• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Sep 7, 2004
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 110
  2. Negative: 10 out of 110

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    Es el Silent Hill mas largo y dificil de todos, con una historia fascinante que esta relacionada con un asesino en serie que le da un toque diferente y original a la saga, es mas adicitivo que el Silent Hill 3, probablemente su punto en contra seria la falta de puzzles y la reaccion del personaje que es algo lenta.
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    I will give SH4 credit for trying to do something new, and yet, they still manage to get it following the same tired formula again, except this time in segments or "levels."

    What works with SH4 is the premise and everything new they try to do. eg the first person perspective view of the apartment that slowly warps the more into the game you get. The room really does make you feel like
    you are trapped in your own mind while your are slowly slipping into insanity.

    Where this game fails are the sections outside of the room. They feel and look exactly like they were cut outs from the previous games. Recycled ideas, just using a new protagonist. The sections/levels that you can travel to feel small and restrictive, kind of disrupting the atmosphere the try to create. Each area does fit to the narrative, just a shame they couldn't have made the transition more seamless.

    Overall:
    Silent Hill 4: The Room doesn't really feel like a Silent Hill game, most of the time. A real shame that the developers didn't show more innovation by pushing more new ideas. SH4 is entertaining and enjoyable, but it also feels a little stale and disjointed most of the time. A pity as it did have potential to be more than it is.
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favorite Silent Hill games and it was the first one I ever played which introduced me to the series. I know this game gets a lot of "hate" but I really don't see why. Overall, it is a very interesting game. Yes it is alittle different than the others and yes mostly deals with ghosts. However, I give it credit for trying something alittle different. The story line, although a bit confusing at times for some, is general good and creative. At some points, the story line can hit even an emotional nerve at times. The reason I am giving it an 8 instead of a 10 is because there were 3 things I found alittle aggravating. One was the fact you had to revisit each level a second time. Yes there were a few changes to each level but for me there were just some levels I really didn't want to revisit. Two was the fact you had to keep a character who follows you safe and keep her from taking alot of damage. It was aggravating because it was real close to being impossible. No matter what you do, she is going to sustain a good amount of damage because there is no way to protect yourself AND her especially when she walks and runs around during a fight. Three was the certain ghosts that you couldn't kill that would follow you around through out the revisited levels. I can't say who the ghosts were without telling a minor spoiler but I can say they were the "special" ghosts per level you revisited. They just would not let up with constant attacks and following you and they were immortal so you couldn't kill them. It was just a cat and mouse constant chase. But despite those minor things, the game was great. Those things are no reason not to play this game and give it credit for being one of the few unique Silent Hills. Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    8
    IMHO Silent Hill 4 is "the most silent-hill-able of silent hills". Though i don't think many people feel the same Anyway, it is so so so surreal that that charm just makes u love it. And also i love monster design and some levels here (water prison is genious imho). And, of course, the music. It's smth unbelievable in feelings..though i love most Yamaoka works. So Silent Hill 4 is _psychedelic_ one. Plot also is pretty interesting one, though the most cool thing is this game is just conception of everything in it. So why do i just give it 8/10? Well, it's a bit boring in gameplay, and i can't play it in long sessions, that's why. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Silent HIll 4: The Room is the homonym game saga that has many aspects that are not really original in the other Silent Hill games. Meanwhile, we start from the fact that we can go back to the apartment to save, put in the trunk objects and see the sequence of the plot (and at some point will become really disturbing as it will be overrun by ghosts). Another peculiarity is its ghosts, beings who can not be killed and that will scare very much. The most beautiful thing in the game, besides the atmosphere, the sights, the music and the monsters, is the mystery that we have to try to find out about Walter Sullivan. A game really well done and, in my opinion, one of the best in the series. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    I started off hating this game due to a number of design issues, but as the plot begins to unfold and the claustrophobic feeling of being trapped begins to take sway you can actually enjoy this game.
  7. May 31, 2012
    7
    The first game that let me down in the series, although that's not to say I disliked it. From seeing the trailers in early 2004, I was confident that this could have very well been the most terrifying game ever. I thought the ideas for the plot and gameplay were very very ambitious and I couldn't wait to play it, but it ended up feeling rushed and passionless in execution. I honestly feel that if this game were given more development time, it would have been just as good as the first 3 games. I didn't like the clunky and boring combat system, there's a severe lack of atmosphere through most of the game, and while it has a few very shocking moments, overall it's not nearly as scary as I thought it would be. I will say that the plot remained pretty solid although it would confuse the hell out of most people. It's a very weird story to say the least. Finally the game doesn't really have any memorable characters, not even the main character, henry. Overall, loved the ideas but most of them were lost in translation to the game. Expand
  8. May 28, 2012
    6
    I loved the beg. Of this game but it went downhill from there.
  9. May 21, 2012
    6
    This game employees too many annoying tactics to be enjoyable, invincible enemies that can constantly follow you and hurt you just by being near you wore away at my enthusiasm quickly any ways, puzzles were rare and disappointingly easy. The story line was decent and it's nice that you can experience all the endings on the first play-through. It's a okay game, just okay.
  10. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    Although it technically plays the same (and that's a bad thing in this series) as the older silent hill game, tonally - this game is a different beast. It wandered off in it's own directions and explored new and somewhat more psychological territory. It's also the most frustrating of the series play-wise. The most-interesting-story of all the silent hill games. Although not quite as much saturated mystery silent hill 2. Expand
  11. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    People bashing The Room love to mention it wasn't even meant to be a SH and make it sound like the name was just slapped onto it last minute in order to raise sales. This is not true and I don't even see their point as with or without the name, this shares a lot of what is great in the series, so in spirit, it's a Silent Hill game no matter what it's called. Another popular complaint is about ghosts chasing you around everywhere. This is also not true. They aren't ghosts to begin with and they also can only appear in certain areas. You don't have to like the idea of undefeatable enemies preventing you from lingering in a location for too long, but they are NOT everywhere, not even close. People also frown upon having to visit the dreamworlds (levels, if you like) a second time, but I don't see the problem there, either. Survival horror games always made you run to and fro a location, what's the big difference now just because you go somewhere else in the meantime? The second time, the levels will have changed a little as well. Enough addressing popular attacks towards the game, what do I personally think about it? Overall, I really love it. Graphics on PS2 are pretty good, though slightly worse than SH3 with the characters. On PC, sadly, the graphics look kind of pale and blurry in a lot of places. Sound is top notch as usual for this series. Combat is very interesting. Enemies behave differently and must be approached differently and some weapons are suited better for certain situations than others. The limited inventory gained a lot of hatred, but given the context of the game, namely making you return to the apartment regularly, it makes sense. I had no problem with it being limited, but I think it shouldn't have been â Expand
  12. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    Not as scary or psychologically-intense as its predecessors, I must admit, although Silent Hill 4: The Room does offer a decent story and music by Akira Yamaoka to help set the mood. Not a whole lot of puzzles either. But the visuals were very impressive for their time. Controls were also pretty solid. Worth a rent anyway.
  13. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    if you hate this game than ok, but saying that you are a silent hill fan that hates this game than **** U i got this game at a pawn shop for about 15 dollars. i was about 9. (i'm talking about the room) i thought that it was scary as **** (the only horror game that i had played at the time was Res Evil 4, and RE0) i didn't play it for months after i had beaten the forest stage, scared of men burning alive. soon after though, i invited a friend over to stay with me and my dad for a week. we played it for awhile, and were soon warped into a dark and twisted story that we never could have imagined.
    i soon got silent hill 2, and was hooked once again, because it was different.
    now, though, hypocritical fans are saying "make the new one different" Konami says "okay" then they release a sequel about a year later. Fans then say "its to ****ing different" so konami says "okay" then they make a re-hash of the original format and fans say its to the same. so konami says "is there a middle ground?" then fans say "god no" so konami says **** off, you have now confirmed yourselves as retarded ****
    now, if you don't like this game for another reason than its not like the original trilogy, than okay.
    now, then again, people loved RE4 because it was so different. so W.T.F. silent hill can't take on its own original deal for the series, but resident evil (Which i love a hair on a fleas back little more than silent hill(in other words its a close call, but RE wins a little more.) can be changed to a third person shooter???????(which i don't mind) in the words of Napoleon Dynamite: "Idiots."
    Expand
  14. Mar 23, 2011
    7
    I must say overall liked it.Why?Because they tried out something new and I saw that they tried.I think the best advice I can give to anybody is not to regard it as a silent hill game.It's much different and if you take it as it's own game it's much better to enjoy.The story was interesting even had some comparison to silent hill 2.I liked about the gameplay was that it had a first-person and third-person mode and the idea that you go though portals to change it was awesome.But the game also has flaws.I find the most retarded thing in this game the second half.Where you needed to go through all of the levels you just went through in the first half... ou and also you wont be going alone,there will accompany you your next door neighbour who's slower than you and makes the game overall annoying,because you need to take very good care of her if you want the good ending.I found some of the enemies not scary.Especially the ghosts who were just overall annoying,because killing them is vay to much trouble and they drain your health by just looking at them.But the most annoying has to be Walter,who is like pyramid head from silent hill 2.He's an interesting character and all but he just isn't scary and the AI that was made for him makes him a retard.But though these flaws I still liked it and i give credit that they tried out something new.If your a silent hill fan try it out but don't expect it to be as the same or even better than the previous
    games.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. 9 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Vol 810; 25 June 2004]
  2. It's the details that we love in this game...Graphics are wonderful, too...Just dont play it in the dark.
  3. It's starting to look really long in the fang and could use an extended rest at some abandoned sanitarium. Otherwise, the only thing that's going to be scary about these games is the frightening pace Konami churns them out and just how far they've fallen from the original.