User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 94
  2. Negative: 20 out of 94
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is genuinely unsettling and mysterious, with frighting presentation and disturbing, extremely scary but good game play. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is realistic and absorbing, it is a really frightening experience, with lots of smartness, unpredictability and twisted endings. Unfortunately, Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is short to 6 or 7 hours gameSilent Hill: Shattered Memories is genuinely unsettling and mysterious, with frighting presentation and disturbing, extremely scary but good game play. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is realistic and absorbing, it is a really frightening experience, with lots of smartness, unpredictability and twisted endings. Unfortunately, Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is short to 6 or 7 hours game play, despite being short which doesn't really matters, it splits into 2 game plays, it is half puzzle and half action, there is puzzles which are hard but smart and tricky, and there is flash light action, and only flash light, no weapons, yes no weapons which is more scarier, when its frozen you just have to run and push the monsters away, which is hard but fun and unpredictable, because monsters are smart and they drag you, appear in front of you, behind you, you could never now. So despite that Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is short on story and plot, it is terrifying as hell mysterious and realistic, with tons of smartness and horrific fun. 96/100 Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    Possitive - Fixed SH's terrible Combat system by throwing it in the bin.
    Dumped the whole "Evil Cult Bullshit" expanded the characters and builds up an amazing atmosphere.
    Gripes - Not Scary, the monsters are squealing wooden dolly's, and they don't even want to hurt you, they just want to give you a cuddle, I got the PSP version cuz 1.) The Wii's hardware makes me want to punch a kitten
    Possitive - Fixed SH's terrible Combat system by throwing it in the bin.
    Dumped the whole "Evil Cult Bullshit" expanded the characters and builds up an amazing atmosphere.

    Gripes - Not Scary, the monsters are squealing wooden dolly's, and they don't even want to hurt you, they just want to give you a cuddle, I got the PSP version cuz 1.) The Wii's hardware makes me want to punch a kitten 2.) The controls are terrible.

    Gameplay - Great
    Atmosphere - Great
    Inventory Management - Great
    Tension - Terrible
    Pants weight - 0 LBS
    Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A definite improvement upon Homecoming. A lot of people criticize this game for the lack of ability to defend yourself, but frankly I thought it was brilliant. Unlike Silent Hill: Homecoming, this Silent Hill is purely based upon it's psychological aspect and atmosphere rather than having to constantly fight. And though it seems like a re-imagination of the first game it really is, in a sense, a sequel. The only real flaw is the lack of variety in the monsters, which only change form based on what you do throughout the game. There's also a great variety of endings that show what kind of person Harry Mason is. I was a little iffy also on the lack of fiery hell-like atmosphere and its being replaced by an icy one - though this is perfectly explained later, or can be theorized later. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    Im just gonna start of by saying that i knew this game was completely different than the others in the series and i was interested in how the game would play out. Turns out that i really did like this game. Even though its so much different than the others in the series it really impressed me. The amount of detail put into it was amazing and the puzzles i found were good, even thoughIm just gonna start of by saying that i knew this game was completely different than the others in the series and i was interested in how the game would play out. Turns out that i really did like this game. Even though its so much different than the others in the series it really impressed me. The amount of detail put into it was amazing and the puzzles i found were good, even though some of them had me scratching my head. When i realized combat was taken out of the game i was a little worried but i found it a great addition. It made the nightmare sequences much more panicky than the other games. The games story, i believe, is brilliant. Im not gonna spoil anything but after beating the game i was left in awe. I was amazed at how much i got into the game, especially during some of the nightmare sequences (like the nowhere like area) some of it just amazed me by how psychologically this game was. People would rather pass up on this game cause theres no shooting and what not and thats fine. But please dont complain about it, alot of shooting games are absolutely terrible and id honestly prefer this game if people like a deep story and like to figure things out. Expand
  5. AlexG
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    Silent Hill: Shattered Memories for the Playstation 2 is a great survival horror game. It's truly scary at times, and the psychological profiling element isn't some gimmick, it really does provide a personal experience depending on who you are. The graphics will surprise you too despite some flaws. Another thing that really separates it from the crowd is it's stellar Silent Hill: Shattered Memories for the Playstation 2 is a great survival horror game. It's truly scary at times, and the psychological profiling element isn't some gimmick, it really does provide a personal experience depending on who you are. The graphics will surprise you too despite some flaws. Another thing that really separates it from the crowd is it's stellar soundtrack, which is just as creepy and atmospheric as it always has been. The game is short, but that's okay because there is some extreme replay value. Overall this surreal and sometimes terrifying journey to find Cheryl will wow you. Expand
  6. BenoitL
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    Great game, shows the platform limitations, but it genuinely gets under your skull. It's an acquired taste though. It's slow and sometimes close to be a click n' play game. You have to love the genre
  7. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    I tried playing this on the wii with poor results, then I played through on ps2 with much more success. It's hard to articulate the ups and downs of this game, the action sequences feel mildly thrilling but quickly become a trial and error race to the end of a maze, the normal play sequences are about exploration and it's interesting phoning some of the numbers made available in the gameI tried playing this on the wii with poor results, then I played through on ps2 with much more success. It's hard to articulate the ups and downs of this game, the action sequences feel mildly thrilling but quickly become a trial and error race to the end of a maze, the normal play sequences are about exploration and it's interesting phoning some of the numbers made available in the game (there's like 80 numbers to call!). The truth is the ending is the real reward... Expand
  8. ERB
    Jul 30, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed this game even If this game is so scary.And you can interact with other stuff like you can use the cellphone,you can take a picture.So that is why I like this game.
  9. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is hands down one of the best horror games I've ever played.
    While the older Silent Hill games had much puzzles and less horror, this game balances the two factors to make the perfect horror experience. I have to say that don't defend yourself is really disappointing, but it's a psychological horror game, duh!
  10. Oct 3, 2015
    9
    Impresionante , no se cuando salio los fans de la saga lo tacharon de malo , puede que es muy diferente que los anteriores SH si , pero la innovación que tuvo esta entrega de la saga me encanto
  11. Apr 22, 2016
    9
    me encanto una verdadera joya del suspenso y survival horrory para los que se quejan de que no tiene armas, lo hace mas dificil y mas realista ya que ningun padre anda matando monstruos por hay mientras busca a su hija, el soundtrack de lo mejor de hecho tengo las canciones de mary elizabeth en mi celular, la historia estupenda y le queda muy bien ya que es creo un spin off de la saga

Awards & Rankings

2
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2010
2
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2010
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Here's what you will recognize: a convoluted plot involving a missing daughter and rampant, depraved ghosts; frequent switching between the "real" world and a ghastly nightmare realm; and many locked doors with craftily hidden keys.
  2. Shattered Memories was an attempt at doing something different with the Silent Hill series. Unfortunately, just because something is different doesn't mean it's better.
  3. 80
    The PS2 iteration is no slouch, either. It very closely resembles the Wii incarnation and controls well enough with dual-analog sticks that gamers who don't own both systems won't miss the Wii remote. Meanwhile, since the content is otherwise identical, there's great fun to be had.