• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Splashdown Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Speed through the water while busting freestyle tricks on a Sea-Doo. Splashdown is a high quality visual experience associated with realistic water physics and Sea-Doo handling. 18 lush real-world environments and 8 wild characters with their own signature tricks complete the game play. [Infogrames]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. The best racing game of the year..."Gran Turismo 2" and "3" are just as good, but they are definitely not better than Splashdown.
  2. GameCube's Wave Race will receive the hype this holiday season, but Splashdown's sexy curves and what it can do with them are much more appealing to me. [Dec 2001, p.95]
  3. 90
    As long as you don’t mind a slightly more technical feel and a hefty challenge, you’ll find the best thing to happen with jetskis since the N64’s Wave Race.
  4. Easy to handle control, a decent trick system, and the all important water physics are down pat.
  5. This is a better game than "Wave Race: Blue Storm." It may not have the wave physics that Nintendo's racer has (or many waves at all for that matter), but it runs away with the look of the water, control, and playability.
  6. I have never seen water this realistic in a video game. [Jan 2002, p.136]
  7. 70
    It's difficult to remember which tricks you’ve performed in a race, and which ones have yet to be done... It would have been nice to have stunts “reset” after a while.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. FullEnergy
    Mar 29, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome, honestly I think Splashdown is much better than "Wave Race" for GameCube. One more thing : Splashdown Kick ass!!!
  2. KittyN.
    May 5, 2002
    10
    BUT THIS GAME! The graphics in Splashdown are awesome! In free ride mode, drive off the course. It's almost like the game space BUT THIS GAME! The graphics in Splashdown are awesome! In free ride mode, drive off the course. It's almost like the game space doesn't end. The stunts are also cool, and looking for wetsuits provides you with a challenge. Like I said, buy this game. Expand
  3. SamF.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    GREAT boat racing game..Realisitic water and effects..
  4. KRice
    Nov 26, 2002
    9
    A definite "must have" for those who like racing. NO MATTER WHAT AGE! We have torn this one up and still find it challenging for an 8 yr old A definite "must have" for those who like racing. NO MATTER WHAT AGE! We have torn this one up and still find it challenging for an 8 yr old or an adult. Great family game. Expand
  5. J.M.
    Jul 23, 2004
    7
    I owned both this for PS2 and Wave Race Blue Storm for Gamecube. Both are good games, but I preferred Wave Race BS alot more. It's got I owned both this for PS2 and Wave Race Blue Storm for Gamecube. Both are good games, but I preferred Wave Race BS alot more. It's got better graphics, sound, characters, and level design among other things. I ended up selling Splashdown but I still own Wave Race BS which is now almost 3 years later. Expand
  6. KennyB.
    Jun 16, 2009
    5
    It gets a 5 for the very pretty graphics. It's probably not as bad as I think it is, but I've been spoiled by the title thatIt gets a 5 for the very pretty graphics. It's probably not as bad as I think it is, but I've been spoiled by the title that pioneered water racing games called Waverace. Waverace Blue Storm was great, but Waverace 64 was epic. Splashdown feels like I'm driving a hovercraft over the water instead of a jet ski in the water. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2011
    2
    This game was not very good. Great looking water and realistic physics. I played waverunner on 64 and was able to do fine in that. I playThis game was not very good. Great looking water and realistic physics. I played waverunner on 64 and was able to do fine in that. I play numerous racing games but it was impossible to get past the 2nd level in this game on normal mode. I always had full turbo and never made mistakes but people in last place were faster than me and everyone was perfect at only the 2nd level. Stick with waverunner and enjoy it. Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews