Soul Reaver 2 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Raziel returns to various eras of Nosgoth's dark past in his relentless pursuit of Kain. Encounter new enemies as you unearth the mysteries of Nosgoth's ancient races, and expose the schemes behind the corruption of the Pillars, and the vampire genocide. [Eidos Interactive]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. With its amazing sound work, stunning musical score and easy to use control scheme, about the only thing you can complain about in this release is the length.
  2. 89
    It's well rounded, it's improved in marked areas over its predecessor ("The Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver"), and the graphics, sound, and production levels are all high.
  3. Quite engrossing. [Dec 2001, p.91]
  4. It will charm the pants off you and spectators if you're fan of the series.
  5. Soul Reaver 2 has some excellent moments, carried through with superb narrative, an excellent story and some stunning visuals, however it’s just not enough for me anymore…
  6. Yes, at times it can be frustrating with its meandering, endless execution, but few titles can match its eerie atmosphere. [Jan 2002, p.81]
  7. As an aesthetic showcase, SR2 triumphs, but the mediocre gameplay will only appeal to fans of the first game. [Jan 2002, p.218]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. B.C.
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    This game is mind bending but if you are a fan of strategic games then this is for you although it is too short of a game it makes up for it This game is mind bending but if you are a fan of strategic games then this is for you although it is too short of a game it makes up for it with its puzzles. Expand
  2. KyleB.
    Oct 8, 2002
    9
    A great game and a more than worthy sequel. The Voice over was perfect. Not many games have good voice over. Example. Winback. The combat A great game and a more than worthy sequel. The Voice over was perfect. Not many games have good voice over. Example. Winback. The combat system although not revoloutionary was not poor. And I like the new ability to draw out your soul reaver when you please. But i must admit the game was quite short. The story may have been great but it lacked any kind of boss battle. Or the climax of defeating Kain. The closet you get to a boss battle is sort of stupid because your invincible. The graphics were again quite remarkable and with an allstar cast for the voices with the original kain. From Blood omen. This game is well worth the money you will spend on it and should be a welcome addition to any game collection. Expand
  3. Evan
    Jan 4, 2002
    9
    The only thing I didn't like about the game was that I beat it in like 4 days... but overall, this game ROCKS!!! Awesome graphics, The only thing I didn't like about the game was that I beat it in like 4 days... but overall, this game ROCKS!!! Awesome graphics, voicovers, storyline, and awesome music/sound fx. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    As much as i love the LOK series, Soul Reaver 2 made me a bit sad. The lighting was REALLY bad, Puzzles were way to easy. But there wereAs much as i love the LOK series, Soul Reaver 2 made me a bit sad. The lighting was REALLY bad, Puzzles were way to easy. But there were comebacks. The graphics Amazing for a early 2000s game, Although the game runs a little shorter then the first game it is more linear driven (I wanted to see more of the world) the areas were just beautiful and it really feels like your in the game. The music, you can only hear it if you pay close attention, because it blends itself SO well with the game. If you are fans of the series will love it, COD fans won't understand it, and Artists will try to draw Raziel and his Soul Reaver. Expand
  5. ZiftK.
    Sep 10, 2006
    8
    If you liked the first game, you'll love this. The puzzles, the gameplay, the sound, they're all really good in this game. Although If you liked the first game, you'll love this. The puzzles, the gameplay, the sound, they're all really good in this game. Although a little on the short side, soul reaver 2 will deliver in so many ways, give it a try, it'll be worth your time. Expand
  6. Enthasius
    Jul 2, 2002
    7
    *sigh* The original soul-reaver game was truely a brilliant work. Alas, the sequal, while still making my personal pass mark, did lack the *sigh* The original soul-reaver game was truely a brilliant work. Alas, the sequal, while still making my personal pass mark, did lack the replay value, adventure, and innovation that the previous did have. Fortunately, the ending is much better than before. Man I hate "to be continued" endings. Expand
  7. Nonya
    Apr 15, 2002
    0
    It sucks.

See all 9 User Reviews