Star Wars: Battlefront II PlayStation 2

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 269
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2017
    9
    As good as Battlefront I was, Battlefront II significantly upgraded and eliminated most of the flaws from the first and added various features, especially Jedi battles. Fantastic sequel.
  2. Nov 28, 2016
    9
    In my opinion, Star Wars: Battlefront II was one of the 6th generations best shooters. The first Battlefront was very good but this game only takes that experience and make it even better. Improved mechanics, interesting campaign story, epic Galactic Conquest, fun instant action, playable heroes and villains, good number of and nicely designed maps. This game is definitely better then theIn my opinion, Star Wars: Battlefront II was one of the 6th generations best shooters. The first Battlefront was very good but this game only takes that experience and make it even better. Improved mechanics, interesting campaign story, epic Galactic Conquest, fun instant action, playable heroes and villains, good number of and nicely designed maps. This game is definitely better then the 2015 reboot by miles. This game is a must have for Star Wars fans and well as fans of shooters. Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2016
    8
    Not as good as the first one, never the less, the force is strong with this one. Heroes become playable characters and may be used in the battlefield for a limited time.The game includes a plethora of great maps, including the movie locations from Episode III. The space battles are a little chaotic and the player will need some practice to get used to them.
  4. Oct 23, 2016
    10
    mmmm por donde puedo comenzar no se la verdad , en 2009 me regalaron la ps2, con el tiempo un familiar mio me paso este juego (pero pirata XD) lo puse en la consola y la pantalla de inicio con la música clásica de star wars . pero al principio pensaba que me iba a encontrar con una mie de juego aunque no fue así , mi primera partida fue algo pésima a mi corta edad no sabia que era un fpsmmmm por donde puedo comenzar no se la verdad , en 2009 me regalaron la ps2, con el tiempo un familiar mio me paso este juego (pero pirata XD) lo puse en la consola y la pantalla de inicio con la música clásica de star wars . pero al principio pensaba que me iba a encontrar con una mie de juego aunque no fue así , mi primera partida fue algo pésima a mi corta edad no sabia que era un fps ( que todos sabemos es un juego de disparos) ese dia fue especial ya que jugue toda la tarde mi primer vicio frente a un televisor . al pasar los días me metí al modo "conquista galáctica" muy sencillo de comprender como funcionaba las clases se desbloqueaban al tener mas dinero , varios beneficios que se podían comprar como sabotaje , también las naves nodrizas , me pase ese modo muchas veces con las 4 facciones que todos conocen . una de las cosas que mas me llamaban la atención era el modo de las batallas espaciales de los cruceros estelares . usar las naves es algo fantástico . sus controles no son del otro mundo de complejo las naves se manejan de forma fluida y cuando combates con otra nave parece una verdadera danza . cada nave tiene algo único, unas mas rápidas que otras , mas poderosas y resistentes etc. existe un mapa que puedes jugar como heruoe o villano , según mi opinión de este mapa fue la mejor idea que se les pudo ocurrir pero lo único malo que en este mapa los herues siempre ganan XD , una ves use a dark maul y solamente usando a el pude ganar jajjaa. un modo campaña excepcional la historia de la 501 una verdadera maravilla con todos sus eventos únicos . aunque habían
    etapas de la historia que era casi imposible pasar , pero con paciencia se podía pasar . tiene muchos mapas y variados aunque el favorito de todos seria hot ( mi opinión del mejor mapa) . al pasar el año al jugarlo tuve que usar lentes jejejej por mi vicio . otros puntos positivos de este juego son las diversas clases , unidades especiales ( que son las mas poderosas creo que tienen menos vida que le mismo francotirador) . los vehículos muy bn echos los gráficos buenisimos mucho mas logrados que su primera entrega la música clásica del juego en ps2 modo cooperativo muy bn logrado . excelentes mapas . un punto negativo que los cruceros no se mueven están intactos. que mas decir de esta obra maestra de los videojuegos , mi memory car de 8mg se lleno de saves de solo ese juego . para los creadores del juego les doy gracias por darme una excelente infancia :3
    Expand
  5. May 30, 2016
    10
    If you're a Star Wars fan with a PS2 and don't have this game, shame on you. This is an amazing port of the best Star Wars video game of all time. I have been playing this port specifically for the past 11 years, and I have to say, it still holds up well today as fun as it was when it came out. Infact, this game is superior to the 2015 reboot in almost every way(except graphics and sound).If you're a Star Wars fan with a PS2 and don't have this game, shame on you. This is an amazing port of the best Star Wars video game of all time. I have been playing this port specifically for the past 11 years, and I have to say, it still holds up well today as fun as it was when it came out. Infact, this game is superior to the 2015 reboot in almost every way(except graphics and sound). Fantastic game for a fantastic console. I would give it an 11 if I could. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2016
    10
    The last good Battlefront game before EA got the license for Star Wars. Let's list a couple of things that makes this superior over EA's sh*tty unbalanced content lacking version.

    - Prequel content - Singleplayer story - Offline battles vs bots - Galactic Conquest - Classes - Space Battles - Over 20 Heroes & Villains - More maps and planets - No overpriced Season Pass - No
    The last good Battlefront game before EA got the license for Star Wars. Let's list a couple of things that makes this superior over EA's sh*tty unbalanced content lacking version.

    - Prequel content
    - Singleplayer story
    - Offline battles vs bots
    - Galactic Conquest
    - Classes
    - Space Battles
    - Over 20 Heroes & Villains
    - More maps and planets
    - No overpriced Season Pass
    - No Season Pass
    - Not published by EA
    - Not charging us for content that should have been in the game when it launched

    I can seriously go on and on. The only thing this game is missing is mutliplayer. Which you can still play by playing the PC version. Just go out and get this game instead of EA's "reboot" version.
    Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2016
    10
    Played it recently and my god it holds up well today. Playing on mustafar with Anakin with the original score in the background is still as dramatic as 8 years ago. The map design is crazy good and there are loads of maps. The amount of content in this games kills games today.
  8. J0e
    Jan 16, 2016
    10
    It is a great game and a must have for star wars fans and Is fun even for non star wars fans I have one little problem and that is on the front cover you can see kit fisto in the back left but he is not a playable character and should have more playable characters from the movie like saeese tiin and commander Cody. Overall it is a great game and is fun for star wars fans and non star wars fans.
  9. Dec 3, 2015
    10
    Thanks to EA & Dice ripping me off for $110 bucks I decided to review BF2 because I never did..

    --Str8^ 10... -co op--THE SPACE COMBAT dominated because you could land in you're enemies capital ship and PWN them....I miss this.... Thanks EA! I will never ever EVER buy a Ea or Dice game again in pre order form....ill wait till its proven to be worth my money,,,,disgusting what they
    Thanks to EA & Dice ripping me off for $110 bucks I decided to review BF2 because I never did..

    --Str8^ 10...

    -co op--THE SPACE COMBAT dominated because you could land in you're enemies capital ship and PWN them....I miss this....

    Thanks EA! I will never ever EVER buy a Ea or Dice game again in pre order form....ill wait till its proven to be worth my money,,,,disgusting what they did.......

    Who else feels EA & Battlefront actually make Me feel like we got ALOOOOT more then we realized with DESTINY..I know WE all fealt like Destiny and Activision screwed us but nothing compared to EA's battlefront...
    Expand
  10. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    10 years later still my favorite game of all time. Destroys the new battlefront from EA, and it isn't even close. Maybe it set the bar too high? Who knows. I played this game endlessly. I was in freaking medical school at the time, and I'd rush home from rotations just to play. Hell, I chose the easiest rotations my fourth year so I'd have more play time. LOL Never got tired of it. Only10 years later still my favorite game of all time. Destroys the new battlefront from EA, and it isn't even close. Maybe it set the bar too high? Who knows. I played this game endlessly. I was in freaking medical school at the time, and I'd rush home from rotations just to play. Hell, I chose the easiest rotations my fourth year so I'd have more play time. LOL Never got tired of it. Only reason I stopped was because I started residency and simply didn't have any more available time to play. Truly a once-in-a-lifetime game. The game, the community...unparalleled gaming experience. Expand
  11. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    MELHOR FPS MULTIPLAYER DA HISTORIA. JESUS COMO EU AMO EsseE JOGO. FEZ MINHA INFANCIA. DICE NUNCA VAI CONSEGUIR REPETIR ESSE FEITO. LUCASARTS VAMO CASA
  12. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    This game was the definition of my childhood. It was truly one of the best, if not the best, games for the Playstation 2. Will the new 2015 game live up to it's predecessor? Who knows, but there's one thing we do know, it's Star Wars and it's awesome!
  13. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    Probably one of the best games I have ever played! 10 years this game has been out and I am still having so much fun playing it now. I am a massive fan of Star Wars games, especially the past and the present Battlefront games.
  14. Mar 28, 2015
    9
    Star Wars: Battlefront II takes everything that the first Battlefront game set up and knocks it out of the park. Addictive, death match style gameplay is what's on the menu with Battlefront II, as you choose a side and battle it out over expansive environments in the Star Wars universe, including Hoth, the Daggobbah System, Naboo, the Death Star, and more. The many modes include squadStar Wars: Battlefront II takes everything that the first Battlefront game set up and knocks it out of the park. Addictive, death match style gameplay is what's on the menu with Battlefront II, as you choose a side and battle it out over expansive environments in the Star Wars universe, including Hoth, the Daggobbah System, Naboo, the Death Star, and more. The many modes include squad based battles and space combat, as well as goal-oriented missions and more besides. After completing certain objectives during a mission, you'll be able to play as classic Star Wars characters like Luke, Obi-Wan, Darth Vader, Yoda, and more besides. What really makes Battlefront II all the more fun is the online multiplayer and deathmatch features, which are reason enough to pick up Battlefront II. The game looks great and the controls are tight, while the game as a whole wonderfully captures the feel and tone of the Star Wars universe. All in all, Battlefront II is still worth owning for any and every gamer who likes deathmatch style gameplay, and for Star Wars fans, picking this up is a no-brainer. Expand
  15. Feb 23, 2015
    8
    I loved this game but I wish there were more players on each team like 50v50 and I wish that the AT-AT wasn't so overpowered, I wouldn't die for an entire match when I was on that thing.
  16. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    This is a game I would call perfect. It's not the fact that I can't find anything wrong with it, it's the fact that I can't find anything it could have done better. Just sublime. Buy it on whatever platform you want, it's perfect on all of them. 10 out of 10.
  17. Aug 18, 2014
    8
    This is the best Star Wars game ever made no doubt that. If you played the first one imagine that but better. The combat feels great and fluent as an infantry, jedi, tank, speeder or as an starfighter too. And there's the famous instant action mode with spilt-screen co-op and online compability too. The graphic quality is not the best the Xbox Classic and the PC (modding all the way)This is the best Star Wars game ever made no doubt that. If you played the first one imagine that but better. The combat feels great and fluent as an infantry, jedi, tank, speeder or as an starfighter too. And there's the famous instant action mode with spilt-screen co-op and online compability too. The graphic quality is not the best the Xbox Classic and the PC (modding all the way) version of the game looks much better. But if you still have a PS2 pick up the game a must have. Expand
  18. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. The best mode you can do is Assault on Mos Eisley in instant action. Its a full out jedi battle in mos eisley that's very addicting. There's plenty of story (Rise of Empire), then theres a startegy type game where you have to take control of every planet (Galactic Conquest) and then Instant Action is where you can make your own customized playlist ofOne of my favorite games of all time. The best mode you can do is Assault on Mos Eisley in instant action. Its a full out jedi battle in mos eisley that's very addicting. There's plenty of story (Rise of Empire), then theres a startegy type game where you have to take control of every planet (Galactic Conquest) and then Instant Action is where you can make your own customized playlist of arenas and army you fight as. There are plenty of solider classes, awesome space fights, and cool vehicles to pilot. If you have ps2 and not this game you should look out for it Expand
  19. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    Wow! This game just shows that you don't need a £400 next-gen console to be able to play a brilliant game such as this one. This is a must have for Star Wars nerds such as myself.
  20. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    This game is incredible just like the first, your able to play in 1st or 3rd person, I only do 1st person whenever I play alone since whenever you do splitscreen it wouldn't show your gun which feels weird. The multiplayer I wouldn't do since It's laggy (for my case) like the enemies would feel like they take more shots to kill, and you'll mostly just see everyone just using explosivesThis game is incredible just like the first, your able to play in 1st or 3rd person, I only do 1st person whenever I play alone since whenever you do splitscreen it wouldn't show your gun which feels weird. The multiplayer I wouldn't do since It's laggy (for my case) like the enemies would feel like they take more shots to kill, and you'll mostly just see everyone just using explosives only such as rocket launchers, mines and so on. Overall the game has great replay value, a fun galactic conquest, awesome perks for getting those medals on legendary (I think that's what it's called), so many game modes and maps (My favorite is Jabba's Palace, my dad's is Polis Massa (droids don't die when in space!), and so much more! Hope the next Battlefront is just as good! Expand
  21. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    One of the greatest Star Wars games..Intense land and space battles. Playing as a Jedi, Sith, Bounty hunter... is awesome. Single-player campaign and other modes are interesting. Lots of maps and modes. Any Star Wars fan will have a blast with this game!
  22. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    My real score for this game is 9.8 but since its so close to 10 I'll just give it. Hands down the best game I have played so far, with the exception of semi-easy gameplay, most of the hunt modes being unfair, and some maps I didn't like it's perfect.
  23. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This game has to be one of the best and original games I've ever played, absolute classic, awesome gameplay, pretty good graphics and optimization for such an old game, I really couldn't get enough of this game when I was young, this game really was my childhood.
  24. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    It should be a federal crime to give this game anything below a 10. You may call me a nostalgia critic, but the replayability value is seemingly infinite. I can't stop playing it. I am purchasing the most expensive limited edition of DICE's reboot which is coming in Summer 2015 directly at midnight. This is, by no doubt, the best Star Wars game ever made, and definitely in my top 5 bestIt should be a federal crime to give this game anything below a 10. You may call me a nostalgia critic, but the replayability value is seemingly infinite. I can't stop playing it. I am purchasing the most expensive limited edition of DICE's reboot which is coming in Summer 2015 directly at midnight. This is, by no doubt, the best Star Wars game ever made, and definitely in my top 5 best games ever made. Expand
  25. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    A perfect, timeless Star Wars classic that never grows old or ever loses its fun. SWBFII has been and might always will be my favorite game of all time!
  26. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Star Wars: Battlefront II is its predecessor, but even more! The game is easy to pick up and play and the replayability is through the roof! I occasionally put this title in when I'm looking for a good time and it always delivers. Although, there were some minor details I could not overlook, such as: mediocre graphics, lack of much variety, horrible voice acting, and easy gameplay overall.Star Wars: Battlefront II is its predecessor, but even more! The game is easy to pick up and play and the replayability is through the roof! I occasionally put this title in when I'm looking for a good time and it always delivers. Although, there were some minor details I could not overlook, such as: mediocre graphics, lack of much variety, horrible voice acting, and easy gameplay overall. I never really lost too many battles, unless me or my comrades were being careless. That is really every negative thing I can think about it. It and its predecessor are truly must-have games! I have enjoyed this and will continue to because of its amazing gameplay and who can resist playing as Darth Maul blowing everyone anyway, right? What I really found a lot of fun was the assault mode on Mos Eisley where the villains are pitted against the heroes. I'm surprised how hard it is to find, but it is the game's best kept secret! I would really love to see a Star Wars: Battlefront III, but it got canceled, very sadly. As of now, however, DICE is developing a reboot which is really exciting, but I don't intend on getting the expensive next-gen consoles which it is exclusive to, so maybe I should reconsider them. I would absolutely pre-order it had it been made for Xbox 360, especially if it included more game modes and better online connection. Overall, anyone with an Xbox, PC, or PS2 really must have this title, even if they are not interested in Star Wars. Expand
  27. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Such an underrated game on this website, everyone who has played this game always remembers it fondly because even today it is still an awesome game to get some friend together and play
  28. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Quite simply put. Star Wars: Battlefront II is the greatest Star Wars games of all time and quite possibly one of the greatest games of all time. I still play the game to this very day and thank the lord that this game is on Steam. The gameplays great, presentation is great and everything else about it is...great! In my opinion the game is perfect and if you haven't played it then you mustQuite simply put. Star Wars: Battlefront II is the greatest Star Wars games of all time and quite possibly one of the greatest games of all time. I still play the game to this very day and thank the lord that this game is on Steam. The gameplays great, presentation is great and everything else about it is...great! In my opinion the game is perfect and if you haven't played it then you must be living under a rock! You can buy this game for a steal now days on any platform. I'll keep on playing this until the day arrives when they finally announce Star Wars: Battlefront III...Ahhh a man can dream. Expand
  29. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    this is best game I've ever played i can't tel u how good this game is it strategy , action , adventure . but if you are looking for a good graphic game this not the one , but otherwise it is excellent .
  30. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    In some way's this feels worse than number one, but you can change the game to give number ones charms back, so lets bare that in mind. Star wars battlefront II is my favourite game of all time. If you look at my homepage you will see i'm hard guy to impress. This game fix's all of the firsts little issues such as the single player, oh the single player. Its actually brilliant, number oneIn some way's this feels worse than number one, but you can change the game to give number ones charms back, so lets bare that in mind. Star wars battlefront II is my favourite game of all time. If you look at my homepage you will see i'm hard guy to impress. This game fix's all of the firsts little issues such as the single player, oh the single player. Its actually brilliant, number one was only amazing in instant action and split-screen, but this is **** great. It covers all your favourite film moments and more. If you hate the 3rd person view, change to first-person as its equally amazing seeing all the gun in action. Galactic conquest has been refined and improved for a truly grand experience. But then you change to instant action, with either a friend or not, and... pure perfection. Battle's are hosted on the favourite planets and little touches as the actual life forms which live there trying to kill everyone is epic. You also can play as specific creatures such as the the terrific wampa and other legends. Have no doubt, this is epic. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#13 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    Space battles can be overwhelming at first, but once you get used to them, it's pretty amazing. [Dec 2005, p.82]
  2. The signature piece of Battlefront II is the ship-to-ship combat... This element makes Battlefront II feel much more like the complete Star Wars experience. [Dec 2005, p.108]
  3. 80
    It captures the thrills of the original, and spices up a few areas while adding some new things. Unfortunately, space battles drag down the total package; but at least it's trying something different.