• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jan 27, 2004
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. 69
    Basically, the camera is a dog that constantly runs the wrong way on you, forcing you to yank the leash to get it under control. If you don't get a handle on it, expect plenty of falls off of edges.
  2. Sonic Team almost seems to be daring you to try and have fun with the PlayStation 2 version by making it significantly uglier, slower, and generally just rougher around the edges than the other two versions.
  3. The control elements are mixed and players may find themselves trying to move the game along through stabbing at the wrong keys. However, get past that and you will find a game that moves along nicely, but won’t offer anything new or markedly different.
  4. It's a servicable and innovative effort, but there's still room to grow. [Mar 2004, p.107]
  5. 75
    It's way too easy to dash off a cliff into an instant death, which seems totally out of place these days.
  6. The camera is crap, the scale is awkward, the story and characters are basic and cringe-worthy, the combat is tedious, the platforming and puzzling is too basic, and I was well bored of it by the time I conquered the final level with the first of the four Teams, which wasn't even that long after I first grabbed it out of the shrink-wrap.
  7. Picture a Sonic game that struggles to go at 30 frames per second, in an age where even the Dreamcast didn't do Sonic that injustice. Sometimes it's like playing a slideshow on fast-forward. It's impossible to be precise with one's movements, or sometimes to even see where the characters are going. Not fun at all.
  8. 45
    Long stretches of each stage can be severely frustrating and annoying, but when they're not, it's still pretty fun -- and getting "in the zone" to complete an especially hard part in one try is always satisfying.
  9. Rarely does dying feel like the player's fault and, in typical "Sonic Adventure" fashion, the best bits are when you find that the majority of control has been taken away from you, and you're flung around the world at escape velocity. [Mar 2004, p.105]
  10. At 30fps on PS2, it's not as great, but still good. [Mar 2004, p.59]
  11. As with the previous two 3D Sonic outings, Sonic Heroes is a solid platformer that could've been a lot better if the developers had spent more time balancing the levels and tweaking the unbelievably frustrating camera. [Feb 2004, p.108]
  12. Gamers who haven't exactly stuck by Sonic's blurry blue side over the years will have to work a little harder to get to the fun, spastic heart of Sonic Heroes, but those who know what to expect in terms of mechanics and sheer kinetic insanity will feel right at home.
  13. For everything Sonic Heroes gets right there's a massive fault ready and willing to ruin the hard work - a less than stellar framerate, especially in two-player mode, numerous glitchy moments and - dare we say it? - graphics that are actually inferior to the Dreamcast Sonic iterations.
  14. There is definitely the potential for a very good game here, unfortunately it is hidden well by the many bugs and annoyances.
  15. A giant mess on the whole. For starters, you encounter plenty of nice little glitches throughout the game, including random spots where characters just fall through solid objects because of some lame collision detection. [Feb 2004, p.98]
  16. The techincal aspects of Sonic Heroes are handled well, with the exception of the camera and voice work. In fact, the camera is worse than "Mario 64's" (and that's saying a lot) and the voice acting is downright repulsive. [Apr 2004, p.9]
  17. A fast and challenging experience that is hurt by camera, collision and polish issues. The levels designs and teamplay are definitely unique, though. [Feb 2004, p.24]
  18. The PS2 Heroes is by far the worst looking of the three. Generally there isn't much of a change in a game's visuals if it's designed for all three consoles, but the underpowered Playstation 2 really takes a beating this time around.
  19. A great game and I think it is safe to say that the long wait for a new Sonic game is finally over, and it was well worth the wait!
  20. Marred by technical issues (slowdown galore, jagged edges, simplistic-to-a-fault level design) that make it third-best behind the GameCube and Xbox versions.
  21. The glorious 3D speed rush is still broken by moments where you will scream with rage inspired by whatever sadism or idiocy has kept Sonic Team from fixing its camera and control schemes after five years of 3D Sonic games.
  22. The game is just a mess at most times (besides the graphics and sound), the gameplay has bugs and there are a couple misleading times in the many levels. The game is also sometimes so fast paced that it's impossible to get some vital powerups and items.
  23. This game feels like nothing short of a chore to play.
  24. Old-school Sonic speed plus a few new twists makes for a decent if not earth-shattering return to the realm of the blue hedgehog.
  25. 30
    Its tricks are old and it offers no challenge but for the irksome nuisances of its design. [JPN Import]
  26. The concept is well and good, and works well – except for the fact that you still must slow down to use Knuckles and Tails (or the equivalent member in one of the three other teams in the game). These are the moments that the game truly lags, and once again the shoddy camera has come back to once again make the game a pain.
  27. The game's graphics aren't on par with today's console offerings -- sure the worlds are colorful and large, but perhaps the developers at Japan's Sonic Team studios had to sacrifice visuals for speed.
  28. It's also the closest the series has been to its roots in well over a decade.
  29. 8 / 8 / 8 / 7 - 31 silver [Vol 786]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    6
    Sonic Heroes was one of my favorite childhood games for PS2. I had a blast with this game growing up. The theme song is one song that isSonic Heroes was one of my favorite childhood games for PS2. I had a blast with this game growing up. The theme song is one song that is forever stuck in my head.

    Now then, gameplay wise, Sonic Heroes isn't "that" bad. It's still somewhat enjoyable. As a kid, I just played. I didn't focus on the right and wrongs. I just had fun. Now, I see that the camera is completely terrible. Literally, barley any control. The Speed, Power, and Fly sections of the game were ok. Not great, but good. The flight meter on the flying characters is too short. It goes out in a heartbeat. The only thing I actually enjoyed was being the Speed type. I just loved running through it, not caring about what was happening.

    Overall, Sonic Heroes is (like I said) not all that bad. It's still a game. Not the best, but still.

    6/10
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    When I first played this game in middle school, I didn't really expect much from it. But as soon as I heard the amazing theme song, I wasWhen I first played this game in middle school, I didn't really expect much from it. But as soon as I heard the amazing theme song, I was blown away! So blown away that I couldn't stop singing along to it. Right then and there, I knew I had a good game in my collection. The gameplay is very unique for a Sonic game. Something that I definitely appreciate.

    There are 4 teams: Team Sonic, Team Rose, Team Dark, and Team Chaotix. Each team consists of 3 members and each member has their own specialty: speed, fly, and power. You have to use each formation correctly in order to get past the stages and defeat Eggman. Each team also has their own difficulty: Team Rose is for beginners, Team Sonic is for medium-level players, and Team Dark is for intermediate players. As for Team Chaotix, let's just say they're in a class of their own. As for the story of the game, it doesn't really have one. Each team is after Eggman and for their own reasons. That's all there is to it. Not much of a story but hey it's a Sonic game. It's not supposed to have a story.

    The soundtrack for this game is probably the best I've ever heard for a Sonic game. I love the theme song and each team has their own theme song which are also quite amazing. The flaws in this game are the camera, controls, and the voice acting. The camera tends to have a mind of its own and can sometimes cause you to die. Very frustrating and may even cause you to rage quit. The voice acting in this game isn't very good. It further proves to me that the Adventure cast sucks. In my opinion, the 4Kids cast and the current voice cast are MUCH better. Some of the voices in the game were ok but most of them were so annoying that I thought my ears were gonna bleed. In fact, I almost switched to the Japanese voices which says a lot since I don't care much for Japanese voices. Thank God this was the last game to use the Adventure cast. The controls in the game can also be a bit lagging at times and may even confuse you.

    All in all, Sonic Heroes is a great game but not the best I've played. I definitely recommend playing this game if you're a Sonic fan looking for a casual adventure. If you're a hardcore Sonic fan, I wouldn't recommend buying this game. Renting it first would be best.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    8
    This game is Amazing,it gets a lot of crap due to its glitches,bad story,textures/graphics and most of all the voice acting but the gameThis game is Amazing,it gets a lot of crap due to its glitches,bad story,textures/graphics and most of all the voice acting but the game doesn't deserve that for all the bad,the good in the game over-weighs it,and in my opinion,the graphics aren't to bad,the textures are solid,I found no glitches,I found the voice acting ok in a funny way and the story is fun so everything all the critics say is crap.Now the gameplay is amazing,I found the three teams of three a good idea that worked well and the music is F*****G awesome.The two player mode is cool for a quick go and the only downfalls are rogues voice and Omochoa. Full Review »