• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
SoulCalibur III Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Soul Calibur III offers players unprecedented variety in gameplay modes and fighting styles. Gamers can guide the fate of their favorite character in the narrative Tales of Souls Mode, play head-to-head with a friend in Vs. Mode, create their own custom fighters in Character Creation Mode,Soul Calibur III offers players unprecedented variety in gameplay modes and fighting styles. Gamers can guide the fate of their favorite character in the narrative Tales of Souls Mode, play head-to-head with a friend in Vs. Mode, create their own custom fighters in Character Creation Mode, battle as their custom fighter in a real-time simulation in Chronicles of the Sword Mode, engage in unique and original battles in Soul Arena Mode and even recount the history of the franchise in Museum Mode. Also, the addition of three new characters to the existing family of classic warriors gives Soul Calibur III a collection of more than 25 playable characters, each with their own unique fighting style. New characters Zasalamel, Tira and Setsuka will engage in combat within all-new stages, further enhancing the game's unmatched epic scope and trademark weapons-based fighting engine. [Namco] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Namco went all-out and put forth a tremendous effort, showing onece again why the series continues to remain at the top of the genre. [Nov 2005, p.80]
  2. There's no denying that Soul Calibur III is the most refined, most feature-rich, and most artistically pleasing fighting game ever released for a home video game console.
  3. The last great fighting game of this generation. [Jan 2006, p.92]
  4. 90
    Playing a new Soul Calibur is like embarking on a two year (or however long it takes Namco to release the next game) journey into personal mastery, constantly pushing yourself and your friends to become better players. That's the mark of a transcendent fighting game, and Soul Calibur III has the makings of a classic.
  5. 85
    And while I'm tempted to tell you that Link is unlockable deep within the game, he isn't. I know, you're sad, I'm sad, we're all sad. And sorry, still no nude codes for Ivy or the rest of the female cast. Freakin' perverts; go back to the Gamefaqs boards. Tira's practically a nude code herself, anyway.
  6. 80
    We can gripe about colors and crummy modes till the ninjas come home, but the simple fact is that Soul Calibur III is still a top-tier fighting game.
  7. It really does little better than Tekken or DOA. Possibly time would have been better-spent working on a PS3 title rather than releasing this. It’s time for the genre as a whole to move forward.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    The best of the series so far: has great single player contents, massive longevity even without versus mode, and it adds at last the characterThe best of the series so far: has great single player contents, massive longevity even without versus mode, and it adds at last the character creator, one of the best I've ever seen in a fighting game. It's hard in here to find flaws though and, in general, the main flaw is probably the absense of online feature, and to "compensate that loss" they made a lot of content for the single player instead. And we can only thank for that. Other flaws maybe are, actually, the chronicles of the sword campaign: it's not a bad addition but it feels like a rushed strategy mode, and so it can be a bit disappointing. The plot in the campaign also isn't anything special but it's decent and, again, it's more content for the single player and a good practice for you (some bosses takes a lot of time, as they are harsh to beat). There is also a GREAT arcade mode, where you also have paths to choose! Yes the ending often is the same, but the ways to go are many and it can always be different if you really want to. The creator also is vast and offers many combinations, and on top of that you can use both the official styles of the main characters AND original styles made for them specifically. They aren't as strong as the standard ones, but it gives variety and everything can be unlocked by buying them with (In-game) gold and playing the campaign mode (a good time where dlc weren't dominating us....). That's it, nothing else to say: this game alone is gonna last a lot of time and, unless you prefer or only like Tekken (like my pals back then), there's almost no reason to skip this game. Except if you don't like fighting games with weapons. Expand
  2. May 2, 2013
    10
    Overall, the game is just amazing to play. Before it's release, SCII was my favorite game, so it had alot to live up to in my eyes.Overall, the game is just amazing to play. Before it's release, SCII was my favorite game, so it had alot to live up to in my eyes.

    Gameplay/Movesets:
    I guess I was a little annoyed my favorite character Ivy had lost some of her best moves, but most of them have been improved. The Alexandra sisters are still a little similar but on the whole, the rest of them are very varied and fun to use. Not too difficult to master either if you put your mind to it. Still, not as difficult as Tekken, and more asthetically pleasing. The different weapons each character has really allows for greater diversity than in most games. The fact even the custom characters you create have their own movesets as well makes it even more fun and long lasting.

    Length:
    Well, compared to most fighting games, this is packed. I guess its the Chronicles of the Sword that does it. It's basically got so much stuff in it, it's got the life of some RPG's, possibly longer. I play it every spare moment and I've had it for a month, still not unlocked everything. It's the kind of game its hard to stop playing, and one you will probably be playing for years. The varying story paths for each of the characters also keeps you going and going. Serious value for money!

    Graphics/Music:
    The graphics are so amazingly detailed and stunning. Playing other games straight after it will really let you apprieciate SCIII's quality. The stages you fight in are all very detailed, with smashing floors and walls, mice, fire and falling pictures. Really is beautiful, the characters look pretty danm good too. Much of the music is very well suited to each area and character, it just adds to the overall feel.

    Characters/Stories:
    Personally, I adore the stories and personalities of all the characters in this game. Some seem a little pointless, like Cassandra who is basically a helpless sister of one of the other characters. However, she is still very enjoyable to use. The alternative story endings you can get for your characters adds a dimension other games don't have. A great deal of choice and another level of information and interest for the player. The characters do vary quite a bit, ages and nationalities, even species (well there are monsters too...) All makes for an entertaining game!

    Modes:
    The soul arena, with the varying tasks is fun, but there really isn't enough. It was far more fun before. HOWEVER Chronicles of the sword kind of takes over from weapon master mode from SCII. This is the mode where you create your own characters and direct them through another seperate story from the main game. It's strategy crossed with fighting, I really enjoyed this mode more than I expected. It's really more about the battles than the strategy, which made it much less daunting. Creating the characters too is almost entertaining enough to buy the game. I know that seems a bit ott but they are SO customisable you can be tweaking your characters for ages! Then Tales of Souls. The basic story modes. With the interactive cut scenes and varying endings. It's probably my favorite game because of this alone, it really is diverse and fun to play again and again.

    These are just the main features. The amount of unlockable things and purchasable things is huge. It's really entertaining for a genre thats usually considered quite 2d, this is in the next dimension entirely.

    Really worth the money and outdoing all the competition a million to one. Truely a brilliant game.
    Expand
  3. ChrisE.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    The new Chronicles of swords mode is long but interesting. The heart of this game is the character design mode. As long as you have some The new Chronicles of swords mode is long but interesting. The heart of this game is the character design mode. As long as you have some patience and collect the armour dilligently, you can pretty much make anyone. I made zoro, raiden, and the guy from Kung Fu Hustle. It's fun. Overall, I'm glad I bought this game. Expand
  4. SteveO.
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    Awesome Game. There is tons and tons of content in this game. I played it for hours last night and barely scratched the surface. Basically if Awesome Game. There is tons and tons of content in this game. I played it for hours last night and barely scratched the surface. Basically if you liked any of the previous Soul Calibur (Soul Edge) games, then you will love the latest installment. Go get it now or you will die of envy. Expand
  5. EricS.
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Aside from my Chronicles of the Sword file deciding to be corrupted, SC3 is the fighting game I've been waiting for since the first Aside from my Chronicles of the Sword file deciding to be corrupted, SC3 is the fighting game I've been waiting for since the first Mortal Kombat. Great single player action AND perfect "wail on your friends" game. Create-a-Fighter is sweet. All 10 slots are created. And oh-so-many unlockables. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Even though it's the same game we've played in 2003, that's not technically a bad thing. Pros: Beautiful graphics; basic controls; variety ofEven though it's the same game we've played in 2003, that's not technically a bad thing. Pros: Beautiful graphics; basic controls; variety of characters and combos; lots of unlockables and replay value. Cons: Single-player and multiplayer modes are limited; smaller arenas that result in cheap "ring outs"; Chronicles of the Sword; main menus are difficult to adjust to at first; no online play. Collapse
  7. BryanM.
    Nov 21, 2006
    4
    If you own soul Calibur II then don't even bother. This game is just a rip off of both 1 and II. But if you do not then wait until it If you own soul Calibur II then don't even bother. This game is just a rip off of both 1 and II. But if you do not then wait until it goes down in price. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews