Silent Hill: Origins PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2008
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 63
  2. Negative: 9 out of 63
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JosephStewart
    Jan 20, 2009
    7
    I'm a real big Silent Hill fan, and mostly liked the game. Only 3 problems:
    1. Not enough descriptive text (many curiosities are given no description when pressing x)
    2. No free look (I want to see whats in that corner! WTF!!) 3. Combat is HARD. Some monsters can just spin around and hit you even though they aren't supposed to, and until you get guns, combat can be a real
    I'm a real big Silent Hill fan, and mostly liked the game. Only 3 problems:
    1. Not enough descriptive text (many curiosities are given no description when pressing x)
    2. No free look (I want to see whats in that corner! WTF!!)
    3. Combat is HARD. Some monsters can just spin around and hit you even though they aren't supposed to, and until you get guns, combat can be a real pain. And I mean a real pain, both in-game and out.
    Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2014
    5
    Otro juego que bebe de un título anterior para generar algo de espectación. El juego es demasiado conservador y facilmente olvidable. Lástima pero hay que entenderlo, nadie escribía historias como el director de los primeros capítulos de la saga, que ya no está. Como juego es correcto pero el nombre de Silent Hill le queda muy grande, otro intento fallido y van ya varios.
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    7
    This is definitely where the Silent Hill series should have ended; I definitely started to see where the game went downhill from here. This probably would have been excellent to play on the PSP, but the PS2 port of it was very weak. Konami completely ignored the fact that we now had a second analog stick and two extra shoulder buttons to work with, plus the graphics were pretty grainy. IThis is definitely where the Silent Hill series should have ended; I definitely started to see where the game went downhill from here. This probably would have been excellent to play on the PSP, but the PS2 port of it was very weak. Konami completely ignored the fact that we now had a second analog stick and two extra shoulder buttons to work with, plus the graphics were pretty grainy. I basically could have plugged a PSP into the TV and had the same (if not slightly better) experience. It was, however, a good game. I thoroughly enjoyed the hell out of this game. The storyline was good, it helped give some insight to just wtf was going on in the first Silent Hill. Some of the monsters, however, were almost identical to some of them in SH2. For instance, the straight jacket is just the Lying Figure but can shoot a ball of acid rather than spraying it. And the Faceless nurse is the bubble heads from SH2. The boss fights are decent and simple. Many have felt strongly against the fact that you have a choice of whether to go to Otherworld, saying it took away the sense of dread. I still felt a sense of dread of knowing I had to go to Otherworld in order to beat the level, Otherworld scared the hell out of me. It was nearly pitch-black, with loud unsettling music, and monsters that would appear out of nowhere. The fact that your weapons broke constantly also gave a sense of "OH **** I NEED ANOTHER WEAPON NOW." But the fact that you could carry 500 melee and about 7 different types of guns kind of drew away from that. All in all, it is a good game but is better played on the PSP. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2012
    7
    Silent Hill Origins i believe did justice to the series. Honestly Silent Hill 4: The Room just didn't really make a good game. It was just so different than the previous 3. However, this game is a prequel to the 1st game of the series and in my mind its pretty decent. The story is pretty decent enough in my opinion. The only things i don't really like about the game were the not soSilent Hill Origins i believe did justice to the series. Honestly Silent Hill 4: The Room just didn't really make a good game. It was just so different than the previous 3. However, this game is a prequel to the 1st game of the series and in my mind its pretty decent. The story is pretty decent enough in my opinion. The only things i don't really like about the game were the not so great controls. It bugged me that my character was a bit sloppy to control in tight places and what not. The combat system was interesting to me however i felt that some weapons could have lasted longer than others. The plethora of weapons in the game was amazing but i just felt a little let down. I was used to the usual 3 or 4 melee weapons and 3-4 firearms in Silent Hill games. This game has between 10-20 or so melee weapons (some are throwable and break after a single it) and around 6 guns. Thats just too much for a survival horror game and when playing through it you never really have to worry about running out of weapons or ammo cause there is just so much of it throughout. The transitions to the Other World are pretty interesting as you control when to go back and forth, however it does get annoying at some points. The enemies throughout the game are mostly OK. The nurses are easy, the straighjackets look like a rip off of the lying figures from Silent Hill 2 and the final boss is just something i never really expected to see out of these games. Also finishing the enemies are a little difficult as, say you knocked down an enemy and another one is around you sometimes finishing off the enemy wont work like you press the button and nothing happens, and if you do finish off the enemy while your character is in the process of it another enemy is charging an attack and sometimes is just unavoidable. This game does have its flaws as most games do but i liked it and would prefer it if you are a fan of the series. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2013
    5
    the first silent hill game i ever played and it is a complete mess the camera is so bad not at all good story and the game play was repetitive and not good at all

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2008
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2008
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Silent Hill Origins might be the weakest installment in the series, but it’s a testament to the quality of the franchise when the weakest entry is still this good.
  2. Play Magazine
    70
    For 30 bucks, the capable haunts here are worth this house of horrors. [May 2008, p.60]
  3. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    70
    There are moments that'll have you on the edge of your seat, but unwieldy combat and easy enemies takes away the fear. [May 2008, p.70]