• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs places you in the role of an elite SEAL commander whose team is asked to fight terrorists in more than 12 of the most deadly missions ever. Engage enemy terrorists with fellow SEAL team members via intense team-based gameplay. Utilize the SOCOM headset to communicateSOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs places you in the role of an elite SEAL commander whose team is asked to fight terrorists in more than 12 of the most deadly missions ever. Engage enemy terrorists with fellow SEAL team members via intense team-based gameplay. Utilize the SOCOM headset to communicate and plan strategies with fellow SEALs in single player and online play. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. I love this game, and I don't see myself playing anything else at home for a good three or four months. [Sept 2002, p.11]
  2. The realistic weapons and possibility of one-shot deaths give it a visceral excitement other shooters lack. [Oct 2002, p.186]
  3. Possibly the best reason to own a PS2 network adapter. The team-based miliary tactics work better online than off. [Feb 2003, p.93]
  4. The game is also annoyingly dark during night missions. Even with the brightness cranked, it was pretty hard to see.
  5. One of the greatest features of this game, by far, the headset lets you tell your computer-controlled teammates exactly what to do...makes SOCOM such an innovative title. [Oct 2002, p.28]
  6. SOCOM: US Navy SEALs isn't quite PS2's online killer app, but it's a worthy beginning.
  7. 60
    The frustration factor, however, runs needlessly high in SOCOM as a one-player adventure.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 6 out of 55
  1. AlexJ.
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    It's the best thing i rate it 10 itst the best weapons levels graphics and its just the best!!!!!!!!!.
  2. LARSONATOR167167
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    This game is the best, it should be the Metacritic Game Of The Year.
  3. GamerX_3
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    I havent really played this game but when i did i thought the graphics were kewl or awesome the battle would be this game and desert storm I havent really played this game but when i did i thought the graphics were kewl or awesome the battle would be this game and desert storm for the best war games. Expand
  4. JowK.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    It's good.
  5. ChrisE.
    Feb 9, 2003
    9
    Awesome game, except on mission 8 under lt. JG difficulty, you will hear a 3 round burst come fromover 100 yrds away in teh fog and take outAwesome game, except on mission 8 under lt. JG difficulty, you will hear a 3 round burst come fromover 100 yrds away in teh fog and take out all of your guys, which made the mission extremely hard and my guys seeem to be total dumbasses and get stuck behind everything and not shoot the bad guys at the right time, other than that its an awesome game, last mission is the best Expand
  6. ChachM.
    Apr 8, 2004
    8
    Musical Score: 8. Good music, but could use more variety. Playability: 8. Easy-to-master dualshock controls. Accuracy: ? I wouldn't Musical Score: 8. Good music, but could use more variety. Playability: 8. Easy-to-master dualshock controls. Accuracy: ? I wouldn't know; I'm not a Navy SEAL. Interest factor: 7. After the second or third time running through a mission due to some stupid AI glitch can be pretty frustrating. Please note that "Jhon S." (yes, he spelled his own name wrong) blatantly plagiarized TechTV in his review, and it should be removed. Collapse
  7. TimS.
    Mar 25, 2003
    1
    This game sucks! when you go online the other players are like drunk ducks trying to ice skate!!!i would rather play with me sisters dolls!!!!!!

See all 55 User Reviews