SSX On Tour PlayStation 2

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HockeyStar
    Nov 27, 2006
    7
    This game is good the "Try To Be Number One On The Charts"is kinda cheesey and the gameplay is fun but there prettymuch is only 2 traks that i like and it isint very realistic with the monster tricks and the giant air but ssx 3 isn't alot more realistic. It is a good game to buy but before you buy it make sure to look up the other options on the internet first.
  2. SteveOMcBeavO
    Oct 20, 2005
    7
    While this is not the best of the SSX Series. It is still a very fun game to play. I really like the create a character mode. It gives me more of a sense of individuality when I play the game. I just wish that the way you advanced your creation was more involved than just buying new expensive boards to gain better attributes. It also sucks that you have to buy new tricks. It wouldn't While this is not the best of the SSX Series. It is still a very fun game to play. I really like the create a character mode. It gives me more of a sense of individuality when I play the game. I just wish that the way you advanced your creation was more involved than just buying new expensive boards to gain better attributes. It also sucks that you have to buy new tricks. It wouldn't be so bad if money was doled out a bit more liberally, but it is still fun and challenging moving up the ranks from the bottom. I will have to place my self in the haters category when it comes to the "Art Design" of SSX on Tour. It is obnoxious. I am not a fan of the whole indie wave, regurgitated emulated 80's Emo crap. It is not what I consider cool or fresh. It's about as fresh a concept as Chicken Nuggets. It makes me wish I still had my xbox so I could load my own play lists. Anyway. I stil think that SSX on Tour is a fun game and if you don't have any other SSX titles or you are like me and have absolutly worn SSX 3 into the dirt and you need a change of pace then I would recomend getting this game and taking the good with the bad. It is still SSX which kicks ass. Collapse
  3. JasonH.
    Oct 19, 2005
    8
    A solid addition to the family. If you have any connection to the 'real' world of snowboarding, you'll recognize that the graphics and boards are ripped right from the hottest 2005/6 trends. Maybe a bit gimmicky to those who just want to max out, level out, and trick out - but for a casual dose of fun it can't be beat. I think Tricky might still be my favorite, but A solid addition to the family. If you have any connection to the 'real' world of snowboarding, you'll recognize that the graphics and boards are ripped right from the hottest 2005/6 trends. Maybe a bit gimmicky to those who just want to max out, level out, and trick out - but for a casual dose of fun it can't be beat. I think Tricky might still be my favorite, but Tour will give you all you need until PS3 comes to town. Expand
  4. Mat
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    The best so far... apart from the way you get attributes. If you only buy 3 games this year.. make them SSX on tour, Burnout Revenge and Star Wars Battlefronts 2
  5. EduardoP.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Awesome, sweet, BIG.
  6. XavierE.
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    Monster!!! is the word for this game
  7. JimmyO.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Awesome on every level. Stunning art!
  8. MarkL.
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    A lot of times it seems like games get critiqued based on the level of innovation or whether or not it introduces something new that's never been seen before. SSX on Tour is every bit as good a game as SSX 3, but I guess because it isn't a next-gen sequel, it fails to get the high marks that previous entries got. Regardless of what anyone says, On Tour provides an action A lot of times it seems like games get critiqued based on the level of innovation or whether or not it introduces something new that's never been seen before. SSX on Tour is every bit as good a game as SSX 3, but I guess because it isn't a next-gen sequel, it fails to get the high marks that previous entries got. Regardless of what anyone says, On Tour provides an action experience that other games don't have. On Tour isn't a huge step up from SSX 3, but it offers some new tracks and the blur effect when you're using boost adds to the feeling of speed. Anthony V., the fact that you're biggest criticism of the game is its "art direction" is pretty telling. I think it's fine, it just adds some personality to what's already a really polished game. There might be less "character development" (you mean there was character development in the previous installments?), but c'mon, everyone knows that the real star of the game is the mountain. I do miss playing as the individual characters in career mode (like in SSX 3), and it was nice to have the character voices. And the addition of skiing doesn't do anything for me at all. The graphics are clearly current-gen, but I can live with it, it's about how the game makes you feel, not how good the graphics are. But one thing I like about this game is that so many games out there might involve violence or have a negative skew (which I don't have a problem with), but it's nice to see a game that you wouldn't have a problem letting your kids play or is about something positive. Not to mention it's one of the most fun video game experiences out there. Inevitably they'll come out with a next-gen SSX game and I'm sure that one'll get all the high marks that this one didn't. Expand
  9. AnthonyV.
    Oct 15, 2005
    3
    SSX is dead. In spite of the addition of skiiers with snowboarders, there is little else in the way of innovation. The fantastic music of the previous three games was replaced by flavor-of-the-week emo crap. The aging PS2 hardware is pushed to its limits resulting in framerate hitches and choppy gameplay. And the art direction in this game is quite possibly the WORST of any videogame in SSX is dead. In spite of the addition of skiiers with snowboarders, there is little else in the way of innovation. The fantastic music of the previous three games was replaced by flavor-of-the-week emo crap. The aging PS2 hardware is pushed to its limits resulting in framerate hitches and choppy gameplay. And the art direction in this game is quite possibly the WORST of any videogame in history - so bad in fact that it distracts from the game itself. It's not "funky," it's not "fresh," and it's not fun; it's distracting, embarassing, and annoying, and can only be explained as a failed attempt to move away from the more rigid design choices used in the earlier games, which were just fine, frankly. I don't know how much EA paid these critics to laud this game as heavily as they did, but the Tony-Hawk-ized "you can be a rock star!" motif of SSX game is a dealbreaker and the mechanics of the gameplay itself aren't strong enough to overcome its awful aesthetics. SSX On Tour is lame, it's embarassing, and it's annoying. Do yourself a favor and stick with SSX 3. You're giving up the ability to play as a skiier and have occasional "out of bounds" warnings (get over it and learn the terrain!!!) but you're also giving up having to look at cringe-worthy notebook doodles of guitar-playing unicorns and jittery winged dollar-signs. Expand
  10. Drsatan
    Oct 13, 2005
    1
    Same as SSX 1,2, and 3, but now with ski's ! Lacks any character development, brings nothing new to the genre. Career mode is nothing more then a dumb-downed rip-off of Tony Hawk's. Includes a horrible soundtrack, even worse SFX, horrendous artwork, and breaks almost ever rule of design knowen. spend your money on a few elastics and a hair clip, guaranteed more fun.
  11. BenM.
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    SWEET!
  12. LeroyJ.
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    AWESOME!!! Burnout on snowboards/skis.

Awards & Rankings

#86 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#42 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. 88
    A challenging racer that will rock your world, hopefully the next game in the series will add as much substance as this one added in style.
  2. This is an incredibly slick package, and not just on the surface, either. On Tour tightens up a lot of the underlying course designs and gameplay mechanics, and it quickens the pace without betraying the fundamentals of SSX.
  3. It's one of those long-term compelling games, perfect for digging in and ranking up, practicing competitively, or just relaxing and letting gravity do its thing. It is as once a sport, a pastime, and one of the finest games you can enjoy at your own pace.