Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sly Cooper was born into the world's greatest thieving family. On his eighth birthday, Sly is presented with the "Thievius Raccoonus," an ancient thieving instruction guide passed down through his family for generations. Later that evening, a gang of ruthless villains break into hisSly Cooper was born into the world's greatest thieving family. On his eighth birthday, Sly is presented with the "Thievius Raccoonus," an ancient thieving instruction guide passed down through his family for generations. Later that evening, a gang of ruthless villains break into his harmonious home to steal the valuable heirloom. As Sly watches in terror, the intruders overpower his father and split the "Thievius Raccoonus" into pieces, which they divide between themselves. Ten years later, Sly is out to steal the "Thievius Raccoonus" back and reclaim what is rightfully his. He enlists the help of his gadget genius pal, Bentley, and his big eager friend Murray, and the trio embark on a quest to help Sly prove he is the world's greatest thief and to restore honor to his family's name. [Sucker Punch] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. This is an entertaining romp with just enough variation, humor and story to hold your attention right to the end.
  2. While it is not long, it just is too much damn fun to put down or not play again.
  3. 91
    As polished a platformer as you'll find this year...Its sterling production values accentuate its smooth, sublime gameplay. Heck, even the mini-games are polished.
  4. Perhaps one of the coolest parts of this game is that after every level is completed, Sly learns a new stealth move, which helps him get by enemies and dodge traps and ambushes.
  5. PSM Magazine
    80
    From the impressive level designs to the brilliant cutscenes, this game delivers in all departments. I just wished that the experienced could have lasted a bit longer. [Dec 2002, p.36]
  6. Hardcore platform players will find little that's new or challenging, but Sly Cooper's definitely good for some quick and easy pleasure.
  7. Sly Cooper's first adventure may be years old, but it still deserves to steal attention from you.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    My favorite game of all time. I love everything about this game. I love the graphics and the gameplay beats any ratchet and clank or jak. IMy favorite game of all time. I love everything about this game. I love the graphics and the gameplay beats any ratchet and clank or jak. I enjoy the stealth part of the game. The bosses are absolutely amazing but a bit easy. I have beaten this game over 10 times and i can always replay it. It was an amazing childhood game. The clue bottle collecting was a bit challenging and super fun. The master thief sprints are amazing and really challenge even very good platformer gamers. Overall i love sly cooper! Long live the thief!!!!!!!!! Collapse
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    best series ever. Hands down. Very fun gameplay, likeable characters, etc. Whats not to love? Good graphics too. The people who rated it bad,best series ever. Hands down. Very fun gameplay, likeable characters, etc. Whats not to love? Good graphics too. The people who rated it bad, cant get past the boss fights LOL!!!! Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2016
    10
    Let me tell you. I was a bit skeptical about this game at first- but I immediately fell in love with it. The gameplay, is so much darn fun!Let me tell you. I was a bit skeptical about this game at first- but I immediately fell in love with it. The gameplay, is so much darn fun! Its challenging, but with the central hub system, it makes it amazing. The graphics are very unique and thought out, the voice acting is very well thought out and so is the script, and the stealth part about this game is fantastic. Its a challenge if you're not used to these types of games, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes a blast. Its a bit short, as I finished it in about a day in a half, but don't let that deter you from buying it. Do yourself a favor and get your hands on this game! You'll thank me later! Expand
  4. Sam
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    Great game, but not exactly stealthy. Other wise, the graphics are just as goregous as the windwakers and the gameplay rocks. Can't wait for 2.
  5. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    es un buen juego con una buena aventura al igual que ratchet y clank y y jak y daxter su control la cámara y la jugabilidad muy buenas y loses un buen juego con una buena aventura al igual que ratchet y clank y y jak y daxter su control la cámara y la jugabilidad muy buenas y los niveles buenos Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sucker Punch did a pretty good job. The idea of a witty, charming, sly, raccoon and his accomplices, a very smart turtle, and a hippo for the getaway driver, was a great concept that has led to 2 other games and 1 in the making. The style of the game is completely different from the other 2 games. This helps make every level a different and fun experience. With 5 different bosses and five completely different locations, this game can hold your attention for a while. From an unknown-ed ocean where a mechanical, but smug frog is creating an endless storm to a volcano where you'll meet your greatest nemesis along with the swamps of Haiti, a ghost town Mesa City, and snowy mountains, the colors of all the levels are vibrant and are filled with interesting enemies. The controls are smooth and there are a variety of moves you can unlock throughout the game. There is honestly nothing I can think of at the moment that would make this a bad game so I will leave you with this. All the way through the game I'm sure you'll grow to like all the characters very much through the interesting story and will want to further your experience with the other 2 that have already come out. Expand
  7. StephanK.
    Aug 10, 2005
    0
    What a load of junk. A wannabe steal game that gets punched, stomped on, and thrown off a 10-story building by games such a Splinter Cell and What a load of junk. A wannabe steal game that gets punched, stomped on, and thrown off a 10-story building by games such a Splinter Cell and Thief. Actually, you can't even compare them to each other. Sly is a game that makes me feel like I'm controlling some cartoon character. WAY too kiddie and overall just plain crap. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#87 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002