Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sly Cooper was born into the world's greatest thieving family. On his eighth birthday, Sly is presented with the "Thievius Raccoonus," an ancient thieving instruction guide passed down through his family for generations. Later that evening, a gang of ruthless villains break into his harmonious home to steal the valuable heirloom. As Sly watches in terror, the intruders overpower his father and split the "Thievius Raccoonus" into pieces, which they divide between themselves. Ten years later, Sly is out to steal the "Thievius Raccoonus" back and reclaim what is rightfully his. He enlists the help of his gadget genius pal, Bentley, and his big eager friend Murray, and the trio embark on a quest to help Sly prove he is the world's greatest thief and to restore honor to his family's name. [Sucker Punch] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. This is an entertaining romp with just enough variation, humor and story to hold your attention right to the end.
  2. While it is not long, it just is too much damn fun to put down or not play again.
  3. Sly Cooper is the first video game to directly parody the "Metal Gear Solid" series, and it does it really, really well.
  4. Perhaps one of the coolest parts of this game is that after every level is completed, Sly learns a new stealth move, which helps him get by enemies and dodge traps and ambushes.
  5. From the impressive level designs to the brilliant cutscenes, this game delivers in all departments. I just wished that the experienced could have lasted a bit longer. [Dec 2002, p.36]
  6. It’s a bit on the short side, but “Sly Cooper” also looks good, controls great and sounds pleasant-enough to deserve its own BGM soundtrack.
  7. Sly Cooper's first adventure may be years old, but it still deserves to steal attention from you.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    My favorite game of all time. I love everything about this game. I love the graphics and the gameplay beats any ratchet and clank or jak. I enjoy the stealth part of the game. The bosses are absolutely amazing but a bit easy. I have beaten this game over 10 times and i can always replay it. It was an amazing childhood game. The clue bottle collecting was a bit challenging and super fun. The master thief sprints are amazing and really challenge even very good platformer gamers. Overall i love sly cooper! Long live the thief!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Joseph
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever. I love the moves.
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    A nearly perfect game and extremely addicting. It may be short, but this game is still just too good to not play. No game has created such a great mix of platforming and stealth like Sly has. The stealth part of the game gave the developer the ability to use some unique platforming abilities, and they took full advantage of that. In no other platformer can you walk and slide across thin wires or swing across gaps from hooks hanging overhead. An easy recommendation to anybody who likes video games of any kind. Expand
  4. TylerD.
    Mar 27, 2003
    9
    So much fun! .. before you beat this game it is the most fun youll ever have, unfotunately that wont last for very long. The game is too short but very lovable and fun. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Amazing level design, interesting but simple storyline and dynamic non repetitive gameplay deliver a beautiful experience that justifies the legend that sly cooper is to this date.
    The story is simple after the thievius raccoonus an old thief proffesional book from the sly family gets stealed in different parts is up to sly to recover the five different parts and rebuild the book, even if the story seems like just another revenge story it just never feels like such a cliche.
    As soon as you begin the game you will notice the smoothness of the controls and just how challenging the game is without being unfair.
    Each level has the same premise, recover keys, open doors, recover more keys and then open the door that leads to the boss. It sounds repetitive but it never gets old because each level and each section of it is just unique something that for a lot of games has always been a really though challenge to accomplish every single boss and every character in the game is just interesting the game fulfills that curiosity by explaining each of everyones history by beautiful full animated cutscenes, even if they are the bad guys they have a background story that you will have in your mind meanwhile your trying to get to them it just never gets old or repetitive and as i say before is impressive since the gameplay and the story are so simple.
    The only problem that i would have with this game is probably the final boss, even if the ending is so satisfying you just keep wondering who's this guy what makes this guy different from the other guys why is he so special this plot holes as some might call them never ruin the hole experience but they are definitely
    something that need to be said. In conclusion after playing this game you will get the praise that it receives and you will just fell in love with the series as i did, Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus deserves every single score and praise that gets as a franchise.
    Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    Overall, Sly Cooper and the Theivious Racconous is a great a game. While the story is basic the characters are all fun and interesting. The gameplay is fantastic. You have some great level designs each one feeling unique fun and fresh. To add more variety are various minigames thrown in, which while eh at times get the game from getting dull or repetitive. The game can get difficult at tiems,w hic is great for gameers who are looking for challenge. On top of that are some great graphics and voice acting. Words cannot describe how great this game is you have to experience it yourself to truly understand what I am saying. If you are a fan of 3D platformers and also like being sneaky then pick up this game. You are sure to love Sly 1 as much as I do, which is a lot. Expand
  7. StephanK.
    Aug 10, 2005
    0
    What a load of junk. A wannabe steal game that gets punched, stomped on, and thrown off a 10-story building by games such a Splinter Cell and Thief. Actually, you can't even compare them to each other. Sly is a game that makes me feel like I'm controlling some cartoon character. WAY too kiddie and overall just plain crap. Collapse

See all 40 User Reviews