SoulCalibur III PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
SoulCalibur III Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Soul Calibur III offers players unprecedented variety in gameplay modes and fighting styles. Gamers can guide the fate of their favorite character in the narrative Tales of Souls Mode, play head-to-head with a friend in Vs. Mode, create their own custom fighters in Character Creation Mode,Soul Calibur III offers players unprecedented variety in gameplay modes and fighting styles. Gamers can guide the fate of their favorite character in the narrative Tales of Souls Mode, play head-to-head with a friend in Vs. Mode, create their own custom fighters in Character Creation Mode, battle as their custom fighter in a real-time simulation in Chronicles of the Sword Mode, engage in unique and original battles in Soul Arena Mode and even recount the history of the franchise in Museum Mode. Also, the addition of three new characters to the existing family of classic warriors gives Soul Calibur III a collection of more than 25 playable characters, each with their own unique fighting style. New characters Zasalamel, Tira and Setsuka will engage in combat within all-new stages, further enhancing the game's unmatched epic scope and trademark weapons-based fighting engine. [Namco] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Namco went all-out and put forth a tremendous effort, showing onece again why the series continues to remain at the top of the genre. [Nov 2005, p.80]
  2. There's no denying that Soul Calibur III is the most refined, most feature-rich, and most artistically pleasing fighting game ever released for a home video game console.
  3. Computer Games Magazine
    90
    The last great fighting game of this generation. [Jan 2006, p.92]
  4. 90
    Playing a new Soul Calibur is like embarking on a two year (or however long it takes Namco to release the next game) journey into personal mastery, constantly pushing yourself and your friends to become better players. That's the mark of a transcendent fighting game, and Soul Calibur III has the makings of a classic.
  5. netjak
    85
    And while I'm tempted to tell you that Link is unlockable deep within the game, he isn't. I know, you're sad, I'm sad, we're all sad. And sorry, still no nude codes for Ivy or the rest of the female cast. Freakin' perverts; go back to the Gamefaqs boards. Tira's practically a nude code herself, anyway.
  6. 80
    We can gripe about colors and crummy modes till the ninjas come home, but the simple fact is that Soul Calibur III is still a top-tier fighting game.
  7. It really does little better than Tekken or DOA. Possibly time would have been better-spent working on a PS3 title rather than releasing this. It’s time for the genre as a whole to move forward.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    The best of the series so far: has great single player contents, massive longevity even without versus mode, and it adds at last the characterThe best of the series so far: has great single player contents, massive longevity even without versus mode, and it adds at last the character creator, one of the best I've ever seen in a fighting game. It's hard in here to find flaws though and, in general, the main flaw is probably the absense of online feature, and to "compensate that loss" they made a lot of content for the single player instead. And we can only thank for that. Other flaws maybe are, actually, the chronicles of the sword campaign: it's not a bad addition but it feels like a rushed strategy mode, and so it can be a bit disappointing. The plot in the campaign also isn't anything special but it's decent and, again, it's more content for the single player and a good practice for you (some bosses takes a lot of time, as they are harsh to beat). There is also a GREAT arcade mode, where you also have paths to choose! Yes the ending often is the same, but the ways to go are many and it can always be different if you really want to. The creator also is vast and offers many combinations, and on top of that you can use both the official styles of the main characters AND original styles made for them specifically. They aren't as strong as the standard ones, but it gives variety and everything can be unlocked by buying them with (In-game) gold and playing the campaign mode (a good time where dlc weren't dominating us....). That's it, nothing else to say: this game alone is gonna last a lot of time and, unless you prefer or only like Tekken (like my pals back then), there's almost no reason to skip this game. Except if you don't like fighting games with weapons. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2016
    10
    Now, I typically don't like fighting games, but I played the absolute **** out of this as a kid! It's got a great story mode, with eachNow, I typically don't like fighting games, but I played the absolute **** out of this as a kid! It's got a great story mode, with each individual character having their own separate campaigns, it also had a sick character editor that I spent hours messing around in, and a range of other modes to play. I really miss this game... Expand
  3. ChrisE.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    The new Chronicles of swords mode is long but interesting. The heart of this game is the character design mode. As long as you have some The new Chronicles of swords mode is long but interesting. The heart of this game is the character design mode. As long as you have some patience and collect the armour dilligently, you can pretty much make anyone. I made zoro, raiden, and the guy from Kung Fu Hustle. It's fun. Overall, I'm glad I bought this game. Expand
  4. JamesHeretic
    Oct 29, 2005
    9
    This game is almost perfect but no arcade mode why NAMCO why!
  5. Alex
    Nov 26, 2005
    9
    the best fighting franchise just got better. SC3 is downright incredible in its own manner, with many new improvements to boot. The single the best fighting franchise just got better. SC3 is downright incredible in its own manner, with many new improvements to boot. The single player modes are a little lackluster (especially Tales of Souls. too many of the same fights), and some of the fighters' combos were removed (one being from Nightmare), but that doesn't really take away from the overall experience. i'm not sure why everyone is bashing Chronicles of the Sword mode, i think its downright fun. the improved graphics and loading times are good, and the sheer number of selectable fighters is a nice touch too, although many of the selectable extra characters are simply pre-built characters that you could make yourself in Character Creation mode. the Creation mode is also a welcome addition, as it allows you to create a fighter who you can call your own. overall, SC3 stands as the greatest fighting game of all time. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    It's technically the same game it was in 1999 and 2003, but that's not a bad thing. Pros: Beautiful graphics; excellent control; lots ofIt's technically the same game it was in 1999 and 2003, but that's not a bad thing. Pros: Beautiful graphics; excellent control; lots of characters and combos; lots of playable modes and unlockable content. Cons: Bugs; no online play; Chronicles of the Sword; menu screens take time to adjust to; lots of "cheap ring-outs"; Character Creation is limited. Expand
  7. BryanM.
    Nov 21, 2006
    4
    If you own soul Calibur II then don't even bother. This game is just a rip off of both 1 and II. But if you do not then wait until it If you own soul Calibur II then don't even bother. This game is just a rip off of both 1 and II. But if you do not then wait until it goes down in price. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#25 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005