Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
Buy On
  1. One of the biggest flaws with the game is the character voice-acting. For the most part, the characters seem to lack enthusiasm and come off sounding horrible.
  2. Computer Games Magazine
    70
    While veterans of the SRPG wars might be disappointed at the lack of challenge, this is the perfect introduction to the genre. [July 2005, p.89]
  3. games(TM)
    70
    If you’ve not got half a lifetime to invest - or even if you have and you’re just up for trying something a little different - Stella Deus is an interesting and competent strategy title just waiting to rob you of over 40 hours. Good stuff. [Aug 2005, p.108]
  4. AceGamez
    70
    Just a basic run-of-the-mill tactical RPG that, though certainly an excellent game, fails to blow you away like it should - instead it chugs along at a steady pace and fails to progress much, or offer anything that the genre has already featured for years.
  5. 70
    In its favour, the battle system is easy to pick up and many happy hours can be lost in strategy; it has an addictive quality that makes you want to keep on playing, levelling up, customizing and battling the hours away.
  6. Lackluster, lackluster, lackluster - that's the word for this game.
  7. 68
    The animation is fantastic, but there’s not enough of it. The storyline is serviceable, but doesn’t really offer anything new.
  8. PSM Magazine
    65
    If you level up enough, later battles devolve into strategy-deprived power clashes that neither inspire nor require you to craft tactical attacks. [June 2005, p.75]
  9. The pieces to assemble a great game are all there, but it just never quite gels into the game it could have been.
  10. 60
    A good game with a number of good qualities, but its emphasis on some of the less exciting aspects of strategy games and the horrible voice acting hold it back from greatness.
  11. Edge Magazine
    60
    The whole is far greater than the subtraction of its failures would suggest, and will attract many put off by the wonderfully absurd complexities of Nippon Ichi’s brazen coup. [July 2005, p.90]
  12. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    60
    Starts off well and features some decent strategizing, but is ultimately stifled by a poor script and some uninspired character design. [May 2006, p.95]
  13. netjak
    55
    It's just too easy. That added onto the obstacle glitch in this game really kills the thrill of strategy, simply because there is none.

Awards & Rankings

#89 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jun 20, 2017
    9
    Long story short, this is a solid tactical rpg. The story is engaging, there are multiple party members - some of whom are miss-able butLong story short, this is a solid tactical rpg. The story is engaging, there are multiple party members - some of whom are miss-able but whoever you do get has their own side mission(s) -, a moderately in-depth crafting mechanic that can provide you with some good stuff early on with some diligence (which I LOVE!), and an "endless" dungeon with its own items if you're the type that likes to grind/over-level.
    Of course it's not perfect. Sometimes during the story you have to wonder "what the f is happening?" and it's not perfectly balanced, but I believe both of those can be subjective.

    If you like tactics games and have a PS2 on hand (or *cough* an emulator *cough*) then I'd recommend giving the game a shot.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 11, 2013
    3
    While I did think the game was very pretty and the plot was engaging, I found the game itself so dead boring. I really tried to play this butWhile I did think the game was very pretty and the plot was engaging, I found the game itself so dead boring. I really tried to play this but everytime I sat down with I ended up falling asleep. I'm usually a big fan of tactical/strategy games, but this was far to slow paced.

    It is clear this type of game is an acquired taste, and I'm sure it has its fans (good for them,) but this game isn't for me
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    Beautiful, hand drawn Strategy RPG from the creators of 'Hoshigami: Ruining Blue Earth'. If you are a fan of the genre, do yourself a favorBeautiful, hand drawn Strategy RPG from the creators of 'Hoshigami: Ruining Blue Earth'. If you are a fan of the genre, do yourself a favor and grab a copy of this awesome game. Full Review »