SSX 3 PlayStation 2

SSX 3 Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Embark on the ultimate adventure and conquer the mountain with SSX 3. Life begins at the summit where a wide-open mountain awaits you -- board it, explore it, and beat it. Featuring all-new freestyle events and race courses, jaw-dropping tricks, and a cast of cool, customizable characters,Embark on the ultimate adventure and conquer the mountain with SSX 3. Life begins at the summit where a wide-open mountain awaits you -- board it, explore it, and beat it. Featuring all-new freestyle events and race courses, jaw-dropping tricks, and a cast of cool, customizable characters, SSX 3 is yours to conquer. Redefine the boundaries what you do and what you earn, and go anywhere gravity takes you with SSX 3! [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. SSX 3 offers an experience like no other, a rush that just can't be matched.
  2. 100
    This third game in the snowboarding series features a complete overhaul, dropping the whole race-circuit idea and taking a more open-ended, Grand Theft Auto–like approach to snowboard competition. [Grade = A+]
  3. PSM Magazine
    100
    A whole lotta game. And trust us: earning 100% completion (and thus "owning" the mountain) is one of the most rewarding feelings in modern gaming history. [Dec 2003, p.36]
  4. Extremely fun. The gameplay is as good as snowboarding games come.
  5. The snow effects are unrivaled, the framerate is consistently high and the colors are vibrant. Add to that great animations (particularly during tricks) and an intense sense of speed, and you wind up with one of those rare games that can be as much fun to watch as to play.
  6. Just buy the sodding game - it's one of the best of the year.
  7. games(TM)
    70
    Given the constraints of the sport, SSX 3 does a great job of keeping the game as open as possible. If nothing else, the SSX series represents something of a benchmark for snowboarding games, a trend that continues with this instalment. No one title of this generation can claim obvious superiority. [Dec 2003, p.102]

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. SibhiR.
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    Simply amazing.
  2. MikeJ.
    Oct 25, 2003
    10
    WOW this game is good!!! It's really really good. The music Rocks the controls are smooth, and it's in a more real life format than WOW this game is good!!! It's really really good. The music Rocks the controls are smooth, and it's in a more real life format than the other two games. Basically it's split up into 3 peaks, the 1st is where you start and you can just free ride down the mountain or you could do the race, the "slopestyle" (a.ka. the trick session), big air, which is just huge jumps, and super pipe which is just a halfpipe on caffeine. Even if you are not a snowboarding/sports fan you'll LOVE this game. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    The best extreme sports game in video game history!!!!! Also, the game is very good because of the uber tricks and the best arenas to play inThe best extreme sports game in video game history!!!!! Also, the game is very good because of the uber tricks and the best arenas to play in and all of the characters are awesome. Expand
  4. BretP.
    Nov 25, 2003
    10
    Superior to SSX:Tricky in all ways, love this game. I can't believe I am saying this but I kinda miss the 'tricky' song from Superior to SSX:Tricky in all ways, love this game. I can't believe I am saying this but I kinda miss the 'tricky' song from the last game though. Expand
  5. Adam
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    I gave this game a 10 because i like computers.
  6. Jun 8, 2015
    10
    Still one of my all time favorite games. I used to waste countless hours on this as a kid, and was constantly entertained. I decided to pickStill one of my all time favorite games. I used to waste countless hours on this as a kid, and was constantly entertained. I decided to pick it up again, and even 12 years after its release it still holds up. It still is a ton of fun, and I still get a rush from getting massive scores on the half-pipes. Love this game. We need another sequel soon. Expand
  7. Jeremy
    Nov 2, 2003
    7
    Okay, but could really have done more to live up to the "conquer the mountain" exploration-type theme. Too many "out of bounds"! Should be Okay, but could really have done more to live up to the "conquer the mountain" exploration-type theme. Too many "out of bounds"! Should be more like GTA's Liberty & Vice Cities: full mountain to explore; day-night cycle; variable weather; other snowboarders/skiiers; some kind of assistance for those new to the series (very different to the THPS way of doing tricks). Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#32 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003