Sonic Mega Collection Plus PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2004
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    Remember back in the day when all we young whiper snappers used to sit down in front of our Genesis and just play some good old fashioned sonic the hedeghog? I know i do. But now with that 3-D crap, sonic just isn't what he used to be. But don't you just miss him? Do you cry at night because of it? Than today's your day. Sonic Mega Collection Plus is your game. You can't ask for a betterRemember back in the day when all we young whiper snappers used to sit down in front of our Genesis and just play some good old fashioned sonic the hedeghog? I know i do. But now with that 3-D crap, sonic just isn't what he used to be. But don't you just miss him? Do you cry at night because of it? Than today's your day. Sonic Mega Collection Plus is your game. You can't ask for a better Sonic collection (Except for mabey Gems collection. Sonic CD anyone?) for 20 bucks. Sonic Mega Plus contains all of the games that the original Mega Collection did. Insread this time, they added a few more Game-Gear games to the mix. I guess if they wanted to sell another Sonic collection, just add MORE games, and call it plus. Sure, why not? We don't mind. The Collection contains the following instantly: Sonic the Hedgehog (No, not the crappy sonic 06. Thank Jesus.), Sonic the Hedgehog 2, Sonic the Hedgehog 2, Sonic the Hedgehog 3, Sonic and Knuckles, Sonic 3D Blast, Sonic Spinball, DR. Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine, Sonic the Hedgehog (Gamegear). Sonic Chaos (GameGear), Sonic Drift(Gamegear), Sonic Labyrinth(Gamegear), Sonic Blast(Gamegear) and Dr. Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine (Gamegear). That's 13 games. But the fun doesn't stop there. You can also unlock Knuckles in Sonic 2, Blue Sphere, Sonic 3 and Knuckles, Ristar, Ooze, and Flicky. That's a lot of games for just 20 bucks. I just find it a bit ridiculous that You have to play a certain game a certain amount of times before unlocking the other games. For example, to unlock Knuckles in Sonic 2, you have enter Sonic and Knuckles and Sonic 2 about 30 times. This doesn't mean that you have to literaly play the game, just get to the screen where the game starts, turn off, repeat. Its repetitive and boring. If you like the game the first time around, chances are you probably like them again. They haven't dated much, especially Sonic 2, which remains a timless classic. If you didn't like themm, however, theres little chance you'll like them now. Sonic 3D Blast is still as bland as bland can be. Mabey it foreshadowed Sonic's future with 3D. Not a lot of changes have been made for the game either, except for some graphical improvements. Also, if you play the game (or just leave it at the pause screen) for 3 hours, you can unlock hints for the games, which are actualy cheats. Fun cheats. Debug cheats. These cheats are fun. Crazy fun. Extremely fun, and it'll just be a blast for those who just love to screw around with the game. Also, the game gives you several extras. You can view movies from Sonic Heroes (Why?), view chracter art work from other games, and even read some of Sonic's first comic book installments. Trying to find a rare issue #1 of Sonic the Hedgehog? It all virtually in here. It even has character profiles. SWEET! Any Sonic fanboy (or girl) would go nuts over this. Now take heed, there are some bad games in this collection. Sonic Drift and Labyrinth for some, and the addition of blue sphere is completely worthless. But that won't stop you from getting this sonic collection. If you see it on shelf, give it a shot. Expand
  2. May 17, 2012
    8
    Sonic Mega Collection Plus is a great deal for Sonic fans, especially old school ones. This collection has mostly great games (namely Sonic 1, 2, and 3) but also has some bad ones (Sonic Labyrinth). But overall, the controls are great and it is a huge steal for any Sonic collector or any gamer in general. That is why this game deserves an 86%
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    I was going to rate the games on here individually but this was where i discovered the games anyway. The older Sonic games are great speed platformers that will always be loved. The other games are not that great, but im not rating this pack based on Robotnic's Mean Bean Machine Looks: Astounding, Sounds: Brilliant, Gameplay: good, Experience: Well worth it
  4. May 30, 2015
    10
    This collection sonic game is amazing. This has all the best and some of the worst sonic games. This game is worth having for sonic fans and non sonic fans!! It's a must buy
  5. May 6, 2011
    7
    It has a variety of retro Sonic games, good and bad. Pros: A wide selection of additional games, artwork, and extras; it's a nice introduction to the series for unfamiliar gamers. Cons: No Sonic CD; some of the Sonic games range from bad to awful.
  6. Jack
    Nov 4, 2004
    9
    This is a collection of games frm my second favorite mascot of all time (mario is 1st) for just 20 bucks. You get 17 badass games I mean come on. PLus you get to save anytime.
  7. PrestonM.
    Nov 21, 2004
    9
    For anyone that often wondered back to a much simpler time of lovable hegehogs and unfavorable evil doctors this is the game for you. Honestly, its just good, wholesome, inexpensive fun. Not to mention the unlockale games with just mean more fun, o.k. some of the title suck but overall a lot of fun.
  8. MichaelH.
    Dec 25, 2004
    8
    Sound problems and no Sonic CD, what was SEGA thinking, other than that, $20.00 is a good price.
  9. Feb 19, 2015
    7
    This game (or collection disc) is a must have for all the people who didn't have a chance to play the classic sonic games. If you don't have this game, I would recommend getting it. Most of the classic sonic games are amazing and putting them into one disc is outstanding enough.
  10. May 14, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really really enjoy this game. The selection of games is great and once you know their are unlock able games you want to get them all and that takes a long time. At least most of the games are good this is a jewel for any sonic fan and collection and a must have. Expand
  11. Dec 5, 2016
    9
    This was an amazing idea to have someone put a collection of Sonic games into one game. Playing all those classic Sonic games are great and have been adapted well to the PS2 controls. 9/10.
  12. Apr 27, 2017
    9
    Do you enjoy the classic sonic games? Want them on a more up to date console and all in one convenient little package? Then look no further! This mega collection has got you covered, with several classic sonic titles plus some bonus Sega titles that are unlockable...on one disc!

    Truly this is a great addition to any gamers collection.
  13. Jun 23, 2017
    7
    Mega Collection Plus features several of the games that are considered to be the greatest to be some of the greatest Sonic games ever made, from the original Sonic to Sonic & Knuckles. Not having had the chance to experience them on their original platforms, Mega Collection Plus was a great opportunity that allowed for me to play through these classic titles. However, some of the gamesMega Collection Plus features several of the games that are considered to be the greatest to be some of the greatest Sonic games ever made, from the original Sonic to Sonic & Knuckles. Not having had the chance to experience them on their original platforms, Mega Collection Plus was a great opportunity that allowed for me to play through these classic titles. However, some of the games included such as Sonic 3D Blast felt like they were just there to fill space. Overall, this is definitely a game that all Sonic fans should try, as it allows modern fans that may not have grown up with the older titles, to realize for themselves why these titles are regarded so well by many. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#66 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Cheat Code Central
    80
    Its appeal is limited to a select audience who will appreciate it for exactly what it is: a trip down the blast processing memory lane. And if you know just what the heck "blast processing" refers to, you're a hardcore oldtimer and should reward yourself with this cool collection.
  2. 78
    You can't find a better deal than 20 games for 20 dollars. While not every Sonic game is a winner, the majority are. These games, though old, are superior to Sega's more recent 3D Sonic offerings.
  3. Play Magazine
    67
    If you don't already have these excellent games, then Mega Collection Plus is an awesome investment. [Nov 2004, p.76]