Star Wars: Battlefront II Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 292 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star Wars Battlefront II improves upon the original game's single-player experience with open-ended, mission-based objectives inspired from all six Star Wars films. The compelling storyline spans more than 12 new locations, many from Episode III, including volcanic Mustafar and the spaceStar Wars Battlefront II improves upon the original game's single-player experience with open-ended, mission-based objectives inspired from all six Star Wars films. The compelling storyline spans more than 12 new locations, many from Episode III, including volcanic Mustafar and the space battle above Coruscant. All-new classic movie moments complete the Star Wars Battlefront II experience, as players battle within the interior of the Death Star and visit Princess Leia’s blockade runner, the Tantive IV, as seen at the beginning of Episode IV A New Hope. In addition, at certain key moments within the battles, players can feel the Force as a Jedi. For the first time ever, Star Wars Battlefront II players can engage in space combat and, during the same battle, board enemy ships to attack from within. Starting on foot inside a capital ship, players can enter the spacecraft of their choice and travel into space to dogfight with the rival faction. From there, they can dock within the enemy’s capital ship, overtake the ship’s command posts, man its turrets to disable its shields and destroy it from within! Or, they can simply stay inside their own capital ship and defend it from attacks and enemy fire. The choice is theirs. The stellar online play that marked the original Star Wars Battlefront returns even bigger and better for Star Wars Battlefront II. Players can locate their buddies and track their stats as they battle alongside more players than ever (up to 24 on PS2, 32 on Xbox, 64 on Windows). [LucasArts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. This is without a doubt the best Star Wars game ever created.
  2. With gameplay nearly identical to its predecessor, Battlefront II takes every aspect of the original Battlefront and runs with it.
  3. The signature piece of Battlefront II is the ship-to-ship combat... This element makes Battlefront II feel much more like the complete Star Wars experience. [Dec 2005, p.108]
  4. An extended (and actual) single-player campaign that'll keep you busy for days while taking you on a tour of a galaxy far, far away helps balance out an uneven online experience that's amazing when it's good.
  5. As with the last Battlefront, I still feel like I'm controlling cheap plastic toys rather than real soldiers, tanks, or spaceships. Everything looks and feels so insubstantial, with no tangible weight or physics.
  6. games(TM)
    80
    Take away the costumes and the lasers and you've still got an excellent example of how to produce multiplayer bedlam. [Dec 2005, p.110]
  7. 70
    And so more than its predecessor, the faults and quirks of Battlefront II stand out and become glaring because the new adds feel unpolished while the old gripes manage to rear their heads for a second time.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 89
  2. Negative: 5 out of 89
  1. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    this is best game I've ever played i can't tel u how good this game is it strategy , action , adventure . but if you are looking for a goodthis is best game I've ever played i can't tel u how good this game is it strategy , action , adventure . but if you are looking for a good graphic game this not the one , but otherwise it is excellent . Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    A perfect, timeless Star Wars classic that never grows old or ever loses its fun. SWBFII has been and might always will be my favorite game ofA perfect, timeless Star Wars classic that never grows old or ever loses its fun. SWBFII has been and might always will be my favorite game of all time! Expand
  3. RonitM.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Amazing. Not only are the jedi characters we've been waiting to use since the first battlefront playable, there are amazing space Amazing. Not only are the jedi characters we've been waiting to use since the first battlefront playable, there are amazing space battles, and a variety of missions to keep gamers interested. A must have for star wars fans, this is the best star wars game for any platform ever! Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2016
    10
    mmmm por donde puedo comenzar no se la verdad , en 2009 me regalaron la ps2, con el tiempo un familiar mio me paso este juego (pero pirata XD)mmmm por donde puedo comenzar no se la verdad , en 2009 me regalaron la ps2, con el tiempo un familiar mio me paso este juego (pero pirata XD) lo puse en la consola y la pantalla de inicio con la música clásica de star wars . pero al principio pensaba que me iba a encontrar con una mie de juego aunque no fue así , mi primera partida fue algo pésima a mi corta edad no sabia que era un fps ( que todos sabemos es un juego de disparos) ese dia fue especial ya que jugue toda la tarde mi primer vicio frente a un televisor . al pasar los días me metí al modo "conquista galáctica" muy sencillo de comprender como funcionaba las clases se desbloqueaban al tener mas dinero , varios beneficios que se podían comprar como sabotaje , también las naves nodrizas , me pase ese modo muchas veces con las 4 facciones que todos conocen . una de las cosas que mas me llamaban la atención era el modo de las batallas espaciales de los cruceros estelares . usar las naves es algo fantástico . sus controles no son del otro mundo de complejo las naves se manejan de forma fluida y cuando combates con otra nave parece una verdadera danza . cada nave tiene algo único, unas mas rápidas que otras , mas poderosas y resistentes etc. existe un mapa que puedes jugar como heruoe o villano , según mi opinión de este mapa fue la mejor idea que se les pudo ocurrir pero lo único malo que en este mapa los herues siempre ganan XD , una ves use a dark maul y solamente usando a el pude ganar jajjaa. un modo campaña excepcional la historia de la 501 una verdadera maravilla con todos sus eventos únicos . aunque habían
    etapas de la historia que era casi imposible pasar , pero con paciencia se podía pasar . tiene muchos mapas y variados aunque el favorito de todos seria hot ( mi opinión del mejor mapa) . al pasar el año al jugarlo tuve que usar lentes jejejej por mi vicio . otros puntos positivos de este juego son las diversas clases , unidades especiales ( que son las mas poderosas creo que tienen menos vida que le mismo francotirador) . los vehículos muy bn echos los gráficos buenisimos mucho mas logrados que su primera entrega la música clásica del juego en ps2 modo cooperativo muy bn logrado . excelentes mapas . un punto negativo que los cruceros no se mueven están intactos. que mas decir de esta obra maestra de los videojuegos , mi memory car de 8mg se lleno de saves de solo ese juego . para los creadores del juego les doy gracias por darme una excelente infancia :3
    Expand
  5. PeterJ.
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    A little disorientating at first even for the seasoned battlefront player, Battlefront 2 incorporates the best things from the original and A little disorientating at first even for the seasoned battlefront player, Battlefront 2 incorporates the best things from the original and then some. Firstly, you'll notice that the hud is different. Secondly, you;ll notice that the original maps (Hoth, Geonosis...) have actually been altered slightly. Also the Infantry and vehicles have been improved graphically. (AT-AT textures are now far better than they were originally.) Ocassinally, when the battle gets ridiculously tense and there are explosions left right and centre there is a small amount of lag on the PS2, but not much at all. The space missions were an excellent addition, I especially love the screaming voice prompts inside your mother craft. Im too excited about this game to write a fuller review - basically, if you thought Battlefront couldnt get any better - think again. Battlefront 2 will simply blow you away. Can't wait til 31'st October? I got mine today! (30th october) at Choices. Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2017
    9
    Star Wars: Battlefront II has the single greatest replayability of any game ever made. Period. I have spent at least 50 hours on this game andStar Wars: Battlefront II has the single greatest replayability of any game ever made. Period. I have spent at least 50 hours on this game and am looking forward to 50 more. The only slight negative aspect is that, yes, the graphics are worse than I, but you will not even notice when your having this much fun. Expand
  7. awxw
    Jul 22, 2007
    0
    Terrible its just not good the first game is much better!

See all 89 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

26
5
#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
15
#15 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005