User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2011
    7
    Sonic Unleashed on the PS2/Wii is believe it or not... BETTER than the PS3 or 360 versions. The Day stages are very fun, and easy to navigate with minimal if any pitfalls. The Night stages are an annoying drop in pace... but unlike the HD versions (where I actually spent 27m 35s on one stage because of pitfalls), you will probably only suffer around 8-10 minutes on each night stage. Control on the PS2 is better than the PS3 and 360, its a real surprise, but Sonic controls much more tightly in these versions. The Sun and Moon medals are streamlined in this game as opposed to the HD versions.. you actually earn them for doing WELL on a stage. 3 for A and S, 2 for B, and 1 for C. It is a shocker, but honestly, Sonic Unleashed on the SD consoles are the way to go. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2011
    5
    I would say the game was half good and half bad.The day time stages were awesome and some of the boss fights to,but the night stages were the reason I gave this game a 6.If it could of been only the day time stages I would have given 9.the night stages were too easy with the combat,I never died by fighting off enemies but by falling in to holes and water by the bad controls.Also why does sonic have to be with
    "God of War" style of gameplay,SONIC IS NOT ABOUT COMBAT.Also it was very slow,I mean even "god of war" had faster gameplay than this.But thanks to the day time stages the game was for me okay.SEGA and Sonic Team you had the opportunity to make a very good sonic game but you guise just threw in those night stages and ruined it.
    Expand
  3. May 14, 2011
    7
    Though it's gimmicky, Sonic Unleashed resurrects some color into the series. It's also a perfect game for children of all ages. Pros: Refined graphics, control, camera, and audio its predecessors lacked; the daytime Sonic levels are fast and fun. Cons: The too gimmicky "Werehog" stages happen too frequently and are slow and dull; boring town sequences.
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    5
    Practically a game that plays itself when it shouldn't, and a painful experience once the sun sets down.
    It's dumbed down to hell from the 360/PS3 versions, and features more of the Werehog than Sonic.
    Also has one less continent. Graphics aren't all that hot and the controls could be better.
    Good the first time, but it will get on your nerves if you have to complete it again. Get the
    360/PS3 versions if possible. Collapse
  5. May 19, 2011
    7
    Even if it is a bit too gimmicky, Sonic Unleashed returns "some" color into the series. Pros: Excellent graphics, controls, and sound; the daytime stages are fast and fun. Cons: The werehog stages are too slow and occur frequently; the town sequences are boring.
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    When Sonic Unleashed first came out, I thought that it was only for the HD systems and the wii, systems I dind't have at the time, so Sonic Uneashed was another game I could not get because I had outdated systems. It wasn't until a few years later, and I saw some copies of Sonic uleashed for the PS2 on ebay, and I bought it right away. Sonic Unleashed is one of the most talked about in the entire series. Why is this? Well when the trailer was first shown, it showed sonic running through loops at mind bending speeds and such, and it looked like the hedgehog was getting better. but, however, a gimick had to be unleashed, and so we got the werehog, somthing that people call the wrost character ever to play as since Big the Cat. First off, lets start with the story. the story is unintersesting, but still cartoony and fun. Sonic infiltrates DR Eggmans base in space,and turns into super sonic to foil his plans, but Eggman Ctaches him, and ripps the power from the chaos emeralds to release a Power called dark Gaia within the planet. Upon doing this, Sonic turns into a werehog and falls to earth, and meets Chip the Chiwawa, who can't remember who he is, so he goes and helps him try to regain his memory, as well as stop dark gaia and Dr Eggman's plot. like I said, uniteresting, but the staory never takes itself seriously like Shadow and 06. Sonic is back and as cartoony as ever; the way it should be. The game is seperated into two different parts: Daytime, and Nightime. daytime stages have you playing as regular sonic, on your linear path at high speeds. This is incredibly fun. Boosting through enemies and running through fast paced loops is like a roller coaster. They'll have you drifting, quick stepping, and homing attacking to the end, and it's almost always fun. They aren't perfect though. Sonic feels incredibly stiff in this game compared to others. he was obviously meant to control as if you're always going forward. It's incredibly awkward to make sonic turn around, and it's unsatisfying. Basically, if you're not going at super high speeds and instead running into walls and stopping dead, then the fun can dim. but overall, daytime sonic is the whole reason you'd want to play Sonic Unleashed. then the sun goes down, and sonic turns into the werehog. I'll say it right now: No, the nightime levels DO NOT SUCK ENTIRLEY!!!! The werehog takes away the speed of the game and instead replaces it with button mashing and platforming. These levels have you fighting several enemies and grappling to poles to reach the end. The more you fight, you'll level up and gain more moves, however one move will kil you over and over again: the dash attack. Whenebver you are moving and press the attack button, you will dash forward,and somtimes off a cliff. The werehog can get a bitt reoetetive and boring after sometime. it puts me to sleep sometimes, but they're not horrible. Platforming is here, but its mostly just grappling from pole to pole. However, fighting these guys can be satisfying sometimes if you enjoy chaining together the attacks, although they'll all just die by mashing buttons. Overall, I had a lot of fun with Sonic Unleashed, and I highly reccommened it Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    Beautiful music and great PS2 graphics. As everyone would say, It's amazing in the day stage and so, so but still memorable in the night. Ton of unloackables. Cute cutscenes, a spectatular opening but its just werehog that was too tad annoying and glitchy for this game not to get a 9.
  8. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    Considero que este es uno de esos juegos que quedaran grabados en esta franquicia como uno de los mas subestimados de todos. El juego en si mismo es correcto técnicamente, no encontré ningún tipo de bug o error en su programación salvo minimos detalles pero todos muy poco notables. Después me pareció muy interesante la idea de incluir niveles plataformeros por un lado con el Erizo-Lobo y por otro incluir niveles mas de "carreras" con el Sonic común. La jugabilidad en ambos lados es eficiente, podría ser mejor pero considero que es muy correcta y sobretodo muy variable, no se estanca en un par de movimientos y listo. Los gráficos son buenos, la música no es de lo mejor de la franquicia en mi opinión pero algunos temas se te grabaran seguro. La historia es en mi opinión es atrapante y los nuevos personajes me resultaron muy llamativos. La dificultad varia en mi opinión y su duración es correcta. Los jefes en general me dejaron un poco que desear excepto el ultimo que considero es uno de los mejores de toda la franquicia. Salvo algunos pequeños tropiezos en la jugabilidad y en la cámara y también quizás en lo que respecta a la IA de los jefes y los enemigos en juego en general es rejugable y muy divertido por eso considero que es bueno, ojala en el futuro la gente empiece a verlo con buenos ojos porque considero que muchas de sus criticas no solo fueron injustas sino también poco objetivas. Expand
  9. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Sonic Unleashed es un juego entretenido que te llevará a recorrer varias partes del mundo que, en esta historia, han sido dividido los continente y hay que unirlos uno por uno.

    El juego desarrolla su historia de una manera interesante y desglosa los contenidos del Sonic del día y Sonic de la noche de una forma bien capacitada y totalmente competente, en donde disfrutarás corriendo y
    agarrando monedas con el Sonic del día e ir de un lado en otro colgándose en barras y otras cosas con el Sonic de noche., además, este juego también consigue dar una buen nivel de diversión y, por lo tanto, no te aburrirás mientras lo juegues. Así que, si quieres un juego divertido y estimulante que te de entretenimiento y te haga disfrutar, Sonic Unleashed es una opción muy buena y factible. Expand
  10. Sep 14, 2014
    4
    A Sega esta perdida com sua principal e mais emblemática marca. É triste ver um ícone dos games com jogos de medianos para ruins. Esse é mais um game fraco que não dá vontade de conlui - lo.
  11. Nov 5, 2011
    0
    Practically a game that plays itself when it shouldn't, and a painful experience once the sun sets down.
    It's dumbed down to hell from the 360/PS3 versions, and features more of the Werehog than Sonic.
    Also has one less continent. Graphics aren't all that hot and the controls could be better.
    Good the first time, but it will get on your nerves if you have to complete it again. Get the
    360/PS3 versions if possible. Collapse
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 70
    Sonic Unleashed is half great game and half tedious gimmick.
  2. The faster Sonic levels are a real treat, and Sonic Unleashed has many high points to balance out the lows. The real bummer is not so much the concept of the werehog sections as it is how these portions of the game painfully drag the rest of the game down.
  3. Sonic Unleashed is a decent Sonic game for someone that can overlook the slower Night stages. The Werehog missions aren't all the way bad but when played several times in a row, they tend to become repetitive and unwelcome.