User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 69
  2. Negative: 45 out of 69

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    4
    Because Enter The Dragonfly refuses to part ways with its PS one predecessors, it feels overly familiar and overly cliche. Pros: Impressive graphics, lavish colors, and reasonable controls. Cons: All too simple and familiar gameplay, excruciatingly long load screens, and a lack of depth in imagination.
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    4
    This game is fun and feels like a spyro game, but due to the long loading screens, very poor framerate, and overall a rushed feeling in most of the levels, makes it lose the magic that made you love the first 3
  3. May 4, 2012
    4
    When I heard about this game I was really excited to get it. After playing it I noticed how much the gameplay would lag. I tried to keep a positive attitude towards the game until I noticed the 2 minute loading times and difficult gameplays on side quests. The game could have great potential if it wasn't so broken. The graphics were mesmorizing and I like how I could choose different powers for Spyro's breath. Why did they break this game?! It now sits on my shelf collecting dust. Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2012
    4
    Insomniac leaving Spyro made everything change. The Spyro we loved was replaced. The bold colour pallet of the originals were gone and replaced with a duller beast. The gameplay changed; from a platform heavy game with simple combat to a combat heavy action platformer. Believe me, I loved the originals. But this felt rushed. Gone with the hub worlds. Glitches aplenty and overall was lacking the content it deserved. The originals were better then this. Extremely disappointing. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2012
    4
    After the success of the first 3 Spyro games on the PS1, Insomiac decides to randomly abandon the Spyro series. The series is then sold to Universal and the first game they decide to release is Enter the Dragonfly for the PS2 and the Gamecube which is the first time a Spyro game was released on a non Sony console. Some people say the reason why the game is bad has something to do with Universal rushing the game for the holiday season which caused a whole bunch of glitches and bugs to be left alone. I believe there is more to it than that. First off, the game is completely unoriginal. The story is copied from Spyro 1 but except for rescuing dragons, you are rescuing dragon FLIES. Yeah, that's totally 100% original. That's only the tip of the iceberg. Speaking of ice, Spyro can now breathe ice as well as water, lightning, and water including Spyro's trademark, fire. What? Dragons are known for breathing fire. Not ice, water, and lightning. And the worst part is that they don't do anything different except breathing water is completely useless. And do you want to know the worst part about this tragedy? THE GAME LOOKS JUST LIKE THE PS1 GAMES. The developers showed little to no effort trying to make the game look good, or play good for that matter. This game is bad. I do not understand why Spyro was not put out of his misery instead of keeping Spyro on life support. And sadly, this is not the worst game of the Spyro series. Expand
  6. May 28, 2014
    4
    The only reason this game gets a 4 out of 10 is because of the hilarious glitches, It is clearly not a finished game although it had some potential to be an alright game if more time was spent on it.
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    3
    If you love the Spyro series and had great anticipation for the fourth instalment, then your will be extremely disappointed. For the first time our heroic little dragon comes to the PS2 and for a PS2 title we expect something massive, well that's what I think a next gen game should have if you want to improve it. Instead we get something that is unoriginal and could even have been done on the PS1 and without all its flaws. It starts off with Spyro and his friends celebrating the new arrival of dragonflies who will be each young dragon's new guardian. However Ripto (the main antagonist from Spyro 2 who somehow managed to survive the boiling lava, or that's the developers excuse for saving time by not creating a new villain) crashes the party and scatters all the dragonflies around the world. It's up to Spyro, his guardian dragonfly Sparx and friends to rescue the dragonflies and stop Ripto and his minions from foiling his plans. Gameplay is similar to the previous 3 games, Spyro can run around, charge, headbash, glide and breathe fire but there are some new moves. There are 4 new breath attacks, bubble, ice and bolt which you get when you find the sacred runes. Bubble breathe is used to catch the dragonflies but some are earned by completing tasks set by your friends. There are gems to collect once again which are scattered everywhere in each level and in chests or metal creates. That's pretty much it really, there is nothing in this game that is fresh or original and they got the same villain from the second Spyro game however that is only the minor issue. The real problem with this game is it suffers from too many flaws such as graphical glitches, inconsistent framerate, long loading times sound issues and sometimes freezes meaning you have no choice but to reset your console and start back from where you last saved your progress. According the sources this game was rushed in order to be released at Christmas time, if so then it is not all the developers fault but also the publishers. Had it not been for all the major issues I'd give this game a 6 or 7, however one bug is far too many. Quite simply this is not just the worst Spyro game but the worst game I have ever played in my years of gaming. Expand
  8. Feb 25, 2014
    3
    this game has got so many problems. its got so many glitches, its framerate is bad, its got sound issues, its short and the story is rubbish. its understandable why the game is like this, the developers were rushed to make it. its so sad because this game had so many opportunities to become great but one thing that I love about the game is the sound track it makes me feel at peace sometimes
  9. Apr 10, 2013
    1
    This game is abysmal. This game was a clear cash in on what Insomniac did right. There are far too many bugs and glitches in this game that it sometimes is unplayable. The loading screens are ridiculous. The game is mildly fun with keeping to its platform roots but by no mean is it a good game. Moneybags was shoved in there for only the start of the game then not reappearing again. The story is insipid with only a general opening cut scene then that is it. Ripto as a boss fight was laughable considering he is the only boss fight in the game.

    This unfinished game can go in the rubbish bin. 1/10 for at least sticking to its platforming roots.
    Stick to the PS1 games.
    Expand
  10. Jul 30, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have no clue what happened here i really don't but what did they do to one of the best platforming trilogies on the ps1.Poor poor poor spyro lets talk about why this is a bad game.I give this game a 1 not a zero because the graphics are quite good and the character models look ok when they are standing still in a cutscence but when there not they look horible and the opening looks horrible.Heres another reason why this game sucks the framrate is soooooooooooooooooooooooo choppy im serious when i say this the framerate was so bad this it damaged a kid for LIFE.No joke this happened heres another reason unlike theps1 games when the controlls work here they are painfully slopy a i fall of edges when i swore i made them:(.Then there are the loading screens the loading screens my god they are slow i made a sandwich and ate it durring the time it took for this to load and a loading screen can hault the progress of any game and when they are short they just pass along and you don't feel anything but with a long loading screen like this game it can hault the progress massivly.theres aloso money bags isn't that wonderful.The vocie acting the levels and mini games all suck. they story sucks.There are also massive glitches to which include spyro derping out and the level not actullaly loading so you get lost in a white limbo of whitness and its not pleasent actually scrach that IT SUCKS IT SUCKS. Theres also no ending yes these lazy developers have made me and many other suther through this trerible game and they couldn't give us a proper ending X0. Gameplay suthers because all of the glitches and the gameplay feels like a crappy version of spyro 3 with no other playable characters. Avoid this game like the plague please i beg you not to play this game 1 out of 10. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I am sorry, this is a bad game. Enter The Dragonfly isplagued by glitches, slow moving Spyro, unresponsive controls, and a bad storyline. I always loved Ripto, but his return deserves so much better than this. Don't play this. It may be part of the canon, but I still wouldn't recommend it to any fan. If you want the only good non-Insomniac Spyro game, go play A Hero's Tail. That is the only good one outside of the original 3. Expand
  12. Nov 22, 2012
    0
    This is one of the worst games I have ever played with Superman 64 and Sonic Genesis. This game is basically incomplete. The frame rate, story, game play, and voice acting is terrible. The graphics are decent for 2002 but that's it. NEVER PLAY THIS GAME!
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. There really isn’t anything that separates it from other Spyro games. Actually in a lot of ways the PS1 games are much more enjoyable and original.
  2. The graphics are nothing to be proud of, as they seem very similar to what we were presented with on the PS one not too long ago, and nothing in terms of the gameplay or style has changed a bit or improved upon in any way shape or form.
  3. Simply a decent been-there-done-that platformer. [Jan 2003, p.40]