Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sly Cooper was born into the world's greatest thieving family. On his eighth birthday, Sly is presented with the "Thievius Raccoonus," an ancient thieving instruction guide passed down through his family for generations. Later that evening, a gang of ruthless villains break into his harmonious home to steal the valuable heirloom. As Sly watches in terror, the intruders overpower his father and split the "Thievius Raccoonus" into pieces, which they divide between themselves. Ten years later, Sly is out to steal the "Thievius Raccoonus" back and reclaim what is rightfully his. He enlists the help of his gadget genius pal, Bentley, and his big eager friend Murray, and the trio embark on a quest to help Sly prove he is the world's greatest thief and to restore honor to his family's name. [Sucker Punch] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. This is an entertaining romp with just enough variation, humor and story to hold your attention right to the end.
  2. While it is not long, it just is too much damn fun to put down or not play again.
  3. Sly Cooper is the first video game to directly parody the "Metal Gear Solid" series, and it does it really, really well.
  4. Perhaps one of the coolest parts of this game is that after every level is completed, Sly learns a new stealth move, which helps him get by enemies and dodge traps and ambushes.
  5. From the impressive level designs to the brilliant cutscenes, this game delivers in all departments. I just wished that the experienced could have lasted a bit longer. [Dec 2002, p.36]
  6. It’s a bit on the short side, but “Sly Cooper” also looks good, controls great and sounds pleasant-enough to deserve its own BGM soundtrack.
  7. Sly Cooper's first adventure may be years old, but it still deserves to steal attention from you.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    My favorite game of all time. I love everything about this game. I love the graphics and the gameplay beats any ratchet and clank or jak. I enjoy the stealth part of the game. The bosses are absolutely amazing but a bit easy. I have beaten this game over 10 times and i can always replay it. It was an amazing childhood game. The clue bottle collecting was a bit challenging and super fun. The master thief sprints are amazing and really challenge even very good platformer gamers. Overall i love sly cooper! Long live the thief!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    A nearly perfect game and extremely addicting. It may be short, but this game is still just too good to not play. No game has created such a great mix of platforming and stealth like Sly has. The stealth part of the game gave the developer the ability to use some unique platforming abilities, and they took full advantage of that. In no other platformer can you walk and slide across thin wires or swing across gaps from hooks hanging overhead. An easy recommendation to anybody who likes video games of any kind. Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    SLY COOPER AND THE THEVIUS RACCOONUS REVIEW

    When I was little, I used to play the Sly Cooper games. 12 years have passed, now I have
    finally replayed through the first one. I thought that I wasn’t going to like this game as much as I used to because of no nostalgia goggles. I was wrong. I really enjoyed this game. The game play is very linear, but enticing that way. The story is straightforward. The story is pretty much Kill Bill without outright murder. The core of the game is within three awesome characters: Sly, Bentley and Murray. The way the three characters play off each other in (not just this game) but all of the games is simply wonderful to watch.

    The villains, like most villains in Sly Cooper games, are over the top, mustache-twirling villains, and that is completely fine with me. All of the back stories are amusing to watch. The boss battles range from extremely hard (Mz. Ruby, Clockwerk) to very easy (Panda King). One portion of the game that kept me engaged throughout the game was getting the clues and unlocking the safes. The moves and techniques gotten were all useful throughout the game play. As of right now, I cannot think of any flaws. Some may say that the length of the campaign is a flaw, however, considering the amount of treasures and time challenges are in the game; the length reaches the standard amount. The game is definitely a classic and should be played by many for years to come.

    GRADE: Classic

    NUMERICAL GRADE: 10

    LETTER GRADE: A

    OVERALL OPINION: This is game is a classic that deserves to be played by as many people as possible.
    Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Un juego muy divertido. Buenos gráficos para PS2 y estética atractiva. La historia y los malos finales son simplones e infantiles, aunque es lo propio en estos juegos, ni Mario ni Sonic tienen tramas más adultas. La jugabilidad es muy buena, es sencilla, sólo usas tres botones y siempre los mismos, es muy adictiva. Tiene una enorme variedad de misiones, donde introduce minijuegos de tipo arcade y shooter, entre otros, que hacen que varíe mucho el juego. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    A couple days ago, I was attending to important business at my local library. Needless to say, that went well, because I'm awesome quite frankly. Anyways, before leaving, I began to browse the video game section of that same library (no, I'm serious, there's a video game section, ironically). The library currently has plenty of PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, PS2, and even Wii U games (despite the Wii U being extremely recent console). I was looking aimlessly for awhile until I found something that caught my attention: the PS2 version of the first Sly Cooper game.
    Well, by now, many of you IGN users should have realized that I am a pretty big Nintendo fan. A lesser known fact about myself is that I actually started gaming on Playstation rather than Nintendo (so, literally the opposite of Colin Moriarty, hehe), specifically: the Playstation 2. Meh, at least home-console wise (the first video game system that I ever gamed on was the GameBoy Advance SP, literally minutes before I played the PS2, but that's a story for another time).
    Anyways, it is somewhat shameful that I admit that before I rented the Sly Cooper game, the only other Sony video game franchise that I had owned/played was Gran Turismo (the third one, to be specific).
    To be honest, I really enjoyed Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus, bro. I thought that the graphics looked great for its time, and they still seem to hold up in my opinion. I also believe that the cel-shaded graphics are a nice touch. The game seems pretty easy to get into for a primarily Nintendo gamer such as myself. Sucker Punch outdid themselves on this one bro, and for that, I applause them.
    As for story, well, it reminds me of Kill Bill. Before someone starts spamming that Kill Bill came after the release of this game, hear me out. The story states that a group of people came into his house one day, killed his family and stole his book (the Thievius Raccoonus). Now years later, he's going around the world in a minivan that he probably stole, and beating up all members of that same group to death until he gets his freakin' book back. Sound somewhat familar? Its even got the animated villain intros!
    Oh yeah, some critics claim that this game is too easy. Well a got a few words for yah, THEY ARE FREAKIN' LIARS!! Seriously, what? Sly Cooper dies every time he falls into the water, he dies when he gets hit by an enemy ONCE, and I'm not even going to talk about the freakin' minigames bro! Of course, it could be that I suck at it, but that isn't viable since I managed to eventually beat the game. In all seriousness though, the gameplay reminded me of Crash Bandicoot, one of the many video game franchises that I played during my childhood....Screw you Activision.
    Well bros, overall Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus really exceeded my original expectations, and I look to see if I can get a hold of its sequels. But remember the real lesson here, kids of the world: LIBRARIES ARE GOOD FOR YOU.
    Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    There's a pleasant old-school feel to Thievius Raccoonus; the enemies are merciless but a bit stupid, and the platforming challenges come on strong and ramp up steadily in difficulty as the levels go by.
    The main problem is that just as you're getting into a groove and really enjoying the variety seen throughout the different levels, the game ends.
    Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2012
    1
    I got the game free off the Playstation Network for being a Plus member. I was expecting a poorly designed game that crapped on classic adventure games. I got what I expected.

    The only good thing to come of playing this game was it reminded me to go back and replay Banjoe Kazooie. Now THAT was a good adventure game.

    Also, the hardest enemy in this game was the Camera. I've never in my life played a game where the camera was so utterly bad it took away from the game.
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews