Spartan: Total Warrior PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2005
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
Buy On
  1. AceGamez
    80
    The combat is satisfying, the setting is grand and the amount of troops on screen is amazing - this is war on a scale rarely seen in games and it puts the likes of "Dynasty Warriors" to shame for its combination of sheer numbers and exceptional graphics, with an outstanding soundtrack that completes the atmosphere of this historical adventure.
  2. While not the super-strategic romp some of you were expecting, Spartan: Total Warrior delivers the goods if you’re looking for a solid chunk of challenging action from start to finish.
  3. If you're up for a challange and don't mind taking on the entire Roman empire yourself, Spartan: Total Warrior is waiting.
  4. For an action packed take on the ever popular Roman hack and slash genre, Spartan is the most spectacular example yet. [PSW]
  5. Spartan is one of those games that may not appeal to everyone, but for those who enjoy the ancient Roman time period and like just hacking and slashing, then Spartan: Total Warrior is a great game.
  6. It's one of the most polished games I've played since "The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction." [Nov 2005, p.138]
  7. This is a game about hitting people. It's pretty damn good.
  8. Game Informer
    78
    The boss fights are frustrating to the point of idiocy, and are made worse by the annoying checkpoint system... It sure beats the hell out of another "Dynasty Warriors" retreat, though. [Oct 2005, p.119]
  9. Aside from the odd mood breaker, somewhat sluggish load times between menus, and occasional repetitive gameplay, Spartan: Total Warrior manages to bridge the familiar RTS brand to the console world through its silky-smooth framerate, very respectable visuals, and deviously violent gameplay.
  10. What Spartan lacks in depth is made good by some top-drawer visuals and satisfying combat. A corking console debut for Creative Assembly. [PSM2]
  11. Most games lose their luster after you've killed the 999th warrior, but Total Warrior keeps things fresh throughout the journey.
  12. 79
    It's unfortunate that the unrefined targeting system, cheap boss battles and generally unhelpful friendly AI make the experience a mixed bag of exhilarating and exasperating moments.
  13. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    Mythological hack and slash epic. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  14. Tough but ultimately superb gameplay. Only a hero and story are the game's Achilles' heel. [Nov 2005, p.116]
  15. Pelit (Finland)
    88
    A very good beat 'em up adventure with hundreds of simultaneous enemies. Too bad the awful Athens-level is a major pain in the backside. [Oct 2005]
  16. Play Magazine
    90
    Spartan Total Warrior doesn't remind me of anything before it, which is extremely rare. [Nov p.70]
  17. Creative Assembly's first console effort is a satisfying, action-filled hack-and-slash.
  18. 90
    Mindless hack-and-whack style gameplay stays hot thanks to interesting objectives. Spartan is constantly throwing new gameplay elements at you.
  19. With its simple gameplay and involving story, Spartan: Total Warrior is a perfect blend of strategy game and hack’n’slash romp.
  20. It tends to shift between greatness and mediocrity with the frequency of your average rollercoaster ride, but the great parts are easily worth a look by anyone who enjoys beat-'em-ups.

Awards & Rankings

76
45
#45 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
45
#45 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This game is by far the best game that came ever out on the ps2, lots of actions and challenging missions, THEY NEED TO DO A REMAKE FOR PS4 !!This game is by far the best game that came ever out on the ps2, lots of actions and challenging missions, THEY NEED TO DO A REMAKE FOR PS4 !! Creative Assembly !! Full Review »
  2. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    When I was younger around 6th or 7th grade. I played this game for a very long time. I might haVE HAD OVER 1000+ HOURS. This and Shadow ofWhen I was younger around 6th or 7th grade. I played this game for a very long time. I might haVE HAD OVER 1000+ HOURS. This and Shadow of Rome.

    I also played and still do play, ALL of the Total War games ever made. Even, "'War Warlord" and Viking. Much love to C.A.

    I trust you'll never release a game in such a mess like you did with Rome: Total War 2 ever again. I hope you've learned your lesson people are mad redeem yourselves.
    Full Review »
  3. TariqW.
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    Just don't listen to the critics. Buy this game even if you didn't like Dynasty Warriors or GOW!