• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jan 27, 2004
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. The glorious 3D speed rush is still broken by moments where you will scream with rage inspired by whatever sadism or idiocy has kept Sonic Team from fixing its camera and control schemes after five years of 3D Sonic games.
  2. The camera is crap, the scale is awkward, the story and characters are basic and cringe-worthy, the combat is tedious, the platforming and puzzling is too basic, and I was well bored of it by the time I conquered the final level with the first of the four Teams, which wasn't even that long after I first grabbed it out of the shrink-wrap.
  3. 30
    Its tricks are old and it offers no challenge but for the irksome nuisances of its design. [JPN Import]
  4. A great game and I think it is safe to say that the long wait for a new Sonic game is finally over, and it was well worth the wait!
  5. It's a servicable and innovative effort, but there's still room to grow. [Mar 2004, p.107]
  6. 75
    It's way too easy to dash off a cliff into an instant death, which seems totally out of place these days.
  7. The control elements are mixed and players may find themselves trying to move the game along through stabbing at the wrong keys. However, get past that and you will find a game that moves along nicely, but won’t offer anything new or markedly different.
  8. For everything Sonic Heroes gets right there's a massive fault ready and willing to ruin the hard work - a less than stellar framerate, especially in two-player mode, numerous glitchy moments and - dare we say it? - graphics that are actually inferior to the Dreamcast Sonic iterations.
  9. The game's graphics aren't on par with today's console offerings -- sure the worlds are colorful and large, but perhaps the developers at Japan's Sonic Team studios had to sacrifice visuals for speed.
  10. Old-school Sonic speed plus a few new twists makes for a decent if not earth-shattering return to the realm of the blue hedgehog.
  11. 69
    Basically, the camera is a dog that constantly runs the wrong way on you, forcing you to yank the leash to get it under control. If you don't get a handle on it, expect plenty of falls off of edges.
  12. The PS2 Heroes is by far the worst looking of the three. Generally there isn't much of a change in a game's visuals if it's designed for all three consoles, but the underpowered Playstation 2 really takes a beating this time around.
  13. The game is just a mess at most times (besides the graphics and sound), the gameplay has bugs and there are a couple misleading times in the many levels. The game is also sometimes so fast paced that it's impossible to get some vital powerups and items.
  14. Picture a Sonic game that struggles to go at 30 frames per second, in an age where even the Dreamcast didn't do Sonic that injustice. Sometimes it's like playing a slideshow on fast-forward. It's impossible to be precise with one's movements, or sometimes to even see where the characters are going. Not fun at all.
  15. Sonic Team almost seems to be daring you to try and have fun with the PlayStation 2 version by making it significantly uglier, slower, and generally just rougher around the edges than the other two versions.
  16. It's also the closest the series has been to its roots in well over a decade.
  17. Marred by technical issues (slowdown galore, jagged edges, simplistic-to-a-fault level design) that make it third-best behind the GameCube and Xbox versions.
  18. 45
    Long stretches of each stage can be severely frustrating and annoying, but when they're not, it's still pretty fun -- and getting "in the zone" to complete an especially hard part in one try is always satisfying.
  19. This game feels like nothing short of a chore to play.
  20. The concept is well and good, and works well – except for the fact that you still must slow down to use Knuckles and Tails (or the equivalent member in one of the three other teams in the game). These are the moments that the game truly lags, and once again the shoddy camera has come back to once again make the game a pain.
  21. 8 / 8 / 8 / 7 - 31 silver [Vol 786]
  22. A fast and challenging experience that is hurt by camera, collision and polish issues. The levels designs and teamplay are definitely unique, though. [Feb 2004, p.24]
  23. There is definitely the potential for a very good game here, unfortunately it is hidden well by the many bugs and annoyances.
  24. Rarely does dying feel like the player's fault and, in typical "Sonic Adventure" fashion, the best bits are when you find that the majority of control has been taken away from you, and you're flung around the world at escape velocity. [Mar 2004, p.105]
  25. As with the previous two 3D Sonic outings, Sonic Heroes is a solid platformer that could've been a lot better if the developers had spent more time balancing the levels and tweaking the unbelievably frustrating camera. [Feb 2004, p.108]
  26. Gamers who haven't exactly stuck by Sonic's blurry blue side over the years will have to work a little harder to get to the fun, spastic heart of Sonic Heroes, but those who know what to expect in terms of mechanics and sheer kinetic insanity will feel right at home.
  27. A giant mess on the whole. For starters, you encounter plenty of nice little glitches throughout the game, including random spots where characters just fall through solid objects because of some lame collision detection. [Feb 2004, p.98]
  28. The techincal aspects of Sonic Heroes are handled well, with the exception of the camera and voice work. In fact, the camera is worse than "Mario 64's" (and that's saying a lot) and the voice acting is downright repulsive. [Apr 2004, p.9]
  29. At 30fps on PS2, it's not as great, but still good. [Mar 2004, p.59]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    6
    Sonic Heroes was one of my favorite childhood games for PS2. I had a blast with this game growing up. The theme song is one song that isSonic Heroes was one of my favorite childhood games for PS2. I had a blast with this game growing up. The theme song is one song that is forever stuck in my head.

    Now then, gameplay wise, Sonic Heroes isn't "that" bad. It's still somewhat enjoyable. As a kid, I just played. I didn't focus on the right and wrongs. I just had fun. Now, I see that the camera is completely terrible. Literally, barley any control. The Speed, Power, and Fly sections of the game were ok. Not great, but good. The flight meter on the flying characters is too short. It goes out in a heartbeat. The only thing I actually enjoyed was being the Speed type. I just loved running through it, not caring about what was happening.

    Overall, Sonic Heroes is (like I said) not all that bad. It's still a game. Not the best, but still.

    6/10
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    8
    This game is Amazing,it gets a lot of crap due to its glitches,bad story,textures/graphics and most of all the voice acting but the gameThis game is Amazing,it gets a lot of crap due to its glitches,bad story,textures/graphics and most of all the voice acting but the game doesn't deserve that for all the bad,the good in the game over-weighs it,and in my opinion,the graphics aren't to bad,the textures are solid,I found no glitches,I found the voice acting ok in a funny way and the story is fun so everything all the critics say is crap.Now the gameplay is amazing,I found the three teams of three a good idea that worked well and the music is F*****G awesome.The two player mode is cool for a quick go and the only downfalls are rogues voice and Omochoa. Full Review »
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    5
    Sitting down to replay this game was bitter sweet, because as a kid, this was one of those games that I spend hours on and had som much stressSitting down to replay this game was bitter sweet, because as a kid, this was one of those games that I spend hours on and had som much stress over, and playing it again to review it didn't help me anymore, so I have come to the conclusion that Sonic Heroes sucks. It's no wonder the series took a downhill turn after this game. The plot is non exsistnent, the contorls constantly lead me into bottomless pits, but most of all, it just isn't fun. This game has to have the 2nd most dumbest plot in any sonic game next to Sonic R, so I won't go into it much because I have a limited amount of what I get to type, but it is so dumbed down compared to Sonic Adventure 2, a game that came out 2 years ago. I get it's a kids game, but this is just stupid. Immediatley as I start the game, I run into a problem because the menu button for select has been switch to the japanese version, so if you press X when you meant to select something, you're sent back to the title screen. Turns out you were supposed to press the O button. Thanks Sega. Thanks for making one of the most simplest things in a game stressful. There are 4 teams to select from: Team Sonic, Dark, Rose and Chaotix. The only difference between Team Sonic and Dark is that Team Dark is the Hardest. Team Rose has got to be one of the most easiest team...almost insultingly easy, then team cahotix has a mission based style gameplay. Team Sonic is what you would excpect from a 3D Sonic game...except it sucks. Control in this game is out of whack, and team sonic shows this to you full force. Everysingle formation has some sort of control issue. Sonic's control is so loose that sometimes, even landing on a platform below is enough to make sonic run off of it for no reason. And I'm only slightly touching to analog stick. Whenever I'm trying to get into a straight line, the control is so twitchy, it's almost uncontrollable. Sometimes, doing the light speed dash is enough to cause you to fall off a ledge. Shadow's control in Shadow the Hedgehog was better than this. Yeah, I said it. Shadow's control was someting you can get used to, but here, there are so many bottomless pits, I never get the time to! And for some reason, whenever I'm on a grind especially in rail canyon, I go slower, even though i am cleary holding down the button. Power formation suffers from the same problem: You will constantly fall down pits. Whenever ypou attack, the power character is propelled forward, so sometimes, I find it incredibally difficult to just get straight and attack the enemy I want to attack. And why is it that I need to press the attack button 4 time in a row to get the triangle dive working while I'm on a fan? Just wondering SEGA. Flight formation is a different story. Whenever you abruptly go to the flight formation, you will bounce up about 2 feet. Say that you really need to get to a ledge quickly, and you need to jump as high as you can before flying,but since you're already up in the air and you try to jump, you'll fly. You try to cross the ledge, but you don't have enough air time left to get to the other side, but you can't fly back either, so you might as well just kill yourself! The Thunder shoot is also hard to aim with sometimes. It's not to bad, but still, I need a targeting system. These problems are also prezsent in Team dark, except they're worse because the game is even harder. Team Rose and Chaotix are a different story. Since Amy Isn't going as fast and she has no Light speed dash, she controls much better than Sonic and Shadow. Big also is much better; since he isn't being constantly pro[elled forward everytime he attacks, It becomes easier to attack. All flight formations suffer from the same problem. The only problem with this team is that it is incredibly boring and easy and short. Playing as amy is more fun than playing as sonic...wow, that's just sad. Team Chaotix has mission base style gameplay, so you dont just go to the end and win. You have to complete a certain objective first. It's incredibly annoying when you miss one simple COMPUTER CHIP AND HAVE TO REPLAY THE WHOLE LEVEL JUST TO FIND IT! But it's not too bad. Better than Shadow the Hedgehog I'll tell you that. Team Chaotix is the best team. Sonic Heroes is a waste of a game. When a game makes navigating the menus annoying, you know somethings wrong. Irritating voice acting, forgettabe music, bad controls,(the graphics are okay...) BOTTOMLESS PITS, anoyingly long levels, (Bingo Highway will break you) Impossible to control special stages, (You will constantly be pulled to the bottom of the pipe and just randomly stop dead) amd cheap deaths galore, I can't bring myself to enjoy Sonic Heroes. If you can get past the controls and camera (BTW, if you press the right analog stick, you will go into a fist person view point and have to move to get out of), then Sonic Heroes may be decent, but you might as well not try. Do yourself a favor, and don't buy Sonic Heroes Full Review »