see why. Overall, it is a very interesting game. Yes it is alittle different than the others and yes mostly deals with ghosts. However, I give it credit for trying something alittle different. The story line, although a bit confusing at times for some, is general good and creative. At some points, the story line can hit even an emotional nerve at times. The reason I am giving it an 8 instead of a 10 is because there were 3 things I found alittle aggravating. One was the fact you had to revisit each level a second time. Yes there were a few changes to each level but for me there were just some levels I really didn't want to revisit. Two was the fact you had to keep a character who follows you safe and keep her from taking alot of damage. It was aggravating because it was real close to being impossible. No matter what you do, she is going to sustain a good amount of damage because there is no way to protect yourself AND her especially when she walks and runs around during a fight. Three was the certain ghosts that you couldn't kill that would follow you around through out the revisited levels. I can't say who the ghosts were without telling a minor spoiler but I can say they were the "special" ghosts per level you revisited. They just would not let up with constant attacks and following you and they were immortal so you couldn't kill them. It was just a cat and mouse constant chase. But despite those minor things, the game was great. Those things are no reason not to play this game and give it credit for being one of the few unique Silent Hills. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#19 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#33 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    83
    9 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Vol 810; 25 June 2004]
  2. It's the details that we love in this game...Graphics are wonderful, too...Just dont play it in the dark.
  3. It's starting to look really long in the fang and could use an extended rest at some abandoned sanitarium. Otherwise, the only thing that's going to be scary about these games is the frightening pace Konami churns them out and just how far they've fallen from the original.