Stuntman PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Jun 23, 2002
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 35
  2. Negative: 12 out of 35
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdwardC.
    Jun 21, 2003
    7
    Stuntman is a good game but there are serious issues. the difficulty is way to high,most of the time you'll do a stunt a good 60 times brfore you finally get it right. this will lead to you just about punching yout TV and shooting tne disk itself. this game scored high because should you stick it out and beat this game it is very rewarding. Graphics aren't amazing but their not Stuntman is a good game but there are serious issues. the difficulty is way to high,most of the time you'll do a stunt a good 60 times brfore you finally get it right. this will lead to you just about punching yout TV and shooting tne disk itself. this game scored high because should you stick it out and beat this game it is very rewarding. Graphics aren't amazing but their not bad and the music during the stunts can ware on you for example about the 15th time of you trying to do a corkscrew jump on the second movie the hillbilly music has you crying. all in all i wouldn't recommend this to you if you are short tempered or get frustrated very easily renting it would probably be good for you however if you like a challenge go for it you will definitely get your money's worth. Expand
  2. Michael
    Mar 23, 2003
    8
    Great graphics, good feel of being a stuntman, and breathtaking movies but I admit it gets stressfull when you mess up to much!
  3. [Anonymous]
    Nov 30, 2002
    8
    Perhaps i'm biased in my praise for this title because i got it for $9.99, but, regardless, on with the review: Stuntman's basic idea is, simply, trial and error. If you dont like that basic setup right there then skip this title. The graphics in Stuntman could be a WHOLE LOT BETTER but on their own they do "just okay". 5/10 The audio on the game ranges from great to awful, the Perhaps i'm biased in my praise for this title because i got it for $9.99, but, regardless, on with the review: Stuntman's basic idea is, simply, trial and error. If you dont like that basic setup right there then skip this title. The graphics in Stuntman could be a WHOLE LOT BETTER but on their own they do "just okay". 5/10 The audio on the game ranges from great to awful, the director's comments get old but become an adapted "sixth sense" after playing the game for long enough. In other words, youll overlook how awful he sounds just to hear your next setup. 7/10 The gameplay...hmm...youll either like it and die to get to the next stunt/level or youll hate it and easily brush it off. However, after you beat the game it is unlikely youll play it again anytime soon. 8/10 (while it lasts) or 4/10 (if its not your taste) The story/cutscenes/plot all dont have much relevance to the game, youre a stuntman out doing stunts. That's all really. The extras in the game include unlocking multiple pieces to use in your own created stuntpark, this sounds really cool at first, but is ultimately limited due to a set number of icons you can place. Its a nice little extra but far too conservative. Other extras include a making of, interviews, and trailers for other games. Nice to have extra stuff to mess around with but the Stunt Constructor leaves a lot to be desired. 6/10 Overall id just rent this game or just pay the amount i did if you can find it for that. Expand
  4. ZiggyStardust
    Nov 11, 2002
    5
    It's very disappointing overall. The stunts are sometimes very frustrating to pull because they involve many elements and are done largely by trial and error.
  5. GamingHorrors
    Nov 8, 2002
    3
    Very weak and shallow game, poor low res, low framerate graphics. Seriously frustrating. Stick with GTA.
  6. JonathanD.
    Sep 12, 2002
    7
    Pros: SWEET graphics, excellent stunt editor, physics as good as GT3's, good voice acting, DVD extras, addicting gameplay. Cons: VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY (etc.) hard, sometimes frustrating stunt layouts (i.e.- the train: that van on the bridge made me mess up about 25 times), annoying load times. The Verdict: Rent it. Stuntman is hard, but very addicting, and makes you feel great Pros: SWEET graphics, excellent stunt editor, physics as good as GT3's, good voice acting, DVD extras, addicting gameplay. Cons: VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY (etc.) hard, sometimes frustrating stunt layouts (i.e.- the train: that van on the bridge made me mess up about 25 times), annoying load times. The Verdict: Rent it. Stuntman is hard, but very addicting, and makes you feel great when you finally complete a stunt. Expand
  7. HiRoller
    Aug 21, 2002
    9
    This is one great game, great graphics sound and gameplay. Yes I admit that it is hard but that what makes it good the fact that you cannot complete it in a short amount of time. It is frustrating enough to keep you coming back for more even if the PS2 controller is smashed to gazillion little pieces from previous attempts. Anyone who loved the first 2 Drivers on PSone will drool over the This is one great game, great graphics sound and gameplay. Yes I admit that it is hard but that what makes it good the fact that you cannot complete it in a short amount of time. It is frustrating enough to keep you coming back for more even if the PS2 controller is smashed to gazillion little pieces from previous attempts. Anyone who loved the first 2 Drivers on PSone will drool over the first release from Reflections for the PS2 and for anyone that doesn't like this game because it is too hard..... may I suggest Alfred Chicken?? Expand
  8. TheSensitiveNakedGamer
    Aug 1, 2002
    5
    Playing this game in full nuditiy, I severly hurt myself when I leaped up to smash my controller against the wall. It was so frustrating, I cried myself to sleep while holding the box next to my feverish forehead.
  9. JoeJ.
    Jul 22, 2002
    9
    Great game! Hard, but great!
  10. SBSpence
    Jul 16, 2002
    6
    Very engaging game....initially. You soon find it insanely difficult, and tedious with it's painfully long load times. This game is a BIG letdown for me...I was hoping this game would be a step up from the Driver Duo on PSX, but it's simply wasn't in my book. Part of the charm of the similar Genre..ie Driver (I and II), and GTA3, was the free roaming aspects of the games. Very engaging game....initially. You soon find it insanely difficult, and tedious with it's painfully long load times. This game is a BIG letdown for me...I was hoping this game would be a step up from the Driver Duo on PSX, but it's simply wasn't in my book. Part of the charm of the similar Genre..ie Driver (I and II), and GTA3, was the free roaming aspects of the games. There is no such option in this game...sorry but I'm disappointed in this spur of the moment (on my part) purchase. Fool me once... Expand
  11. MikEPaYnE
    Jul 8, 2002
    0
    I got so mad at this piece of trash game that right when i screwed up the last stunt about my 500th time i picked up my PS2 and smashed it on my floor and beat it into pieces with my bat that i keep by my bed. even though i did lose 200 bucks (even though i paid 300 for it) it was all worth it. BECAUSE STUNTMAN FELT MikEPaYnE. AND THATS THE BOTTOM LINE..... 'CAUSE MikEPaYnE TOLD IT TO YOU.
  12. LanaH.
    Jul 2, 2002
    9
    This is a very action packed, addicting and just plain fascinating game. You are an actual Stuntman and you make the movie happen. The movies are SO extremely sweet and I just can't get enough of those graphics. This game isn't for beginners, although it's not for advanced players either. The game can be difficult for people to beat but once you get the hang if it, you get This is a very action packed, addicting and just plain fascinating game. You are an actual Stuntman and you make the movie happen. The movies are SO extremely sweet and I just can't get enough of those graphics. This game isn't for beginners, although it's not for advanced players either. The game can be difficult for people to beat but once you get the hang if it, you get the idea that is game pure genius. The sound is great and controling the car is simple. It even has a Construction Site in which you create your own stunt using multiple ramps, smashables, and other mind blowing toys. You would need to unlock most of them in the Stuntman career. This game has great replays and their's lots I haven't mentioned. All in all, this is a MUST-BUY for any PS2 fan and I recommend buying it or at least renting it. Expand
  13. MattC.
    Jul 1, 2002
    10
    The game is realistic and accurate. I don't think they could have done a better job. I'm really suprised the reviews have not been a lot higher. The game takes some skill and practice but it is absolutely NOT frustrating. Frustrating is when a game doesn't do what it is supposed to do. If you like cheap arcade games with forgiving AI then you will be frustrated but real The game is realistic and accurate. I don't think they could have done a better job. I'm really suprised the reviews have not been a lot higher. The game takes some skill and practice but it is absolutely NOT frustrating. Frustrating is when a game doesn't do what it is supposed to do. If you like cheap arcade games with forgiving AI then you will be frustrated but real gamers will be in heaven. Loading times are not nearly as bad as some say. The game is a total BLAST! and my fave PS2 game to date. Expand
  14. Handful
    Jul 1, 2002
    9
    At first, i was hesitant to keep the power on. i wasn't sure about this game. it had its points. it has its faults. there is a lot of starting over in this game. it's worth it, though, to make it through a scene. there are rewards. i like rewards. and after a number of runs, you'll be flyin' through these scenes like you were on the team that made this game. it's At first, i was hesitant to keep the power on. i wasn't sure about this game. it had its points. it has its faults. there is a lot of starting over in this game. it's worth it, though, to make it through a scene. there are rewards. i like rewards. and after a number of runs, you'll be flyin' through these scenes like you were on the team that made this game. it's really not that hard. and i guess it depends who you are. truth is, i love this game. it grew on me. i am amazed by its graphics. eye candy-detailed and fast as a cat. the sound is similar perfection. this game is diverse. i love diverse. too, it's a blast to play. this game is fun! and i like fun. Expand
  15. GunnarH.
    Jun 28, 2002
    2
    This game doesn't come close to living up to the hype created. One the most frustrating games I have ever played. The game has a great concept but has failed in its execution. The linear gameplay doesn't leave any room for creativity. Gamers should get sick of this title pretty quickly. A huge disappointment.
  16. Roosterk9
    Jun 25, 2002
    10
    Full of things to make you want to show your friends or see again, 'cause gosh, this game is detailed. you will notice wings. this game has wings. it's perfect art. a lot of love went into this. and sure, it's going to receive mixed reviews. it's not for your impatient gamer, nope. sure, it's going to piss you off sometimes, 'cause you're going to have toFull of things to make you want to show your friends or see again, 'cause gosh, this game is detailed. you will notice wings. this game has wings. it's perfect art. a lot of love went into this. and sure, it's going to receive mixed reviews. it's not for your impatient gamer, nope. sure, it's going to piss you off sometimes, 'cause you're going to have to start all the way over and wait another 30 seconds to do it again. but you know what, who really cares about 30 seconds? in fact, one could use the extra time to reflect, i would think. and you know what? this game is nice. though, i should not point you in the wrong direction, so, of course, if you get the chance, rent it, play it first. decide for yourself. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#49 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#44 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Short game length, long load times, and high levels of frustration may regulate this game to a weekend rental.
  2. Game Informer
    93
    The near Zen-like state that is required to pull off the scenes - and the adrenaline rush that goes along with it - is what makes Stuntman the great game it is. [July 2002, p.78]
  3. Stuntman is purely about skilled, balletic driving. The redundancy of trying the same stunt over and over again is an exercise in tedium, yet the visual pay off is huge.