Splashdown: Rides Gone Wild PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Aug 5, 2003
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Buy On
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    There's also a ton more to this game than the original. More tracks, more modes, more riders, more everything. [Sept 2003, p.101]
  2. Has the technical style of their earlier racing games to make for a fun, well played racing experience, and it has the necessary personality to make it more interesting than other typical racers.
  3. Game Informer
    93
    This is an incredibly ambitious project, yet everything it attempts exceeds all expections. [Sept 2003, p.104]
  4. The gameplay is intuitive and accessible to gamers of all ages and skill levels and the interactive environments and charming level design will delight and fascinate all who play and even those who watch somebody else play.
  5. There is so much to do, so much to unlock. You'll have fun with the two-player mode, but the heart of the game is really the single-player experience. It's addictive from the start, and the fantasy courses are so good that you'll want to race them again and again.
  6. Cheat Code Central
    90
    Better courses, more tricks and a major overhaul in virtually all departments, Rides Gone Wild has improved on everything that reviewers and fans alike criticized in the original.
  7. 89
    The developer's most accessible and friendliest game to date, and it works. So, simply put, if you want a technically crafted watercraft racer based on a sophisticated trick system, get it.
  8. A marked improvement over the original game in nearly every way. Except for the revamped trick system, which isn’t nearly as entertaining, deep, or satisfying as we had initially hoped it would be.
  9. One of the best Sea-Doo racing games released.
  10. An enjoyable substitute for H2O worshippers on those days when you just can't make it to the beach. High speed and high flying stunts through creative locations beats watching the rocks grow any day of the week.
  11. The world courses are absolutely packed with detail, and they feature some really spectacular special effects.
  12. If you plan on unlocking 100% of the game (and it does keep track of the percentage), then Rides Gone Wild will certainly keep you busy. And since Splashdown: Rides Gone Wild controls splendidly, has immensely creative tracks and looks real purdy, there's no reason why you wouldn't want to keep playing.
  13. It's a testament to the prowess, technical execution and sheer addictiveness of its premise (race through ever-changing courses/tracks made to resemble theme park attractions) that Rides Gone Wild remains the heir apparent to "Waverace 64's" crown as the best water-based racing game ever made.
  14. 80
    It’s a fun mixture of high-speed racing with a tight balance of racing and tricks.
  15. A great single-player game with truly unforgettable courses, but the plain multiplayer levels, ho-hum graphics and bad sound keep this game from making my must-have list.
  16. Play Magazine
    75
    Add variable weather and a sea of upgrades and these are the depths you need to plumb, right now. [Oct 2003, p.72]
  17. While it has some nice changes, I found myself growing bored with it quicker than I did with the original. I do believe this would have not been the case if the game were primarily the adventure tracks.
  18. GameNow
    75
    If only Ride Gone Wild was online this year, I'd be even more impressed. [Oct 2003, p.60]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. AdamB.
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    Blows the original out of the water.
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Great game. Worth picking up on ebay. I think the animations and artwork are better than whats on the PS3 nowadays. The physics of the wavesGreat game. Worth picking up on ebay. I think the animations and artwork are better than whats on the PS3 nowadays. The physics of the waves aren't as dynamic as wave race and a lot of events in the game are scripted, but its more of an adventure arcade type title. The unlockables and levels are amazing!!! Just get this game if you like adventure racers, which are hardly made anymore. This game is just behind SSX tricky in fun. There are a lot of hidden things to keep you coming back. The characters are good. Just try it out! Full Review »
  3. BrookeM.
    May 30, 2006
    10
    i think this game is cool. but for the cheat codes, where do i put them? anyways, it is fun.