User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 112

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    Quite possibly the best game in the series. The setup is very effective as a sequel and its also the coolest. The character designs are way better than the first one. And the game takes some risks that almost push the "E for Everyone" rating but it all works and it makes the game only more enjoyable. And lastly the final boss battle is straight up awesomeness. The only problem is the episodes "Jailbreak" and "A Tangled Web" are really dark so its kinda hard to see. But this is a great game Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    If you have not guessed it I love Sly 2 Band of Theives because it gets a lot right. The game expands and enhances the elements from the first game really well. The story and characters are better. The design is restructured and is outstaning. The gameplay is solid and a ton of fun to play. While there are some missions that could have been handled better and I miss the platforming segments from the first game overall I enjoy Sly 2. The stuff Sly 2 does well it does really really well. If you are a fan of the series pick it up you Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    This game was awesome! one the elements was that from the start you were really working towards a goal! everything you did had a role in the final big robbery of the stage. those robbery's really had something like a good movie robbery (however, i couldn't find the first sly anywhere so i haven't played the first).
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    2 years later Sucker Punch doubled the length, tripled the characters, improved the music, sound, story and gameplay. Missions are somehow even more varied than the first game, characters somehow 100 times better and it very rarely gets at all repetitive. It is a game that should however be played in small bursts because it can be very frustrating.
  5. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    This game is exceptional. Sucker Punch did an exceptional job making you feel like your a real thief; going around Paris, carefully avoiding guards to get to your next mission. The key system of the first game has changed to exclusive open world sandbox-esque level selection. This game is probably my favorite 3rd person platformer of all time, because each mission if different and the gameplay mechanics are perfectly complimented by the level design. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    i played the demo on ratchet and clank up your arsenal a while back and got it for my birthday (also a while back) i was amazed and love the graphics. the story is great and character is funny. this is a fun game for anyone.
  7. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    With a lot more features and variety in the gameplay, Sly 2 (even with that) don't beat the classic humorist predecessor . But end of the negativeness, Sly 2 prevails in cartoonish graphics ( improved) and adds a more bigger city to explore that is fun to always circle it. Instant sabotage
  8. May 23, 2011
    10
    GREAT GAME with good graphics a good story but it's a little bit short but the other parts make up for that it's amazingly fun to play you have to by this game now!!
  9. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    A huge improvement from the first Sly game. It's like a cartoony, kid version of Assassin's Creed, but with 3 playable characters and tons of gadgets to buy. While some of the missions can be a little frustrating, the addictive gameplay will keep you from throwing the game in a dark corner. The transitions between episodes are more or less animated comics than videos, but the comedic storyline and good voice acting make it worthwhile. Expand
  10. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    my 3d favorite game of all time.(after sly cooper and the thievius racoonus and sly 3 honor among thieves)
    I love everything about this game. The graphics and gameplay are just amazing and the length is perfect. I play this every week at least once. i will never stop playing sly cooper games.
  11. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    best series ever. Hands down. Very fun gameplay, likeable characters, etc. Whats not to love? Good graphics too. The people who rated it bad, cant get past the boss fights LOL!!!!
  12. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Best game in the series, it's a long, deep adventure and it's worth all your time to beat this game. It has a wonderful story and genius gameplay. Worth every cent to pick this game up.
  13. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    Great characters, a fun plot and very diverse gameplay. The graphical style is nice, boss battles are also great but the game doesn't really know what it wants to be.
  14. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    Best Sly game. Outstanding game for those who like platformers. The levels are brilliantly done with lots of eye candy. This is very fun game. Art desingn, characters, music and gameplay are very very good.
  15. 4DI
    Nov 23, 2012
    10
    The best in the series. With an awesome script, game mechanic, art style, and presentation. Totally worth more than one play through.
  16. Dec 6, 2012
    5
    Es un buen juego de aventuras y plataformas, pero mucho peor que el primero de la saga. Es un juego mucho más largo, pero también mucho más repetitivo. Las misiones se repiten constantemente, recoger objetos una y otra vez. Tiene más escenarios principales que el Sly 1, pero no fases, las misiones consisten en trabajos que tienes que realizar en el mismo escenario, de forma que los escenarios te acaban aburriendo completamente. Es una forma de ahorrarse trabajo en diseñar niveles y malos secundarios por parte de los señores de Sony que han hecho este juego. Por ello he querido penalizarlo con un 5 raspado. Mucho mejor el Sly 1. Expand
  17. Feb 26, 2013
    7
    Amazing game! This a mixture between Action/Adventure/Platform and Open World. The gameplay is great, and the plot is very nice. Graphically very good, this game gets a full 7, because this is a very funny and nice game.
  18. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time to this day. Excellent story, graphics, gameplay, and sandbox elements. This game was a complete blast to playthrough. The characters are very charming and it has a deep story for being a kid's games. I'm 15 and I still enjoy this game A LOT. I highly recommend you get this for the Playstation 2 or Playstation 3!
  19. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. My personal favorite in the series. i remember when i was little seeing it and getting hyper over the idea of finally using Bentley and Murray as well, but i never knew it would end up being the best game ever. The plot is amazing and engaging, the characters are lovable (or hatable in all the right ways), the missions are much more dynamic and fun, it isnt constantly about keys anymore. Definitely recommend getting this amazing game. Collapse
  20. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    This game is awesome it has way more replay value and a much better story than InFamous. There are a ton of surprising plot twists and constable Neyla is a good villainess and the name Klaww from the Klaww gang was taken from the second boss counting the dark Eco plant from Jak 1.
  21. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    In the golden age for the PS2, there were many of the "Greats" GoW,Jak and Daxter, Ratchet and Clank. One racoon gave me arguably my favorite game of all time. Yes i am writing this review in 2013 but that still doesn't change that, i've never had this much fun in a game in history. Unlike the third game, this game reasonably gives us the main 3 characters to play as, Murray, Bentley and Sly. Murray is the stereotypical muscleman with no brains, Bentley is the Brains with no brawn and Sly is the inbetweener making the most functional team in history. The missions and different worlds are a blast, although i had trouble on certain missions when i played the first time, i find that i still have trouble today with them. All in all Sly 2 is my favorite Platformer, 2004 GOTY, Game Of The PS2 generation, Game Of The Decade and Favorite Game Of All Time! You should be proud of what you accomplished here Suckerpunch. Expand
  22. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    Sly 2 is a Stealth/Platformer/Action-Adventure game where you play as three characters. The first character is Sly. Sly is a master of thief and also the main character of the game. Sly could pickpocket guards, although you need pass a mission to unlock this ability, walk on ropes, climb ladders, pipes or latch on wall hooks, and etc. Sly is not the strongest so you can't going in arms blazing. You sneak around guards makes it stealth like. The next character is Murray or 'The Murray' is a lot different. He's not like Sly. He can't climb or even under tables. He could kill guards in two hits. So he's the one you want to kill people with. Bentley is the character you won't play. The only time I play Bentley is when I need to do mission with him. He's every weak and kill guards neither whacking them with your dart gun or putting them into sleep a planting a bomb on them. He does have interesting gadgets though. The way you play the game is by, you in a open world. You have to mission to beat the level. This is longest Sly game by far. The story is really good. You could unlock power ups or gadgets. Some you have to get like a paraglider and a alarm clock. There's also clue bottles. Getting 30 per level, gets you a special power up or gadget, but only with Sly. By getting power up, you need coins. You get coins by breaks objects, kill guards, or pickpocketing. Then go to TheftNet, in the safe house. The music is very well compose. Sly 2 will worth every money. Just have a PS2 or get the Sly Cooper collection in ps3, or get it in PSN. Expand
  23. Apr 26, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers. My personal favorite in the series. i remember when i was little seeing it and getting hyper over the idea of finally using Bentley and Murray as well, but i never knew it would end up being the best game ever. The plot is amazing and engaging, the characters are lovable (or hatable in all the right ways), the missions are much more dynamic and fun, it isnt constantly about keys anymore. Definitely recommend getting this amazing game. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Being able to play as all three members further fleshes out the mission variety - I couldn't tell you the last time I've had so much unadulterated fun playing a game. [Nov 2004, p.126]
  2. Clever, enjoyable, and just plain beautiful, Sly 2 is an enjoyable interactive cartoon for gamers of all ages.
  3. 90
    This is exactly how a sequel should be done, and if there's anything wrong with it, it's only that it makes you wonder how Sucker Punch can possibly make as big a leap with the next game as they did with Sly 2.