• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Aug 5, 2003
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamB.
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    Blows the original out of the water.
  2. DannyG.
    Aug 10, 2003
    10
    Best racing game ever!
  3. CarlN.
    Aug 7, 2003
    10
    Perfect racing, perfect graphics, perfectly addicting...Perfect Game!
  4. JoshH.
    Aug 7, 2003
    10
    Way beyond description.
  5. KyleK.
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    Sheezy begeezy...uh oh, I ripped my pants over this game!
  6. MikeD.
    Aug 15, 2003
    9
    It's really fun. it sux that the new suits and bikes don't give u better performance, but with all that extra stuff to buy, you'll be playing a long time to earn them.
  7. BrookeM.
    May 30, 2006
    10
    i think this game is cool. but for the cheat codes, where do i put them? anyways, it is fun.
  8. DerekS.
    Aug 3, 2003
    10
    Best Damn Racing game ever made. Awesome graphics, stunts, and boards with outstanding scenery. A must have game for the racing stunt fan.
  9. JoeW.
    Aug 5, 2003
    9
    9.7 Great graphics, great gameplay, GREAT game. The water effects are fantastic and there are TONS of courses (45 in all!). IGN and Gamepro rated this one WAY too low. Don't get me wrong, there are minor glitches, but nothing that would be considered a showstopper. Hats off to Rainbow Studios for a brilliant sequel. Maybe the guys who made Matrix Reloaded should have consulted with 9.7 Great graphics, great gameplay, GREAT game. The water effects are fantastic and there are TONS of courses (45 in all!). IGN and Gamepro rated this one WAY too low. Don't get me wrong, there are minor glitches, but nothing that would be considered a showstopper. Hats off to Rainbow Studios for a brilliant sequel. Maybe the guys who made Matrix Reloaded should have consulted with them first. Collapse
  10. JohnB.
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    This game has set the bar unreachably high for the next generation of hydro racers!
  11. Uter
    Oct 14, 2003
    6
    The gameplay is pretty fun, just like the original. The course themes, while generic, are exciting and fun. But, the load times are ridiculous. You'll spend just under 30 seconds starring at the loading screen every time you play. That's just unacceptable and seriously drags down on the fun. They could have at least halved that time by making the disc dvd format, but instead The gameplay is pretty fun, just like the original. The course themes, while generic, are exciting and fun. But, the load times are ridiculous. You'll spend just under 30 seconds starring at the loading screen every time you play. That's just unacceptable and seriously drags down on the fun. They could have at least halved that time by making the disc dvd format, but instead they were cheap. I'd give it an 8/10 if the loading wasn't bad. Expand
  12. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Great game. Worth picking up on ebay. I think the animations and artwork are better than whats on the PS3 nowadays. The physics of the waves aren't as dynamic as wave race and a lot of events in the game are scripted, but its more of an adventure arcade type title. The unlockables and levels are amazing!!! Just get this game if you like adventure racers, which are hardly made anymore. ThisGreat game. Worth picking up on ebay. I think the animations and artwork are better than whats on the PS3 nowadays. The physics of the waves aren't as dynamic as wave race and a lot of events in the game are scripted, but its more of an adventure arcade type title. The unlockables and levels are amazing!!! Just get this game if you like adventure racers, which are hardly made anymore. This game is just behind SSX tricky in fun. There are a lot of hidden things to keep you coming back. The characters are good. Just try it out! Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. There is so much to do, so much to unlock. You'll have fun with the two-player mode, but the heart of the game is really the single-player experience. It's addictive from the start, and the fantasy courses are so good that you'll want to race them again and again.
  2. Has the technical style of their earlier racing games to make for a fun, well played racing experience, and it has the necessary personality to make it more interesting than other typical racers.
  3. A great single-player game with truly unforgettable courses, but the plain multiplayer levels, ho-hum graphics and bad sound keep this game from making my must-have list.