Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. This is an entertaining romp with just enough variation, humor and story to hold your attention right to the end.
  2. 100
    It's got some of the best visuals I've ever seen on the PS2. [Nov 2002, p.62]
  3. The pacing and structure of the game means that the process of achieving goals and being rewarded is sufficiently frequent that you always feel like you're doing something new. [Nov 2002, p.182]
  4. 100
    Exquisitely designed levels...Every moment seems fresh and new and deliberately designed to be fun.
  5. Represents everything good about gaming. Hands down, the best platform game of 2002.
  6. While it is not long, it just is too much damn fun to put down or not play again.
  7. An unequivocal blast. The framerate chokes, I wish to God it was about twice as long (I unlocked everything in just over eight hours), but everything else about the game is quite literally perfect.
  8. A game that borrows a page from the glory days of Crash Bandicoot and delivers a gameplay experience that sticks to its guns and keeps the action constant. [Nov 2002, p.108]
  9. Despite the game’s short life span, it is still one of the most entertaining platform games for any system, past or present.
  10. For the rest of us, for those who just love playing good games with a great sense of style and high production values, Sly Cooper is not to be missed.
  11. 91
    As polished a platformer as you'll find this year...Its sterling production values accentuate its smooth, sublime gameplay. Heck, even the mini-games are polished.
  12. Sly Cooper is the first video game to directly parody the "Metal Gear Solid" series, and it does it really, really well.
  13. 91
    Enough fun to want to play through multiple times, and would be perfect if only there was more of it.
  14. Sure, Sly is indebted to a certain Mario, but the adventure genre is far from spent, and Sly's guaranteed to steal a few gaming hours, if not an entire weekend. [20 Sept 2002]
  15. The gameplay is addictive; there are tons of items in the environment to destroy, tricky enemies to sneak by, and some puzzles to figure out.
  16. The worlds and characters the designers have created here will charm your boots off.
  17. What Sly Cooper lacks in length, it makes up for in gameplay variation, character design, as well as level design.
  18. The best platformer to come about in years, and you owe it to yourself to play it.
  19. It's got style. In fact, presentation-wise, you'll not find a better action game...anywhere. [Nov 2002, p.58]
  20. A great platformer, whose only flaw is that it is rather short in length. The visuals and animations on Sly are just jaw-dropping, and the levels are diverse and gorgeous to sneak around in.
  21. Perhaps one of the coolest parts of this game is that after every level is completed, Sly learns a new stealth move, which helps him get by enemies and dodge traps and ambushes.
  22. 85
    Truly something special...[but] the thirty-five missions are briefer than they sound and the game is just plain easy to beat.
  23. 85
    The somewhat lengthy adventure (20 hours or so), mini-games and special surprises for those who finish the game makes this game a superb mascot-based solo adventure you won't soon forget.
  24. An outstanding platformer. It looks sharp, it's easy to pick up and it's a lot of fun.
  25. Easily the best platformer on the PS2. [Nov 2002, p.288, Chris]
  26. From the impressive level designs to the brilliant cutscenes, this game delivers in all departments. I just wished that the experienced could have lasted a bit longer. [Dec 2002, p.36]
  27. Taking into account the superbly judged playability, classy visuals, variety, welcome element of stealth and replayability, Sucker Punch has managed to ensure that Sly Raccoon is elevated from being Just Another Platform Game.
  28. Gorgeous productions values and sublime sneak-n-solve gameplay.
  29. It’s a bit on the short side, but “Sly Cooper” also looks good, controls great and sounds pleasant-enough to deserve its own BGM soundtrack.
  30. While short, I really loved Sly Cooper. As soon as I finished it, I went out to the store and quickly bought the sequel.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    My favorite game of all time. I love everything about this game. I love the graphics and the gameplay beats any ratchet and clank or jak. IMy favorite game of all time. I love everything about this game. I love the graphics and the gameplay beats any ratchet and clank or jak. I enjoy the stealth part of the game. The bosses are absolutely amazing but a bit easy. I have beaten this game over 10 times and i can always replay it. It was an amazing childhood game. The clue bottle collecting was a bit challenging and super fun. The master thief sprints are amazing and really challenge even very good platformer gamers. Overall i love sly cooper! Long live the thief!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    There's a pleasant old-school feel to Thievius Raccoonus; the enemies are merciless but a bit stupid, and the platforming challenges come onThere's a pleasant old-school feel to Thievius Raccoonus; the enemies are merciless but a bit stupid, and the platforming challenges come on strong and ramp up steadily in difficulty as the levels go by.
    The main problem is that just as you're getting into a groove and really enjoying the variety seen throughout the different levels, the game ends.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Sucker Punch did a pretty good job. The idea of a witty, charming, sly, raccoon and his accomplices, a very smart turtle, and a hippo for the getaway driver, was a great concept that has led to 2 other games and 1 in the making. The style of the game is completely different from the other 2 games. This helps make every level a different and fun experience. With 5 different bosses and five completely different locations, this game can hold your attention for a while. From an unknown-ed ocean where a mechanical, but smug frog is creating an endless storm to a volcano where you'll meet your greatest nemesis along with the swamps of Haiti, a ghost town Mesa City, and snowy mountains, the colors of all the levels are vibrant and are filled with interesting enemies. The controls are smooth and there are a variety of moves you can unlock throughout the game. There is honestly nothing I can think of at the moment that would make this a bad game so I will leave you with this. All the way through the game I'm sure you'll grow to like all the characters very much through the interesting story and will want to further your experience with the other 2 that have already come out. Full Review »