Smuggler's Run Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a member of a gang of international smugglers, it's your job to evade the U.S. Border Patrol, CIA and cutthroat rivals to deliver illegal cargo. It'll take complete mastery of your off-road vehicle to make it across unforgiving terrain and stay one step ahead...and make the drop.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. This is the "Jet Moto" or "Wipeout" of the PS2 launch -- a rare game that makes driving a hell of a lot of fun.
  2. The gameplay is solid, the graphics are on par with the upper echelon of current games, and sound is very respectable.
  3. Fresh graphics, tight controls, and completely addictive gameplay make this a definite must-have title. To sum it up in one word, it's smugglelicious!
  4. Though it borders on the frustrating side of difficult, it's a visual treat and certainly a worthy purchase for new PS2 owners.
  5. 79
    It's not a stunning looking game, and it's not a very long game, but it is original and fun, and that's a great combination for any game on any system.
  6. 75
    A decent title. It'll never be one of those "stranded on a desert island" games, but it certainly has replay value and is well worth a look.
  7. An impressive, invigorating romp and a seemingly unfinished, unpolished rush job. At its core, this is a surprisingly limited game. However, it's still loads of fun if you look past its shortcomings.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. PeterH.
    Jul 30, 2001
    10
    This game is great!
  2. KennyB.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    This is the game that impressed me enough to buy a PS2 years ago. The graphics are dated but are very crisp and clean. The engine sounds are not great, however this game is not at all about your vehicles engine sounds and don't take from the game one bit. The sirens on the police vehicles are constantly going which can wear on the ears.....but it's necessary because they are cops, and all cops have sirens. Anyway even though the graphics are not as detailed as later generation titles on PS2 it does not take away from the fun you have running across massive and very deep landscapes. It's a blast running from the police climbing extremely steep hills and plunging back down. Avoiding cops is fun, but trying to screw over your smuggling competition by stealing the contraband from them while you're both trying to avoid the cops is even more fun. It is truly a unique concept for a racing game. Much more fun than usual racing action games like Vigilante 8 or Twisted Metal. Expand
  3. ZiggyStardust
    Nov 11, 2002
    9
    I feel like SR is very underrated. While quite simple in concept, it's one of the most enjoyable driving games I've ever played. It's got many subtle and great little details that you can appreciate over time. Expand
  4. VarunB.
    Aug 11, 2005
    9
    While it may not win any awards, it proves to be a fun and addictive game that should probably be included with the PS2. The missions are way cool, but difficult and frustrating at times. Nevertheless, a truly unique and 'naughty' experience...this game is severely under-rated Collapse
  5. RyanM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    7
    I think this is a pretty decent game. There are a few problems, but if they can be overlooked this game is good.
  6. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Dec 5, 2004
    7
    It is fun not great it's good to play for a hour or two. It is still a fun game and plus it's cheap now I bought it used for $4.99 at Gamestop. Check it out. Also you missed Offical Playstation Magazine gave it a 4 1/2 out of 5. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2011
    4
    This game is fun for about an hour or two and then the glaring weaknesses and lack of polish shine through. First off, to make it so the police are always with you there is glaringly obvious rubber band AI so that when you drive perfectly they do the same and can always catch up to you no matter what you do. They always get to be faster than you to. This discourages trying to drive well or with skill because it won't matter. The next problem is the damage modeling. In a game about driving over hills and doing jumps, it actually DAMAGES your car when you drive over hills and get the slightest bit of air, even if you land cleanly on ALL 4 WHEELS! What do they want you to do since the game is about driving on sloping terrain and you can't drive slowly because you have timed objectives and the rubber band AI is always right behind you. They obviously do this to make it harder, as well as making you do 7 drops in 1 without a slight mistake or you have to start all over again, just to make the game longer. This is synthetic length because it is just you restarting the mission over and over which is a cheap and unwanted trick and a waste of time. Finally is the physics, another major factor of the game and something they manage to screw up. I would constant drive into a hill expecting to go up it only to run straight into it as if it were a wall. Other times I would land on two wheels with my other 2 just off the ground and instead of them falling after I would stay on the other two as if I had landed sideways and I would flip over. Other times my car would flip in the air for no reason. This is some of the worst physics I have ever seen in a game that it should be spot-on. Add to that lack of variety and repetitive boring missions and you have yourself a bad example of a launch game. Expand