• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Silent Hill: Origins Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The renowned Silent Hill survival horror series continues on the PS2 with a brand new adventure that reveals many of the series' most hallowed secrets. Assuming the role of a lone truck driver who becomes trapped in Silent Hill, players must escape the city’s horrific inhabitants andThe renowned Silent Hill survival horror series continues on the PS2 with a brand new adventure that reveals many of the series' most hallowed secrets. Assuming the role of a lone truck driver who becomes trapped in Silent Hill, players must escape the city’s horrific inhabitants and confront the strange hallucinations that have haunted him since childhood. Featuring enhanced graphics, sound and control, Silent Hill Origins sets a new standard for this survival horror classic. Silent Hill Origins features a dark story that explores the events prior to the original Silent Hill and reflects the troubled past of the main character, Travis Grady. An enhanced camera system elevates the sense of fear and horror that surrounds your every step. Updated controls allow for more fluid combat and detailed exploration of the environment. Encounter horrific new creatures, challenging new puzzles and uncover the mysteries behind the town as you try to escape the clutches of Silent Hill. Silent Hill Origins features an original soundtrack by famed series composer Akira Yamaoka. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Even if some of the aspects have gone downhill when compared to the PSP version, the game still remains the same from a gameplay perspective and overall story point of view.
  2. While bringing nothing new to the series and having some serious problems with the camera and clumsy battle controls, the game still comes out as highly atmospheric and enjoyable survival horror-experience. [June 2008]
  3. Still compelling, but it was more suited to PSP. [June 2008, p.84]
  4. For 30 bucks, the capable haunts here are worth this house of horrors. [May 2008, p.60]
  5. There are moments that'll have you on the edge of your seat, but unwieldy combat and easy enemies takes away the fear. [May 2008, p.70]
  6. Its willfully old-school design and clunky combat belong in a bygone era, and for the optimistic price-tag Konami has slapped on the game we've every right to expect more. Only the most hardcore of fans will have time for this; the rest of us should wait for Homecoming.
  7. All in all if you miss the quaint old town and feel like returning for old time's sake then Origins mostly satisfies.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Mar 10, 2014
    8
    No es el mejor Silent Hill, pero se compensa gracias a su historia, ambientacion y sonido, lo malo es que la calidad grafica esta por debajoNo es el mejor Silent Hill, pero se compensa gracias a su historia, ambientacion y sonido, lo malo es que la calidad grafica esta por debajo del Silent Hill 2, y el control de camara es lago tosco. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    So far it's the last game in the series to use fixed camera angles. It's not as good as its predecessors, but it does at least live up to theSo far it's the last game in the series to use fixed camera angles. It's not as good as its predecessors, but it does at least live up to the name of Silent Hill. I also liked that your only weapons could break, so you're never truly safe. Combat in this game is a bit difficult, which can either be frustrating or make the game more thrilling - I found it to be more thrilling, because combat in SH games isn't supposed to be easy. You're supposed to want to run instead of fight. Also the atmosphere is great, like most of the series, and though the graphics are a bit too clean at times (the opening house on fire sequence is a bit cheesy looking and the final boss is the same way). The other monsters are some of the most twisted and disturbing in the series. Also it has a sort of sense of incoherency, which has always been pleasing to me in the Silent Hill series. Expand
  3. JosephStewart
    Jan 20, 2009
    7
    I'm a real big Silent Hill fan, and mostly liked the game. Only 3 problems:
    1. Not enough descriptive text (many curiosities are given
    I'm a real big Silent Hill fan, and mostly liked the game. Only 3 problems:
    1. Not enough descriptive text (many curiosities are given no description when pressing x)
    2. No free look (I want to see whats in that corner! WTF!!)
    3. Combat is HARD. Some monsters can just spin around and hit you even though they aren't supposed to, and until you get guns, combat can be a real pain. And I mean a real pain, both in-game and out.
    Collapse
  4. Aug 12, 2012
    7
    Silent Hill Origins i believe did justice to the series. Honestly Silent Hill 4: The Room just didn't really make a good game. It was justSilent Hill Origins i believe did justice to the series. Honestly Silent Hill 4: The Room just didn't really make a good game. It was just so different than the previous 3. However, this game is a prequel to the 1st game of the series and in my mind its pretty decent. The story is pretty decent enough in my opinion. The only things i don't really like about the game were the not so great controls. It bugged me that my character was a bit sloppy to control in tight places and what not. The combat system was interesting to me however i felt that some weapons could have lasted longer than others. The plethora of weapons in the game was amazing but i just felt a little let down. I was used to the usual 3 or 4 melee weapons and 3-4 firearms in Silent Hill games. This game has between 10-20 or so melee weapons (some are throwable and break after a single it) and around 6 guns. Thats just too much for a survival horror game and when playing through it you never really have to worry about running out of weapons or ammo cause there is just so much of it throughout. The transitions to the Other World are pretty interesting as you control when to go back and forth, however it does get annoying at some points. The enemies throughout the game are mostly OK. The nurses are easy, the straighjackets look like a rip off of the lying figures from Silent Hill 2 and the final boss is just something i never really expected to see out of these games. Also finishing the enemies are a little difficult as, say you knocked down an enemy and another one is around you sometimes finishing off the enemy wont work like you press the button and nothing happens, and if you do finish off the enemy while your character is in the process of it another enemy is charging an attack and sometimes is just unavoidable. This game does have its flaws as most games do but i liked it and would prefer it if you are a fan of the series. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2013
    5
    the first silent hill game i ever played and it is a complete mess the camera is so bad not at all good story and the game play wasthe first silent hill game i ever played and it is a complete mess the camera is so bad not at all good story and the game play was repetitive and not good at all Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2014
    5
    Otro juego que bebe de un título anterior para generar algo de espectación. El juego es demasiado conservador y facilmente olvidable. LástimaOtro juego que bebe de un título anterior para generar algo de espectación. El juego es demasiado conservador y facilmente olvidable. Lástima pero hay que entenderlo, nadie escribía historias como el director de los primeros capítulos de la saga, que ya no está. Como juego es correcto pero el nombre de Silent Hill le queda muy grande, otro intento fallido y van ya varios. Expand
  7. Chaosritter
    Mar 5, 2009
    2
    Silent Hill Origins is nothing but a poorly made wanna-be action-adventure who only lives of the big name. The combat system fails hard sinceSilent Hill Origins is nothing but a poorly made wanna-be action-adventure who only lives of the big name. The combat system fails hard since the weapons break after 2 -3 monsters and you can't block nor parry, there are also way too many monster who are too fast and too strong that you could defeat them in CC without getting hit from every side, the balky camera and laggy controls make it almost impossible to attack first.It seems like the NPC's are only there because you also met them in the predecessor and Travis isn't able to show any kind of emotion. The story is quite interesting but pointless in the end and almost unrelated to the mainplot. It's also the shortest game in the series (~8 hours). Since it's a prequel i don't care about the lack of new content, but they also fucked up the good things: there are just a few humanoid monster left, the rest looks like badly mutated animals and stuff you put in a microwave for too long. The NPC's have nothing to say at all, everytime you meet them you'll hear nothing but "GTFO! NOW!", the promoted prehistory is nothing but a selling point. The possibility to switch between the normal and alternative world is quite interesting, but pointless since nothing you do affects the other side, you have to play the straight-line way all time long. They also overused the rust-effect in the alternative world and forgot almost everything else, soon you don't mind if you're in the normal or alternative world.

    This game's nothing but a steamy pile of fail who was only made to boost the PSP sales and badly ported after the goal was reached. Save your money, pirate it if you're a masochistic hardcore fan or watch the story sequences on YouTube and save time. It wasn't even made by Team Silent, so it isn't a real SH at all.

    Thanks for reading and excuse my syntax, english isn't my native language.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews