Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sly Cooper was born into the world's greatest thieving family. On his eighth birthday, Sly is presented with the "Thievius Raccoonus," an ancient thieving instruction guide passed down through his family for generations. Later that evening, a gang of ruthless villains break into hisSly Cooper was born into the world's greatest thieving family. On his eighth birthday, Sly is presented with the "Thievius Raccoonus," an ancient thieving instruction guide passed down through his family for generations. Later that evening, a gang of ruthless villains break into his harmonious home to steal the valuable heirloom. As Sly watches in terror, the intruders overpower his father and split the "Thievius Raccoonus" into pieces, which they divide between themselves. Ten years later, Sly is out to steal the "Thievius Raccoonus" back and reclaim what is rightfully his. He enlists the help of his gadget genius pal, Bentley, and his big eager friend Murray, and the trio embark on a quest to help Sly prove he is the world's greatest thief and to restore honor to his family's name. [Sucker Punch] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. This is an entertaining romp with just enough variation, humor and story to hold your attention right to the end.
  2. While it is not long, it just is too much damn fun to put down or not play again.
  3. 91
    As polished a platformer as you'll find this year...Its sterling production values accentuate its smooth, sublime gameplay. Heck, even the mini-games are polished.
  4. Perhaps one of the coolest parts of this game is that after every level is completed, Sly learns a new stealth move, which helps him get by enemies and dodge traps and ambushes.
  5. PSM Magazine
    80
    From the impressive level designs to the brilliant cutscenes, this game delivers in all departments. I just wished that the experienced could have lasted a bit longer. [Dec 2002, p.36]
  6. Hardcore platform players will find little that's new or challenging, but Sly Cooper's definitely good for some quick and easy pleasure.
  7. Sly Cooper's first adventure may be years old, but it still deserves to steal attention from you.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    My favorite game of all time. I love everything about this game. I love the graphics and the gameplay beats any ratchet and clank or jak. IMy favorite game of all time. I love everything about this game. I love the graphics and the gameplay beats any ratchet and clank or jak. I enjoy the stealth part of the game. The bosses are absolutely amazing but a bit easy. I have beaten this game over 10 times and i can always replay it. It was an amazing childhood game. The clue bottle collecting was a bit challenging and super fun. The master thief sprints are amazing and really challenge even very good platformer gamers. Overall i love sly cooper! Long live the thief!!!!!!!!! Collapse
  2. NoahS.
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    Sly is a perfect franchise that could very well withstand the test of playstation/sony history. It's instant classic with many features Sly is a perfect franchise that could very well withstand the test of playstation/sony history. It's instant classic with many features and humor that will make the player fall in love with this raccoon and his story a true masterpiece. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    Super fun game and one of my favorite games of all time. I like the Sly series more than the Jak Ratchet series. I feel like it's much moreSuper fun game and one of my favorite games of all time. I like the Sly series more than the Jak Ratchet series. I feel like it's much more underrated compared to those series. I highly recommend you get this game. It's a lot more different than the other 3, it's more of a platformer/collecting game while the others are sandbox games. It is better than Sly 3, if you liked the third you should like this! Expand
  4. TylerD.
    Mar 27, 2003
    9
    So much fun! .. before you beat this game it is the most fun youll ever have, unfotunately that wont last for very long. The game is too So much fun! .. before you beat this game it is the most fun youll ever have, unfotunately that wont last for very long. The game is too short but very lovable and fun. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Amazing level design, interesting but simple storyline and dynamic non repetitive gameplay deliver a beautiful experience that justifies theAmazing level design, interesting but simple storyline and dynamic non repetitive gameplay deliver a beautiful experience that justifies the legend that sly cooper is to this date.
    The story is simple after the thievius raccoonus an old thief proffesional book from the sly family gets stealed in different parts is up to sly to recover the five different parts and rebuild the book, even if the story seems like just another revenge story it just never feels like such a cliche.
    As soon as you begin the game you will notice the smoothness of the controls and just how challenging the game is without being unfair.
    Each level has the same premise, recover keys, open doors, recover more keys and then open the door that leads to the boss. It sounds repetitive but it never gets old because each level and each section of it is just unique something that for a lot of games has always been a really though challenge to accomplish every single boss and every character in the game is just interesting the game fulfills that curiosity by explaining each of everyones history by beautiful full animated cutscenes, even if they are the bad guys they have a background story that you will have in your mind meanwhile your trying to get to them it just never gets old or repetitive and as i say before is impressive since the gameplay and the story are so simple.
    The only problem that i would have with this game is probably the final boss, even if the ending is so satisfying you just keep wondering who's this guy what makes this guy different from the other guys why is he so special this plot holes as some might call them never ruin the hole experience but they are definitely
    something that need to be said. In conclusion after playing this game you will get the praise that it receives and you will just fell in love with the series as i did, Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus deserves every single score and praise that gets as a franchise.
    Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    Overall, Sly Cooper and the Theivious Racconous is a great a game. While the story is basic the characters are all fun and interesting. TheOverall, Sly Cooper and the Theivious Racconous is a great a game. While the story is basic the characters are all fun and interesting. The gameplay is fantastic. You have some great level designs each one feeling unique fun and fresh. To add more variety are various minigames thrown in, which while eh at times get the game from getting dull or repetitive. The game can get difficult at tiems,w hic is great for gameers who are looking for challenge. On top of that are some great graphics and voice acting. Words cannot describe how great this game is you have to experience it yourself to truly understand what I am saying. If you are a fan of 3D platformers and also like being sneaky then pick up this game. You are sure to love Sly 1 as much as I do, which is a lot. Expand
  7. StephanK.
    Aug 10, 2005
    0
    What a load of junk. A wannabe steal game that gets punched, stomped on, and thrown off a 10-story building by games such a Splinter Cell and What a load of junk. A wannabe steal game that gets punched, stomped on, and thrown off a 10-story building by games such a Splinter Cell and Thief. Actually, you can't even compare them to each other. Sly is a game that makes me feel like I'm controlling some cartoon character. WAY too kiddie and overall just plain crap. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002