Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. You can’t play and enjoy Stolen like it’s another action game off the shelf at all, and that’s going to understandably rankle some traditionalists.
  2. If hardcore stealth is your game, satisfaction is guaranteed. [June 2005, p.57]
  3. The levels and missions are equally unremarkable, which makes for yet another promising stealth title that doesn't live up to its potential. [June 2005, p.127]
  4. Although it is relatively entertaining to play the game falls flat mostly because of a few key aspects: enemy AI, and the sheer linearity of the level design and gameplay.
  5. It's not "Splinter Cell," but it's similar enough to be familiar and different enough to be reasonably fresh. [July 2005, p.77]
  6. It borrows heavily from other titles, but it needed some more refinement before it could have been a smash hit.
  7. Indeed, it's the guards that ruin it for everyone, by being remorselessly crap at their jobs, losing you when you run round two corners, shooting erratically and - worst of all - not recognising the significance of a vent shaft as something that "leads somewhere", and allowing you to escape every time you enter one.
  8. 52
    It clearly copies other existing games and does so in a rather sloppy way.
  9. Sadly, encounters with enemy AI - particularly in combat - are by far the weakest link in an otherwise enjoyable effort. [Apr 2005, p.98]
  10. A slow, moderately discomforting wheelbarrow ride into an Xbox-green sludge-pool of grump-making mediocrity. [PSW]
  11. An undeveloped plot, derivative gameplay, idiotic enemies, and boring presentation.
  12. An annoying game of trial and error. [July 2005, p.84]
  13. The various gameplay elements are just too shallow to hold your interest. You only have one button for combat and once you learn how to sneak around guards you've pretty much aced the game.
  14. 40
    It's just so generic, despite its few twists, and its B-grade action movie cinematics and plot are absolutely the stuff of dozens of other also-ran action games of the current generation.
  15. The silly parts in Stolen make up most of the game. There are some truly neat stealth bits but my feeling is that they were sloppily inserted into an adventure fraught with ridiculous AI hi-jinx and an unbelievable and really, negligible storyline.
  16. A grubby looking, badly conceived and hastily programmed game that does nothing for the genre except add unnecessary limitations. [Apr 2005, p.110]
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. SamuraiSlash
    May 16, 2005
    10
    I rented this game yesterday and absolutely LOVE IT! I think it is was a very unique and suspenseful experience so far. Anya's sexy I rented this game yesterday and absolutely LOVE IT! I think it is was a very unique and suspenseful experience so far. Anya's sexy moves and gadgetry make her a high-tech super thief to be reckoned with. It's kind of like Mission Impossible meets Tomb Raider with a bit of Tenchu tossed in for good measure. The atmosphere is positively riveting and the sound is excellent as well. The graphics are refreshingly outstanding and the level of detail is a sheer joy to behold. One key factor in game design has to be the shadows that naturally cascade from each character's every move. It's just beautiful, man. They add a subtle level of realism that more games should incorporate into their design. And what a joy it is to roll through the shadows behind a guard, spring to your feet and choke him silly. It's brilliant that they wake up after a short period of time because this really puts the pressure on. Think about it, you're breaking in and stealing priceless loot. Would it make any sense to leave a pile of dead guards behind you? Of course not. You're mission, so to speak, is to get in sight unseen, grab the goods and get outta there. There are no "enemy's", just hapless guard with big beer bellies who love sports and complain about their wives. Pretty damn realistic if you ask me. Folks are complaining about the guard's AI? Haa! How many security guards do you know who graduated from Harvard or Yale. Their not Navy Seals or Mercs... they're stupid, lazy security guards. This isn't MGS and isn't meant to be. It's a completely original, high-concept gaming experience that creates tension and forces you to concentrate on your every move. Remember, the true enduring element of any game is the "gaming experience." When you play the game does time seem to stand still? Do you get so wrapped up in it that you grow a long white beard? Alright, that may be pushin' it a tad but my point is valid. This game made me feel like I was seriously under pressure to silently steal precious objects and evade all security personnel and have one great hellova time doing so! Now I must say, I haven't finished it yet because I turned it off to go meet this very HOT chick at her place for some "real" action but I'm sure you'll understand. Even a super-thief knows when to take a break. Ahem... anyway, after playing it for nearly 4 hours all I can say is so far it's the next best thing to sex. I can't wait to get back to it and finding out what's around the next slick, well-designed, intensely moody and mysterious corner. This game is fantastic and I'm quite the experienced gamer, trust me. Never mind buying it, it appears to be too short a game to drop that kinda dough but is it worth renting? Hell yeah!! It's not a mad action thriller, it's a riveting, suspenseful adventure where you're meant to, as the game advertises... infiltrate - steal - vanish. What more can I say, I'm giving it a 9 and if you're up 4-da challenge... go rent it.. like NOW! I'd give it a 10 except for my ONLY, minor complaint and this is one no one seems to get perfect anyway and that, my friends is... you guess it. Camera angles. Ah, when will they get it right.;-) Full Review »
  2. JoeyF.
    Feb 23, 2006
    8
    wanted to know how it would turn out in the end so I played until I finished. Stolen, or the concept of Stolen is an interest of mine, wanted to know how it would turn out in the end so I played until I finished. Stolen, or the concept of Stolen is an interest of mine, it's sneaky, calm but there's action too. Full Review »
  3. AndyP.
    Apr 26, 2005
    8
    Just got through playing it. All I can say is I'm about to start it again. Maybe I'm a little biased. I don't know. I've Just got through playing it. All I can say is I'm about to start it again. Maybe I'm a little biased. I don't know. I've been looking forward to this game since I saw the previews. Being a cat burglar seemed an interesting take on the stealth genre which hasn't been explored all that much. The only game I can think of is Thief and its sequels (and they're in a medieval setting). Then all these bad/mediocre reviews came in and I was a little nervous. But I took the plunge, and am very glad I did. One of the more enjoyable experiences I've had. Judging from all the reviews, I must be the only person who actually liked this game. I can only conclude they're looking at this game through Sam Fisher's green triple night vision goggles. Firstly, I'll agree this game's not as good/polished as MGS or Splinter Cell, and those pretty much define the stealth genre. But all these reviewers gave higher scores to Rogue Ops and Spy Fiction. I did enjoy playing those somewhat (like stealth games generally) but there's absolutely no way Stolen is inferior to those. First off, a couple of bad points. I felt the AI could be improved. There were times when I went through a door and they didn't follow into the next room. Also, they repeat the same phrases over and over and sometimes I'm wasn't sure what their plan for searching a room was. There were also a couple of minor bugs - nothing serious. Lots of people claim it has nothing new to offer, but I don't believe this to be true. While there are obvious influences from other sources (radar, acrobatics like PoP), there isn't a stealth game featuring an acrobatic lead character besides this. Nor can I think of a game where you're not permitted to kill anyone (a game called Picassio was supposed to work along similar lines but got canceled about two-three years ago). Also, I've never seen anything like the sonic vision before, and I like the implementation of the tracking devices (so you don't know automatically where the guards are when you first enter a new area). Most of the reviewers' complaints seem leveled against the guards waking up after a period of time. But how easy would it be if you could permanently disable them (especially if you could a gun). There'd be no tension whatsoever (sort of goes hand in hand with a heist scenario). I really enjoyed hacking, lockpicking etc. under pressure. Never felt safe. The minigames are all fun and are an excellent addition. I also like the flashlights that light up the dark areas. Those made me nervous a lot and you're never truly safe in the shadows. I think this is an intelligent sneaker game where you have to employ tactics, remain unseen, and not 'cheat' by disabling the opposition. It's quite short if you do the bare minimum but difficult to get all the loot while maintaining a good rating. A shame the developers Blue 52 went under. I feel this could have been near perfect if they'd had to the time to improve some of the AI. As it is, I'd call it very good. Certainly, the scores of 5 or so Stolen's getting are ridiculously harsh. I'd give it an 8 (just). It's a highly commendable first effort. All I can say is don't base an opinion solely on what reviewers think. If you're a stealth fan, I'd say definitely give it a rental. You might even like it. Full Review »