User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 292
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 4, 2005
    8
    This is one of the single greatest games ever, just like its predicessor. Although it is, yes, graphicly inferior to SWBF1, it has its own shining places of glory. Space fights, Jedi, Objectives, its all great. Its just that, space battles aren't that great. It takes way too long just to gte from one cruiser to another, and its really, really, hard to shoot down another ship. It can This is one of the single greatest games ever, just like its predicessor. Although it is, yes, graphicly inferior to SWBF1, it has its own shining places of glory. Space fights, Jedi, Objectives, its all great. Its just that, space battles aren't that great. It takes way too long just to gte from one cruiser to another, and its really, really, hard to shoot down another ship. It can be one of the most enjoyable parts of the game, if you do it with a buddy. The Jedi.... where can i start? If you want a game where you can live through an entire level as a jed, go play Revenge of the Sith. I got killed by pilots( now called engineers) countless times. Of course, it is very rewarding when you get to slaughter clones, rebels, ewoks and everything inbetween. Why an 8? 1) The space battles are very frusterating. 2) Average graphics. 3) Lack of new additions. But the rise of The Empire mode is sooooo cool. THe Jedi Temple level is pretty hard, but rewarding. Expand
  2. DermotR.
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    The force is very strong in this one. Good work lucas arts.
  3. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    Even better than the first. Battlefront 2 has space battles, you can play as jedi's, and lots of vehichles. It was by far one of the better games of the PS2 it had a great multiplayer weather you had an internet connection or not. I played this game for 3 years until i got my 360 unfortunately mine did break so seeing no other games worth playing on the PS2 i traded mine in. The PS2 was aEven better than the first. Battlefront 2 has space battles, you can play as jedi's, and lots of vehichles. It was by far one of the better games of the PS2 it had a great multiplayer weather you had an internet connection or not. I played this game for 3 years until i got my 360 unfortunately mine did break so seeing no other games worth playing on the PS2 i traded mine in. The PS2 was a great system much better then the PS3 and maybe the xbox 360. If battlefront comes out with a new game for the PS3 i might consider getting it, but for now i much rather prefer my 360 with halo, and my favorite gaming controler. But i would consider buying a PS3 for battlefront 3. I give it a 9 out of 10 Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Star Wars: Battlefront II is its predecessor, but even more! The game is easy to pick up and play and the replayability is through the roof! I occasionally put this title in when I'm looking for a good time and it always delivers. Although, there were some minor details I could not overlook, such as: mediocre graphics, lack of much variety, horrible voice acting, and easy gameplay overall.Star Wars: Battlefront II is its predecessor, but even more! The game is easy to pick up and play and the replayability is through the roof! I occasionally put this title in when I'm looking for a good time and it always delivers. Although, there were some minor details I could not overlook, such as: mediocre graphics, lack of much variety, horrible voice acting, and easy gameplay overall. I never really lost too many battles, unless me or my comrades were being careless. That is really every negative thing I can think about it. It and its predecessor are truly must-have games! I have enjoyed this and will continue to because of its amazing gameplay and who can resist playing as Darth Maul blowing everyone anyway, right? What I really found a lot of fun was the assault mode on Mos Eisley where the villains are pitted against the heroes. I'm surprised how hard it is to find, but it is the game's best kept secret! I would really love to see a Star Wars: Battlefront III, but it got canceled, very sadly. As of now, however, DICE is developing a reboot which is really exciting, but I don't intend on getting the expensive next-gen consoles which it is exclusive to, so maybe I should reconsider them. I would absolutely pre-order it had it been made for Xbox 360, especially if it included more game modes and better online connection. Overall, anyone with an Xbox, PC, or PS2 really must have this title, even if they are not interested in Star Wars. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    this is an amazing game and i have had it since the day it came out which was almost 6 years ago and i still play it to this day because it is so good. this game is so much better than the original with the ability to run and being able to play as a jedi instead of having an invincible one that you cant play as and they also added space battles which i was never any good at but again ithis is an amazing game and i have had it since the day it came out which was almost 6 years ago and i still play it to this day because it is so good. this game is so much better than the original with the ability to run and being able to play as a jedi instead of having an invincible one that you cant play as and they also added space battles which i was never any good at but again i never flew around in the one before it. this game does not have a very long story but the story is just the begining when it comes to the replay value on this game you can play instant action on any map you want and have a small battle with a small amout of troops or have a full scale battle that will last about 30 mins with almost 1000 troops that need to be killed. there is also galactic conquest which you can be any of the factions that you want and you must conquer the galaxy and you must purchase each unit and power up with the credits you win from battles and each has thier own cinimatic ending once you own and conquer all the planets. there is even a mode where you can play as good V.S evil and have the good heroes face off against the evil villains in a fight to the death and as if that wasnt enough the game rewards you for being good at it with special upgraded weapons and power ups that eventually become permanent with enough experiance. everything about this game is amazing and is a must buy especially now that you can pick this game up at an EB Games for under $5 so what are you waiting for go out and get it asap Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This game has to be one of the best and original games I've ever played, absolute classic, awesome gameplay, pretty good graphics and optimization for such an old game, I really couldn't get enough of this game when I was young, this game really was my childhood.
  7. May 19, 2012
    9
    The best Star Wars game I have ever played. There is nice mode which allows for strategic conquest of certain parts of the galaxy in different eras, which in itself is fantastic.
  8. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    This game is incredible just like the first, your able to play in 1st or 3rd person, I only do 1st person whenever I play alone since whenever you do splitscreen it wouldn't show your gun which feels weird. The multiplayer I wouldn't do since It's laggy (for my case) like the enemies would feel like they take more shots to kill, and you'll mostly just see everyone just using explosivesThis game is incredible just like the first, your able to play in 1st or 3rd person, I only do 1st person whenever I play alone since whenever you do splitscreen it wouldn't show your gun which feels weird. The multiplayer I wouldn't do since It's laggy (for my case) like the enemies would feel like they take more shots to kill, and you'll mostly just see everyone just using explosives only such as rocket launchers, mines and so on. Overall the game has great replay value, a fun galactic conquest, awesome perks for getting those medals on legendary (I think that's what it's called), so many game modes and maps (My favorite is Jabba's Palace, my dad's is Polis Massa (droids don't die when in space!), and so much more! Hope the next Battlefront is just as good! Expand
  9. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    My real score for this game is 9.8 but since its so close to 10 I'll just give it. Hands down the best game I have played so far, with the exception of semi-easy gameplay, most of the hunt modes being unfair, and some maps I didn't like it's perfect.
  10. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    It should be a federal crime to give this game anything below a 10. You may call me a nostalgia critic, but the replayability value is seemingly infinite. I can't stop playing it. I am purchasing the most expensive limited edition of DICE's reboot which is coming in Summer 2015 directly at midnight. This is, by no doubt, the best Star Wars game ever made, and definitely in my top 5 bestIt should be a federal crime to give this game anything below a 10. You may call me a nostalgia critic, but the replayability value is seemingly infinite. I can't stop playing it. I am purchasing the most expensive limited edition of DICE's reboot which is coming in Summer 2015 directly at midnight. This is, by no doubt, the best Star Wars game ever made, and definitely in my top 5 best games ever made. Expand
  11. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    This is a game I would call perfect. It's not the fact that I can't find anything wrong with it, it's the fact that I can't find anything it could have done better. Just sublime. Buy it on whatever platform you want, it's perfect on all of them. 10 out of 10.
  12. Aug 18, 2014
    8
    This is the best Star Wars game ever made no doubt that. If you played the first one imagine that but better. The combat feels great and fluent as an infantry, jedi, tank, speeder or as an starfighter too. And there's the famous instant action mode with spilt-screen co-op and online compability too. The graphic quality is not the best the Xbox Classic and the PC (modding all the way)This is the best Star Wars game ever made no doubt that. If you played the first one imagine that but better. The combat feels great and fluent as an infantry, jedi, tank, speeder or as an starfighter too. And there's the famous instant action mode with spilt-screen co-op and online compability too. The graphic quality is not the best the Xbox Classic and the PC (modding all the way) version of the game looks much better. But if you still have a PS2 pick up the game a must have. Expand
  13. Apr 26, 2016
    10
    The last good Battlefront game before EA got the license for Star Wars. Let's list a couple of things that makes this superior over EA's sh*tty unbalanced content lacking version.

    - Prequel content - Singleplayer story - Offline battles vs bots - Galactic Conquest - Classes - Space Battles - Over 20 Heroes & Villains - More maps and planets - No overpriced Season Pass - No
    The last good Battlefront game before EA got the license for Star Wars. Let's list a couple of things that makes this superior over EA's sh*tty unbalanced content lacking version.

    - Prequel content
    - Singleplayer story
    - Offline battles vs bots
    - Galactic Conquest
    - Classes
    - Space Battles
    - Over 20 Heroes & Villains
    - More maps and planets
    - No overpriced Season Pass
    - No Season Pass
    - Not published by EA
    - Not charging us for content that should have been in the game when it launched

    I can seriously go on and on. The only thing this game is missing is mutliplayer. Which you can still play by playing the PC version. Just go out and get this game instead of EA's "reboot" version.
    Expand
  14. Nov 28, 2016
    9
    In my opinion, Star Wars: Battlefront II was one of the 6th generations best shooters. The first Battlefront was very good but this game only takes that experience and make it even better. Improved mechanics, interesting campaign story, epic Galactic Conquest, fun instant action, playable heroes and villains, good number of and nicely designed maps. This game is definitely better then theIn my opinion, Star Wars: Battlefront II was one of the 6th generations best shooters. The first Battlefront was very good but this game only takes that experience and make it even better. Improved mechanics, interesting campaign story, epic Galactic Conquest, fun instant action, playable heroes and villains, good number of and nicely designed maps. This game is definitely better then the 2015 reboot by miles. This game is a must have for Star Wars fans and well as fans of shooters. Expand
  15. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    this is best game I've ever played i can't tel u how good this game is it strategy , action , adventure . but if you are looking for a good graphic game this not the one , but otherwise it is excellent .
  16. SethF.
    Dec 8, 2005
    5
    This game was totally screwed up when attempting on-line play. I am certain this part of the game was rushed to meet the movie release deadline. Another problem is the terrible background contrasts with the AI enemies. You can't see anyone until they start to kill you even on a big screen or plasma TV.
  17. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Hmmmmm? The best Star Wars game and one of my favorite game. Star Wars BF II is very good fpp/tpp shooter, but better tpp. :) This game have very good single player with bots, but the best is split screen play with friend. Graphics in game is nice and gameplay is amazing! My rate is 9,5/10 and i advice this game.
  18. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    In some way's this feels worse than number one, but you can change the game to give number ones charms back, so lets bare that in mind. Star wars battlefront II is my favourite game of all time. If you look at my homepage you will see i'm hard guy to impress. This game fix's all of the firsts little issues such as the single player, oh the single player. Its actually brilliant, number oneIn some way's this feels worse than number one, but you can change the game to give number ones charms back, so lets bare that in mind. Star wars battlefront II is my favourite game of all time. If you look at my homepage you will see i'm hard guy to impress. This game fix's all of the firsts little issues such as the single player, oh the single player. Its actually brilliant, number one was only amazing in instant action and split-screen, but this is **** great. It covers all your favourite film moments and more. If you hate the 3rd person view, change to first-person as its equally amazing seeing all the gun in action. Galactic conquest has been refined and improved for a truly grand experience. But then you change to instant action, with either a friend or not, and... pure perfection. Battle's are hosted on the favourite planets and little touches as the actual life forms which live there trying to kill everyone is epic. You also can play as specific creatures such as the the terrific wampa and other legends. Have no doubt, this is epic. Expand
  19. AndrewMoseley
    Nov 7, 2005
    2
    Far to similar to the first battlefront, and with major shortcomings to boot. I mean... The Yavin 4, Mos Eisely, Theed, Endor and Hoth maps are all exactly the same as in the original. And the new maps are all in urban/indoor settings rather than the large, expansive, outdoor settings which takes away the epic feel you should get from playing Star Wars battles and makes the whole thing Far to similar to the first battlefront, and with major shortcomings to boot. I mean... The Yavin 4, Mos Eisely, Theed, Endor and Hoth maps are all exactly the same as in the original. And the new maps are all in urban/indoor settings rather than the large, expansive, outdoor settings which takes away the epic feel you should get from playing Star Wars battles and makes the whole thing seem like more of an isolated skirmish than a tide turning struggle. Vehicle variety is also lacking. There's only 3 maps in the entire game with an AT-ST! The rest use that stupid tank from the original battlefront which makes for a very un-starwarsy feel, and it takes a little away from the experience when you see one of those little mini walkers from episode 3 go toe-to-toe with a droid AAT and win. Plus there's only one map with an AT-AT and an AT-TE! The ability to play around in the big, hulking Godzillas of the Star Wars universe was one of the best aspects of the original, and they just overlooked it completely in this version. The inclusion of space battles is one of this games refreshing additions, but even with that they botched what could have been perfect. It gets way to repetitive after a while since all the space battles are essentially the same. The two capital ships just sit there while you fly around and try to blow up the opposing ships critical systems. Seriously... why didn't they add capital ship movement to the to-do list? how cool would it have been to see two ships pull up right along side eachother and just hammer away with their big guns? You know what else would have been nice? A space battle over Endor and Coruscant. Both of which are suspiciously lacking from the instant action map selcection. Which brings me to the little things... things you wouldn't expect LucasArts to overlook. Things like how in the space battle over Yavin 4, the big red planet is somehow missing. Or how when you blow up a Star Destroyers shield generators, it's shields are somehow still up. This game just let me down . All I got was Battlefront, with all the things I loved from the original taken out and replaced with pure mediocrity. There's nothing special here. The Rise of the Empire mode and the ability to play as a Jedi are also nice, but not worth paying the price for this game. Stick with the original. It's a much better game overall than its successor. Expand
  20. awxw
    Jul 22, 2007
    0
    Terrible its just not good the first game is much better!
  21. SlammerKool
    Dec 6, 2005
    3
    I like the first one better, this had crap with all those stupid points to unlock special characters and jedi in the other one you dont even have to unlock it. also there a cooler feautres in battle front one like when you jump out of planes and better planes. Also the levels in battlefront 1 has better levels and more terrain. Hopefully Lucas arts will make another battlefront with both I like the first one better, this had crap with all those stupid points to unlock special characters and jedi in the other one you dont even have to unlock it. also there a cooler feautres in battle front one like when you jump out of planes and better planes. Also the levels in battlefront 1 has better levels and more terrain. Hopefully Lucas arts will make another battlefront with both battlefront 1& 2 +new levels in 3 would be the greatest battlefront ever. They should combine more than make more levels i mean i love classic better than new. So go with battlefront 1 people. Expand
  22. MarkM
    Mar 19, 2009
    0
    Horrible! The first game is better! The battles are sloppy, the characters are horrible, you can't get on the ground all you can do is crouch, playing as a Jedi ruins the battlefront feel, no jet pack characters. The first one was creative, the second one just copied the first one and that's it!
  23. Johnnyexpatmageeker
    Nov 13, 2005
    4
    This is a very poor sequel to a game that was lots of fun. Graphics should always be better than the first installment. The space battles are SLOW and boring. The enemy AI is weak. Overall a very poor showing for a promising game. How many times can the STAR WARS franchise let down it's fans? Movies SUCK! Games SUCK. Way to go George!!! Thanks for pooping on my childhood memories.
  24. May 14, 2013
    5
    You could call this entire review unfair from the start.....but in general I found this to be a mediocre game. I heard this was a very good game recently and decided to play it on my old PS2. I play PS3 now all the time. So anyway, I found the game to have terrible graphics, to be boring, and to have challenging controls. Like I said earlier, the standards of video games have certainlyYou could call this entire review unfair from the start.....but in general I found this to be a mediocre game. I heard this was a very good game recently and decided to play it on my old PS2. I play PS3 now all the time. So anyway, I found the game to have terrible graphics, to be boring, and to have challenging controls. Like I said earlier, the standards of video games have certainly gone up since 2005 so my review could be widely considered unbalanced considering I play games with much higher standards all the time now so I gave it a 5 rather than the 3 experience I had. Expand
  25. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    This game was the definition of my childhood. It was truly one of the best, if not the best, games for the Playstation 2. Will the new 2015 game live up to it's predecessor? Who knows, but there's one thing we do know, it's Star Wars and it's awesome!
  26. PeterJ.
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    A little disorientating at first even for the seasoned battlefront player, Battlefront 2 incorporates the best things from the original and then some. Firstly, you'll notice that the hud is different. Secondly, you;ll notice that the original maps (Hoth, Geonosis...) have actually been altered slightly. Also the Infantry and vehicles have been improved graphically. (AT-AT textures A little disorientating at first even for the seasoned battlefront player, Battlefront 2 incorporates the best things from the original and then some. Firstly, you'll notice that the hud is different. Secondly, you;ll notice that the original maps (Hoth, Geonosis...) have actually been altered slightly. Also the Infantry and vehicles have been improved graphically. (AT-AT textures are now far better than they were originally.) Ocassinally, when the battle gets ridiculously tense and there are explosions left right and centre there is a small amount of lag on the PS2, but not much at all. The space missions were an excellent addition, I especially love the screaming voice prompts inside your mother craft. Im too excited about this game to write a fuller review - basically, if you thought Battlefront couldnt get any better - think again. Battlefront 2 will simply blow you away. Can't wait til 31'st October? I got mine today! (30th october) at Choices. Expand
  27. RonitM.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Amazing. Not only are the jedi characters we've been waiting to use since the first battlefront playable, there are amazing space battles, and a variety of missions to keep gamers interested. A must have for star wars fans, this is the best star wars game for any platform ever!
  28. Beng.garfinkel
    Nov 8, 2005
    8
    This is game is great! It's just a little better than the first one though. I miss the cool feel and look of the first one, though. It wasn't complicated, just fun. Jedi are cool in this one, there's a sprint meter, you can choose the number of reinforcements, new maps are cool, but space battles are so-so offline. they're fun online though. I'd say this is better This is game is great! It's just a little better than the first one though. I miss the cool feel and look of the first one, though. It wasn't complicated, just fun. Jedi are cool in this one, there's a sprint meter, you can choose the number of reinforcements, new maps are cool, but space battles are so-so offline. they're fun online though. I'd say this is better than the first one but not by much. Expand
  29. VinnieP.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    This game is a great game! You can put the controller down once you start playing!
  30. BobaF.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    This is definately the best game i have ever played and when i say that i mean it! When i first heard about it i thought it be awesome and i wasnt dissapointed 1 bit.

Awards & Rankings

26
5
#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
15
#15 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    Space battles can be overwhelming at first, but once you get used to them, it's pretty amazing. [Dec 2005, p.82]
  2. The signature piece of Battlefront II is the ship-to-ship combat... This element makes Battlefront II feel much more like the complete Star Wars experience. [Dec 2005, p.108]
  3. 80
    It captures the thrills of the original, and spices up a few areas while adding some new things. Unfortunately, space battles drag down the total package; but at least it's trying something different.