Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 77
    Boasting an easy to learn battle system and a difficultly level that isn't too tough, it's an ideal product to bring in new users to a genre that has consistently been one of the most satisfying experiences around.
  2. Not so brightly wrapped, but the game brings with it some unique gameplay elements and a great, ethereal visual style.
  3. The game’s battle system allows for some truly ‘tactical’ confrontation, in which you can win (assuming you play well) when out numbered and out leveled.
  4. It's not particularly innovative, but it does allow for some great, challenging strategy. [May 2005, p.116]
  5. 80
    Damned if I didn't enjoy it enough to get hooked early and often. I can't help it; I still love tactical-RPGs and this game has more than enough battling, plot-advancing, and customization to keep my affections.
  6. Boring, long narrative and bad voice acting aside, what we have here is the most balanced SRPG for those who would like to become serious fans of the genre.
  7. 86
    Essentially boring... All throughout my time with the game, my mind kept wandering, like it does in the company of someone who's nice enough but can't hold your interest.
  8. Lackluster, lackluster, lackluster - that's the word for this game.
  9. 60
    A good game with a number of good qualities, but its emphasis on some of the less exciting aspects of strategy games and the horrible voice acting hold it back from greatness.
  10. The game combines colorful artwork, character animations, adult themed language, and a very mature storyline that gives the game a nice overall feel that fans of the genre will appreciate.
  11. The whole is far greater than the subtraction of its failures would suggest, and will attract many put off by the wonderfully absurd complexities of Nippon Ichi’s brazen coup. [July 2005, p.90]
  12. Just a basic run-of-the-mill tactical RPG that, though certainly an excellent game, fails to blow you away like it should - instead it chugs along at a steady pace and fails to progress much, or offer anything that the genre has already featured for years.
  13. If you’ve not got half a lifetime to invest - or even if you have and you’re just up for trying something a little different - Stella Deus is an interesting and competent strategy title just waiting to rob you of over 40 hours. Good stuff. [Aug 2005, p.108]
  14. What sets Stella Deus apart from its predecessors, aside from its unique look... is the immensity and complexity of the overall quest. [May 2005, p.36]
  15. The pieces to assemble a great game are all there, but it just never quite gels into the game it could have been.
  16. An engrossing experience for the hardened campaigner. It's chock-full of quests, items, battles, and moral ambiguity, offering a fine-tuned gameplay experience that anyone who's been longing for the next Final Fantasy Tactics should enjoy.
  17. While veterans of the SRPG wars might be disappointed at the lack of challenge, this is the perfect introduction to the genre. [July 2005, p.89]
  18. If you level up enough, later battles devolve into strategy-deprived power clashes that neither inspire nor require you to craft tactical attacks. [June 2005, p.75]
  19. It features a deep storyline with a few memorable characters set amidst a lengthy and challenging adventure. Still, the game is hampered by an inconsistent AI, and difficulty that can, at times, render the game more frustrating than fun.
  20. 55
    It's just too easy. That added onto the obstacle glitch in this game really kills the thrill of strategy, simply because there is none.
  21. The redeeming factor of Stella Deus, its gameplay, isn't unique or enticing enough to make Stella Deus a must have for all.
  22. 83
    Though its aesthetic qualities are somewhere between poor and average, the game has excellent gameplay and control, and the game's plot and characters are decent enough to get excited about.
  23. Comes across as one of the most involved strategy games for the Playstation 2. Unfortunately, the audio and visual performance delivered was done poorly, so this game will not appear to be as great as it really is from the start.
  24. A prime example of excellence for the genre with its purely stunning art direction and graphic design, epic soundtrack, and both accessible and challenging strategy-oriented gameplay.
  25. Starts off well and features some decent strategizing, but is ultimately stifled by a poor script and some uninspired character design. [May 2006, p.95]
  26. 70
    In its favour, the battle system is easy to pick up and many happy hours can be lost in strategy; it has an addictive quality that makes you want to keep on playing, levelling up, customizing and battling the hours away.
  27. 80
    If you’ve been pining for something new with your strategy RPGs, look no further than Stella Deus.
  28. With its unique art style, good story, and fantastic soundtrack, it’s one of those games that can definitely be enjoyed by a lot of people.
  29. One of the biggest flaws with the game is the character voice-acting. For the most part, the characters seem to lack enthusiasm and come off sounding horrible.
  30. 68
    The animation is fantastic, but there’s not enough of it. The storyline is serviceable, but doesn’t really offer anything new.
  31. An awesome strategy RPG designed for lovers of the genre. [JPN Import]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    3
    While I did think the game was very pretty and the plot was engaging, I found the game itself so dead boring. I really tried to play this butWhile I did think the game was very pretty and the plot was engaging, I found the game itself so dead boring. I really tried to play this but everytime I sat down with I ended up falling asleep. I'm usually a big fan of tactical/strategy games, but this was far to slow paced.

    It is clear this type of game is an acquired taste, and I'm sure it has its fans (good for them,) but this game isn't for me
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    Beautiful, hand drawn Strategy RPG from the creators of 'Hoshigami: Ruining Blue Earth'. If you are a fan of the genre, do yourself a favorBeautiful, hand drawn Strategy RPG from the creators of 'Hoshigami: Ruining Blue Earth'. If you are a fan of the genre, do yourself a favor and grab a copy of this awesome game. Full Review »
  3. CameronS.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Awesome just completely awesome.