User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 94
  2. Negative: 55 out of 94
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    3
    If you love the Spyro series and had great anticipation for the fourth instalment, then your will be extremely disappointed. For the first time our heroic little dragon comes to the PS2 and for a PS2 title we expect something massive, well that's what I think a next gen game should have if you want to improve it. Instead we get something that is unoriginal and could even have been done onIf you love the Spyro series and had great anticipation for the fourth instalment, then your will be extremely disappointed. For the first time our heroic little dragon comes to the PS2 and for a PS2 title we expect something massive, well that's what I think a next gen game should have if you want to improve it. Instead we get something that is unoriginal and could even have been done on the PS1 and without all its flaws. It starts off with Spyro and his friends celebrating the new arrival of dragonflies who will be each young dragon's new guardian. However Ripto (the main antagonist from Spyro 2 who somehow managed to survive the boiling lava, or that's the developers excuse for saving time by not creating a new villain) crashes the party and scatters all the dragonflies around the world. It's up to Spyro, his guardian dragonfly Sparx and friends to rescue the dragonflies and stop Ripto and his minions from foiling his plans. Gameplay is similar to the previous 3 games, Spyro can run around, charge, headbash, glide and breathe fire but there are some new moves. There are 4 new breath attacks, bubble, ice and bolt which you get when you find the sacred runes. Bubble breathe is used to catch the dragonflies but some are earned by completing tasks set by your friends. There are gems to collect once again which are scattered everywhere in each level and in chests or metal creates. That's pretty much it really, there is nothing in this game that is fresh or original and they got the same villain from the second Spyro game however that is only the minor issue. The real problem with this game is it suffers from too many flaws such as graphical glitches, inconsistent framerate, long loading times sound issues and sometimes freezes meaning you have no choice but to reset your console and start back from where you last saved your progress. According the sources this game was rushed in order to be released at Christmas time, if so then it is not all the developers fault but also the publishers. Had it not been for all the major issues I'd give this game a 6 or 7, however one bug is far too many. Quite simply this is not just the worst Spyro game but the worst game I have ever played in my years of gaming. Expand
  2. MicahC.
    Jan 3, 2003
    2
    I spent the majority of my time with this game waiting for it to load!
  3. RoboR.
    Oct 5, 2003
    0
    The spyro legacy is desecrated by this uninspired "trainwreck of a game". The developers responsible should be locked up and forced to play this glitchy, frustrating and half-baked tripe until their thumbs are bloody stumps and they have completely lost their sanity. Who cares about the fancy water ripples and flame effects when the frame rate is worse than ps1 versions and the game locks The spyro legacy is desecrated by this uninspired "trainwreck of a game". The developers responsible should be locked up and forced to play this glitchy, frustrating and half-baked tripe until their thumbs are bloody stumps and they have completely lost their sanity. Who cares about the fancy water ripples and flame effects when the frame rate is worse than ps1 versions and the game locks up each time you play it. Worst sequel ever. Expand
  4. RogerA.
    Dec 12, 2002
    1
    My family and I love playing the PS1 Spyro games. With our new PS2 we decided to make Enter the Dragonfly our first game purchase. While the kids were asleep I thought I'd give the game a test run: The graphics are mediocre, the "new features" okay, but the jerky graphics, and slow loading times make this game a definite DON'T! (I'm actually fuming!) I'm gonna try my My family and I love playing the PS1 Spyro games. With our new PS2 we decided to make Enter the Dragonfly our first game purchase. While the kids were asleep I thought I'd give the game a test run: The graphics are mediocre, the "new features" okay, but the jerky graphics, and slow loading times make this game a definite DON'T! (I'm actually fuming!) I'm gonna try my luck tomorrow and see if I can swap it for something better. I'm too emberassed to show this game to the kids... Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2011
    4
    Because Enter The Dragonfly refuses to part ways with its PS one predecessors, it feels overly familiar and overly cliche. Pros: Impressive graphics, lavish colors, and reasonable controls. Cons: All too simple and familiar gameplay, excruciatingly long load screens, and a lack of depth in imagination.
  6. Sep 22, 2012
    4
    After the success of the first 3 Spyro games on the PS1, Insomiac decides to randomly abandon the Spyro series. The series is then sold to Universal and the first game they decide to release is Enter the Dragonfly for the PS2 and the Gamecube which is the first time a Spyro game was released on a non Sony console. Some people say the reason why the game is bad has something to do withAfter the success of the first 3 Spyro games on the PS1, Insomiac decides to randomly abandon the Spyro series. The series is then sold to Universal and the first game they decide to release is Enter the Dragonfly for the PS2 and the Gamecube which is the first time a Spyro game was released on a non Sony console. Some people say the reason why the game is bad has something to do with Universal rushing the game for the holiday season which caused a whole bunch of glitches and bugs to be left alone. I believe there is more to it than that. First off, the game is completely unoriginal. The story is copied from Spyro 1 but except for rescuing dragons, you are rescuing dragon FLIES. Yeah, that's totally 100% original. That's only the tip of the iceberg. Speaking of ice, Spyro can now breathe ice as well as water, lightning, and water including Spyro's trademark, fire. What? Dragons are known for breathing fire. Not ice, water, and lightning. And the worst part is that they don't do anything different except breathing water is completely useless. And do you want to know the worst part about this tragedy? THE GAME LOOKS JUST LIKE THE PS1 GAMES. The developers showed little to no effort trying to make the game look good, or play good for that matter. This game is bad. I do not understand why Spyro was not put out of his misery instead of keeping Spyro on life support. And sadly, this is not the worst game of the Spyro series. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have no clue what happened here i really don't but what did they do to one of the best platforming trilogies on the ps1.Poor poor poor spyro lets talk about why this is a bad game.I give this game a 1 not a zero because the graphics are quite good and the character models look ok when they are standing still in a cutscence but when there not they look horible and the opening looks horrible.Heres another reason why this game sucks the framrate is soooooooooooooooooooooooo choppy im serious when i say this the framerate was so bad this it damaged a kid for LIFE.No joke this happened heres another reason unlike theps1 games when the controlls work here they are painfully slopy a i fall of edges when i swore i made them:(.Then there are the loading screens the loading screens my god they are slow i made a sandwich and ate it durring the time it took for this to load and a loading screen can hault the progress of any game and when they are short they just pass along and you don't feel anything but with a long loading screen like this game it can hault the progress massivly.theres aloso money bags isn't that wonderful.The vocie acting the levels and mini games all suck. they story sucks.There are also massive glitches to which include spyro derping out and the level not actullaly loading so you get lost in a white limbo of whitness and its not pleasent actually scrach that IT SUCKS IT SUCKS. Theres also no ending yes these lazy developers have made me and many other suther through this trerible game and they couldn't give us a proper ending X0. Gameplay suthers because all of the glitches and the gameplay feels like a crappy version of spyro 3 with no other playable characters. Avoid this game like the plague please i beg you not to play this game 1 out of 10. Expand
  8. Apr 10, 2013
    1
    This game is abysmal. This game was a clear cash in on what Insomniac did right. There are far too many bugs and glitches in this game that it sometimes is unplayable. The loading screens are ridiculous. The game is mildly fun with keeping to its platform roots but by no mean is it a good game. Moneybags was shoved in there for only the start of the game then not reappearing again. TheThis game is abysmal. This game was a clear cash in on what Insomniac did right. There are far too many bugs and glitches in this game that it sometimes is unplayable. The loading screens are ridiculous. The game is mildly fun with keeping to its platform roots but by no mean is it a good game. Moneybags was shoved in there for only the start of the game then not reappearing again. The story is insipid with only a general opening cut scene then that is it. Ripto as a boss fight was laughable considering he is the only boss fight in the game.

    This unfinished game can go in the rubbish bin. 1/10 for at least sticking to its platforming roots.
    Stick to the PS1 games.
    Expand
  9. MarioM.
    May 2, 2004
    0
    Ah...a wonderful series RUINED. it never has been more of a flop since the Crash Bash game for the psOne. Whichever way you look at this game, its crap. The sound is horrible, the graphics are choppy and so filthy the develpers of ths game should be considered sinners, and the gameplay is even less then the very first spyro game. Honestly wat a garbage game. and as Gamespot said, "even Ah...a wonderful series RUINED. it never has been more of a flop since the Crash Bash game for the psOne. Whichever way you look at this game, its crap. The sound is horrible, the graphics are choppy and so filthy the develpers of ths game should be considered sinners, and the gameplay is even less then the very first spyro game. Honestly wat a garbage game. and as Gamespot said, "even the most di-hard fans of the Spyro series will have a hard time enjoying this." To the publishers that ruined this beloved platforming series, damn you. Collapse
  10. JonathanJ.
    Oct 6, 2005
    0
    i used to love spyro for Ps1 but this is not spyro this is horrible some of the worst games beat this by a longshot. DISGRACE
  11. AprilButte
    Jul 29, 2005
    0
    Horrible load times, freezes up in key areas making you replay and this is what is good about it! This is not the Spyro we know...it is a crappy Spyro. A spyro for profit not fun...dont buy! Dont play !
  12. Zachery
    Aug 5, 2005
    0
    Sucks But i love the other 123 games of spyro.
  13. Renae
    Jan 2, 2003
    4
    I loved the previous PS1 Spyro games and was under the assumption that PS2 would be bigger and better. What went wrong? Did they sack all the 'Spyro Year of the Dragon' designers and recruit a bunch of kindergarteners. The graphics are ordinary, camera view is annoying, loading times rediculous and the rating I gave is being generous!
  14. LianaK.
    Feb 18, 2003
    0
    The game was a waste of my time and money. Not only are the load times unbearable, but it has crashed on me more times than i can count. The sheep have exploded- like the characters in the shrek bloopers. the game unpauses itself. And I lose control of spyro. He has refused to move on my comand and he randomly gets stuck in "deflect mode". I loved the previous spyro games, but i cant standThe game was a waste of my time and money. Not only are the load times unbearable, but it has crashed on me more times than i can count. The sheep have exploded- like the characters in the shrek bloopers. the game unpauses itself. And I lose control of spyro. He has refused to move on my comand and he randomly gets stuck in "deflect mode". I loved the previous spyro games, but i cant stand this one. I regret buying it. I wouldn't recomend it to anyone. Expand
  15. TamH.
    Mar 15, 2003
    2
    Well to tell the truth I wasted my money. The graphics are ok but the game has way to many glicks in it. To many times have we have had to restart the game cause it froze on us. We have the frist three and love them but this one was no good.
  16. MorganN.
    Jun 3, 2003
    3
    I was a huge fan when the series firts came out but take my advive and stick with the originals on PS one. :(
  17. EmmaG.
    Jul 6, 2004
    2
    It was entertaining for a while, but then it was just monotonus. It seems the game makers were using their 'beautiful eye-catching graphics' to make up for this pathetic exuse for a platform game.
  18. KennyJ.
    Jul 18, 2006
    1
    This is what made me seriously look into a game before I buy it. I purchased this when I was young, using the 50 bucks that I got for my birthday. When I played it, I was utterly disgusted, and supremely PO'ed. I absolutely loved the PS1 Spyro games, so I thought "Another Spryro game with PS2 graphics, sweet!". But, without my knowledge, top-knotch game developer Insomniac sold the This is what made me seriously look into a game before I buy it. I purchased this when I was young, using the 50 bucks that I got for my birthday. When I played it, I was utterly disgusted, and supremely PO'ed. I absolutely loved the PS1 Spyro games, so I thought "Another Spryro game with PS2 graphics, sweet!". But, without my knowledge, top-knotch game developer Insomniac sold the Spyro franchise rights to profit-hungry Universal. The result was a game that barely tied in with the originals, had gameplay that wasn't even as good as Spyro 1, a horrible plot, and very short in comparison to the first 3. Looking back at it, I'm suprized I wasn't seriously mentally scarred by playing this game. After staring blankly at the screen for a half hour after completing the game, I broke the disk in 2 and tossed it in the trash. Most people will have more fun burning a 50 dollar bill than playing this game. Expand
  19. JoeBob
    Nov 20, 2002
    0
    An total and utter embarassment.
  20. ChrisM.
    Dec 17, 2002
    1
    Like Gamespot said "a train wreck of a game" It is unplayable. Horrible, terrible, yuck!
  21. Glenn
    Dec 20, 2002
    0
    In the first spyro games we would have rated the game a 10. Your new game. Is a joke, over half the area don't even work. I should have burned my $50. it would have been more enjoyable.
  22. StephR.
    Mar 29, 2003
    3
    Sadly, this was my first time ever playing a Spyro game - and it was an utter disappointment. I had heard from friends that the purple dragon who, er, glided around frying sheep was great, but they were talking about the other games. Enter the Dragonfly has frozen on various accounts, Spyro has gotten stuck for minutes at a time, the game has trouble staying on pause, and the camera Sadly, this was my first time ever playing a Spyro game - and it was an utter disappointment. I had heard from friends that the purple dragon who, er, glided around frying sheep was great, but they were talking about the other games. Enter the Dragonfly has frozen on various accounts, Spyro has gotten stuck for minutes at a time, the game has trouble staying on pause, and the camera angles make it difficult to control. The graphics were fairly mediocre, nothing really spectacular, but it's one I definitely won't be buying anytime soon. Expand
  23. MargeL.
    Dec 25, 2002
    4
    The game has changed, but in a bad way. The camera never matches with the character, making you dizy. The levels are unorganized. There are mini games, which are on levels, but are called levels. Compared to the original, it is horrible.
  24. AprilM.
    Dec 29, 2002
    2
    Oh, if only this game were all I had hoped it would be. My 8 yr old HAD to have this game, we have all the others. I was looking forward to getting it for her, because I had enjoyed playing the others myself. The graphics are ok; the controlling REEKS, you can't get him to look where and when you want to, and it is too jerky; and is anyone else but me thinking that the speedways are Oh, if only this game were all I had hoped it would be. My 8 yr old HAD to have this game, we have all the others. I was looking forward to getting it for her, because I had enjoyed playing the others myself. The graphics are ok; the controlling REEKS, you can't get him to look where and when you want to, and it is too jerky; and is anyone else but me thinking that the speedways are cheating you from winning the race against the flyers??? What a disappointment. Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I am sorry, this is a bad game. Enter The Dragonfly isplagued by glitches, slow moving Spyro, unresponsive controls, and a bad storyline. I always loved Ripto, but his return deserves so much better than this. Don't play this. It may be part of the canon, but I still wouldn't recommend it to any fan. If you want the only good non-Insomniac Spyro game, go play A Hero's Tail. That is theI am sorry, this is a bad game. Enter The Dragonfly isplagued by glitches, slow moving Spyro, unresponsive controls, and a bad storyline. I always loved Ripto, but his return deserves so much better than this. Don't play this. It may be part of the canon, but I still wouldn't recommend it to any fan. If you want the only good non-Insomniac Spyro game, go play A Hero's Tail. That is the only good one outside of the original 3. Expand
  26. Feb 5, 2012
    4
    This game is fun and feels like a spyro game, but due to the long loading screens, very poor framerate, and overall a rushed feeling in most of the levels, makes it lose the magic that made you love the first 3
  27. May 4, 2012
    4
    When I heard about this game I was really excited to get it. After playing it I noticed how much the gameplay would lag. I tried to keep a positive attitude towards the game until I noticed the 2 minute loading times and difficult gameplays on side quests. The game could have great potential if it wasn't so broken. The graphics were mesmorizing and I like how I could choose differentWhen I heard about this game I was really excited to get it. After playing it I noticed how much the gameplay would lag. I tried to keep a positive attitude towards the game until I noticed the 2 minute loading times and difficult gameplays on side quests. The game could have great potential if it wasn't so broken. The graphics were mesmorizing and I like how I could choose different powers for Spyro's breath. Why did they break this game?! It now sits on my shelf collecting dust. Expand
  28. Dec 27, 2012
    4
    Insomniac leaving Spyro made everything change. The Spyro we loved was replaced. The bold colour pallet of the originals were gone and replaced with a duller beast. The gameplay changed; from a platform heavy game with simple combat to a combat heavy action platformer. Believe me, I loved the originals. But this felt rushed. Gone with the hub worlds. Glitches aplenty and overall wasInsomniac leaving Spyro made everything change. The Spyro we loved was replaced. The bold colour pallet of the originals were gone and replaced with a duller beast. The gameplay changed; from a platform heavy game with simple combat to a combat heavy action platformer. Believe me, I loved the originals. But this felt rushed. Gone with the hub worlds. Glitches aplenty and overall was lacking the content it deserved. The originals were better then this. Extremely disappointing. Expand
  29. Nov 22, 2012
    0
    This is one of the worst games I have ever played with Superman 64 and Sonic Genesis. This game is basically incomplete. The frame rate, story, game play, and voice acting is terrible. The graphics are decent for 2002 but that's it. NEVER PLAY THIS GAME!
  30. May 28, 2014
    4
    The only reason this game gets a 4 out of 10 is because of the hilarious glitches, It is clearly not a finished game although it had some potential to be an alright game if more time was spent on it.
  31. Feb 25, 2014
    3
    this game has got so many problems. its got so many glitches, its framerate is bad, its got sound issues, its short and the story is rubbish. its understandable why the game is like this, the developers were rushed to make it. its so sad because this game had so many opportunities to become great but one thing that I love about the game is the sound track it makes me feel at peace sometimes
  32. Jul 3, 2016
    1
    Controls are sticky. This game is very glitchy and the graphics look so bad and ugly. The plot is very bad. The frame rate is terrible. Platforming is alright and everything else is rather okay or mediocre. This game is an epic fail.

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#37 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. There really isn’t anything that separates it from other Spyro games. Actually in a lot of ways the PS1 games are much more enjoyable and original.
  2. The graphics are nothing to be proud of, as they seem very similar to what we were presented with on the PS one not too long ago, and nothing in terms of the gameplay or style has changed a bit or improved upon in any way shape or form.
  3. PSM Magazine
    60
    Simply a decent been-there-done-that platformer. [Jan 2003, p.40]