Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Being able to jump into the game, and back out, without losing any progress or exit to the main menu makes this especially family friendly.
  2. Spider-Man: Friend or Foe, despite being aimed at a squarely younger audience, is a very fun game despite its simplicity. It doesn’t have the depth of something like say, Marvel: Ultimate Alliance, but should provide plenty of fun for those looking for a simple brawler with characters from the Spider-Man universe.
  3. Repetition and camera issues are damaging, but Spider-Man: Friend or Foe still prevails as the best PS2 brawler released in 2007 (thus far).
  4. I loved every second spent playing this game except for the final boss. I loved the backgrounds, character unlocks, voices, story line, and upgrade possibilities.
  5. Some flashy action, a playful sense of humor, and a clean visual style bring this otherwise straightforward beat-'em-up to life.
  6. It may not be worth much more than a rental, but it'll be one of the most satisfying rentals you play in a long time.
  7. Together, Spider-Man: Friend or Foe is a package that does okay, but isn't necessarily intended for anyone old enough to play games like Marvel: Ultimate Alliance.
  8. It's linear and not much happens, but flicking between characters adds variation and the cut-scenes are nicely tongue-in-cheek. [Dec 2007, p.82]
  9. Friend or Foe is a generic game which is salvaged by the co-op play. For new or young gamers this is a great title, but for those who have been around the block, there's nothing to see here.
  10. Its loose take on the Spidey mythology might annoy some, but this is a decent enough multiplayer-friendly beat-'em-up. [Dec 2007, p.91]
  11. You will find a monotonous and linear experience that doesn’t seem to have any relation with either the movies or the comics. Only the co-op and the amount of playable characters can be of any interest to any Spidey fan. [Dec 2007]
  12. This latest Spider-Man is pure repetition-ville. [Dec 2007, p.89]
  13. Spider-man: Friend or Foe is another title that clearly isn't made for experienced gamers, and certainly won't please anyone aged in their teens or older.
  14. 49
    The game is obviously geared most toward the younger set, but even kids like a bit of challenge, right?
  15. Never has a hero looked so stupid. As catastrophic as these missteps are, they pale in comparison to Spidey’s egregious video game blunder, Friend or Foe. [Nov 2007, p.144]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Feb 6, 2011
    8
    Spider-Man: Friend or Foe may be aimed at younger audiences but is a great if simple brawler, sound effects are ok and voice acting isSpider-Man: Friend or Foe may be aimed at younger audiences but is a great if simple brawler, sound effects are ok and voice acting is passable, but the controls are great and easy to access, the graphics are great and one of the better looking games on the Playstation 2, it has some great co-op options and some cool unlockable characters, it has some pretty good versus options, all in all it's a highly enjoyable brawler. Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    Well,where to start?Haha...I got this game right after I went to surgery.My mom accidentally cut of half of my mole on my back because sheWell,where to start?Haha...I got this game right after I went to surgery.My mom accidentally cut of half of my mole on my back because she always tickles me and of course she has big nails.That happened in 2007 or 2008 but the time I got this game is near to when it was released.This game was released on october 2nd and my birthday is october 4th lol pretty close ain't it?I will remember this game not as a sign from apology from my mom but as a great game it is.It's an RPG adventure game where you collect points from boxes and you get combos,unlock things...Story is cool and characters are REALLY funny.This game is funny A LOT!! Full Review »
  3. Jan 9, 2014
    4
    This game is horrible
    why?
    because its too repetitive,tha gameplay is very simple and clumsy its not impressive,its bored and too
    This game is horrible
    why?
    because its too repetitive,tha gameplay is very simple and clumsy
    its not impressive,its bored and too ridiculous
    i hate it
    Full Review »